Full Version: Should Laurie Ellis Be Captain
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
ARoverinLeeds
This should be addressed again.

renton
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Sep 26 2008, 13:17) *

No offense mate, but you should probably post stuff like this on fantalk, the natives tend to get in a bit of a lather when we start posting every little coming and going from stark's park. Just a word to the wise mate, not trying to flame you. I do realise that fantalk isn't the best forum of debate either..... but anyway.

To answer your question. Yeh, he should.
rw89
Next question...Should the bootroom be arranged in alphabetical order or done by position of player?
Michael W
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Sep 26 2008, 13:17) *

Yes, he should.

QUOTE (rw89 @ Sep 26 2008, 13:22) *
Next question...Should the bootroom be arranged in alphabetical order or done by position of player?

Position of player.
lzreid
Firstly, the position of Captain should be decided on a season by season basis dependent upon who is in the squad. It should never be kept automatically just because you had it the season before.

Yes, Laurie should have been made captain. No question in my mind.

He should not be made captain now. We have had an unbeaten start to the season and it seems foolish to disturb the team's dynamic.
ARoverinLeeds
Fantalk is pish, but i do get where your coming from. I happen to like the posters on here, i just feel that Laurie is the man for the job. Know's the game well, experienced to boot. Just look at the impact he's made on Andy Cook, plus the fact that this is his third time at Starks. I mean he could have told McGlynn to get to f**k with the way he was treated before by the club.
Lang Toun Lad
If this was the start of the season and knew how he was going to be great motivation and a leader at the back I would say yes.
Now, I wouldn't give it to him. Davo certainly seems to play better now that he has a greater responsibility at the club and may revert back to old ways if demoted. Ellis will continue to be helpful with or without a bit of material round his arm.
If Davo gets injured then give it to Ellis but otherwise I don't see the point.
Martin Nelson
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Sep 26 2008, 13:34) *
Fantalk is pish, but i do get where your coming from. I happen to like the posters on here, i just feel that Laurie is the man for the job. Know's the game well, experienced to boot. Just look at the impact he's made on Andy Cook, plus the fact that this is his third time at Starks. I mean he could have told McGlynn to get to f**k with the way he was treated before by the club.

How do you know Cook wouldn't have been as good without Ellis? To be honest as long as a side has a few leaders and talkers on the pitch whether they wear the armband or not isn't that important I don't think.
Scary Bear
QUOTE (renton @ Sep 26 2008, 13:19) *
No offense mate, but you should probably post stuff like this on fantalk, the natives tend to get in a bit of a lather when we start posting every little coming and going from stark's park. Just a word to the wise mate, not trying to flame you. I do realise that fantalk isn't the best forum of debate either..... but anyway.

To answer your question. Yeh, he should.

I agree with both parts of Renton's post.

We have our own website for stuff that is minor Rovers stuff. This part of the P&B forum is better for pre and post match banter with whoever we are playing.
Paco
QUOTE (Martin Nelson @ Sep 26 2008, 15:27) *
How do you know Cook wouldn't have been as good without Ellis? To be honest as long as a side has a few leaders and talkers on the pitch whether they wear the armband or not isn't that important I don't think.

I think the point is Davidson doesn't do that - Ellis and Walker are the major speakers. Defending corners and the like, Davidson just walks in and marks his man (well, sometimes ph34r.gif ) whereas Laurie organises and encourages.

He should be captain, but as others have said there's no point changing now.

Edit - And yes, Fantalk for this pish!
AUFC 1910
QUOTE (rw89 @ Sep 26 2008, 13:22) *

Bootroom?

I would have thought that being the biggest club in the 2nd division (apart from Ayr), that you would have had a Boot `Wing`, or even a Boot `Level`.
Yes, a whole level of your stand dedicated to the biggest boots in the biggest stadium of the biggest club (apart from Ayr) in the biggest 2nd division in Scotland.

Big style
tongue.gif
P.C
yes he should, thread now closed laugh.gif
Dunc
QUOTE (AUFC 1910 @ Sep 26 2008, 15:42) *
Bootroom?

I would have thought that being the biggest club in the 2nd division (apart from Ayr), that you would have had a Boot `Wing`, or even a Boot `Level`.
Yes, a whole level of your stand dedicated to the biggest boots in the biggest stadium of the biggest club (apart from Ayr) in the biggest 2nd division in Scotland.

Big style
tongue.gif

Actually, "Bootroom" is a district of Kirkcaldy entirely dedicated to Raith's first team's footwear.
rw89
QUOTE (Dunc @ Sep 26 2008, 16:49) *
Actually, "Bootroom" is a district of Kirkcaldy entirely dedicated to Raith's first team's footwear.

Lang Toun Lad
BIGQ FAE KDY
who gives a f--k who the captain is as long as the team wins football matches anyway there should be 11 captains on the pitch
Steven
QUOTE (BIGQ FAE KDY @ Sep 27 2008, 00:16) *
who gives a f--k who the captain is as long as the team wins football matches anyway there should be 11 captains on the pitch

Yep, yet another thinly veiled dig at DAVO!!!tm mad.gif
BIGQ FAE KDY
QUOTE (Steven @ Sep 27 2008, 00:22) *
Yep, yet another thinly veiled dig at DAVO!!!tm mad.gif

shut up dumbo davo is the main man i am just stating fact and davo would agree believe me
rw89
Why the anti-Davo campaign. Honestly, the guy could go through a season scoring 30 goals and providing a massive number of assists and people would still complain. dry.gif
BIGQ FAE KDY
QUOTE (rw89 @ Sep 27 2008, 00:38) *
Why the anti-Davo campaign. Honestly, the guy could go through a season scoring 30 goals and providing a massive number of assists and people would still complain. dry.gif

nae anti davo from me far from it as like i said hes the main man as far as we are concerned
rw89
QUOTE (BIGQ FAE KDY @ Sep 27 2008, 00:40) *
nae anti davo from me far from it as like i said hes the main man as far as we are concerned

I know, it is some of the Raith support who seem to paint him as the worst thing since Willie Gray.
BIGQ FAE KDY
nothing is worse than jabba apart fae the pars that is laugh.gif laugh.gif
ARoverinLeeds
Sorry lad's didn't mean to upset the apple cart sad.gif
rw89
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Sep 27 2008, 09:47) *
Sorry lad's didn't mean to upset the apple cart sad.gif

laugh.gif Its fine. As has been said, just try to keep it to fantalk no matter how many people on their claim Craig Wilson and Allan Walker are, i quote, "Mickey mouse players". That forum is unbelievable sometimes. laugh.gif
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (rw89 @ Sep 27 2008, 11:12) *
laugh.gif Its fine. As has been said, just try to keep it to fantalk no matter how many people on their claim Craig Wilson and Allan Walker are, i quote, "Mickey mouse players". That forum is unbelievable sometimes. laugh.gif

The mindset of those guy's is unbelievable, that's another reason i don't look at Fantalk.

I'm all for debate and i'd rather do it here, atleast there are some intelligent people on here. and i value other people's reaction's. smile.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.