LordHawHaw
Sep 21 2008, 10:35
On the day of Mike McCurry taking charge of our game a national newspaper has deemed to ome out with this story, how is it news worthy? Are they implying something about McCurry singing a former Rangers anthem the day after Rangers beat Celtic 1-0 in what many huns thought was the championship decider?
I think it's mischief making of the highest order, my worry is that as they do as they normally do, give it in the neck to Celtic fans on the back of some non story that they have engineered.
THIS IS A NON STORY, it's the press that are saying there something worth flagging up about this, without actually saying what it is, are they hoping Celtic fans will fill in the blanks?
I think Mike McCurry is a crap ref because he allows himself to be influenced, be that by events or the crowd, but he does not cheat IMO
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNhfp7bAwoQ...ad.php?t=630088QUOTE
SPL referee Mike McCurry filmed singing Rangers anthem in church
Sep 21 2008 By Steve Dinneen
THIS is SPL referee Mike McCurry belting out Rangers anthem Simply The Best in front of his stunned congregation.
Video footage shows the controversial whistler leading a chorus of the song in his church - the day after the Ibrox team beat Celtic in a crucial Old Firmgame. The Tina Turner hit is a huge favourite among Rangers fans and the club play it over the public speaker system before games.
The film shows the Baptist minister donning a giant foam hand.
McCurry, 44, was at the centre of controversy in May after a series of blunders in a match.
Dundee United manager Craig Levein accused him of bias after his team lost 3-1 to Rangers.
Then his affair with 21-year-old Sunday school teacher Victoria Mathers was exposed in June.
He went to ground for two months but returned to top-flight action three weeks ago and today takes charge of a match between Kilmarnock and Celtic.
The video shows him handing out red and yellow giant foam hands to the congregation at Mosspark Baptist church in Glasgow.
He jokes he had always wanted to send a football player off in the last match he referees while wearing an outsized glove.
He introduces the "last hymn", saying: "Can you put the words up on the screen please?
"We'll sing this then we'll say closing prayer. If any of you are going through a hard time, I'd be delighted to pray with you.
"The bottom line is, this is a great church and we've got a great God. He's simply the best.
"Most of you will know the tune - the words might be a little bit different. We're going to stand, point, sing, clap, do whatever.
"And we're going to tell Jesus we think he's simply the best."
The video then shows McCurry dancing and clapping his hands as he sings along. He cups his hand to his ear, mimicking the famous "I can't hear you" goal celebration used by footballers.
The congregation applaud when the song finishes but many look bemused during the performance.
One assembly member said: "Everyone knows it's a big Rangers song and there were a few raised eyebrows for him to be giving it laldy the day after an Old Firm game.
"He did make clear it was praising God but to be asked to sing that song on that day did surprise people a little bit.
"The lyrics change in church to 'He touches my heart' instead of 'I'm stuck on your heart' and I'm sure there was no malice intended."
A member of McCurry's assembly said the classic anthem was played on March 30 - the morning after Rangers had beaten Celtic 1-0 at Ibrox.
The match was widely seen as a title clincher for Gers but they were overtaken by Celtic in the race to the SPL title.
Yesterday there were no replies to calls to McCurry's mobile phone or to the church
Fizzy Gillespie
Sep 21 2008, 10:41
offt that reminds me of how cringeworthy churchgoing can be some times.
LordHawHaw
Sep 21 2008, 10:45
QUOTE (Fizzy Gillespie @ Sep 21 2008, 11:41)

offt that reminds me of how cringeworthy churchgoing can be some times.
Journalism is as base an occupation as the oldest profession, and getting lower by each techological leap
seamus
Sep 21 2008, 10:47
I stopped buying the Hunday Mail a long time ago.Which game is McCurry at?
LordHawHaw
Sep 21 2008, 10:50
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 21 2008, 11:47)

I stopped buying the Hunday Mail a long time ago.Which game is McCurry at?
I thought he was doing our with Killie
Proteus Maximus
Sep 21 2008, 10:58
I agree with LHH that it's mischief making.
I reckion they've left themselves open to McCurry making a bit of cash out of them, however. The story is intentionally misleading whilst not backing up its insinuations with evidence.
seamus
Sep 21 2008, 10:58
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 21 2008, 11:50)

I thought he was doing our with Killie

As usual the hun press at the mind games again.I hope Strachan has the savvy to try an motivate his players over this.
EricWimp
Sep 21 2008, 11:05
I wouldn't even call it journalism.
6 months ago this tape appears on their desk and their first thought was "save this for a time when we can stir it up as much as possible"
TheDoctor
Sep 21 2008, 11:08
QUOTE (EricWimp @ Sep 21 2008, 12:05)

6 months ago this tape appears on their desk and their first thought was "save this for a time when we can stir it up as much as possible"
I'm no fan of referees, but this is bordering on harrassment surely. The article states that he changed the words in the song to incorporate "Jesus" or "God", for the purposes of him being a minister and all that.
It's a ridiculous story and I actually hope McCurry sues them. He was leading church goers in a service, not leading drunken Gers fans in a pub sing-song.
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
Sep 21 2008, 11:09
QUOTE (EricWimp @ Sep 21 2008, 12:05)

Yup, "let's keep it for a slow news day" Fucking parasites these people!
McCurry is a shocking referee though, but his problem is one of incompetence rather than bias.
The Arch
Sep 21 2008, 11:23
If he sang the naughty words, then it might be a story, but this is completely nothing.
When Craig Levein complained about refs, I don't think he'd have wanted papers to start digging up dirt on refs. Stuff like this will put future refs off.
TheDoctor
Sep 21 2008, 11:40
I've e-mailed the journalist in question. Here's what I sent:
Dear Sir
I'm writing to vent my disgust at your article in today's paper about referee Mike McCurry and his singing of what you call, a Rangers anthem, during one of his services.
The first thing I am completely bemused at is the fact that this incident was filmed on March 30th, you claim in your article, yet you wait until the morning of an SPL match between Kilmarnock and Celtic, which McCurry is officiating to print this story. My question to that is, are you purposely trying to stir up Celtic fans in anticipation of this match this afternoon?
As for the song itself, it is a song played at Ibrox as everybody knows, but I think you'll find it was a hit single for Tina Turner back in 1990, before Rangers adopted it for their home games. As you clearly stated in the article, he adapted the words to incorporate Jesus and God, as you would expect from a minister. So where is the offence?
I am willing to accept that perhaps he should have thought twice about it, given the reaction you are looking to provoke, but had he instead opted to belt out one of the vile sectarian songs that's banded about, then your article would have had more substance to it.
But all you have done is sensationalise something to a higher level than what it should be and after the recent other stories regarding Mr McCurry and his private life, it seems apparent that you and other reporters within your newspaper have an agenda to hound out one of the country's leading referees, who has shown, admittedly, poor judgement at times.
I sincerely hope that most readers of your newspaper treat your story with the contempt it deserves and should any incident occur at today's match between Kilmarnock and Celtic involving Mr McCurry, I hope you are responsible enough to hold your hands up and not hide behind your paper or take any moral high ground.
LordHawHaw
Sep 21 2008, 12:01
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Sep 21 2008, 12:40)

I've e-mailed the journalist in question. Here's what I sent:
Dear Sir
I'm writing to vent my disgust at your article in today's paper about referee Mike McCurry and his singing of what you call, a Rangers anthem, during one of his services.
The first thing I am completely bemused at is the fact that this incident was filmed on March 30th, you claim in your article, yet you wait until the morning of an SPL match between Kilmarnock and Celtic, which McCurry is officiating to print this story. My question to that is, are you purposely trying to stir up Celtic fans in anticipation of this match this afternoon?
As for the song itself, it is a song played at Ibrox as everybody knows, but I think you'll find it was a hit single for Tina Turner back in 1990, before Rangers adopted it for their home games. As you clearly stated in the article, he adapted the words to incorporate Jesus and God, as you would expect from a minister. So where is the offence?
I am willing to accept that perhaps he should have thought twice about it, given the reaction you are looking to provoke, but had he instead opted to belt out one of the vile sectarian songs that's banded about, then your article would have had more substance to it.
But all you have done is sensationalise something to a higher level than what it should be and after the recent other stories regarding Mr McCurry and his private life, it seems apparent that you and other reporters within your newspaper have an agenda to hound out one of the country's leading referees, who has shown, admittedly, poor judgement at times.
I sincerely hope that most readers of your newspaper treat your story with the contempt it deserves and should any incident occur at today's match between Kilmarnock and Celtic involving Mr McCurry, I hope you are responsible enough to hold your hands up and not hide behind your paper or take any moral high ground.
Good post, they are desperate for something to happen this afternoon so they can sell more papers, they need this sort of stuff. They have been busy this last while stoking up stories to a point where they have engaged the target and has it's own momentum, then they sit back and tut tut....bit like some of the diddy fans on here
orlandoblue
Sep 21 2008, 12:06
Having just been out and read the paper I came in here to post about this.
I can't believe the level of journalism involved here, but most worryingly the editor of the paper agreed that it should be on the front page.
You just know that all the "a member of the congregation said" references are a load of guff and quite where the news is here is beyond me.
At a time where there has been a lot of controversy surrounding the OF and some bridges need to be built we get this nonsense.
All this serves to do is point an accusing finger at the ref should he make a bad decision today.
Either way someone has the potential to lose out. Celtic will lose out if the ref is annoyed and gives them nothing due to the implication he is a gers fan in a sort of GIRUY fashion, and Killie could lose out if he is too scared to penalise Celtic too much due to the potential consequences.
I agree with the above that the timing of this should not be considered a fluke.
Tom McB
Sep 21 2008, 12:19
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 21 2008, 11:45)

Journalism is as base an occupation as the oldest profession, and getting lower by each techological leap
Can't argue with that. Humbert Wolfe shares our opinion too.
You cannot hope to bribe or twist,
thank God! the British journalist.
But, seeing what the man will do
unbribed, there's no occasion to.
davidkennedyshand
Sep 21 2008, 12:19
Disgraceful story.
However the foam hands were Red...surprised they never picked up on that as well
Kincardine
Sep 21 2008, 12:50
GN for this pish, surely? Nothing to do with football.
ArthurLee
Sep 21 2008, 13:30
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Sep 21 2008, 12:40)

I think you have hit the nail on the head there. Unless Rangers have bought the publishing rights its not "their" song. It was also heavily associated with Wigan RLFC during their dominace of the sport in the 80s and 90s, maybe if McCurry's foam hand was red he is a secret Pie Eater.
who honestly gives a toss? so what he sung simply the best. we shouldn't have to rely of refereeing decisions to win our games anyway.\
p.s would anyone care if there was a picture of eddie smith singing chelsea dagger which is played at our games?
ICTChris
Sep 21 2008, 14:50
Did Mike McCurry work as an auditor at DeLoite? If so, I know someone who worked with him and said he is a big rangers fan.
Of course, that doesn't mean he's a poor referee, neither does this story.
HibeeJibee
Sep 21 2008, 15:46
I saw Sir Christopher Meyer (ex-British Ambassador to the USA - now head-honcho of the Press Complaints Commission) at a speech/question-and-answer session earlier this week. At one point he was asked about the growing tendency for papers to 'create' stories, playing on the ability of an apparently offensive / shocking act which (they claim) causes offence. His response was this:
(I paraphrase) The newspaper industry is one of diminishing returns. The growth of digital TV or radio - and particularly of cyber-space media - is shrinking the newspaper market. Less papers are being sold, so there is a constant fight to attract readership from your rivals. This constant pressure, a 'race to the bottom', means that the focus is more and more on creating or finding stories that can/will cause hysteric reactions - as opposed to reporting the reaction occuring...
The reduction in editorial staffing, coupled with reducing sales and the need to perform to keep ones job in journalism, has removed much quality-control and fuels a culture of 'shock-creation'.
IMO this story - essentially 'Minister Plays Pop Song during Service' - is a perfect example of this.
Swampy
Sep 21 2008, 15:50
QUOTE (HibeeJibee @ Sep 21 2008, 15:46)

I saw Sir Christopher Meyer (ex-British Ambassador to the USA - now head-honcho of the Press Complaints Commission) at a speech/question-and-answer session earlier this week. At one point he was asked about the growing tendency for papers to 'create' stories, playing on the ability of an apparently offensive / shocking act which (they claim) causes offence. His response was this:
(I paraphrase) The newspaper industry is one of diminishing returns. The growth of digital TV or radio - and particularly of cyber-space media - is shrinking the newspaper market. Less papers are being sold, so there is a constant fight to attract readership from your rivals. This constant pressure, a 'race to the bottom', means that the focus is more and more on creating or finding stories that can/will cause hysteric reactions - as opposed to reporting the reaction occuring...
The reduction in editorial staffing, coupled with reducing sales and the need to perform to keep ones job in journalism, has removed much quality-control and fuels a culture of 'shock-creation'.
IMO this story - essentially 'Minister Plays Pop Song during Service' - is a perfect example of this.
Correct conclusion but the analysis is a bit off, not least because the online and digital media are involved in the same race. It's not just the papers, in other words.
WeAreThePeople
Sep 21 2008, 16:40
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 21 2008, 11:58)

As usual the hun press at the mind games again.I hope Strachan has the savvy to try an motivate his players over this.
Hun press
The press hate both sides of the OF, and there are reporters who obviously sway each way, but we get it in the neck as much as you lot do over everything.
Timmy getting paranoid as per usual, eh?
MP_MFC
Sep 21 2008, 16:45
The Mail have previous for this- sitting on photos of Andy Goram and a UVF flag for half a decade and printing them before Motherwell played Celtic.
Top Cat
Sep 21 2008, 16:48
Sunday Mail if anything put that story on the front page this morning knowing McCurry was taking the dhim game today.
Deliberately putting pressure on him for the benefit of the dhims. Lest not forget the biggest dhim supporter in the press works at that newspaper group and we all know who that is!
JUMPURS
Sep 21 2008, 16:52
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Sep 21 2008, 12:08)

I'm no fan of referees, but this is bordering on harrassment surely. The article states that he changed the words in the song to incorporate "Jesus" or "God", for the purposes of him being a minister and all that.
It's a ridiculous story and I actually hope McCurry sues them. He was leading church goers in a service, not leading drunken Gers fans in a pub sing-song.
Don't get me wrong, this story is just shit stirring (as was the Arthur Boruc story before the Rangers game)
But does McCurry normally have no hymns sung in his church with altered lyrics? If so then yeah the SM are at it, if not then there isn't any smoke without fire.
QUOTE (orlandoblue @ Sep 21 2008, 13:06)

I can't believe the level of journalism involved here, but most worryingly the editor of the paper agreed that it should be on the front page.
Worrying? Possibly, but entirely understandable. The guy would know exactly what sort of reaction putting the story there would generate and he's been proven right.
Geefoxer
Sep 21 2008, 18:08
quote name='davidkennedyshand' date='Sep 21 2008, 13:19' post='2791485']
Disgraceful story.
However the foam hands were Red...surprised they never picked up on that as well
[/quote]
Click to view attachment
Beyemystic
Sep 21 2008, 19:00
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 21 2008, 11:35)

On the day of Mike McCurry taking charge of our game a national newspaper has deemed to ome out with this story, how is it news worthy? Are they implying something about McCurry singing a former Rangers anthem the day after Rangers beat Celtic 1-0 in what many huns thought was the championship decider?
It strange that they are "implying" what everyone already knows: Rangers Mike is a massive hun.
Its hard to imagine a football association elsewhere in the 'civilised' world which would tolerate such an individual taking charge of matches which influence his team. And Mike is only the latest in a long, long line.
Its equally hard to imagine that a randy Jesuit who regularly belted out items from the Celtic songbook in public would fare so well in refereeing circles.
Richie
Sep 21 2008, 19:38
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 21 2008, 11:35)

I think it's mischief making of the highest order
Completely agree. That was my first reaction when I read it this morning.
It was a complete non-story anyway, as some pages after the "scandal" headline it told you how the lyrics were changed etc and that Jesus was actually "simply the best" etc.
Think the whole "church rock" stuff etc is fairly common in baptist, evangelical and pentecostal churches.
To be fair to the old firm the rag media are such fuckin hypocrites...the tabloid "Journalists" frown upon and castigate them and then they try to stir it up with things like this pish.
LordHawHaw
Sep 22 2008, 07:38
I see some are tutting about McCurry being sang to by the Celtic fans that "we know your a hun" when they produced an article practically telling us he was one...slimeball journalism at it's best
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Sep 21 2008, 20:00)

Its hard to imagine a football association elsewhere in the 'civilised' world which would tolerate such an individual taking charge of matches which influence his team.
I agree.
I will join in with your Eddie Smith protests as soon as you determine what the next steps should be.
That this bigot is allowed to referee Celtic games is utterly shocking. We need foreign referees to stop the pro-Celtic bias officials in this country seem incapable of hiding.
Pink Freud
Sep 22 2008, 09:17
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Sep 21 2008, 20:00)

It strange that they are "implying" what everyone already knows: Rangers Mike is a massive hun.
Its hard to imagine a football association elsewhere in the 'civilised' world which would tolerate such an individual taking charge of matches which influence his team. And Mike is only the latest in a long, long line.
Its equally hard to imagine that a randy Jesuit who regularly belted out items from the Celtic songbook in public would fare so well in refereeing circles.
Funny. General agreement that this is a non story, and shit stirring from the Mail.
Then along comes the conscience of the board, and turns it into a Masonic/Orange/Hun conspiracy.
You really are a fucking idiot plastic. Just the sort who would take an article in the Sunday Hail seriously.
LordHawHaw
Sep 22 2008, 09:25
QUOTE (Pink Freud @ Sep 22 2008, 10:17)

Funny. General agreement that this is a non story, and shit stirring from the Mail.
Then along comes the conscience of the board, and turns it into a Masonic/Orange/Hun conspiracy.
You really are a fucking idiot plastic. Just the sort who would take an article in the Sunday Hail seriously.

As a wee aside do you think a Catholic priest that was filmed singing YNWA the day after Celtic beat Rangers could ever referee a Rangers game?
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 22 2008, 10:25)

As a wee aside do you think a Catholic priest that was filmed singing YNWA the day after Celtic beat Rangers could ever referee a Rangers game?
Does he have his refereeing badges?
Pink Freud
Sep 22 2008, 09:35
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 22 2008, 10:25)

I don't remember that getting plastered all over the pages of a filthy tabloid rag. Maybe you could provide a link?
I've sung YNWA at a karaoke before - I think we can say fairly safely that I'm not a Celtic supporter. Plastic's angle appears to be that any song that has ever been sung at Ibrox has been tainted with Hunnery. Would he say the same about the FOA, ot YNWA? That all Liverpool supporters are plastics too? Or the folk singer I heard last week in Newmarket was?
The truth of the matter is that that song is a popular karaoke number, and he changed the words to turn it into a hymn of sorts. This isn't like that mutton chopped lawyer being caught singing sectarian nonsense, and who was rightly binned. The baptist churches do this sort of thing all the time. It's cringeworthy. But unlike the paranoid plastic, most people can see it for what it was.
LordHawHaw
Sep 22 2008, 09:35
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 22 2008, 10:34)

Does he have his refereeing badges?
Yes and a 18 year old mistress too
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 22 2008, 10:35)

Yes and a 18 year old mistress too
Mistress or manstress?
LordHawHaw
Sep 22 2008, 09:42
QUOTE (Pink Freud @ Sep 22 2008, 10:35)

I don't remember that getting plastered all over the pages of a filthy tabloid rag. Maybe you could provide a link?
I've sung YNWA at a karaoke before - I think we can say fairly safely that I'm not a Celtic supporter. Plastic's angle appears to be that any song that has ever been sung at Ibrox has been tainted with Hunnery. Would he say the same about the FOA, ot YNWA? That all Liverpool supporters are plastics too? Or the folk singer I heard last week in Newmarket was?
The truth of the matter is that that song is a popular karaoke number, and he changed the words to turn it into a hymn of sorts. This isn't like that mutton chopped lawyer being caught singing sectarian nonsense, and who was rightly binned. The baptist churches do this sort of thing all the time. It's cringeworthy. But unlike the paranoid plastic, most people can see it for what it was.

You might want to read the OP clearly stated views

plus I don't think Celtic fans would have been as good natured if they thought the
newpapers exclusive was as supersoarway stunning as was being claimed, not the banswer to my admittedly light hearted question, which given you failed to answer, not looking for a dissertation, just an opionion
LordHawHaw
Sep 22 2008, 09:42
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 22 2008, 10:36)

Mistress or manstress?
Both, but the dogs a pet
Pink Freud
Sep 22 2008, 10:04
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 22 2008, 10:42)

You might want to read the OP clearly stated views

plus I don't think Celtic fans would have been as good natured if they thought the
newpapers exclusive was as supersoarway stunning as was being claimed, not the banswer to my admittedly light hearted question, which given you failed to answer, not looking for a dissertation, just an opionion
Fair enough - my first post in this thread was to point out that until the patron saint of paranoid ramblings landed, it was pretty much unanimous that this was a non story, so not getting at you. Honest!
IT was a good question though, lighthearted or not. I guess my answer would be that should any action be taken against your hypothetical Jesuit (unlikely to remain so if he's shagging around though, you have to admit) to prevent him fropm refereeing Rangers games, I would have attended my last football match.
So no, I would be extremely surprised should that happen. And likewise with the Right Reverend What Penalty.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.