Full Version: Isn't There Enough To Worry About..
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Top Cat
Isn't there enough to worry about without beating ourselves up over a line in a song?
by James Traynor, Daily Record, September 22nd 2008

"WHAT? You are not offended by the Famine Song? Sorry, but you are a racist.

If your anger doesn't simmer at the very sound of this ditty then you, my friend, are as bad as the people singing it.

You, too, are tainted by a hatred of Irish Catholics.

That's the logic applied to this little number being belted out by some Rangers fans.

And you will detest it.

You will abhor it. You will write to your MSPs, MPs, UEFA, FIFA, the EU and the Vatican.

This is the most divisive, anti-social and downright malicious trend to be visited upon us yet.

God Almighty, what next?

Falkirk can't be called the Bairns because it might encourage paedophiles to buy season tickets.

Dundee United shall no longer be known as the Arabs in case it inflames problems in the Middle East.

Hibernian's ground will have to be renamed so that other religions are not offended.

Queen of the South can't be called Queens because Republicans and gays will be upset.

Dumbarton must have a complete name change as it could be deemed derogatory to people of limited intelligence.

And that brings us back to the offenders and the offended.

There are old folk among us who might freeze to death this winter because we are all being held to ransom by the power companies.

There are young families who will lose their homes because greedy bankers and lenders were allowed to vandalise the global financial system.

And depending on where you live or how much you have saved you might die because some authorities will not pay for life-saving medication.

These are outrageous. They are national disgraces and should shame every one of us.

So please, don't tell me a line in a song about the decade-long potato famine that made people flee Ireland in their tens of thousands in the middle of the 19th century is what we should be beating ourselves up about. The Great Famine was aterrible time and it was a disgrace that so many people were allowedto starve to death or die from related diseases but surely we have more going on around us today which demands such levels of disgust.

You know what, a great many of us are sick and tired of the ridiculous behaviour of groups of Old Firm fans, who aren't even interested in the game any more.

The only points they seek are the ones they believe they collect every time they run clyping to a politician.

The line that seems to have offended a number of Celtic fans is something like: "The famine is over, why don't you go home?"

It's supposed to have enraged one fan so much he put in a complaint that had Irish diplomats raise concerns with the Scottish government.

Unbelievable, but if any politician even attempts to tell Rangers' fans to drop it we'll be entering into dangerous times that will threaten our right to free speech. This line is not inciting violence against anyoneand it isn't celebrating the fact one million people died because of potato blight in the 1840s.

If anything the line is mocking the often cloyingly sentimental longing of Celtic fans for the old country and if you accept that's all it is then it might even border on humorous.

Actually,if some top comedian,a Billy Connolly or a Frankie Boyle had said something similar everybody would have been slapping their thighs.

So when did the gallows humour of the terracing, which for decades has made us all smile by cutting right through pomposity and politically-correct boundaries become such a terrible thing?

Look, if Celtic and their fans wish to hang on to and protect their Irish heritage to the point where it actually seems mawkish that is absolutely fine. No one has any right to insist they celebrate their Scottishness instead and, of course, that should mean they have no right to impose their will on others.

And why is it a shock to them that Rangers fans will react in some way? Is it really surprising the other lot see this Irishness as anti-British?

If only we could all just be Scottish and proud, too. Like many Scots I have fairly strong Irish roots but Ireland isn't my country and never will be.

I'm sorry if that insults anyone but I am not offended by someone who doesn't share my view or does not believe that one day we will be a thoroughly decent, modern and thriving nation.

Somehow I cannot see why this line should offend. And don't start sloshing in that bilge about how big a race crime it would be if people were singing our immigrant communities should go home because the troubles have subsided in their own countries. There are some who believe they shouldn't be here in the first place and that we should never allow in asylum seekers but these people are probably racist.

However, if any of these groups took to gathering regularly in sporting arenas to sing and long for their homelands and the old ways they, too, might be mocked.

But it wouldn't necessarily be racist. It's called freedom of speech. It is a fundamental right that must be protected.

We don't all have to support what is said but we should back the right to say it, provided it is not overtly racist, sectarian or likely to incite violence.

There is a piousness about some Celtic fans and it's as if this support can do no wrong.

They seem to have adopted a holierthan-thou attitude yet I have not heard one person who claims to be upset by that Famine Song line speaking out against those who sing in support of the IRA or of Nacho Novo catching a bullet.

Neither have they spoken out about the twisted people who indulge in the most disgusting and horrible chat on fans'message boards.

Those are what I call offensive but even so I would rather have that than live in a place where we are not allowed to open our mouths.

In retaliation to the Novo threats Rangers fans contacted Spanish authorities and that was just as bizarre as the Celtic fan's complaint to an Irish politician about a stupid song.

Strathclyde Police should have dealt with the threats to Novo because they were of a violent nature and those Celtic fans on their imaginary moral high ground should have been more alarmed at that behaviour than anything else.

So, to all those, of any religion or race, who think Scotland is such a bad, twisted place full of bigots and racists there is only one thing to say.

Go.

Go on, just gather up your prejudices, take your suspicions and pack your loathing of Scotland.

Go find a better place to live and leave us to get on with the job of making something good of this country."

[It's fair tae say Jim isn't happy wae all the hullabaloo!]
Proteus Maximus
Excellent points in that exceptional article. In fairness, most of the press are coming out with sensible articles on this subject. Celtic fans are looking rather foolish and isolated with their latest faux indignation.

They've only got the equally foolish and isolated Spiers for company.
Top Cat
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 22 2008, 22:31) *
Excellent points in that exceptional article. In fairness, most of the press are coming out with sensible articles on this subject. Celtic fans are looking rather foolish and isolated with their latest faux indignation.

They've only got the equally foolish and isolated Spiers for company.

I have tae say I'm a bit surprised by Jim Traynors comments. He lays into Celtic fans quite a bit regarding their complaining! Some of his Celtic supporting colleagues at the Record might not be too happy wae him but at least he's stood up and been counted, whether ye agree wae him or no!
LordHawHaw
A kid on journalist from kid on comics...now if you want a real journalist ratehr than the bingo callers and soap and big brother reporters the the TIMES (No not evening) Spiers is the man with the "stories"

QUOTE ( A real Newspaper)
Time for Martin Bain to speak out about the sectarian chants of Rangers’ fans

Graham Spiers
Even when things get as mad and agenda-driven in the sectarianism debate as they did last week in Scottish football, some aspects remain crystal clear in their need of condemnation. That is, if people have the courage to say so.

Celtic, streets ahead of Rangers when it comes to cleaning up their act, nonetheless will find it hard to fully divorce themselves from their benighted city rivals unless that clump of idiots in their away support who croon about the IRA can be silenced. The Celtic Park club, and in particular their chief executive, Peter Lawwell, have spoken out about it before, but perhaps another public push on the matter is essential.

The fact is, the IRA chanting is galling for Celtic, given that the club have led the way over the past 15 years in eradicating bigotry from the vast swath of their support. For years now Celtic Park – unlike Ibrox – has been largely free of sectarian or racist chanting.

Over at Ibrox, the latest favoured chant to pollute the air deserves open condemnation from Martin Bain, the Rangers chief executive, if only he can find the guts to do it. The so-called Famine Songsmacks of a brain-dead racism of the type too many Rangers fans simply cannot leave behind: antiIrish and antiCatholic. No wonder Strathclyde Police are now threatening to make arrests at Ibrox for racist behaviour. And it is inconceivable that, in private, Bain does not deplore the song, though he can’t bring himself to say so publicly.

I have only one measure of sympathy for Bain, who in every other sense is a decent man and a talented football executive, and it is this: he must be weary of the prejudices of the white underclass which continue to infect a large minority of the Ibrox support. Rangers have suffered humiliation upon humiliation in recent years – in Villarreal, in Pamplona, in the Uefa prosecution over bigoted chanting, and most recently and shockingly in Manchester. Just what must it be like being this club’s chief executive?

That, however, does not excuse Bain’s timidity last week over the Famine Song. Of it, without a word of condemnation, he said: “Clearly some of our supporters feel aggrieved that a song they believe to be no more than a ‘wind-up’ of Celtic supporters should be singled out like this...”

I’m sorry? Unfairly “singled out” and a mere “wind-up”? Given the recent tradition of the bigotry problem at Rangers, I fear this latest dirge about “Irish” or “Fenians” being sent back to Ireland deserves something slightly more withering than Bain’s folksy “wind-up” claim. The song is trash, it is racist, and he should find the guts to say it.

Back in 1972 – yes, it goes this far back – when the Rangers fans rioted in Barcelona and got the club flung out of Europe, you didn’t find the then Ibrox manager, Willie Waddell, indulging in this sort of obfuscation. On the contrary, facing his own supporters and with the steam coming out his ears, Waddell went straight for the jugular in condemning those who embarrassed his club.

“It is to these tikes, hooligans, louts and drunkards that I pinpoint my message,” Waddell said. “It is because of your gutter-rat behaviour that we [Rangers FC] are being publicly tarred and feathered.” Every football club chairman or chief executive, like Bain, needs to keep reasonably “on-message” with his own customers. But racism and sectarianism need to be condemned, not shirked.

The madness of last week, involving BBC Scotland headlines and pages of the fall-out in many Scottish newspapers, had its own peculiar evolution. We have now reached the stage where organised bodies of Celtic and Rangers fans, often via those modern lunatic asylums called fans websites, are in a race to land the first propaganda blow.

I must admit, when last week’s story first broke about alleged “Irish diplomats” poking their noses in by “getting in touch” with the Scottish Government about the chanting of Rangers fans, something wasn’t quite right about it. Just who was stirring which large pot here? There was something strained and farfetched about the way the story developed. Personally, it made me suspicious, and it only fed the now-rampant paranoia that goes with wearing a Rangers scarf.

Then, predictably, something even more ludicrous happened. A group of Rangers fans, voraciously casting around to find someone – anyone – to make a similar complaint about Celtic, came up with the dubious figure of Gregory Campbell, a Democratic Unionist MP from Northern Ireland, who duly expressed his inability to venture to any Celtic game due to some supporters’ unsavoury singing.

You could almost hear the underground clamour: “Quick lads, we’ve found an equaliser, get this Campbell bloke on to the TV stations!” And so the whole daft scenario unfolded, tit for tat, jibe and counter-jibe. In terms of addressing sectarianism, last week was not one when our media covered itself in glory.

One other fallacy needs to be debunked here. No one is suggesting that football chants should have either a squeaky, Mary Poppins air about them, or that they should be strictly football related. On both counts, of course not. Football largely enjoys the colour and daftness of its fans, and any killjoys in this regard should be kept well away from the debate.

But neither bigotry nor racism is funny. If only someone, somewhere, could teach a section of the Rangers fans to love themselves, rather than hate others, a huge step forward would be taken.
JUMPURS
There is a reason Spiers writes for the times and Traynor writes for the record.
fitbin
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 22 2008, 22:21) *
Falkirk can't be called the Bairns because it might encourage paedophiles to buy season tickets

If you're going to quote a bloody long article, how's about quoting something interesting / funny instead, eh? wink.gif

QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 22 2008, 22:31) *
Celtic fans are looking rather foolish and isolated with their latest faux indignation

Erm, yeah, *they* are the ones looking stupid wacko.gif
Top Cat
It sort of makes a mockery of yer campaign tae get Gers fans arrested though! Here we have a national newspaper with it's chief sports writer telling dhims tae grow up and take it as it's meant tae be, a wind up! Even Jimbo got what the wind up was!
Meanwhile, alledged Gers fan Spiers tries tae stay unbiased while [maybe some would say] keeping himself open for cash on apparent dhim minded radio stations. He still had a dig aboot terrorist songs at Parkheid of course! Says it all for me! rolleyes.gif
fitbin
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 22 2008, 22:53) *
Here we have a national newspaper with it's chief sports writer telling dhims tae grow up and take it as it's meant tae be, a wind up! Even Jimbo got what the wind up was!

Having a numptie like Traynor agreeing with you doesn't necessarily help your cause though wink.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 22 2008, 22:53) *
It sort of makes a mockery of yer campaign tae get Gers fans arrested though! Here we have a national newspaper with it's chief sports writer telling dhims tae grow up and take it as it's meant tae be, a wind up! Even Jimbo got what the wind up was!
Meanwhile, alledged Gers fan Spiers tries tae stay unbiased while [maybe some would say] keeping himself open for cash on apparent dhim minded radio stations. He still had a dig aboot terrorist songs at Parkheid of course! Says it all for me! rolleyes.gif

Is there something wrong with Ragers fans, yer own management have told you the song is racist and likely to lead to arrests, this song is a complete embarrassment to Scotland I'd suggest, you WILL have to stop singing it or be arrested, it's simple.
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 22 2008, 22:57) *
Is there something wrong with Ragers fans, yer own management have told you the song is racist and likely to lead to arrests, this song is a complete embarrassment to Scotland I'd suggest, you WILL have to stop singing it or be arrested, it's simple.

It isn't simple at all! huh.gif If 40,000 Gers fans sing it, who will they arrest first?? rolleyes.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 22 2008, 23:00) *
It isn't simple at all! huh.gif If 40,000 Gers fans sing it, who will they arrest first?? rolleyes.gif

1, 2 or 5 then 5 next game, then I would hope the SPL/SFA deal with one of their member clubs fans singing a racist song.
fitbin
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 22 2008, 23:00) *

So, you're going down the "safety in numbers" route, a bit like when you riot? ohmy.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 22 2008, 23:03) *
1, 2 or 5 then 5 next game, then I would hope the SPL/SFA deal with one of their member clubs fans singing a racist song.

I told ye last night I wisnae into any song that mocked famines but I think this is supposed tae be a wind up and even I can see where this is going!
If even one fan is arrested for singing it, what do ye think will happen? A demand for arrest of the first person tae fill the air wae bigoted verbals at Parkheid will be coming fast! Ye can't demand arrest for a crime you are committing yerself! The police are not daft and they know they're in a no win situation cause they'll get moaning and demands fae both sides! huh.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 22 2008, 23:12) *
I told ye last night I wisnae into any song that mocked famines but I think this is supposed tae be a wind up and even I can see where this is going!
If even one fan is arrested for singing it, what do ye think will happen? A demand for arrest of the first person tae fill the air wae bigoted verbals at Parkheid will be coming fast! Ye can't demand arrest for a crime you are committing yerself! The police are not daft and they know they're in a no win situation cause they'll get moaning and demands fae both sides! huh.gif

I don't think singing about the IRA or the UVF as much as it's unpalatable is actionable by the police, Celtic and Rangers fans have sung this crap for years.

It's been steadily getting better and better until UEFA stepped in to ban a Rangers song that should not have (IMO) However that action has directly led Rangers fans to overstep the mark and really scrap the bottom of the barrel to be as offensive as possible...Jock Stein, Naka, Famiine song.

Where do we stop? should Celtic fans in their 40,000 or 60.000 sings (funny) songs celebrating the deaths of Rangers fans in the Ibrox disaster, Rangers fans have overstepped the mark the loonies have taken over the asylum that is ibrox, soun like you want it to continue
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 22 2008, 23:23) *
I don't think singing about the IRA or the UVF as much as it's unpalatable is actionable by the police, Celtic and Rangers fans have sung this crap for years.

It's been steadily getting better and better until UEFA stepped in to ban a Rangers song that should not have (IMO) However that action has directly led Rangers fans to overstep the mark and really scrap the bottom of the barrel to be as offensive as possible...Jock Stein, Naka, Famiine song.

Where do we stop? should Celtic fans in their 40,000 or 60.000 sings (funny) songs celebrating the deaths of Rangers fans in the Ibrox disaster, Rangers fans have overstepped the mark the loonies have taken over the asylum that is ibrox, soun like you want it to continue

Personally I prefer more traditional Gers songs but I think oor fans are digging in cause they feel everyone else gets off scot-free and they're fed up taking the brunt!
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 22 2008, 22:43) *
A kid on journalist from kid on comics...now if you want a real journalist ratehr than the bingo callers and soap and big brother reporters the the TIMES (No not evening) Spiers is the man with the "stories"

Spiers writes aload of sh*te, no one likes him, his writing is terrible, and his so called "army of readers" never existed, he is a man who has a passion of hatred against Rangers FC, but if it is a similar thing for Celtic it's "oh we need to stop this nagging"

Both writers are horrendous, and don't deserve to be given the space to vent their views, especially considering who they are doing it for.

Spiers was demoted ages back due to his writing just being sad and his hatred so obvious, I find it highly funny that you speak of a "good writer" and then quote Graeme "please love me Celtic I can help you against those big bad Rangers fans" Spiers.

A twat, who I wouldn't be sad to see the back of from Journalism for good.

Same goes for Trayknob.
sev
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 22 2008, 23:29) *
Personally I prefer more traditional Gers songs but I think oor fans are digging in cause they feel everyone else gets off scot-free and they're fed up taking the brunt!

blink.gif

port-ton
The bits about other things in life being more important are completely true and no song should ever offend anyone because its just stupid , but in next weeks article he'll be talking about something stupid, like a refereeing decision or outrage at a sending off etc and acting like it is the end of the world.

He like every journalist is a complete hypocrite, and he espescially thinks he has a bigger standing in scottish football than he actually does (aka none).

It's the same with the English media, for a year leading upto a major tournament they try and find as many scandals involving the manager and players as they can, maybe even making some up and ruining players lives and then when the team does poorly in the competition they are the first ones to criticise them.

James Traynor is right that people shouldn't get offended by a song, but he is still a c*nt!
calum_gers
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 22 2008, 22:51) *
There is a reason Spiers writes for the times and Traynor writes for the record.

Which one gets read by more rolleyes.gif
JUMPURS
The irony in the Traynor story is magnificent too.

Isn't there enough to worry about without beating ourselves up over a line in a song?

Obviously not, why else would i be writing this story on a Monday paper after a full weekend of football and Ryder cup action. rolleyes.gif
JUMPURS
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 23 2008, 08:12) *
Which one gets read by more rolleyes.gif

Well according to Wikipedia the circulation of the Times is twice that of the DR.
myshkin
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 22 2008, 23:31) *
Spiers writes aload of sh*te, no one likes him, his writing is terrible, and his so called "army of readers" never existed, he is a man who has a passion of hatred against Rangers FC, but if it is a similar thing for Celtic it's "oh we need to stop this nagging"

And an ex-season ticket holder. smile.gif

Plenty more succulent lamb for Traynor after huis article. Don't think Spiers will be afforded the same luxury sad.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (myshkin @ Sep 23 2008, 09:16) *
And an ex-season ticket holder. smile.gif

Plenty more succulent lamb for Traynor after huis article. Don't think Spiers will be afforded the same luxury sad.gif

Traynor's article is horrendous, he is basically saying if you don't like it, leave Scotland, a bit like the Rangers fans it would seem

This morning's article From Speirs which I have to disagree with, because McCurry brass necking the mess of a game at Ibrox does not a good ref make. I think he's a terrible ref as he is easily influenced by events around him, particularly the crowd, shown again by giving a penalty to naka which was not.

The fact that he is a minister has never been a factor in any abuse he gets from Celtic fans, the clear thinking Levin hit it on the head when he said after one of the worse displays I've ever witnessed from a ref " this had nothing to do with Dundee united, it was all about Rangers" the importance of the game got to McCurry IMO, he was influenced by what his decisions meant for Rangers, that's a bad referee in my book

From The TimesSeptember 23, 2008

He’s one of The Best, so why on earth is the Reverend getting so much stick?Graham Spiers
There cannot have been many referees across Britain on Sunday who spent the morning baptising eight people in a Baptist church and then went out in the afternoon to officiate in a football match beamed live on TV around the world. That, however, was the fate of the Reverend Mike McCurry at Rugby Park, and look at the bother it got him into.

McCurry was abused relentlessly – and crassly – by a choir of Celtic fans who, on their travels around Scottish football grounds, have come to perfect one or two unsavoury chants in their repertoire. McCurry, however, appears to come in for particular stick, to the point where even Jim Jefferies and Gordon Strachan both wondered on Sunday if it affected his performance during Celtic’s 3-1 win over Kilmarnock.

If it did, the effect was unusual. Among the many absurdities of the Celtic travelling support trying to undermine McCurry was that, over the course of Sunday’s 90 minutes, he awarded their team two penalties – each justified – and did not bat an eyelid while so doing.

Well, that’s some anti-Celtic bias, I must say.

Referees, like players, cannot be immune from the vocal inanities of the stands, but McCurry appears to have had a particularly raw deal recently. Even on Sunday morning one Scottish tabloid, trying its best to whip up more “McCurry controversy”, just about qualified in reproducing the front-page nonstory of the year, together with pictures, about a recent church service which McCurry had conducted, in which he used a well-known evangelical chorus based on the old Tina Turner hit, The Best.

You will have to stay with me for a moment to get this. The “controversy” was that, quite amazingly, McCurry used the chorus, with its rewritten paeons to Jesus and salvation in the Lord, just the day after – yes, the day after! – an Old Firm game. The Rangers fans also use The Best as an unofficial anthem, and so . . . well, that was just controversial of McCurry.

It is hard to know quite how gullible and gormless some football fans are but, if this yarn in any way fuelled the Celtic fans’ abuse of McCurry at Rugby Park, we in the media have much to answer for. Yes, McCurry is an ordained Baptist minister, but anyone who thinks that this might in any way make him “antiCeltic” – such as awarding them two penalties at Rugby Park – should have their brain cells overhauled immediately.

The more I see of this referee the more I admire him. He took a savaging from Craig Levein after the error-strewn game between Rangers and Dundee United at Ibrox in May but, in truth, Levein was just as keen to excoriate the SFA, with whom he has had many a battle, as he was to have a go at McCurry. That day, too, a linesman was implicated in the Ibrox mess.

It is no surprise to me that McCurry has become one of Scotland’s leading referees because, that affair at Ibrox apart, he has shown a decent consistency in being able to handle big games and call decisions correctly. Even on Sunday, amid those hectic final minutes when an almighty scramble unfolded in the Celtic penalty area, McCurry was perfectly positioned to see Gary Caldwell’s handball – when quite a few others missed it – and calmly order the Celtic defender off.

Where will we be if referees have to put up with the sort of droning rubbish to which McCurry was subjected at Rugby Park? Celtic and Rangers fans have a long and inglorious history – and at times an hilarious one – of being suspicious of match officials because of their denominational status, and the fact that McCurry is ordained seems only to have made that paranoia even worse.

At this rate can you ever imagine if a Catholic priest decided, like McCurry, to take up refereeing, and ran out to take charge of an Old Firm game at Ibrox? The place would be in uproar. In some ways, we are living through a period of astounding stupidity in the Scottish game.

Meanwhile, may I wish those newly baptised by Rev McCurry at the weekend a happy and fulfilled life in their church.

Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 22 2008, 22:57) *

Liar! No they haven't.

You're not too good on the subtleties of the language.
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 23 2008, 10:01) *
Traynor's article is horrendous, he is basically saying if you don't like it, leave Scotland, a bit like the Rangers fans it would seem

This morning's article From Speirs which I have to disagree with, because McCurry brass necking the mess of a game at Ibrox does not a good ref make. I think he's a terrible ref as he is easily influenced by events around him, particularly the crowd, shown again by giving a penalty to naka which was not.

The fact that he is a minister has never been a factor in any abuse he gets from Celtic fans, the clear thinking Levin hit it on the head when he said after one of the worse displays I've ever witnessed from a ref " this had nothing to do with Dundee united, it was all about Rangers" the importance of the game got to McCurry IMO, he was influenced by what his decisions meant for Rangers, that's a bad referee in my book

Grow up and get a life. McCurry's view of the alleged Utd penalty was obscured by Dailly running across him and his linesman didn't see it. For the disallowed goal, it was the linesman was the man who said it was offside and he was right, since the Utd player tried to play the ball thus making him "active".
JUMPURS
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 23 2008, 10:11) *
Liar! No they haven't.

You're not too good on the subtleties of the language.

Did you not get one of the leaflets handed out at the game on Sunday?
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 23 2008, 08:39) *
Well according to Wikipedia the circulation of the Times is twice that of the DR.

Spiers only writes for the Scottish edition and its circulation puts it in the outpost category.
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 22 2008, 22:21) *
Actually,if some top comedian,a Billy Connolly or a Frankie Boyle had said something similar everybody would have been slapping their thighs.

Oh no. I'm agreeing with something Jim Taynor said. I can visualise Billy Connolly delivering the offensive line with vigour (if he wasn't a Celtic fan, obviously) and Frankie's lines are usually so cutting that they have me hiding under the couch. But both guys are really funny in their observations but they are almost always at someone's expense. If the PC police were allowed to edit their material there would be no show left. From what I've heard, the line is no harder-hitting than "Who ate all the pies" and it doesn't advocate violence. It pokes fun. As I've said before, it's no worse than "Go home, ya Huns".

patto
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 23 2008, 10:14) *
Grow up and get a life. McCurry's view of the alleged Utd penalty was obscured by Dailly running across him and his linesman didn't see it. For the disallowed goal, it was the linesman was the man who said it was offside and he was right, since the Utd player tried to play the ball thus making him "active".

LOL
crazyhill
i wonder if traynor has seen the full lyrics to this song ?

if the lyrics i have seen are the correct ones then too right this song should be banned

rangers fans get lower and lower

trash manchester in what was ment to be a good day out for the club, sing vile songs about a great scottish manager whilst basically using child abuse as a big up to spray paint walls and sing songs, the gary glitter stuff also and now this song again including reference to child abuse of some sort. this ill not be highlighted in the media as they will not go near it which they should to show how vile these people actually are .
crazyhill
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Sep 23 2008, 12:00) *
Oh no. I'm agreeing with something Jim Taynor said. I can visualise Billy Connolly delivering the offensive line with vigour (if he wasn't a Celtic fan, obviously) and Frankie's lines are usually so cutting that they have me hiding under the couch. But both guys are really funny in their observations but they are almost always at someone's expense. If the PC police were allowed to edit their material there would be no show left. From what I've heard, the line is no harder-hitting than "Who ate all the pies" and it doesn't advocate violence. It pokes fun. As I've said before, it's no worse than "Go home, ya Huns".

the famine is over why dont you go home - like arsenal singing to spurs the holocaust is over why dont you go home. or singing to black players that slavery is over so go home etc

go home you huns - as in rangers losing the game and celtic telling them to go home very similar to the cheerio cheerio cheerio heard at many grounds

not alike in my opinion
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (crazyhill @ Sep 23 2008, 12:27) *
the famine is over why dont you go home - like arsenal singing to spurs the holocaust is over why dont you go home. or singing to black players that slavery is over so go home etc

Talk about missing the point by a mile. Celtic fans are not a race. The song isn't sung at people in their homes who happen to have Irish surnames.

Actually many away fans sing "Spurs are on their way to Auschwitz. Hitler's gonna gas them again." That's much worse than the famine song, but yet I've never heard of a Spurs fan writing to the Israeli Embassy, let alone any dimplomats intervening. Celtic fans are just a bit more paranoid than anyone else.

go home you huns - as in rangers losing the game and celtic telling them to go home very similar to the cheerio cheerio cheerio heard at many grounds

not alike in my opinion

"Hun" is a derogatory sectarian term, as stated by Nil By Mouth and many police forces.
Swampy
QUOTE (crazyhill @ Sep 23 2008, 11:27) *

not alike in my opinion

Spot on.
crazyhill
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 23 2008, 12:58) *
Talk about missing the point by a mile. Celtic fans are not a race. The song isn't sung at people in their homes who happen to have Irish surnames.

Actually many away fans sing "Spurs are on their way to Auschwitz. Hitler's gonna gas them again." That's much worse than the famine song, but yet I've never heard of a Spurs fan writing to the Israeli Embassy, let alone any dimplomats intervening. Celtic fans are just a bit more paranoid than anyone else.

"Hun" is a derogatory sectarian term, as stated by Nil By Mouth and many police forces.

wake up and smell the coffee

look at the full song that your vile club sing

and how did i miss the point why sing about the potatoe famine if your not trying to be racist towards irish or people with irish families now living in scotland due to the famine
Huntton
I don't like Traynor or Spiers.

One thing I will say is that JT will say what is on his mind (even if 90% of the time he looks a tube), with Spiers he doesn't have an anti-rangers stance just an anti-Murray stance. it is impossible for the man to say something good about Rangers without quickly following it up with a negative. i.e Yes the secetrain element at Ibrox has decreased, 30 years to late.

I also find it amusing that you think singing go home you huns is the same as singing cherrio, cherrio, cheerio.

The question here is would we have heard about this had Celtic won that game. I don't think so.
crazyhill
QUOTE (Huntton @ Sep 23 2008, 13:03) *
I don't like Traynor or Spiers.

One thing I will say is that JT will say what is on his mind (even if 90% of the time he looks a tube), with Spiers he doesn't have an anti-rangers stance just an anti-Murray stance. it is impossible for the man to say something good about Rangers without quickly following it up with a negative. i.e Yes the secetrain element at Ibrox has decreased, 30 years to late.

I also find it amusing that you think singing go home you huns is the same as singing cherrio, cherrio, cheerio.

The question here is would we have heard about this had Celtic won that game. I don't think so.

i think you would have yes

are you saying having looked at the full song you think it is ok to sing it ?
Huntton
QUOTE (crazyhill @ Sep 23 2008, 13:00) *
and how did i miss the point why sing about the potatoe famine if your not trying to be racist towards irish or people with irish families now living in scotland due to the famine

The point is the song is not "hahaha your family died in the potato famine" It is simply saying. You think your irish, you think your only here cause the brits starved you, that is over, why don't you go home.

See I understand why fans of other teams hate getting asked, "what team do you really support Rangers or Celtic" But its people like you that make that question valid at certain times. You clearly have a liking for one half, bet you might even get some sick pleasure tonight when your team get rode.

Edit: The full lyrics are shameful, but the part your offended by is unfortuneatly factual, I myself would never sing the verses but the chorus I have sang and I will just say meant it in the spirt it is meant to be taken in. and bear in mind the Complaint is regarding the chorus.
findis89

But nil by mouth also state that the word "tim" is a sectarian term,but most Rangers fans on here don't seem to have a problem with it.
Also,please state which police force has stated that "hun" is a sectarian term?
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (findis89 @ Sep 23 2008, 13:13) *
But nil by mouth also state that the word "tim" is a sectarian term,but most Rangers fans on here don't seem to have a problem with it.
Also,please state which police force has stated that "hun" is a sectarian term?

The Strathclyde Police Force were confiscating 'No Huns in Europe' scarves saying it wasn't acceptable at the last OF game.
crazyhill
QUOTE (Huntton @ Sep 23 2008, 13:10) *
The point is the song is not "hahaha your family died in the potato famine" It is simply saying. You think your irish, you think your only here cause the brits starved you, that is over, why don't you go home.

See I understand why fans of other teams hate getting asked, "what team do you really support Rangers or Celtic" But its people like you that make that question valid at certain times. You clearly have a liking for one half, bet you might even get some sick pleasure tonight when your team get rode.

if the point is the fact they think they are irish etc then please explain to me what the need for the verses is ?

as for what team do i support ... Livingston

do i prefer celtic or you

then celtic but that is my choice as your club embaress scottish football on many trips away and come out with vile chants and songs even i have been subjected to at the vale..
findis89
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Sep 23 2008, 13:15) *
The Strathclyde Police Force were confiscating 'No Huns in Europe' scarves saying it wasn't acceptable at the last OF game.

do we have official proof of this?I know it was mentioned on fascist fascist,but i did not see anything in the press.
Huntton
QUOTE (crazyhill @ Sep 23 2008, 13:16) *
if the point is the fact they think they are irish etc then please explain to me what the need for the verses is ?

as for what team do i support ... Livingston

do i prefer celtic or you

then celtic but that is my choice as your club embaress scottish football on many trips away and come out with vile chants and songs even i have been subjected to at the vale..

I edit my post above regarding the verses, as stated, not my cup of tea.

But why have a preference, most supporters I would think, hate us equally and enjoy a laugh at our expense which is understandable. You are coming across very pro Celtic, on a Rangers and Celtic forum?????
crazyhill
QUOTE (Huntton @ Sep 23 2008, 13:23) *
I edit my post above regarding the verses, as stated, not my cup of tea.

But why have a preference, most supporters I would think, hate us equally and enjoy a laugh at our expense which is understandable. You are coming across very pro Celtic, on a Rangers and Celtic forum?????

you dont like the fact i prefer them over you

i have alot of celtic supporting family members and friends that is my reason for preference

the complaint is about the full song not just the chorus just the media would never mention the full song.

how can you back it up even though you know the full song is nothing but vile racist slur
HeartsparkDollarsign
QUOTE (findis89 @ Sep 23 2008, 13:13) *

I'd say far more significant is the fact that you wouldn't be able to find a Celtic supporter on the planet who considers "Tim" to be a sectarian epithet. NBM claiming it so is merely proof that they are well-meaning but bumblingly misinformed. For an organisation whose very name implies that language is crucial to the issue, misapplying sinister connotations to one of the few words neither side of the OF has a problem with just proves that NBM should be regarded by no-one as the arbiters of what is or isn't sectarian.

As for hun, if somebody could oblige me with an explanation of its etymology with specific regard to how it denigrates Protestantism - such as how pape and bead-rattler denigrate Catholicism or tarrier denigrates the Irish - then I'd be most interested to read it. I will not, however, be holding my breath. rolleyes.gif
Huntton
QUOTE (crazyhill @ Sep 23 2008, 13:28) *
you dont like the fact i prefer them over you

i have alot of celtic supporting family members and friends that is my reason for preference

the complaint is about the full song not just the chorus just the media would never mention the full song.

how can you back it up even though you know the full song is nothing but vile racist slur

No I couldn't care less who you liked better, I just don't understand that your a Livingstone supporter but like Celtic more than Rangers, surely if your team is Livingstone then you only care about them!

No, the Complaint by the Irish Goverment relates to the lines regarding the Famine, as far as I understand it.

It think people with the moral highground are the problem here, hence why I back it up. Going back to the Jim Traynor article, how can anyone tell someone else they can't say that. You might not like it, you might not agree with it but you can't stop someone else from saying it.
fitbin

No it's not, ya daft Hun.

I'm getting bored of this, but for the thousandth time I've never seen the Moderator of the Church of Scotland called a "Hun", but I'd heard Nacho Novo/ Mo Johnston etc called a Hun.

Wonder what Nil By Mouth have to say about The Famine Song? huh.gif
crazyhill
QUOTE (Huntton @ Sep 23 2008, 13:38) *
No I couldn't care less who you liked better, I just don't understand that your a Livingstone supporter but like Celtic more than Rangers, surely if your team is Livingstone then you only care about them!

No, the Complaint by the Irish Goverment relates to the lines regarding the Famine, as far as I understand it.

It think people with the moral highground are the problem here, hence why I back it up. Going back to the Jim Traynor article, how can anyone tell someone else they can't say that. You might not like it, you might not agree with it but you can't stop someone else from saying it.

first off all no e in Livingston and as ive explained my reasons for preference towards celtic also i have family from ireland so surley that is directed towards me also

the complaint is about the full song just the media clowns will not touch the verses as they do not want to get involved with child abuse issues
Huntton
QUOTE (crazyhill @ Sep 23 2008, 13:56) *
first off all no e in Livingston and as ive explained my reasons for preference towards celtic also i have family from ireland so surley that is directed towards me also

the complaint is about the full song just the media clowns will not touch the verses as they do not want to get involved with child abuse issues

Only if you think that you are Irish, think it is gods country and sing songs relating to it and how you miss it. otherwise no its not.

well shameful on the media clowns then, as I said it is shameful a disgrace, I won't sing those parts but I will never challenge someones right to sing a song.

Plus, get a grip its a song, if we were lobbing bricks with those lyrics on it then you have a problem.

people that get offended by a song are as narrow minded as our lot that want Boruc Jailed for blessing himself, and before you start I am not saying blessing yourself is the same as singing about child abuse, I am just saying they both cause no Physical harm and if your a grown man that can't cope mentally, don't go to the football.

Thanks for the spelling lesson as well, however you should be more sensitive to my thoughts i am Dyslexic
crazyhill
QUOTE (Huntton @ Sep 23 2008, 14:08) *
Only if you think that you are Irish, think it is gods country and sing songs relating to it and how you miss it. otherwise no its not.

well shameful on the media clowns then, as I said it is shameful a disgrace, I won't sing those parts but I will never challenge someones right to sing a song.

Plus, get a grip its a song, if we were lobbing bricks with those lyrics on it then you have a problem.

people that get offended by a song are as narrow minded as our lot that want Boruc Jailed for blessing himself, and before you start I am not saying blessing yourself is the same as singing about child abuse, I am just saying they both cause no Physical harm and if your a grown man that can't cope mentally, don't go to the football.

Thanks for the spelling lesson as well, however you should be more sensitive to my thoughts i am Dyslexic

what i have ment from the off is this song should be stopped if the song came out without the verses then maybe it wouldnt have been as bad

but the whole song is vile

i dont know what rangers fans find funny in child abuse but they cant stop using it as some kind weapon which isnt right its sick

the jock stein stuff, the gary glitter and now this

about time they stopped it dont you think .
Huntton
QUOTE (crazyhill @ Sep 23 2008, 14:14) *
what i have ment from the off is this song should be stopped if the song came out without the verses then maybe it wouldnt have been as bad

but the whole song is vile

i dont know what rangers fans find funny in child abuse but they cant stop using it as some kind weapon which isnt right its sick

the jock stein stuff, the gary glitter and now this

about time they stopped it dont you think .

Personally, Its not a subject to sing about.

but what right does anyone have to say that they can't sing about it.

Football is far to sanatised as it is. If this stops wht will be the next protest???
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.