LordHawHaw
Sep 23 2008, 22:01
Looked great from the main stand, large group, dancing and singing for the whole game non stop, never noticed that before it was like the Jungle of old watching that performance...looked like because they were so many seats lots of people moved to that area. Whatever the reason it was it was superb and added to the superb entertainment tonight.
The Dog
Sep 23 2008, 22:15
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 23 2008, 23:01)

Looked great from the main stand, large group, dancing and singing for the whole game non stop, never noticed that before it was like the Jungle of old watching that performance...looked like because they were so many seats lots of people moved to that area. Whatever the reason it was it was superb and added to the superb entertainment tonight.
What was the attendance tonight? Not officially but the estimated real attendance
LordHawHaw
Sep 23 2008, 22:27
QUOTE (The Dog @ Sep 23 2008, 23:15)

What was the attendance tonight? Not officially but the estimated real attendance
I think it said 23,000, which I would think was about right, howvere it was one of the best atmospheres for a while, the Green brigade looked and sounded like the old jungle in my opinion. The football served up in the second half was superb
Pink Freud
Sep 24 2008, 08:04
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 23 2008, 23:27)

I think it said 23,000, which I would think was about right, howvere it was one of the best atmospheres for a while, the Green brigade looked and sounded like the old jungle in my opinion. The football served up in the second half was superb
You've hit the nail on the head - when people can choose where to sit/stand and who to stand with, the atmosphere improves. Whodathunkit?
Bloobell
Sep 24 2008, 08:08
QUOTE (Pink Freud @ Sep 24 2008, 09:04)

You've hit the nail on the head - when people can choose where to sit/stand and who to stand with, the atmosphere improves. Whodathunkit?
We should have limited terracing and also have an amnesty so people can move beside their mates
Our lot are scattered all over Ibrox and it's a real shame
glasnost
Sep 24 2008, 08:33
Good to hear. The atmosphere at Celtic Park could easily be improved if the club actually wanted it to be. Sadly they don’t by all accounts.
Was there a ring of police and stewards around the Green Brigade and their hangers on last nightas per usual?
Pink Freud
Sep 24 2008, 08:46
QUOTE (Bloobell @ Sep 24 2008, 09:08)

We should have limited terracing and also have an amnesty so people can move beside their mates
I've never really understood this - I appreciate that this would allow trouble makers to get together, but CCTV and proper stewarding should be able to account for that.
LordHawHaw
Sep 24 2008, 09:05
Amazingly with 1/3 of the normal crowd we had one of the best atmosphere's in a while, actually took my eye off the game on occasion to look at the enjoyment the fans in that corner were getting/giving. Must be because lots of people could walk up and join then. I don't know what the club need to do to help the people who were gathered there to continue, but it would be worthwhile to do so
Davie Bhoy
Sep 25 2008, 00:10
I prefer the Green Brigade to the Jungle Bhoys. However I feel the club are being unfairly criticised here. While the Green Brigade are independant the Jungle Bhoys were established before the GB and liase with the club. Celtic have allowed a section for the JB and have even agreed that if anybody wants to relocate to sit in the singing section the club would help make this happen. Obviously some can't be bothered moving...myself included. Although I'm of the opinion that we should all be singing anyway.
smithers-jones
Sep 25 2008, 08:00
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 23 2008, 23:01)

The seals at Blair Drummond also put on a good performance around about lunchtime each day if you are into that sort of things LHH.
LordHawHaw
Sep 25 2008, 08:32
QUOTE (smithers-jones @ Sep 25 2008, 09:00)

The seals at Blair Drummond also put on a good performance around about lunchtime each day if you are into that sort of things LHH.

Been there, seen it and the weans screaming in delight still is imprinted on my mind and ears
glasnost
Sep 25 2008, 08:32
QUOTE (Davie Bhoy @ Sep 25 2008, 01:10)

I prefer the Green Brigade to the Jungle Bhoys. However I feel the club are being unfairly criticised here. While the Green Brigade are independant the Jungle Bhoys were established before the GB and liase with the club. Celtic have allowed a section for the JB and have even agreed that if anybody wants to relocate to sit in the singing section the club would help make this happen. Obviously some can't be bothered moving...myself included. Although I'm of the opinion that we should all be singing anyway.
Whilst I have little time for the Jungle Bhoys, they are pissing against the wind thanks to them allocating them a section at the top of the upper tier. If the plc were really keen for them to take off they would allocate them a more suitable, not to mention visible area within the stadium much like the Blue Order are given at The Govan Reichstag. They would also stop the continual harassment of the Green Brigade.
Pink Freud
Sep 25 2008, 08:36
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 25 2008, 09:32)

Whilst I have little time for the Jungle Bhoys, they are pissing against the wind thanks to them allocating them a section at the top of the upper tier. If the plc were really keen for them to take off they would allocate them a more suitable, not to mention visible area within the stadium much like the Blue Order are given at The Govan Reichstag. They would also stop the continual harassment of the Green Brigade.
So what's the deal with these two? The JBs don't like the GB? Why?
LordHawHaw
Sep 25 2008, 08:36
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 25 2008, 09:32)

Is this harassment due to Reid protest? Seriously it was one of the best atmospheres I've seen outwith the big games since we moved back to Celtic park...it really was like having the jungle back
glasnost
Sep 25 2008, 08:46
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 25 2008, 09:36)

Is this harassment due to Reid protest? Seriously it was one of the best atmospheres I've seen outwith the big games since we moved back to Celtic park...it really was like having the jungle back
The plc have never welcomed the Green Brigade.
I am sort of disappointed I missed it when I heard last night from some about the atmosphere. But then, that just confirms how pathetic and embarrassing the atmosphere is now at Celtic Park on a normal Saturday afternoon.
LordHawHaw
Sep 25 2008, 08:54
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 25 2008, 09:46)

The plc have never welcomed the Green Brigade.
I am sort of disappointed I missed it when I heard last night from some about the atmosphere. But then, that just confirms how pathetic and embarrassing the atmosphere is now at Celtic Park on a normal Saturday afternoon.
Sounds like it's time for talking between the club and the green brigade, be a shame to waste that energy, the club must help improve the atmosphere, they have the ready made medium to do it.
I don't normally notice the singing except on big games or aways, but this as I say was like having the jungle back, it certainly grabbed Boruc's attention, seen him looking up a few times
WOOHOO!!
Sep 25 2008, 11:04
the GB will never sit down with Celtic. Will make them "PLC puppets"
Did look like fun on Tuesday night though.
LordHawHaw
Sep 25 2008, 11:07
QUOTE (WOOHOO!! @ Sep 25 2008, 12:04)

the GB will never sit down with Celtic. Will make them "PLC puppets"
Did look like fun on Tuesday night though.
Seems a shame given both want the same end point, beter atmosphere
WOOHOO!!
Sep 25 2008, 11:16
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 25 2008, 12:07)

Seems a shame given both want the same end point, beter atmosphere
yeah i agree with that. I just think that it's the principle of it. That's part of the reason for the bad feeling between them and the JB's.
They seem to be doing quite well without any PLC involvmennt so far. The flags against rangers looked quality. And they seem to have managed to get alot of the sitting together in that area. Seems a half empty stadium can lead to a better atmosphere nowdays
tonythetim
Sep 25 2008, 11:23
QUOTE (Bloobell @ Sep 24 2008, 09:08)

I thought there was talk not so long ago about brining in some terraced areas?
What is the Green Brigades actual gripe with the plc? I mean, what has the board done to them specifically that has pissed them off so much?
btw, the sooner we have the inquest/inquiry/study/whatever into safe standing, the better. I think that it's no coincidence that the better atmosphere is being generated at grounds where the fans tend to stand in front of their seats (without the OF games, I'm thinking specifically a full Rugby Park or Pittodrie)
QUOTE (tonythetim @ Sep 25 2008, 12:23)

I thought there was talk not so long ago about brining in some terraced areas?
QUOTE (Eärendil @ Sep 25 2008, 12:24)

What is the Green Brigades actual gripe with the plc? I mean, what has the board done to them specifically that has pissed them off so much?
btw, the sooner we have the inquest/inquiry/study/whatever into safe standing, the better. I think that it's no coincidence that the better atmosphere is being generated at grounds where the fans tend to stand in front of their seats (without the OF games, I'm thinking specifically a full Rugby Park or Pittodrie)
That was weird
LordHawHaw
Sep 25 2008, 11:33
Pretty sure it must be possible to introduce strictly controlled safe standing at football as a choice for fans, I don't know why the authorities don't seem to be investigating this.
the igzter
Sep 25 2008, 12:47
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 25 2008, 12:33)

Pretty sure it must be possible to introduce strictly controlled safe standing at football as a choice for fans, I don't know why the authorities don't seem to be investigating this.
The clubs are covering their own arses, in the event of accidents/incidents. All seater stadiums was the criteria they were subjected to, now that's in place they wont alter that even if it's what the fans want.
The public want what the public get.
LordHawHaw
Sep 25 2008, 17:59
QUOTE (the igzter @ Sep 25 2008, 13:47)

The clubs are covering their own arses, in the event of accidents/incidents. All seater stadiums was the criteria they were subjected to, now that's in place they wont alter that even if it's what the fans want.
Football's moved on, it should be easy to design a standing terrace that's just as safe as seats I would have thought
Proteus Maximus
Sep 25 2008, 18:05
QUOTE (the igzter @ Sep 25 2008, 13:47)

Celtic have other things to worry about when covering their arse.
st jjp
Sep 25 2008, 21:26
The GB were indeed brilliant the other night.
I was in the Prawn Sandwich section with my Livi fan mate where it was like a morgue.
Proteus Maximus
Sep 25 2008, 22:10
LordHawHaw
Sep 26 2008, 03:30
QUOTE (st jjp @ Sep 25 2008, 22:26)

The GB were indeed brilliant the other night.
I was in the Prawn Sandwich section with my Livi fan mate where it was like a morgue.
Hospitality is pish, been to a couple and the people you are sitting with seem to be more interested in teh free bar than watching the game
Proteus Maximus
Sep 26 2008, 08:37
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 26 2008, 04:30)

Hospitality is pish, been to a couple and the people you are sitting with seem to be more interested in teh free bar than watching the game
Are you saying Celtic lack hospitality?
LordHawHaw
Sep 27 2008, 04:59
Lets see if we have the same bounce around that section today V Aberdeen, I'd be surprised as the requirement for free seast to move to for those willing to oarticipate will not be there today. Certainly something the club should investigate
LordHawHaw
Sep 29 2008, 11:23
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 27 2008, 05:59)

Lets see if we have the same bounce around that section today V Aberdeen, I'd be surprised as the requirement for free seast to move to for those willing to oarticipate will not be there today. Certainly something the club should investigate
From where I was sitting Aberdeen ultras had a great display and sang all game, the green brigade never got near the heights of the Livi game, shame that
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.