Full Version: Whatever Happened To Paul Caddis?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Disraeli
What fate has befallen the eponymous hero of this thread?

LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Sep 22 2008, 10:29) *
What fate has befallen the eponymous hero of this thread?

What do you mean huh.gif I think he'll play against Livi, I expect him to be proved one way or another this season
Disraeli
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 22 2008, 10:51) *
What do you mean huh.gif I think he'll play against Livi, I expect him to be proved one way or another this season

My meaning was that he has not yet secured his first team place, as some believed he was capable of doing before the start of the season.

Hopefully he can develop well this season as Alan Hutton's injury has emphasised Scotland's woeful shortfall in terms of full-back's.
The Arch
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Sep 22 2008, 11:09) *
My meaning was that he has not yet secured his first team place, as some believed he was capable of doing before the start of the season.

Hopefully he can develop well this season as Alan Hutton's injury has emphasised Scotland's woeful shortfall in terms of full-back's.

"My meaning was that he has not yet secured his first team place" - That is true

"as some believed he was capable of doing before the start of the season." - yes I agree

"Hopefully he can develop well this season as Alan Hutton's injury has emphasised Scotland's woeful shortfall in terms of full-back's" - Yes another good point well made by Disraeli
Disraeli
QUOTE (The Arch @ Sep 22 2008, 11:16) *
"My meaning was that he has not yet secured his first team place" - That is true

"as some believed he was capable of doing before the start of the season." - yes I agree

"Hopefully he can develop well this season as Alan Hutton's injury has emphasised Scotland's woeful shortfall in terms of full-back's" - Yes another good point well made by Disraeli

A well executed parody laugh.gif .
Just throw in a couple of comments, written from the perspective of an omnipotent narrator, about people tucking a copy of the Daily Mail under their arm and you're all set.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Sep 22 2008, 11:09) *

He'll get a few subs and games this season I'm sure, up to him whether this performances merit keeping him in the team, I would hope that he gets a game tomorrow V Livi
Mehdi Taouil
Got his autograph on Sunday.

To much competition with Hinkel and Wilson in my opinion.
khenny
I think Caddis is one of these players who know no fear. Don't think he would choke on any stage and his performances pre season were full of attacking flair and vigour.

For me he is one of the most promising youngsters we have had at Celtic Park for a long time.

smile.gif
patto
He set up a good goal 2nite.
Mehdi Taouil
I remember he had to play against Ronaldinho when they played Bacelona at Parkhead. He did allright as well laugh.gif
Eönwë
He tore Garrido (sp?) a new pair of buttocks earlier this season, albeit in a friendly.
fitbin
QUOTE (Eärendil @ Sep 23 2008, 22:44) *
He tore Garrido (sp?) a new pair of buttocks earlier this season, albeit in a friendly.

It's amazing what Plastic Surgeons can do these days
glasnost
QUOTE (khenny @ Sep 23 2008, 19:36) *
I think Caddis is one of these players who know no fear. Don't think he would choke on any stage and his performances pre season were full of attacking flair and vigour.

For me he is one of the most promising youngsters we have had at Celtic Park for a long time.

smile.gif

.......whuch makes it all the more galling that he isn’t being given any real chance, especially given the two who are being played ahead of him.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 24 2008, 09:36) *
.......whuch makes it all the more galling that he isn’t being given any real chance, especially given the two who are being played ahead of him.

I cannot understand why Strachan cannot see it
BullyWee1878
He is probably away trying to get some more wee slags pregnant.
sev
QUOTE (BullyWee1878 @ Sep 24 2008, 10:47) *
He is probably away trying to get some more wee slags pregnant.

??
BullyWee1878
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 24 2008, 10:59) *
??

It was in the paper a few months ago about him getting some wee tart pregnant but wanting nothing to do with it.
Marsh
QUOTE (BullyWee1878 @ Sep 24 2008, 11:03) *
It was in the paper a few months ago about him getting some wee tart pregnant but wanting nothing to do with it.

And then it was front page news that it wasn't his wean, the wee tart was just tryin to get some money out of him.
Maleybhoy
I think if he gets a run of games, he'll keep hinkel and wilson out the team. he seems like a good attacking right back and doesnt seem phased by the big games.

wish he was a left back though...lee naylor is chronic.

LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 24 2008, 15:20) *
I think if he gets a run of games, he'll keep hinkel and wilson out the team. he seems like a good attacking right back and doesnt seem phased by the big games.

wish he was a left back though...lee naylor is chronic.

I should be keeping Hinkel oot the team biggrin.gif
Proteus Maximus
Isn't Paul Caddis the real name of that dodgy bloke who's just been released from a Vietnamese prison?
sev
QUOTE (BullyWee1878 @ Sep 24 2008, 11:03) *

oh
Maleybhoy
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 24 2008, 15:30) *
I should be keeping Hinkel oot the team biggrin.gif

bring back paul telfer...... or have i gone to far? haha laugh.gif
glasnost
QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 25 2008, 13:11) *
bring back paul telfer...... or have i gone to far? haha laugh.gif

No. He is better than Wilson by far and Hinkel as well. He was poor to start with Telfer but came onto a game certainly. Of course, he was a target of the boo boys and also had the unenviable task of replacing the fantastic Didier Agathe.
Maleybhoy
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 25 2008, 13:14) *
No. He is better than Wilson by far and Hinkel as well. He was poor to start with Telfer but came onto a game certainly. Of course, he was a target of the boo boys and also had the unenviable task of replacing the fantastic Didier Agathe.

i didnt rate Telfer atall, sure he started poor, but him coming onto a game still wasnt all that great. not saying that i rate Wilson or Hinkel either. the last right back that i actually like would have to be Jackie McNamara
glasnost
QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 25 2008, 13:26) *
i didnt rate Telfer atall, sure he started poor, but him coming onto a game still wasnt all that great. not saying that i rate Wilson or Hinkel either.

No-one said he was great. He was however solid in defence albeit not spectacular going forward. At laest he could defend and stand up like a man, unlike Wilson.

QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 25 2008, 13:26) *
the last right back that i actually like would have to be Jackie McNamara

Didier Agathe played at right back after Jackie McNamara.

Maleybhoy
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 25 2008, 13:38) *
No-one said he was great. He was however solid in defence albeit not spectacular going forward. At laest he could defend and stand up like a man, unlike Wilson.

Didier Agathe played at right back after Jackie McNamara.

aye, a suppose he was better than wilson in that sense. just thought he made the wrong desicions when he had the ball alot.

i think agathe was a better winger than a right back. i know he couldnt cross a ball, but i thought he was more effective higher up the park. i think mcnamara was just a solid out n out right back.
glasnost
QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 25 2008, 13:47) *
aye, a suppose he was better than wilson in that sense. just thought he made the wrong desicions when he had the ball alot.

Yes undoubtedly so.

QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 25 2008, 13:47) *
i think agathe was a better winger than a right back. i know he couldnt cross a ball, but i thought he was more effective higher up the park. i think mcnamara was just a solid out n out right back.

Of course he could cross a ball – again, another myth established from the boo boys. Whilst he was good as a wide player when we played with 3-5-2, his performances improved and he became a far more consistent performer when at right-back especially in Europe. Without doubt our best right-back since Danny McGrain. Some of the abuse he received from the support when he played at right back i.e. not rampaging down the wing was diabolical.
Maleybhoy
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 25 2008, 13:52) *
Yes undoubtedly so.

Of course he could cross a ball – again, another myth established from the boo boys. Whilst he was good as a wide player when we played with 3-5-2, his performances improved and he became a far more consistent performer when at right-back especially in Europe. Without doubt our best right-back since Danny McGrain. Some of the abuse he received from the support when he played at right back i.e. not rampaging down the wing was diabolical.

i still think Mcnamara was a better right back that Agathe.
Agathe did have steadier games at right back but his game was all about running at people, when he was at right back he never had the chance to do that as offen, and i think thats why many people woulda wanted him on the wing.
glasnost
QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 25 2008, 14:03) *
i still think Mcnamara was a better right back that Agathe.
Agathe did have steadier games at right back but his game was all about running at people, when he was at right back he never had the chance to do that as offen, and i think thats why many people woulda wanted him on the wing.

Yes when he was playing in a 3-5-2 and offensively his game was all about knocking the ball past players and using his pace to beat them. When we moved to a 4-4-2 his game changed, although of course when allowed he still was a potent offensive threat. Defeinsively his pace was obviously vital, especially in Europe, but his tackling was spot on as was his positional sense, something that some of our idiotic fans couldn't quite grasp.

McNamara was a solid performer wherever he played with us but there is no doubt he wasn't near the class as Agathe, especially at the top level for us.
Disraeli
Let's face it; Jackie McNamara is a former player of the year and has proven himself at international level.Didier Agathe was mediocre.

Maleybhoy
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 25 2008, 14:14) *
Yes when he was playing in a 3-5-2 and offensively his game was all about knocking the ball past players and using his pace to beat them. When we moved to a 4-4-2 his game changed, although of course when allowed he still was a potent offensive threat. Defeinsively his pace was obviously vital, especially in Europe, but his tackling was spot on as was his positional sense, something that some of our idiotic fans couldn't quite grasp.

McNamara was a solid performer wherever he played with us but there is no doubt he wasn't near the class as Agathe, especially at the top level for us.

thats fair enough, eveyone has their own opinions.
i've just always thought agathe was more dangerous when he was on the wing, he did slot in well at right back, i wouldnt say he was wasted at right back, coz he did play well...but he done his best work higher up the park. sometime its frustrating to be a winger or a right mid, coz there can be games when your just not in it and i think its a bit easier to have a steadier game at right back than right mid.
glasnost
QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 25 2008, 14:35) *
thats fair enough, eveyone has their own opinions.
i've just always thought agathe was more dangerous when he was on the wing,

Erm of course he was more dangerous on the wing rolleyes.gif

QUOTE (Maleybhoy @ Sep 25 2008, 14:35) *
...but he done his best work higher up the park.

His best work for us IMO was at right back and particularly in Europe.

It was a masterstroke moving him there when we went to a 4-4-2.

Do you think that's what Strachan was thinking when he moved Ross Wallace to left back?
Maleybhoy
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 25 2008, 14:38) *
Do you think that's what Strachan was thinking when he moved Ross Wallace to left back?

i think it may well ahve been, woulda actually liked to see him stay a couple of years to see if he did fit into left back as agathe did at right back...
he wouldnt have much competition, lee naylor isnt the best
ballymoneyyin
i like paul caddis, very strong, very comfortable and very reliable. a hear that celtic do have a lot of players pushing their way into the first team this year from the reserves. gordon should give them a chance, it would wake up the players that havent been pulling their weight so far this season.
LordHawHaw
I thought Agathe was grossly underestimated at Celtic, he was excellent at full back and his destruction of Stuttgart was a thing of beauty cool.gif

Caddis deserves a run IMO
Proteus Maximus
Who on earth is he?
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.