Full Version: Whose Laughing At Livvy Now
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
ARoverinLeeds
Well done lad's, what a great start to the season. You are proving all those doubter's wrong, keep up the good work smile.gif
Stainrod's Fedora
I'll always laugh at Livingston.

biggrin.gif
HulltoonPehShop
3rd come April. cool.gif
port-ton
Hearts were top of the league after the first 10 games of the season under Romanov, thats all im saying. smile.gif
Aufc
Id much rather laugh at you because

A) you are a fud
B ) You support the bottle merchants that are raith
C) You come onto the first division forum in the hope that your team may, one day, actually make it. Face it....it will never happen.
Nizzy
As I said in another thread, only a fool would fail to take Livi seriously now. However, there's little point in congratulating them when, in reality, they're yet to achieve anything of any note.

I'm happy to see threads like this springing up as it allows teams like Thistle and the Pars to go about their business quietly and efficiently while their fans keep a level head.

There's no doubt the pressure will start to mount on Livingston, especially if their chairman continues to proclaim Landi as 'the best tactician in Scotland'.

Time will tell if they can cope, but I'll put past grievances aside and be one of the first to admit I was wrong should they keep the momentum going until the end of the season.
Ever the Optimist
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Sep 23 2008, 09:51) *

biggrin.gif

Me Too

I suppose it could be an ironic statement, but I wouldn't have expected a Raith Fan to come away with that statement after what they did to you ten years ago.

It doesn't matter how good or how bad they are, what league they are in, how many trophies they have won, how many forays into Europe they have had, how many times they have beaten my club, they are, always have been and always will be a joke of a 'football' club.

They are one of only three clubs in Scotland I would laugh at if they went to the wall. (Can you guess who the other two are?) I was gutted that someone actually took Livingston over in the summer as you were heading to the same place as Gretna. Hopefully the new owners will do as good a job as the last two owners did.

Franchise FC = Anti football

Justification for the above...Pearce Flynn, Dominic Keane, Stealing the best players from ailing clubs for peanuts, pretending to be a big club, SPL 2, West Lothian Council spending our money to build the stadium etc, etc, etc...

And no, time will never heal my bitterness.
Aufc
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Sep 23 2008, 09:19) *
Me Too

I suppose it could be an ironic statement, but I wouldn't have expected a Raith Fan to come away with that statement after what they did to you ten years ago.

It doesn't matter how good or how bad they are, what league they are in, how many trophies they have won, how many forays into Europe they have had, how many times they have beaten my club, they are, always have been and always will be a joke of a 'football' club.

They are one of only three clubs in Scotland I would laugh at if they went to the wall. (Can you guess who the other two are?) I was gutted that someone actually took Livingston over in the summer as you were heading to the same place as Gretna. Hopefully the new owners will do as good a job as the last two owners did.

Justification for the above...Pearce Flynn, Dominic Keane, Stealing the best players from ailing clubs for peanuts, pretending to be a big club, SPL 2, West Lothian Council spending our money to build the stadium etc, etc, etc...

Kille and airdrie? Would not laugh if any club went to the wall to be honest especially after it happened to us.
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (Aufc @ Sep 23 2008, 10:10) *
Id much rather laugh at you because

A) you are a fud
B ) You support the bottle merchants that are raith
C) You come onto the first division forum in the hope that your team may, one day, actually make it. Face it....it will never happen.

Aw and there was me thinking we were pals.

I'm on here to congratulate Livingston on their good progress SO FAR.

And you yourselves are doing well, so what the f**k is your problem.
Ever the Optimist
QUOTE (Aufc @ Sep 23 2008, 10:21) *
Kille and airdrie? Would not laugh if any club went to the wall to be honest especially after it happened to us.

Think nearer Glasgow!!!!

As much as I dislike Airdrie and Kilmarnock they are still built on the foundations of football unlike the above and the other two unmentionables
Aufc
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Sep 23 2008, 09:24) *
Aw and there was me thinking we were pals.

I'm on here to congratulate Livingston on their good progress SO FAR.

And you yourselves are doing well, so what the f**k is your problem.

I just like laughing at your misfortune.
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Sep 23 2008, 10:19) *
Me Too

I know what they did to us, but at the end of the day we were fucked if we didn't sell. A wee bit under total estimation, but we're still here and now living within our mean's.
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (Aufc @ Sep 23 2008, 10:28) *
I just like laughing at your misfortune.

Aw well, nothing more to say to that...........

Ok i'm gonna bite, thank f**k for Gretna.
Dr Koop
Well, a few of us laughed at Livi in the diddy cup a few weekends ago. Be nice if we get to laugh at them again next weekend.

Hens are wise birds. They don't cackle until their eggs have hatched. tongue.gif
crazyhill
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Sep 23 2008, 09:51) *

biggrin.gif

well keep laughing rolleyes.gif
The Arch
I think Livi can be taken seriously if they beat us on Saturday. I'm glad they've beaten sides that were expected to challenge, as it helps us and 6 points from trips to EEP and Dens is title winning form.

I missed the Challenge Cup game between us, so it'll be interesting to see how we do against them. I don't think their squad is strong enough, so they'll need to strengthen in January if they're to challenge.
crazyhill
QUOTE (The Arch @ Sep 23 2008, 11:37) *
I think Livi can be taken seriously if they beat us on Saturday. I'm glad they've beaten sides that were expected to challenge, as it helps us and 6 points from trips to EEP and Dens is title winning form.

I missed the Challenge Cup game between us, so it'll be interesting to see how we do against them. I don't think their squad is strong enough, so they'll need to strengthen in January if they're to challenge.

i agree with you mate we do need to strenthen in january

the squad was rebuilt in the summer and hopefully a few more signings in january may just push us through
Jeff Venom
I have to tip my cap to Livi after the start theyve made, im sure in the first theyd have been a bit of an unkown quantity to start with however, i agree with the other ayr fan on here as much as when its all said and done, I just can't stomach the club.
Although I wouldn't want them to go to the wall.
revolvingduck
Me. I'm laughing. They could win the league by 30 points and I would still laugh at that joke of a club
LIVIFOREVER
Threads like this are always gonna attract all the bellends with their sad anti Livi comments but it's nice to see sensible fans from other clubs with decent comments. smile.gif

Not sure who'd have been laughing at us anyway, most wouldn't have even concidered us in anyway pre season, i know Livi fans had no expectations other than to not be fighting relegation, cheers for the thread but it's still far too soon to be thinking of any title hopes, just enjoying our season TBH and hope it continues, it so makes a change not being in the bottom 3. smile.gif
crazyhill
QUOTE (LIVIFOREVER @ Sep 23 2008, 12:54) *
Threads like this are always gonna attract all the bellends with their sad anti Livi comments but it's nice to see sensible fans from other clubs with decent comments. smile.gif

Not sure who'd have been laughing at us anyway, most wouldn't have even concidered us in anyway pre season, i know Livi fans had no expectations other than to not be fighting relegation, cheers for the thread but it's still far too soon to be thinking of any title hopes, just enjoying our season TBH and hope it continues, it so makes a change not being in the bottom 3. smile.gif

What he said cool.gif
strathbrock
QUOTE (HulltoonPehShop @ Sep 23 2008, 10:05) *
3rd come April. cool.gif

That would dae me fine thanks very much!
strathbrock
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Sep 23 2008, 10:25) *
As much as I dislike Airdrie and Kilmarnock they are still built on the foundations of football unlike the above and the other two unmentionables

Elitism in football is alive and well!
Forza Livi
I dont think anyone at Livi is getting carried away at the moment. For me, its nice just to see us getting some good press for a change and the team getting results.

Whether we have the depth to sustain a challenge at the top only time will tell.

We're enjoying what we have but we are not getting ahead of ourselves
TheBanter
I laugh.gif at Livi every time I go near the roundabout metropolis and get witness the wee merry band of fans that still believe they are a force to be reckoned with.
Exuberant
Wait till Saturday at 4:50 ish.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Sep 23 2008, 13:38) *
Wait till Saturday at 4:50 ish.

Whoever goes out the league cup this week will win on Saturday.  Or if we both win or lose, it'll be a draw.  Right?  Ok?
KingfaetheSooth
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Sep 23 2008, 10:19) *
Me Too

Another disenfranchised Meadowbank Thistle fan?

QUOTE (strathbrock @ Sep 23 2008, 13:03) *
Elitism in football is alive and well!

I don't think it's elitism, more tradition and history. Like the MK Dongs in England, Livingston Football club will always be known as a new club who exist due to a property deal that killed off Meadowbank Thistle. (and no I don't want to go through the arguments yet again)
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Dr Koop @ Sep 23 2008, 11:15) *
Well, a few of us laughed at Livi in the diddy cup a few weekends ago. Be nice if we get to laugh at them again next weekend.

Hens are wise birds. They don't cackle until their eggs have hatched. tongue.gif

And then they keep them all in one basket.

Pearce Flynn and Dominic Keane are no mugs.  Pure opportunists. No qualms. They're only in it for the money. Bet they were kicking themselves when that £900,000 property deal went through at Morton? Oh, I bet they were! To be sure, to be sure.  They love building and buildings. Property development. Construction. Speculate to accumulate. Personal contacts in the banking world. Bricks 'n' fuckin' mortar. And navvies at heart.

They've got as much affinity to Livingston FC as the man in the moon. Nowt else.  Cute Irish whoorism, as John B. Keane (no relation) used to say. They'd sell up tomorrow and move on to the next venture. In fact, they've probably got their eyes on one already. Hibs, or whoever ...
Dr Koop
QUOTE (TheBanter @ Sep 23 2008, 13:35) *
I laugh.gif at Livi every time I go near the roundabout metropolis and get witness the wee merry band of fans that still believe they are a force to be reckoned with.

I don't know about the fans being a force to reckon with but the team's doing in the business when it comes to beating the other crap teams in the league so far.
Muggy
Has the season ended? Have Livi won the league? Have I been in a coma?

Livingston have achieved jack-shite just now. They have proved nobody wrong, or anything of the like. They are currently top of the league with still over 3/4 of the league to play. It can still go all wrong, and I think it will.

Since when was success measured after 7 games? blink.gif
strathbrock
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Sep 23 2008, 14:56) *
Has the season ended? Have Livi won the league? Have I been in a coma?

Livingston have achieved jack-shite just now. They have proved nobody wrong, or anything of the like. They are currently top of the league with still over 3/4 of the league to play. It can still go all wrong, and I think it will.

Since when was success measured after 7 games? blink.gif

Who are are you arguing with? The majority of the Livi fans have their feet firmly on the ground. After the trauma of the last 4 years you won't find many of them crowing to anybody at this point. We are allowed to be pleased at the start we have made though. If you want to translate that into boasting and heady predictions then you are way off the mark. Top half finish will be ok with me.
Muggy
QUOTE (strathbrock @ Sep 23 2008, 15:31) *
Who are are you arguing with?

The poster who started the thread.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
QUOTE (KingfaetheSooth @ Sep 23 2008, 13:49) *
I don't think it's elitism, more tradition and history. Like the MK Dongs in England, Livingston Football club will always be known as a new club who exist due to a property deal that killed off Meadowbank Thistle. (and no I don't want to go through the arguments yet again)

What property deal was that?
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Sep 23 2008, 15:36) *
The poster who started the thread.

Dude all i'm saying is they're doing really well, not bad for a team who until the start of the season had no player's. Landi seem's to have done his homework, and they're top of the league on merit. Initially i had Dundee to romp the league, but they really haven't done anything to suggest otherwise. I'm not going to say Livvy will win the title, But they'll be there or thereabout's. Nobody can deny them that.
vikingTON
Barring their result on Saturday they've achieved nothing worthy of note.
Nizzy
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Sep 23 2008, 16:51) *
I'm not going to say Livvy will win the title, But they'll be there or thereabout's. Nobody can deny them that.

Erm, I think every other team in the league can deny them that. There's a hell of a lot of football to be played between now and May.
Stoo61
I imagine most fans of other clubs would have Livi very low down the list of enviable teams, if not last!

I'd probably be an Old Firm fan before Livi.
Muggy
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 23 2008, 16:57) *

Exactly!
Muggy
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Sep 23 2008, 16:51) *
Dude all i'm saying is they're doing really well, not bad for a team who until the start of the season had no player's. Landi seem's to have done his homework, and they're top of the league on merit. Initially i had Dundee to romp the league, but they really haven't done anything to suggest otherwise. I'm not going to say Livvy will win the title, But they'll be there or thereabout's. Nobody can deny them that.

Fair enough, but you said "Who's laughing now?", which suggested Livi had been successes and the table now should be used to prove that they have proved everyone wrong. All I'm saying is, that there is an awful long way to go before anyone can be branded successes or failures.

It's a marathon, not a sprint.
KingfaetheSooth
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Sep 23 2008, 16:12) *
What property deal was that?

rolleyes.gif The joint venture between Mr Blobby at MT FC and the Livingston Development Corporation in 1995 when Almondvale was built. The deal involved the relocation of the club to Livingston and changing the name to Livingston FC. Of course, the LDC was subsequently wound up and the ownership was transferred to West Lothian Council from whom Livingston FC hire the stadium.

HTH. dry.gif
Tom McB
I don't know whose laughing at Livvy now. rolleyes.gif

Some of the Fella's which have sum nolege of gramer and punkchewashun mite bee.
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (Tom McB @ Sep 23 2008, 19:21) *
I don't know whose laughing at Livvy now. rolleyes.gif

Some of the Fella's which have sum nolege of gramer and punkchewashun mite bee.

Feck off
Trevor the tractor
Well done Livi, A good start to the season.

Fans from everywhere will tell you, The squads not big enough, You aren't very good, Crap support, etc. We heard it all last season, But do you know what ? Most of them don't know what their talking about. Believe in your team, Give them your full backing and you never know. Good luck !
Trevor the tractor
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Sep 23 2008, 18:41) *
Fair enough, but you said "Who's laughing now?", which suggested Livi had been successes and the table now should be used to prove that they have proved everyone wrong. All I'm saying is, that there is an awful long way to go before anyone can be branded successes or failures.

It's a marathon, not a sprint.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif We know, And Dundee aint up to a marathon or a sprint this season, Just like last season, Keep dreaming.
Muggy
QUOTE (Trevor the tractor @ Sep 23 2008, 19:53) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif We know, And Dundee aint up to a marathon or a sprint this season, Just like last season, Keep dreaming.

What Dundee are doing is irrelevant in this argument.

Hamilton's phenominal home record seems to have a bit of a mountain. Don't get too comfy.
Juan Sara
If anyone laughs the LAC will slash you up.

EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 23 2008, 16:57) *

Does a win at East End Park not count as note-worthy considering the fact that we are only 7 games in? Despite this "lack" of achievement you could argue that we've achieved the most out of the teams in the league.

You could also argue that we achieved a lot of things that were worthy of note last year and we still only finished 7th. End of the day, a bunch worthy of note achievements won't win you the title any more than a bunch of ground out wins will.
Fast_Action
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 23 2008, 10:14) *
As I said in another thread, only a fool would fail to take Livi seriously now. However, there's little point in congratulating them when, in reality, they're yet to achieve anything of any note.

I'm happy to see threads like this springing up as it allows teams like Thistle and the Pars to go about their business quietly and efficiently while their fans keep a level head.

There's no doubt the pressure will start to mount on Livingston, especially if their chairman continues to proclaim Landi as 'the best tactician in Scotland'.

Time will tell if they can cope, but I'll put past grievances aside and be one of the first to admit I was wrong should they keep the momentum going until the end of the season.

Why the pars? I would rather see you win the league than either St Johnstone or Dunfermline.
strathbrock
QUOTE (Stoo61 @ Sep 23 2008, 18:18) *
I'd probably be an Old Firm fan before Livi.

Now that is sad. Any half in particular?
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.