Full Version: Magazine Of Scottish Football
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Alloa_Shire
http://www.petitiononline.com/6sjdtbx0/petition.html

To: Scottish Media and the SFA

42 league clubs, over 100,000 people through the turnstyles every week. 4 Senior leagues plus countless others, subscriptions to Setanta plus various fans from South of the border and over seas, still Scottish Football does not have a magazine on the shops shelves.

This Petition is for a WELL BALANCED magazine on Scottish Football, similar to FourFourTwo, covering the majority of clubs in Scotland.

The first reaction people have is that a Scottish Football magazine will be dominated by the Old Firm, and to an extent this is probably true, but FourFourTwo is dominated by England’s top 4 clubs but still has plenty of articles covering English football at all levels, something which is also not impossible in the Scottish game.

There is also an argument that the internet is taking the place of magazines, but you just have to walk into W H Smith’s or any top retailer to see the magazine trade is still booming and you can purchase magazines with regards to any subject, any subject that is apart from Scottish Football.

I am petitioning for a well balanced magazine on Scottish Football, and I’m sure if this was the case then the company printing this magazine would run at a profit. If you also believe this or feel that this venture is certainly worth trying, due to the fact you would also like to see it, then PLEASE sign this petition.

Together we can make it happen.

Sincerely,

The Undersigned

http://www.petitiononline.com/6sjdtbx0/petition.html
GoF
It would be good but I just don't think it would work.

We've had (in the last 20 years) the likes of Scottish Football Today, Scottish Footballer weekly paper, The Punter, Fitba and a couple of others that just couldn't be sustained.

And that was in the days before the internet.

I personally have little interest in reading a magazine that isn't about my club when I can get any non EF info I want online.

Any magazine may start off with the intention of covering everything but soon it would just focus on the bigot brothers for most of it.
davidkennedyshand
Bring back The Absolute Game.
GoF
QUOTE (davidkennedyshand @ Sep 27 2008, 22:23) *
Bring back The Absolute Game.

Ah, now that WAS worth a read.

Just sold my collection of them last year but kinda wish I hadn't now.
davidkennedyshand
TAG was ace.It covered everything and didn't miss any targets it took aim at(Wallace Mercer,Murray,McCann,Scottish Super League).

Wasn't always about Scottish Fitba but was head and shoulders above the glossy magazines of the time.It was the only place you'd get a 2 page special on how bad Luncarty and Hurlford were alongside something about Scotland failing to qualify for something or how big a twat Duncan Ferguson was.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (GoF @ Sep 27 2008, 22:26) *
Just sold my collection of them last year but kinda wish I hadn't now.

I bought a whole bulk load about a year ago, so it might have been from you! E-Bay?

TAG was of its time, an absolutely essential read for any supporter who saw outwith the blue and green, even if there was only one Stirling Albion article throughout its entire existence.

The pull out in issue 36, which was a mock fanzine centred around the time Arbroath recorded their historic 36-0 win was absolute genius. Take a bow, Brookmyre.

With the advent of football websites, the paper fanzne is now almost redundant, and as much as I understand why, there's a huge part of me which regrets that state of affairs. I can still rememember me and my mate sticking together Issue 1 of Rave On!, and the fact that went for over 20 issues is a constant source of personal pride. It's grrat to look back and know I was part of Scotland's fanzine movement, which, at its peak, was tremendous, and essential reading.
lichtgilphead
Ahhhhhhhhh, TAG - how I miss you!

Well written, informative, and probably the only magazine that was interesting enough to read past the first 20 words of an article on Airdrie/Hamilton/Partick Thistle (insert random SFL club you couldn't give a f*ck about normally)

As others have said, unfortunately it didn't survive in the pre-internet days. In the current climate, a similar magazine wouldn't stand a chance.

In real life, people appear happier reading the Daily Retard's opinions about "Barry's operation" or "Artur's t-shirt" than they do about ANYTHING in the other 3 divisions.

It's a shame, but (realistically) what can you do? Sites like P'n'B at least allow us to talk about the "wee" teams & express hatred for the bigot brothers.............

Edit - Yes, I know that Hamilton are currently in the SPHell. I was just referring to random clubs that my club plays league matches against slightly less often than others!
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.