Full Version: Have Celtic Fans Stolen The Famine Song Tune?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Top Cat
I'm hearing that while we were at Ibrox today being given leaflets out by our club on yon 'controversial' song and the verbal attack on our club by other fans, the dhims at Rugby Park were singing about Mike McCurry being a dirty hun and that apparently, the tune they sang their bigoted song tae was in fact the same one as the Famine Song. Is this true, anybody??
JUMPURS
Well we sing a song about Aiden McGeady to the tune, but iirc the tune is the Beach Boys Sloop John B.

I think that's what the famine song is too.
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 19:19) *
I'm hearing that while we were at Ibrox today being given leaflets out by our club on yon 'controversial' song and the verbal attack on our club by other fans, the dhims at Rugby Park were singing about Mike McCurry being a dirty hun and that apparently, the tune they sang their bigoted song tae was in fact the same one as the Famine Song. Is this true, anybody??

Yeah, I for one can remeber singing it at Tannadice last season when we clinched 3 in a row (yes 3 laugh.gif biggrin.gif )

How did it go again? huh.gif dry.gif

Ah yes tongue.gif

"Why don't you go home, why don't you go home
The league is over, why don't you go home"
Top Cat
It makes a mockery of yer complaint if indeed this is true. How can you constantly moan about a song and then instantly use the same tune tae call the ref a dirty hun basturt!

You couldnae make it up!! huh.gif
JUMPURS
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 19:33) *
It makes a mockery of yer complaint if indeed this is true. How can you constantly moan about a song and then instantly use the same tune tae call the ref a dirty hun basturt!

We can't sing a song to a beach boys tune??

Do you even know the words to the Mike McCurry song? Or ar eyou just assuming it called him a dirty hun basturt [sic] i couldn't make it out on TV.
Top Cat
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 21 2008, 19:39) *
We can't sing a song to a beach boys tune??

Do you even know the words to the Mike McCurry song? Or ar eyou just assuming it called him a dirty hun basturt [sic] i couldn't make it out on TV.

I never heard it but I'm reliably informed fae a few people who saw the Killie v Dhim game, that was the gist of the song and the tune was the same! Does it no make yer argument aboot the Famine Song null and void when ye go and use the same tune in yer own bigoted manner?? rolleyes.gif
SmellTheGlove

Who said we used the tune to call the ref a dirty hun b*****d?*

You couldn't make it up*

Correct spelling rolleyes.gif
fitbin

You really are scraping the bottom of a well scraped barrel here rolleyes.gif

So, they've sang a song to the same Beach Boys tune as one of yours? ohmy.gif (about a totally different subject)

Haud the front page ohmy.gif ohmy.gif huh.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 21 2008, 19:45) *
You really are scraping the bottom of a well scraped barrel here rolleyes.gif

So, they've sang a song to the same Beach Boys tune as one of yours? ohmy.gif (about a totally different subject)

Haud the front page ohmy.gif ohmy.gif huh.gif

Aye but surely in a week when yer banging oan aboot a song, the last thing any sensible set of supporters would do is use a derogatory song using the same tune. Maybe that's the problem, sensible supporters!! rolleyes.gif
myshkin

Sounds like you have.

QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 19:43) *
I never heard it but I'm reliably informed fae a few people who saw the Killie v Dhim game, that was the gist of the song and the tune was the same! Does it no make yer argument aboot the Famine Song null and void when ye go and use the same tune in yer own bigoted manner?? rolleyes.gif

WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 19:43) *

It doesn't really, if they were indeed singing about him being a "dirty hun b*stard" then i believe both songs, wither using the same tune or not, should be looked at seperately, and dealt with seperately, and if they were indeed doing this I hope it is mentioned in the report to the SFA, imagine the up-roar if they were done for it? laugh.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (myshkin @ Sep 21 2008, 19:48) *
Sounds like you have.

Maybe not, I'm sure the truth will come out in the fullness of time! wink.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 21 2008, 19:49) *
It doesn't really, if they were indeed singing about him being a "dirty hun b*stard" then i believe both songs, wither using the same tune or not, should be looked at seperately, and dealt with seperately, and if they were indeed doing this I hope it is mentioned in the report to the SFA, imagine the up-roar if they were done for it? laugh.gif

Aye true I suppose, they should be banned for such bigotry! tongue.gif
Anyway, at Ibrox today, our home support gave the nod the Famine Song is staying by all accounts! The worst thing the dhims could have done is complain aboot it cause now it's going to hang aboot a bit longer than I ever thought it would.
Richie
Celtic fans stealing songs... surely not.
tongue.gif
Fizzy Gillespie
as a beach boys fan i am personally disgusted that either of the scummy weegie clubs would steal and subvert a classic piece of work with such disgusting bigotry and racism.
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 19:55) *
Aye true I suppose, they should be banned for such bigotry! tongue.gif
Anyway, at Ibrox today, our home support gave the nod the Famine Song is staying by all accounts! The worst thing the dhims could have done is complain aboot it cause now it's going to hang aboot a bit longer than I ever thought it would.

Did you like the ditty the Champions created up at Tannadice bottom cat?

laugh.gif laugh.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 21 2008, 20:51) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif

I thought you were gone. sad.gif

Dang, it was fun while you were away. wink.gif

Your petty puns are hardly funny "bottom cat" rolleyes.gif
thejailender
Celtic fans sing to Mike McCurry at Kilmarnock

You Tube Vid
zenith st.petersburg
I was at the game today and can confirm that the word 'b*stard' was not used when McCurry was accussed of being a fan of Rangers.
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 21 2008, 20:52) *
I thought you were gone. sad.gif

Like all you racist huns wish for the immigrant Irish? rolleyes.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 21 2008, 21:06) *
Like all you racist huns wish for the immigrant Irish? rolleyes.gif

No, I just hoped you were gone, I don't care where you live. wink.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Sep 21 2008, 21:01) *
I was at the game today and can confirm that the word 'b*stard' was not used when McCurry was accussed of being a fan of Rangers.

Thanks for clearing that up. I'm heartened by the fact the dhims wouldnae call him a hun basturt! rolleyes.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 21 2008, 20:51) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif

It doesnae bother me although I think we have better songs tae be fair! wink.gif
zenith st.petersburg
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 21:13) *
Thanks for clearing that up. I'm heartened by the fact the dhims wouldnae call him a hun basturt! rolleyes.gif

It was all very civilised tongue.gif and done in the best possible taste
Top Cat
laugh.gif I'm sure it was.

We'll be the same if we get Eddie Smith this season, of course!! rolleyes.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 21:19) *
laugh.gif I'm sure it was.

We'll be the same if we get Eddie Smith this season, of course!! rolleyes.gif

Well..........

Who was in charge today? wink.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 21 2008, 21:28) *
Well..........

Who was in charge today? wink.gif

That was my point! wink.gif Only in my book, we gave him a bit more respect than the dhims do wae McCurry!
bernie
And Mccurry deserves respect after his latest preaching ceremony?
Top Cat
QUOTE (bernie @ Sep 21 2008, 22:04) *
And Mccurry deserves respect after his latest preaching ceremony?

Of course. Why shouldn't he? He's only a fitba ref trying tae earn a living! huh.gif
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 21 2008, 21:09) *
No, I just hoped you were gone, I don't care where you live. wink.gif

You must be the only hun who doesn't care where the immigrant Irish are deemed domicilled then. rolleyes.gif
bernie
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 22:09) *
Of course. Why shouldn't he? He's only a fitba ref trying tae earn a living! huh.gif

Well maybe if he stuck with his Mrs, stopped sha**ing around and stopped singing silly hun songs , he would get respect- afterall he is a man of the cloth..... Aye right
Top Cat
QUOTE (bernie @ Sep 21 2008, 22:26) *
Well maybe if he stuck with his Mrs, stopped sha**ing around and stopped singing silly hun songs , he would get respect- afterall he is a man of the cloth..... Aye right

Funny that, although they're are many supposed men of the cloth who have been involved in numerous scandals, corruption and disgusting practices in a well known organisation, your selective amnesia singles McCurry out! rolleyes.gif

And btw, is Tina Turner a hun?? huh.gif
bernie
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 22:33) *
Funny that, although they're are many supposed men of the cloth who have been involved in numerous scandals, corruption and disgusting practices in a well known organisation, your selective amnesia singles McCurry out! rolleyes.gif

And btw, is Tina Turner a hun?? huh.gif

The debate is about McCurry- I am well versed as to the wrongs of many people of all cloth's, in several religions- its not jusrt RC that have had scandals- try ggogling it- if I wanted to debate on others I would so stick to the theme.

Tina- no idea - I only know McCurry is a sad excuse for the clergy- yes just like many others who chose the dark side from all religions- fact is - he is a tosser.
Top Cat
QUOTE (bernie @ Sep 21 2008, 22:43) *
The debate is about McCurry- I am well versed as to the wrongs of many people of all cloth's, if I wanted to debate on others I would so stick to the theme.

Tina- no idea - I only know McCurry is a sad excuse for the clergy- yes just like many others who chose the dark side from all religions- fact is - he is a tosser.

Well for the record, I agree wae ye aboot his woman chasing but singing a Tina Turner song in church, whether a bit off the wall or no, is not a hanging offence in my book!
LordHawHaw

I heard that the huns were singing it again today, is thta confirmed and are the SPL taking action?

Nice article on the whole affair and how we scots are dealing with it
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 21 2008, 23:07) *
I heard that the huns were singing it again today, is thta confirmed and are the SPL taking action?

Nice article on the whole affair and how we scots are dealing with it

I have tae say the song I assume ye refer tae was being sung today and the SPL are taking action.
They apparently are fed up wae songs aboot terrorism being sung at fitba matches and want tae speak tae Celtic and see if anything can be done aboot their support! tongue.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 23:12) *
I have tae say the song I assume ye refer tae was being sung today and the SPL are taking action.
They apparently are fed up wae songs aboot terrorism being sung at fitba matches and want tae speak tae Celtic and see if anything can be done aboot their support! tongue.gif

Well I don't think you can say you were not warned, Rangers handed out leaflets FFS.
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 21 2008, 23:16) *
Well I don't think you can say you were not warned, Rangers handed out leaflets FFS.

Aye I know, I got one and the Gers did say in it they would defend our support so don't think it was just a 'shut up' leaflet. Personally I've no got time for slagging anything tae do wae famines and I think I told ye that on here already. To me though, I think the song was done as a wind up and not directed towards the people that suffered cause of a famine. If it's clamped on then the same fate awaits the dhims and their songs cause it'll no finish at this 'song'!!
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 23:26) *
Aye I know, I got one and the Gers did say in it they would defend our support so don't think it was just a 'shut up' leaflet. Personally I've no got time for slagging anything tae do wae famines and I think I told ye that on here already. To me though, I think the song was done as a wind up and not directed towards the people that suffered cause of a famine. If it's clamped on then the same fate awaits the dhims and their songs cause it'll no finish at this 'song'!!

So your take on the leaflet was go ahead and we'll defend you huh.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 21 2008, 23:30) *
So your take on the leaflet was go ahead and we'll defend you huh.gif

Nah but it did raise defending the club on threats and abuse fae other supporters. dry.gif As for the song, it was given the treatment today against Motherwell in what I could only describe as defiance and that's unusual as our home support are a bit more reserved on such matters usually!
I think the old 'no one likes us' is coming tae the fore wae all the anti Rangers treatment we're getting and our support will no go quietly on this one!!
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 23:36) *
Nah but it did raise defending the club on threats and abuse fae other supporters. dry.gif As for the song, it was given the treatment today against Motherwell in what I could only describe as defiance and that's unusual as our home support are a bit more reserved on such matters usually!
I think the old 'no one likes us' is coming tae the fore wae all the anti Rangers treatment we're getting and our support will no go quietly on this one!!

Then I look forward to action being taken
fitbin
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 21 2008, 23:26) *

You mean there's even more of the barrel for Huns to scrape?
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 22 2008, 00:10) *
You mean there's even more of the barrel for Huns to scrape?

More than Berwick will ever have anyway. wink.gif

Don't you have another club to discuss? Rather than spend your whole time in an OF forum?

C'mon now.
fitbin
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 22 2008, 00:26) *
More than Berwick will ever have anyway. wink.gif

Don't you have another club to discuss? Rather than spend your whole time in an OF forum?

C'mon now.

Dodging and deflecting from how horrible your songs are? rolleyes.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 22 2008, 23:01) *
Dodging and deflecting from how horrible your songs are? rolleyes.gif

He has got a point though! Have you ever posted anything in relation tae Berwick Rangers?? rolleyes.gif
WOOHOO!!

think you'll find that there's a few songs with the same tune, but different words.

And the ref is a hun b*****d. and what. we've seen the proof!! tongue.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.