Steve1954
Sep 25 2008, 18:58
looking at his ability, in that he can score with left or right, and his finishing ability , his play over the whole park , his work rate and his "Team attitude"!!
Is he celtics next Henke?
Me thinks , he might be!
Proteus Maximus
Sep 25 2008, 19:09
QUOTE (Steve1954 @ Sep 25 2008, 19:58)

looking at his ability, in that he can score with left or right, and his finishing ability , his play over the whole park , his work rate and his "Team attitude"!!
Me thinks , he might be!
Never in that league. He can't do it in big games. Never could. He'll be great against wee teams, so he's more a Boyd.
Supras
Sep 25 2008, 19:10
Form is temporary, class is forever.
Samaras does not have class, I still remember his comical performance at Love Street last season, easily the worst player I have ever seen, and he has faced some stiff competition.
Proteus Maximus
Sep 25 2008, 19:10
QUOTE (Supras @ Sep 25 2008, 20:10)

Form is temporary, class is forever.
Samaras does not have class, I still remember his comical performance at Love Street last season, easily the worst player I have ever seen, and he has faced some stiff competition.
Good point. You have to remember both sides to a player.
The Arch
Sep 25 2008, 19:11
He's not as good as Larsson and probably never will be, but he's the most lappropriate contender for Henrik's thrown, since he's left.
He's got a very smooth running style, and makes it all look very easy. As you say he's good with his left, right as well as in the air.
He has a much more varied game than Hesselink or McDonald, and I think his game's good enough to play upfront on his own in the big European away days.
youroldda
Sep 25 2008, 19:12

Me thinks , he might be!
I think he could actually end up
better than larrson, he's got it all and he is only 23 if he stays fit and keeps his place in the squad iv'e no doubt he'l get 40 this season............. hold on a min i feel dizzy im actual talking to someone about fitba, must be because Boreus Maximus hasn't contaminated this topic yet with his bullshit............any second now....
Proteus Maximus
Sep 25 2008, 19:15
QUOTE (youroldda @ Sep 25 2008, 20:12)

I think he could actually end up better than larrson, he's got it all and he is only 23 if he stays fit and keeps his place in the squad iv'e no doubt he'l get 40 this season............. hold on a min i feel dizzy im actual talking to someone about fitba, must be because Boreus Maximus hasn't contaminated this topic yet with his bullshit............any second now....
Shame you know f*** all about the game, then.
You don't seem to know much about the language either.
Steve1954
Sep 25 2008, 19:36
QUOTE (The Arch @ Sep 25 2008, 20:11)

He's not as good as Larsson and probably never will be, but he's the most lappropriate contender for Henrik's thrown, since he's left.
He's got a very smooth running style, and makes it all look very easy. As you say he's good with his left, right as well as in the air.
He has a much more varied game than Hesselink or McDonald, and I think his game's good enough to play upfront on his own in the big European away days.
Agreed Sir.
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 20:09)

Never in that league. He can't do it in big games. Never could. He'll be great against wee teams, so he's more a Boyd.
Scored against you lot. Unless you class yourselves as a wee team
zenith st.petersburg
Sep 25 2008, 22:04
Don't think he will as good as Henrik but he will certainly have a good goalscoring record in SPL.
Could be a great record if he can stand the rigours of a full domestic season(he hasn't had a full season for three years - regular start) and , of course , european football this season
Proteus Maximus
Sep 25 2008, 22:11
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 25 2008, 22:05)

Scored against you lot. Unless you class yourselves as a wee team
Aye, he was gifted it.
What a difference it made to the complexion of the game!

Without him it would have been 4-1!
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 23:11)

Aye, he was gifted it.

Aye but HE STILL SCORED proving what you said was complete and utter pish or are you saying Rangers are a wee team?
Proteus Maximus
Sep 25 2008, 22:22
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 25 2008, 23:19)

Aye but HE STILL SCORED proving what you said was complete and utter pish or are you saying Rangers are a wee team?
You talk such shite. You're clearly a brain donor.
He was gifted a goal. He didn't even do anything properly. He miss-hit the shot you tit.
Still rattled you bunch of retards and perverts in your own shit-hole.
That's what hurt you so much you had to make up lies about our witty banter, you humourless, bitter cants.
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 23:22)

You talk such shite. You're clearly a brain donor.
He was gifted a goal. He didn't even do anything properly. He miss-hit the shot you tit.
Still rattled you bunch of retards and perverts in your own shit-hole.
That's what hurt you so much you had to make up lies about our witty banter, you humourless, bitter cants.
Wooooooo touchy. Something got you wound up? That all may be true BUT HE STILL SCORED AGAINST RANGERS. Gifted it or not. Are saying he only does that against the wee teams?
Proteus Maximus
Sep 25 2008, 22:29
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 25 2008, 23:26)

Wooooooo touchy. Something got you wound up? That all may be true BUT HE STILL SCORED AGAINST RANGERS. Gifted it or not. Are saying he only does that against the wee teams?
He never did anything in that game.
Sebo's Old Firm contributions contained more class.
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 23:29)

He never did anything in that game.
Sebo's Old Firm contributions contained more class.
still scored. this could go on for hours and i'm going away for the weekend. you know i'm right. give it up
Proteus Maximus
Sep 25 2008, 22:40
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 25 2008, 23:39)

still scored. this could go on for hours and i'm going away for the weekend. you know i'm right. give it up
You're not. You think I've said something I haven't and you wrongly believe you won some point on that basis. You clearly haven't, however.
Roger Irrelevant
Sep 25 2008, 22:43
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 23:40)

You're not. You think I've said something I haven't and you wrongly believe you won some point on that basis. You clearly haven't, however.
Proteus Maximus
Sep 25 2008, 22:55
WeAreThePeople
Sep 25 2008, 23:20
QUOTE (youroldda @ Sep 25 2008, 20:12)

I think he could actually end up better than larrson, he's got it all and he is only 23 if he stays fit and keeps his place in the squad iv'e no doubt he'l get 40 this season............. hold on a min i feel dizzy im actual talking to someone about fitba, must be because Boreus Maximus hasn't contaminated this topic yet with his bullshit............any second now....
No chance, Larrson is one of these players who teams sign and you wonder how the f*ck they managed a player like that.
Smartyarse will never be in his league, Larrson was a great player and I dispised the p***k for it. Although Smartyarse doesn't really worry me much. He has been pretty average against us in his games (3 now) and scored 1 goal from a muck up by our left back. He is going to lose his form sooner or later, as no one goes on goalscoring runs for ever, they will dry up, and I would like to see how he handles himself when they do. Methinks he will be back like the end of last season. Average.
Proteus Maximus
Sep 25 2008, 23:33
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 26 2008, 00:20)

No chance, Larrson is one of these players who teams sign and you wonder how the f*ck they managed a player like that.
Smartyarse will never be in his league, Larrson was a great player and I dispised the p***k for it. Although Smartyarse doesn't really worry me much. He has been pretty average against us in his games (3 now) and scored 1 goal from a muck up by our left back. He is going to lose his form sooner or later, as no one goes on goalscoring runs for ever, they will dry up, and I would like to see how he handles himself when they do. Methinks he will be back like the end of last season. Average.
They are literally delusional.
Casper Rose
Sep 26 2008, 02:34
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 20:09)

QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 23:40)

Beyemystic
Sep 26 2008, 04:15

Me thinks , he might be!
For heavens sake, he played well the other day against 'kilmarnock' because he was up against Frazer Wright - the worst player ever to play in the top division in Scotland. This was a guy who often looked out of his depth while playing for tiny Stranraer!
So to talk about the bug-eyed Greek in the same breath as Larsson is abject folly.
rfcgav
Sep 26 2008, 05:23
What pish he's no where near as good as Larsson, Jesus a couple of goals and all of a sudden
hes the next Larsson get a grip. Altho Mendes could be the next Laudrup
seamus
Sep 26 2008, 08:28
Larsson still did not get the praise he deserved from the world stage due to him playing in Scotland.Samaras is nowhere near Henrik although he has got great potential,I was suprised to learn that he is the same age as McGeady (23) I thought he was older.
Proteus Maximus
Sep 26 2008, 08:41
He's too lightweight.
Maleybhoy
Sep 26 2008, 08:57
he's just not in the same league as Henrik. there is no comparison.
right now he is our best striker, hes the one on form and i am interested to see how many goals he does put away this season.
he has alot of versatility in him game, a good change of pace and decent in the air.
I would think being only 23 he definately has his best years ahead of him.
khenny
Sep 26 2008, 09:07
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 23:11)

Aye, he was gifted it.

So using your own theory, had Boruc not gifted you manks 2 goals it would have been 2-2!
Should we start a petition and send it to the SPL saying that only "non gifted" goals should count in league games from now on? Fud.
LordHawHaw
Sep 26 2008, 09:18
QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 26 2008, 09:57)

he's just not in the same league as Henrik. there is no comparison.
right now he is our best striker, hes the one on form and i am interested to see how many goals he does put away this season.
he has alot of versatility in him game, a good change of pace and decent in the air.
I would think being only 23 he definately has his best years ahead of him.
aye got to agree, how nice would it be if he was another Henke
He's got the right attitude during games and the will to improve himself. Add that to his current ability and it won't be long before he outgrows the SPL.
Is he going to be as good as Larsson? Probably not; however, it should be remembered that there are/were a number of games where you'd hear a commentator state several times 'that that was a rare Larsson miss', when in reality it wasn't. There were games during his time at Celtic where Celtic would have upwards of 25 shots on goal, with Larsson having about 10 to 15 of them - Larsson almost couldn't fail to be an absolute hit at Celtic, f'k me, even huffy fat faced runt Viduka hit 25 goals in two-thirds of a season.
In saying all that, I really don't think we've seen a player in Scotland with the vision and ability to bring team-mates into a play (yeurgh, that sounds so American) like Larsson. That's something that is hard to teach, and under Strachan's guidance, will most likely be impossible as far as Samaras is concerned.
To answer the 40 goals question: yes, he's capable of getting that.
Maleybhoy
Sep 26 2008, 09:29
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 26 2008, 10:18)

aye got to agree, how nice would it be if he was another Henke

i would like to think Henrik is one of they unique celtic players who could never really be replaced in the same way.
But if Samaras wants to bang in 40 goals a season, i have absolutely no problem with that at all,
Proteus Maximus
Sep 26 2008, 09:34
He's a poor man's Stephen Thompson.
KnightswoodBear
Sep 26 2008, 09:36
Nope, not in the same class as Larsson. In fact he's not even in the same class as Vinegar of Castlemilk
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 26 2008, 10:34)

He's a poor man's Stephen Thompson.
I agree, he's no where near as good at missing chances as the stocky journeyman at (who's he at again, Cardiff?).
Maleybhoy
Sep 26 2008, 09:39
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Sep 26 2008, 10:36)

Nope, not in the same class as Larsson. In fact he's not even in the same class as Vinegar of Castlemilk
Steady now
KnightswoodBear
Sep 26 2008, 09:42
QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 26 2008, 10:39)

Steady now
He's hit a wee run of form at the moment, but I would still say that a fit Hesselink is a better player.
I mean Boydy scored an absolutely world class goal the other night, but it doesn't make him Fernando Torres all of a sudden
JUMPURS
Sep 26 2008, 09:44
Wont be as good as Larsson, but we haven't had a finisher like him since larsson.
Seeing him going 1-1 with the keeper when JVoH would play for a penalty, he just slots it past (think it was his 1st against Motherwell). Got a great finish and stays composed. I think he will be the highest scorer in the league this year, and if he keeps playing like he is, he may be in contention for player of the year.
Maleybhoy
Sep 26 2008, 09:57
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Sep 26 2008, 10:42)

He's hit a wee run of form at the moment, but I would still say that a fit Hesselink is a better player.
I mean Boydy scored an absolutely world class goal the other night, but it doesn't make him Fernando Torres all of a sudden
He has a far better work rate than big Jan, he has a really good change of pace which Jan doesnt have, and he is decent in the air. His allround game is better than Hesselinks.
I think if Celtic still played the way we did under MO'N then Hesselink would be a big hit, coz Hartson got alot of joy from the way we played then, ball out wide then crosses in the box.
But the type of game we play now is more suited to Samaras.
LordHawHaw
Sep 26 2008, 09:58
All depends on which of our teams turns up to support him, although I've seen some flashes of football from us so far that would certainly keep me entertained
Proteus Maximus
Sep 26 2008, 09:58
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 26 2008, 10:44)

Wont be as good as Larsson, but we haven't had a finisher like him since larsson.
Seeing him going 1-1 with the keeper when JVoH would play for a penalty, he just slots it past (think it was his 1st against Motherwell). Got a great finish and stays composed. I think he will be the highest scorer in the league this year, and if he keeps playing like he is, he may be in contention for player of the year.
tonythetim
Sep 26 2008, 11:22

Me thinks , he might be!
No and yes!
No one will ever emulate what Larsson done for us.
Samaras has the looking of a good player who can only get better! He will bag loads of goals but will never be as good as Henke!
Proteus Maximus
Sep 26 2008, 12:16
QUOTE (tonythetim @ Sep 26 2008, 12:22)

No and yes!
No one will ever emulate what Larsson done for us.
Samaras has the looking of a good player who can only get better! He will bag loads of goals but will never be as good as Henke!
He's never maintained form for a whole season.
Maleybhoy
Sep 26 2008, 12:38
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 26 2008, 13:16)

He's never maintained form for a whole season.
no-one says he is gonnae be on fire all season long.
I think alot of people forget that he is only 23.
He still has alot to learn, but the promise he has shown so far looks good for what kinda player he will be in the next few years.
Proteus Maximus
Sep 26 2008, 13:37
QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 26 2008, 13:38)

no-one says he is gonnae be on fire all season long.
I think alot of people forget that he is only 23.
He still has alot to learn, but the promise he has shown so far looks good for what kinda player he will be in the next few years.
He's not in the same class as Larsson, Laudrup, De Boer or Cannigia and never will be.
If he works hard, he may get to the same level as Cousin, but Lafferty is likely to overtake him in ability terms.
fatman76
Sep 26 2008, 13:51
Hmmmmmmmmmm.............................could someone remind me how many goals Larsson scored againts Rangers? I seem to remember it being no more than six. Larsson was the same as Samaras only good against the small scottish teams. Great footballer but never had the game to be a legend in OF matches, I seem to remember watching him try to fight his way out of Big Lorenzos back pocket in most games.
I would have to say Henrik was an fantastic talent and he was pure class. I can see why he is a Celtic legend but he rarely bothered Rangers. I was always more worried about us having to face Hartson or Sutton.
Would be interesting to know the number of goals he scored in OF matches when Amo played in the same game.
Maleybhoy
Sep 26 2008, 13:55
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 26 2008, 14:37)

He's not in the same class as Larsson, Laudrup, De Boer or Cannigia and never will be.
If he works hard, he may get to the same level as Cousin, but Lafferty is likely to overtake him in ability terms.
if you look back at my previous posts, i have already said there is no contest between him and Henrik.nor is there any contest with Laudrup... as for Caniggia... Samaras has already scored more goals in less games than Caniggia did with Rangers so that comparison is non existant in Samaras' favour.
i cant comment on what kyle lafferty will be like coz i dont think i've ever seen him play, but Samaras will be a far better player that cousin is if he keeps developing like he is just now
Proteus Maximus
Sep 26 2008, 14:00
QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 26 2008, 14:55)

if you look back at my previous posts, i have already said there is no contest between him and Henrik.nor is there any contest with Laudrup... as for Caniggia... Samaras has already scored more goals in less games than Caniggia did with Rangers so that comparison is non existant in Samaras' favour.
i cant comment on what kyle lafferty will be like coz i dont think i've ever seen him play, but Samaras will be a far better player that cousin is if he keeps developing like he is just now
Cannigia was winger.
Maleybhoy
Sep 26 2008, 14:04
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Sep 26 2008, 14:51)

Hmmmmmmmmmm.............................could someone remind me how many goals Larsson scored againts Rangers? I seem to remember it being no more than six. Larsson was the same as Samaras only good against the small scottish teams. Great footballer but never had the game to be a legend in OF matches, I seem to remember watching him try to fight his way out of Big Lorenzos back pocket in most games.
Only good against small Scottish teams??
he scored a barrel load of goals in europe, especially the big games when it mattered. all the way through the Seville, Blackburn,Celta Vigo,Liverpool,last minute goal against Boa Vista and scoring 2 in the final.
He then went to Barcelona and came on in the final of the european cup and changed the game.
He also played for Manchester united and when he was ready to leave they were begin him to stay....
that doesnt sound like a player who "is only good against small scottish team"
Maleybhoy
Sep 26 2008, 14:08
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 26 2008, 15:00)

Cannigia was winger.

if i mind right rangers played a 4-3-3 when he was with them, and he was usually played wide of the front 3. so he was an attacker
LordHawHaw
Sep 26 2008, 14:21
QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 26 2008, 15:04)

Only good against small Scottish teams??
I widnae worry about them someone's left the lid aff the glue in their hoose

Larsson was the best player in Scottish football for decades.
see we've sign a US keeper
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.