Full Version: Tims & Huns
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Haitch
Are those words offensive or in anyway derogatory? I do not even know why Rangers and Celtic fans are known as such. I imagine Tim has something today with ireland and Hun is about the royal family but I have no idea what.

Anyway, the question is, do Celtic and Rangers fans find it offensice to be called a Tim or Hun.
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (Haitch @ Sep 25 2008, 15:56) *
Are those words offensive or in anyway derogatory? I do not even know why Rangers and Celtic fans are known as such. I imagine Tim has something today with ireland and Hun is about the royal family but I have no idea what.

Anyway, the question is, do Celtic and Rangers fans find it offensice to be called a Tim or Hun.

Both terms were chosen by Celtic fans. Tim was chosen for themselves after Tim Malloy the leader of a sectarian razor gang who targeted Protestants. Hun was taken from Ireland where it is a derogatory sectarian term for Protestants.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Haitch @ Sep 25 2008, 15:56) *

I think Celtic fans have embraced Tim, even fenian and made them non insulting words by doing so, the Hun name would deeply upset me if I was called that biggrin.gif I think we were called Huns at one point, I remember singing go home ya huns to any team that we were beating. Did it not stick with Rangers after a particulary brutal sacking of an English city, coined by a journalist as "rampaging like huns" ?

Whatever it's stuck, I see Uefa have said it's a non sectarian term too today smile.gif
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 25 2008, 18:47) *
I think Celtic fans have embraced Tim, even fenian and made them non insulting words by doing so, the Hun name would deeply upset me if I was called that biggrin.gif I think we were called Huns at one point, I remember singing go home ya huns to any team that we were beating. Did it not stick with Rangers after a particulary brutal sacking of an English city, coined by a journalist as "rampaging like huns" ?

Whatever it's stuck, I see Yefa have said it's a non offensive terms too today smile.gif

It purely means Protestant.

Stop your lies.
H Wragg
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 18:52) *

Stop your lies.

Nonsense.

A hun is a Rangers supporter, regardless of religion. Anyone stating anything otherwise is merely doing so to suit their own agenda.
sev
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 18:52) *

Stop your lies.

Stop yer pish. Hun is a Rangers fan. always will be. Bye bye
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 25 2008, 22:34) *
Stop yer pish. Hun is a Rangers fan. always will be. Bye bye

People more intelligent than you agree with me.

Only thickies like Spiers agree with you.
sev
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 23:13) *
People more intelligent than you agree with me.

Only thickies like Spiers agree with you.

blink.gif
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 25 2008, 23:17) *
blink.gif

That stretched your vocabulary.
sev
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 23:19) *
That stretched your vocabulary.

and?
Proteus Maximus
Watch yourself. You'll strain a big toe, there.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (H Wragg @ Sep 25 2008, 22:27) *
Nonsense.

A hun is a Rangers supporter, regardless of religion. Anyone stating anything otherwise is merely doing so to suit their own agenda.

Ah accepting the tim meaning. Hun has never meant "Rangers fan" I have watched Motherwell/Hearts fans being called "huns" by Celtic fans, surely if it's only us Rangers fans, these clubs do not deserve labeled "huns" rolleyes.gif

It is a derogitary term against Protestants. Remeber, UEFA said that "fenian" wasn't a term against catholics until one Graeme Spiers decided to email and letter UEFA complaining about the decision and a few others. This led to them backing in on their original decision and changing it to a sectarian term.

Sectarian language is commonly used in Scotland, with abusive terms such as "Hun" and "Orange b*****d" being used against Protestants and others such as "Fenian" and "Tim" used to persecute Catholics. This reinforces religious and racial stereotypes as well as the divisions and conflict between the denominations.

http://www.nilbymouth.org/history.htm

Catholics should not be called fenians, taigs, chucks or spongers, while Protestants should not be referred to as huns, black, prods or jaffas, the booklet says.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/norther...and/7206891.stm

Both the Police and NBM are of two organisations who find the term sectarian.
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 26 2008, 00:24) *
Ah accepting the tim meaning. Hun has never meant "Rangers fan" I have watched Motherwell/Hearts fans being called "huns" by Celtic fans, surely if it's only us Rangers fans, these clubs do not deserve labeled "huns" rolleyes.gif

It is a derogitary term against Protestants. Remeber, UEFA said that "fenian" wasn't a term against catholics until one Graeme Spiers decided to email and letter UEFA complaining about the decision and a few others. This led to them backing in on their original decision and changing it to a sectarian term.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/norther...and/7206891.stm

Excellent points. Remember the Protestant churches vandalised and daubed in paint with "hun b*****ds".
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 26 2008, 00:32) *
Excellent points. Remember the Protestant churches vandalised and daubed in paint with "hun b*****ds".

Or HM and the crown being dubbed "huns" surely she isn't a Rangers fan? blink.gif
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 26 2008, 00:36) *
Or HM and the crown being dubbed "huns" surely she isn't a Rangers fan? blink.gif

They have a magical dictionary that changes definitions to suit their current aims.
Casper Rose
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 16:01) *
Both terms were chosen by Celtic fans. Tim was chosen for themselves after Tim Malloy the leader of a sectarian razor gang who targeted Protestants. Hun was taken from Ireland where it is a derogatory sectarian term for Protestants.

you couldn't be any more wrong, both terms are groups of rebel warriors from the 15th and 3rd century laugh.gif
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (Casper Rose @ Sep 26 2008, 03:35) *
you couldn't be any more wrong, both terms are groups of rebel warriors from the 15th and 3rd century laugh.gif

No. I was 100% correct.
fitbin
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 26 2008, 00:24) *

It's hillarious to see you Huns claim we can't call you Huns because Nil By Mouth doesn't like the term...

...but at the same time you're happy to sing "The Famine Song" - wonder what the misguided NBM have to say about that ditty? huh.gif
vikingTON
I believe its well documented on the x thousand previous threads on Huns that the term was used against Celtic fans by Rangers fans - as admitted by the likes of The Hun when he finally decided to ask someone who knew instead of blindly following the NBM dogma.
So it's a sectarian term used against protestant Celtic fans then? rolleyes.gif
the igzter
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 26 2008, 21:54) *
I believe its well documented on the x thousand previous threads on Huns that the term was used against Celtic fans by Rangers fans - as admitted by the likes of The Hun when he finally decided to ask someone who knew instead of blindly following the NBM dogma.
So it's a sectarian term used against protestant Celtic fans then? rolleyes.gif

The term has evolved. You do know the term gay no longer exclusively means "having or showing a merry, lively mood"?

It's not a sectarian term for Protestant Celtic fans, no. It's a sectarian term for Protestants in general although I have no doubt many Celtic supporters refer to Protestant Celtic supporters as huns.

They refer to their manager as a hun as well.
vikingTON
QUOTE (the igzter @ Sep 26 2008, 22:51) *
The term has evolved. You do know the term gay no longer exclusively means "having or showing a merry, lively mood"?

It's not a sectarian term for Protestant Celtic fans, no. It's a sectarian term for Protestants in general although I have no doubt many Celtic supporters refer to Protestant Celtic supporters as huns.

They refer to their manager as a hun as well.

I thought the concepts of evolution and bigotry would be mutually exclusive.
Varous eyewitness sources confirm that Rangers fans called Celtic fans Huns previously: hence the idea of it being solely a bigoted term is complete and utter fallacy. Accept your identity as a dirty snivelling troglodyte Hun and stop regurgitating drivel from NBM.
the igzter
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 26 2008, 22:56) *
Varous eyewitness sources confirm that Rangers fans called Celtic fans Huns previously: hence the idea of it being solely a bigoted term is complete and utter fallacy. Accept your identity as a dirty snivelling troglodyte Hun and stop regurgitating drivel from NBM.

It is not a "soley a bigoted term" but can, and frequently is, be used as one.

It's f**k all to do with NBM, its common knowledge.
Top Cat
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 26 2008, 22:56) *

It's amazing the distraction we can cause when someone's team is heading doon the plughole, eh! tongue.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (the igzter @ Sep 26 2008, 23:07) *
It is not a "soley a bigoted term" but can, and frequently is, be used as one.

It's f**k all to do with NBM, its common knowledge.

It is not knowledge. It is semantics. Semantics based upon interpretations, narrow-minded dogma and ignorance.
It is either bigoted or not bigoted. No halfway houses for sectarianism. The evidence proves the said common theory to be in fact incorrect - hence it is not bigoted.
vikingTON
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 26 2008, 23:10) *
It's amazing the distraction we can cause when someone's team is heading doon the plughole, eh! tongue.gif

To whom do you refer?
Top Cat
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 26 2008, 23:12) *
To whom do you refer?

whistling.gif
the igzter
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 26 2008, 23:11) *
It is not knowledge. It is semantics. Semantics based upon interpretations, narrow-minded dogma and ignorance.
It is either bigoted or not bigoted. No halfway houses for sectarianism. The evidence proves the said common theory to be in fact incorrect - hence it is not bigoted.

Smoke and mirrors.

Strachan's a hun, its why he treated the way he's treated.
vikingTON
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 25 2008, 16:01) *
Hun was taken from Ireland where it is a derogatory sectarian term for Protestants.

Wrong.

QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 25 2008, 18:47) *
biggrin.gif I think we were called Huns at one point

Correct.
vikingTON
QUOTE (the igzter @ Sep 26 2008, 23:23) *
Smoke and mirrors.

Strachan's a hun, its why he treated the way he's treated.

Is that part of your 'Big Book of Common Knowledge Opinions That If We Repeat Over and Over and Over Enough Times Might Just Be Accepted As A Partially Credible Theory Despite Little To No Supporting Evidence'?
the igzter
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 26 2008, 23:27) *
Is that part of your 'Big Book of Common Knowledge Opinions That If We Repeat Over and Over and Over Enough Times Might Just Be Accepted As A Partially Credible Theory Despite Little To No Supporting Evidence'?

Barowload more supporting evidence than your providing.

Your's seems to consist of "the tims on here have decided it's not ever a sectarian insult. It refers to supporters of Glasgow Rangers and supporters of Glasgow Rangers only...ever... amen.

Unless that is if we use it to describe supporters of Hearts, Motherwell, Dundee, Airdrie,Hamilton
Falkirk, Chelsea, any team from Northern Ireland, etc,etc then we will qualify that with "They are without bus fare , they wave union flags, wannabe Glasgow Rangers supporters, etc, etc etc"

Pile of pish.

The term hun can be, and frequently is, used as a catch all derogatory term for Protestants.
vikingTON
QUOTE (the igzter @ Sep 26 2008, 23:48) *

Your's seems to consist of "the tims on here have decided it's not ever a sectarian insult. It refers to supporters of Glasgow Rangers and supporters of Glasgow Rangers only...ever... amen.

Unless that is if we use it to describe supporters of Hearts, Motherwell, Dundee, Airdrie,Hamilton
Falkirk, Chelsea, any team from Northern Ireland, etc,etc then we will qualify that with "They are without bus fare , they wave union flags, wannabe Glasgow Rangers supporters, etc, etc etc"

Pile of pish.

The term hun can be, and frequently is, used as a catch all derogatory term for Protestants.

Provide your evidence. I believe a certain poster by the name of The Hun openly admitted to the gaffe, he being a Hun and hence not a Tim.
fitbin
QUOTE (the igzter @ Sep 26 2008, 23:48) *

Pile of pish.

Celtic fans think anyone who's not a Celtic fan must be a supporter of their rivals.

It's pretty daft/ simplistic, but that's Celtic fans for you. But I've never heard it outside a footballing context...
fitbin
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 26 2008, 23:52) *
Provide your evidence. I believe a certain monobollocked poster by the name of The Hun openly admitted to the gaffe, he being a Hun and hence not a Tim.

(edited for you)
vikingTON
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 26 2008, 23:58) *
(edited for you)

TY.
Top Cat
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 26 2008, 23:58) *
(edited for you)

You and yon geezer who suffers Morton each week should get a room and a big magnifying glass and play find the little winky! tongue.gif
Btw, have you posted anything yet aboot Berwick?? rolleyes.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 27 2008, 00:03) *
You and yon geezer who suffers Morton each week should get a room and a big magnifying glass and play find the little winky! tongue.gif

All I can see at the moment is a huge fanny...
Top Cat
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 27 2008, 00:06) *
All I can see at the moment is a huge fanny...

It just looks like a huge fanny but trust me, look harder and I'm sure you and yer fellow bum chum will eventually find little winky hiding in there somewhere! tongue.gif
the igzter
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 26 2008, 23:52) *
Provide your evidence. I believe a certain poster by the name of The Hun openly admitted to the gaffe, he being a Hun and hence not a Tim.

I observed the cull of "The Hun"on this subject from afar,as I recall he was backed into a corner and then lampooned into extinction.

However his argument had no substance, was factually incorrect and dripping with his usual patronising pish.

I have no sympathy, bit like giving yourself the moniker "twat" and then complaining when everyone calls you ...well a twat. Besides "The Hun" had, I believe, other issues.

There is no evidence, that isn't anecdotal, to prove it one way or the other. I know, and so do you if your honest, that it is misused.
fitbin
QUOTE (the igzter @ Sep 27 2008, 00:16) *
I observed the cull of "The Hun"on this subject from afar,as I recall he was backed into a corner and then lampooned into extinction

...before coming back pretending to be himself?

Doesn't reflect well, does it...
the igzter
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 27 2008, 00:20) *
...before coming back pretending to be himself?

Doesn't reflect well, does it...

Oh come on, I trashed "The Hun" well before any of you tims even cottoned on to what he was all about.
fitbin
QUOTE (the igzter @ Sep 27 2008, 00:25) *
Oh come on, I trashed "The Hun" well before any of you tims even cottoned on to what he was all about.

I used to read the monobollocked one's posts before going to bed - guaranteed to make me fall asleep even after a busy night...
the igzter
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 27 2008, 00:27) *
I used to read the monobollocked one's posts before going to bed - guaranteed to make me fall asleep even after a busy night...

As I recall, I described his "posts" as vagina monologues.

Cant go all that gospel "born again" pish.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.