Thank f**k for another last minute goal. We dominated the game but weren't even playing to that great a standard. I can honestly say Albion were the most rotten team i've seen all season so far. Stranraer played far better than them despite being lower in the league. Scored a controversial goal which looked like it came of Taggart or Harty's hand which, in my opinion, gave them an undeserved lead. We had been well on top and looked like were were going to score.
The goal took the wind out our sails and we were doing ok until the ball got to the forwards. Smith didn't look ready for the game and we've now got more injury worries with Campbell.

Albion dug in and pretty much lapped up attack after attack as seen last year where teams would come to Starks, score and leave with the points. It looked to be game over when Gary O gave away a silly penalty, but needless to say we were lucky to see the 4th penalty save in 3 games with the ball hitting the post and getting cleared. Lee Bryce makes a good run up the pitch and somehow got us a penalty from the extremely dodgy ref. Smith coverted the penalty (where was he when we played East Fife?) and we got a deserved point. If we want to challenge for the title then we'll have to do a lot better. Nice to see another side trying to sit in for the points and making an arse of it.
Michael W
Sep 20 2008, 16:37
Pretty dire stuff to say the least.
A definite handball for Stirling's goal, should never have stood. Mind you, it was never a penalty, even I would never have given it in all my bias towards the Rovers, I suppose that evens it out.
We deserved a draw, but were lucky to get one. A real stroke of luck with Harty missing the penalty.
I'm honestly struggling to hand out any plaudits for individual effort today, Smith looked unfit and off the pace, Ferry did poorly and Davidson is not a right sided midfielder. Weir had a nightmare as well. I still think McGlynn perseveres too long before making changes, although I though Sloan did alright when he came on, he actually seemed to give our midfield some tempo
We really must raise our game if we're to have a chance of winning the league.
jack_bauer
Sep 20 2008, 16:46
Now THAT is how to take a penalty
A point was the least we deserved, we dominated for 90 minutes and Stirling's goal should not have stood, blatant handball, the reaction of the Rovers players told you that (especially Davo

).
We were looking very good up until they scored then we took our foot off the gas for a while, Stirling still didn't create anything though and we started dominating again. We hit the post and Davo missed a header from a yard out but we got the goal in the end.
All 3 of our substitutes did well when they came on, Armstrong is a defender after all and dealt with everything easily, Sloan looked very lively when he came on and put in a couple of good crosses, and Bryce got in behind their defence a few times plus he won us the penalty.
Andy.C
Sep 20 2008, 16:50
It is very frustrating when team after team after team come to Starks and sit in hoping to get something on the break. Those teams fans must know that they are going to come here and play negative football so fair play to them for making the trip in the first place.
To be fair to Stirling they only had 9 guys behind the ball today instead of the standard 10.
I think thats the worst I've seen us play all season so to still have our unbeaten record intact is quite a bonus but I really wish our players would just get their foot through the ball and have a go at goal. The Stirling goal should never have stood either as the player controlled the ball with his hand and then stuck it in the net. Foul surely? No chance!
Stirling then contained us without doing very much themselves and when Gary O gave away the definite penalty it seemed like game over only for Harty? to hit the post. We then get up the park and Lee Bryce skinned the boy in the box and got clipped. Penalty kick time again and I expect that, like myself, the Raith fans are thinking "Aww shit, imminent dissapointment" rather than "Yes! A chance to score from 12 yards". Anyway Smith makes no mistake by blasting the ball down the middle.
1-1 and a definite 2pts dropped.
keyser_soze
Sep 20 2008, 16:51
One of those games where we stole a point at the end, very soft penalty, although Bryce had beaten the defender he did try and pull him back and I think the linesman was the one who gave it.
Definate handball for the Stirling goal, stonewaller of a pen for Stirling, just glad Harty made an arse of it.
Felt we were the better team without really working Hogarth too hard, the usual lacklustre powderpuff stuff in front of goal. Too many draws could bit us on our arse come may.
Fly-Fifer
Sep 20 2008, 17:00
Deserved the point today although we were lucky that Hartys still crap and canny take a penalty. The Stirling goal was definitley handball and how the ref missed that I dont know but it has to said the defending leading up to the chance was not good enough.
Armstrong looked really composed at the back when he came on in the second half and looks to be a player.
If I was Mcglynn I would have started Bryce in place of Smith as it was obvious that Smith was not match fit. Pretty sure Bryce would have done a much better job in his place. Also Mcglynn is leaving it to long before making a change!
Pleased to have taken a point today.
raithfortheleague
Sep 20 2008, 17:01
TBF, the ball did hit the stirling player but its not like he ment it, it was kicked of him when the ball was being cleared
Andy.C
Sep 20 2008, 17:08
QUOTE (raithfortheleague @ Sep 20 2008, 18:01)

TBF, the ball did hit the stirling player but its not like he ment it, it was kicked of him when the ball was being cleared
Stop being reasonable!
miketheheadlesschicken
Sep 20 2008, 17:08
Felt like we'd lost when I left the ground even though we a point was the most we deserved. Thought we were poor today but we could still be there just now and Raith still wouldn't have scored from open play. Raith's penalty looked extremely dodgy, albeit from the other end of the park, but I expected it. Raith got everything from the ref in the last 20 minutes. Only got ourselves to blame, though. Can't afford to miss penalties and still expect to win.
fifepup
Sep 20 2008, 17:17
Typical Rovers fans.
Commenting on the game, John McGlynn said "that's the best we've played since I became manager. We are simply awesome. We rule. If it had been a boxing match, it would have been stopped at half time. Their goal was a total fluke, as we totally dominated for 90 minutes. They are a bunch of cheats. They'll be lucky to survive in division 2. Blah blah blah, slaver slaver slaver."
QUOTE (fifepup @ Sep 20 2008, 18:17)

Typical Rovers fans.
Commenting on the game, John McGlynn said "that's the best we've played since I became manager. We are simply awesome. We rule. If it had been a boxing match, it would have been stopped at half time. Their goal was a total fluke, as we totally dominated for 90 minutes. They are a bunch of cheats. They'll be lucky to survive in division 2. Blah blah blah, slaver slaver slaver."
f**k off, inbreed.
Stirling's goal shouldn't have stood.
Bryce deliberately handled the ball in the build-up to our very soft penalty.
Only at the Rovers could we sign a striker only for him to have to play at centre half.
That is all.
Stree83
Sep 20 2008, 17:30
QUOTE (Paco @ Sep 20 2008, 18:25)

f**k off, inbreed.
Only at the Rovers could we sign a striker only for him to have to play at centre half.
That is all.
?????????
Steven
Sep 20 2008, 17:31
QUOTE (Paco @ Sep 20 2008, 18:25)

f**k off, inbreed.
That is all.
He is a centre-half.............
Our penalty was one of those where, 9 times out of 10 it'd be given outside of the box, but 9/10 inside the box it's waved away. We were fortunate to get it today.
Albion's penalty was a stonewaller. Ridiculous goalkeeping. Learn some lessons, guys, that's three times we've seen that same foul give away a penalty in as many weeks, roughly.
Kevin Smith was knackered with half an hour to go, clearly lacking fitness through no fault of his own, I'm surprised he found the energy to run to the penalty spot.
We never really made Hogarth work - Wilson had one low shot turned around the post late on, but that was about it. Walker did brilliantly, managed to get on the end of more attacking moves than Weir and Smith combined.
Hope Sparky's injury isn't serious, he just doesn't lose headers these days.
I thought the referee was a bit dodgy, giving a few free-kicks that were unnecessary, and I do agree that we benefited from more incorrect decisions, if you discount Stirling's goal. I'm not too sure about it, I'll need to see the video. If the striker hasn't moved his hand, then it's not a foul, but if he has then you have to say that really, he's handled the ball to gain an advantage.
We should be making more clear-cut chances with the domination we have, but Stirling set out to frustrate us, and it very nearly worked perfectly.
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 20 2008, 18:12
Had an absolutely top notch day today. Was in hospitality from 1, then out, into the box behind the directors, back in at half time for a drink and a pie then back out for a missed penalty for them and a converted one for us. Great meal before-hand, too!
Thought it was 2 points dropped more than 1 gained, but after giving away a penalty in the 90th minute and still getting a draw, you cannae really complain.
Was it Harty that hit the penalty? Even if it wasn't good to see that he's still a wee, ineffectual, cheaintg, fouling c**t. Thought Sloan came on and had a great game, but are we actually ever gonna get to see Guerrero? Bryce had a really good game when he came on to. His strength is running ontoa through ball, so good to see that we played to his strengths today and it payed off.
The Other Chairman
Sep 20 2008, 18:15
That's two weeks running RR have been magnificent and as a result have taken two points out of six. It will be frightening if they keep that form up until the end of the season.
I have asked this before but has WG done something to annoy you ?
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 20 2008, 18:17
QUOTE (The Other Chairman @ Sep 20 2008, 19:15)

That's two weeks running RR have been magnificent and as a result have taken two points out of six. It will be frightening if they keep that form up until the end of the season.
I have asked this before but has WG done something to annoy you ?
Remind me of where EF are in the table...
The Other Chairman
Sep 20 2008, 18:22
We are below RR but that is because you are one of the big teams in Scotland and nobody will take much from Fortress Starks.
What was it that WG did to upset you ?
p&b is a disgrace
Sep 20 2008, 18:22
QUOTE (raithfortheleague @ Sep 20 2008, 18:01)

He didn't mean it - but he did control the ball with his arm - therefore a clear foul.
I thought O'connor was lucky to stay on the park for the 2nd week in a row. Loved watching the wee alcky missing.
Ours was a stonewall penalty. Bryce was pulled back by the left shoulder.
Disaponted with Albion. There were as poor as they were good 2 seasons ago ( if that makes sense ? )
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 20 2008, 18:26
QUOTE (The Other Chairman @ Sep 20 2008, 19:22)

What was it that WG did to upset you ?
Haha, well, fucked our club by letting Anelka in, then joined your lot as a dictator and pumped all of his money into them to try and get one over on us, looks like it's worked, too eh?
CALDERON
Sep 20 2008, 18:26
The Obsession continues.
Another two points dropped today, not much else to add really.
Would have been a travesty if we had lost today tbh.
Im still confident we will be up there challenging for the title, we are playing some neat stuff, just need a wee bit of cutting edge. The first 15 minutes saw some excellent stuff from us. If our slump involve picking up draws from the jaws of defeat, then magic!
Wee bit of an over reaction on fan talk, we wouldnt have got a point from this game last season and hey, we are still unbeaten.
Bryce is suffering from Davidson 07/08 syndrome, he thinks hes some sort of superstar.
I thought Stirling were pretty poor though, which makes it doubley dissapointing that we didnt win, altough it was fan fooking tastic seeing their players hugging each other when they got their pen. I thought they went down far too easily also.
The Other Chairman
Sep 20 2008, 18:37
You haven't really told me what he did wrong. Now if he was the architect who had designed the flats for that area I could understand you being a tad upset. I think you are all worrying over nothing. A big club like RR will be in the SPL in no time.
Steven
Sep 20 2008, 18:40
QUOTE (The Other Chairman @ Sep 20 2008, 19:37)

You haven't really told me what he did wrong. Now if he was the architect who had designed the flats for that area I could understand you being a tad upset. I think you are all worrying over nothing. A big club like RR will be in the SPL in no time.
Want some salt?
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 20 2008, 18:50
BTW, Andy.C, how smart was I today? Shirt and tie oot yer nut!
Michael W
Sep 20 2008, 18:56
QUOTE (The Other Chairman @ Sep 20 2008, 19:37)

0.25/10.
At least the_russian's were funny
The Other Chairman
Sep 20 2008, 19:04
I suppose it's time to give up when a RR supporter thinks you're less funny than the Russian.
Still don't see what WG has done wrong and Anelka is doing ok at Chelsea. The former weegie RR connection is probably in rude health and once the construction slump is over prime land will not be difficult to find.
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 20 2008, 19:08
QUOTE (The Other Chairman @ Sep 20 2008, 20:04)

I suppose it's time to give up when a RR supporter thinks you're less funny than the Russian.
Still don't see what WG has done wrong and Anelka is doing ok at Chelsea. The former weegie RR connection is probably in rude health and once the construction slump is over prime land will not be difficult to find.
Hi Willie!!
*Waves to Mr. Gray*
pantene proV
Sep 20 2008, 19:17
QUOTE (The Other Chairman @ Sep 20 2008, 20:04)

You need to run along now and start a NEW topic on this
Angusfifer
Sep 20 2008, 19:28
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Sep 20 2008, 20:08)

Hi Willie!!
*Waves to Mr. Gray*
And Willie waved his scarf back at you.
Lucky he didnae give you the score or you would have been really upset.
(Double twos up followed by a middle finger)
Michael W
Sep 20 2008, 19:34
Why not go and enjoy you're 3-0 win rather than spouting pish?
Angusfifer
Sep 20 2008, 19:38
QUOTE (Michael W @ Sep 20 2008, 20:34)

Why not go and enjoy you're 3-0 win rather than spouting pish?

Not pish. It's fact.
Ask yer compadre who felt it necessary to have a dig at Willie Gray in this thread...
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 20 2008, 19:39
Away out and enjoy your win instead of sitting on here and failing to goad Rovers fans.
CALDERON
Sep 20 2008, 19:40
Sad fuckers if you would rather have a go at the Rovers instead of celebrating a frankly excellent result away to Alloa.
Obsession!
Michael W
Sep 20 2008, 19:45
QUOTE (Angusfifer @ Sep 20 2008, 20:38)

Not pish. It's fact.
Ask yer compadre who felt it necessary to have a dig at Willie Gray in this thread...
If you're on about the guy who said Gray almost ruined the club...Gray
did side with McGowan and Short over Anelka. Justified dig.
Now go enjoy that win
Raving On
Sep 20 2008, 19:46
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Sep 20 2008, 17:50)

It is very frustrating when team after team after team come to Starks and sit in hoping to get something on the break. Those teams fans must know that they are going to come here and play negative football so fair play to them for making the trip in the first place.
To be fair to Stirling they only had 9 guys behind the ball today instead of the standard 10.
You sound like Raymond Domenech. I think its pretty well documented that Rovers can't break sides down, so why do you expect teams to open out and allow space the kinds of space your players might actually be able to exploit?
The Other Chairman
Sep 20 2008, 19:46
When the first swear word appears it's usually a good sign of who is biting.
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 20 2008, 19:48
QUOTE (Raving On @ Sep 20 2008, 20:46)

You sound like Raymond Domenech. I think its pretty well documented that Rovers can't break sides down, so why do you expect teams to open out and allow space the kinds of space your players might actually be able to exploit?
I don't think he's saying anything bad against Stirling, just that every single team that's been to Starks Park so far this season, bar EF, have sat in, and it IS very, very boring.
Michael W
Sep 20 2008, 19:53
QUOTE (Raving On @ Sep 20 2008, 20:46)

Because it's not fair!
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Sep 20 2008, 20:48)

I don't think he's saying anything bad against Stirling, just that the football that every single team that's been to Starks Park so far this season, bar EF, have sat in, and it IS very, very boring.
This season? Try the last five. It's like an action reply when we play at home, it's the same every week. The only positive thing I can say is that over the last four years, we'd most certainly have lost that game. Same story last week, and against Stranraer. But we've taken five points where we'd have taken none before, so we're getting there..
The chances are coming, but it's only Smith who puts them away. Weir just can't score, it's all good and well having the overall contribution that he has, but he needs to stick a couple away every so often.
QUOTE (Steven @ Sep 20 2008, 18:31)

He is a centre-half.............
Can't he be used as a striker, ala Andy Tod?
If not, what an absolutely ridiculous signing.
CALDERON
Sep 20 2008, 19:57
QUOTE (Paco @ Sep 20 2008, 20:54)

This season? Try the last five. It's like an action reply when we play at home, it's the same every week. The only positive thing I can say is that over the last four years, we'd most certainly have lost that game. Same story last week, and against Stranraer. But we've taken five points where we'd have taken none before, so we're getting there..
The chances are coming, but it's only Smith who puts them away. Weir just can't score, it's all good and well having the overall contribution that he has, but he needs to stick a couple away every so often.
To be fair to Weir, he isnt fluffing chances. Against Peterhead and East Fife, he has hit the woodwork and forced some excellent saves, and he was unlucky today. He just needs that first legue goal. And to be honest, who else would we play up front? Superstar Bryce who is a fans favourite despite doing NOTHING for the Rovers first team as of yet.
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 20 2008, 20:02
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Sep 20 2008, 20:57)

To be fair to Weir, he isnt fluffing chances. Against Peterhead and East Fife, he has hit the woodwork and forced some excellent saves, and he was unlucky today. He just needs that first legue goal. And to be honest, who else would we play up front? Superstar Bryce who is a fans favourite despite doing NOTHING for the Rovers first team as of yet.
Won us a point today.
Michael W
Sep 20 2008, 20:02

I agree, Bryce hasn't really done anything. I've got a mate who used to play against him at under 19's or something and he is genuinely astonished Bryce got signed by us. Apparently the only thing he was any good at was knocking people off the ball and was quite fast...
Weir annoys me. He works hard, but just can't do it. Didn't exactly have a prolific return last year, and it's just not happening for him so far this season. Poor sod can't buy a goal in the league
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 20 2008, 20:03
QUOTE (Paco @ Sep 20 2008, 20:54)

Might not be as ridiculous as some are claiming. Sparky had concussion and has a broken nose.

I know there's no alternative, which is a shame. Hislop and Wardlaw would score goals in that team I think. And he is fluffing chances, he missed a one on one against East Fife, and somehow managed to let Hogarth save a chance today when he seemed to have rounded him. He seems to shite himself every time he gets a chance.
It's a shame, as I like Weir. His overall contribution and play is usually excellent, but if he's still missing chances/not scoring by the time Wardlaw gets back, he'll be doing well to stay in the team.
No goals in seven says it all about him, unfortunately. He's been unlucky, yes, but you can't live on that forever...
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Sep 20 2008, 21:03)

Might not be as ridiculous as some are claiming. Sparky had concussion and has a broken nose.
He was signed before today, unless McGlynn has some magical psychic powers, it was a bit of a silly signing in my view. Davidson can play there anyway.
Gutted to hear Campbell has a broken nose, that was what I thought to be honest. How long does that keep a player out for? Couple of weeks?
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 20 2008, 20:09
Nah, a week maybe. He'll be able to train. Nothing you can really do for a broken nose anyway. I think Armstrong looked really composed today. Best player 2nd half.
Strange game - Raith took started well and should have been ahead before we took the lead ourselves. It was more even after that with Raith dominating but looking completely vacant in front of goal. Finally we started to get a real grip of the game in the last 20 mins and got the penalty. Cue an inevitable miss and Raith scoring one a minute or two later, for what was, over the 90 mins, a deserved equaliser.
We did ok today, but to look at it another way Raith would have had 3 or 4 if they had a couple of good finishers. As it was, they could have played until next week and not scored. I'd have taken a point before the match so I'm not too disappointed.
QUOTE (p&b is a disgrace @ Sep 20 2008, 19:22)

He didn't mean it - but he did control the ball with his arm - therefore a clear foul.
Incorrect. If he didn't mean it, it's not deliberate, and if it's not deliberate, it's not a foul.
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Sep 20 2008, 20:48)

I don't think he's saying anything bad against Stirling, just that every single team that's been to Starks Park so far this season, bar EF, have sat in, and it IS very, very boring.
I don't really think you're giving Raith enough credit - in the first 15 mins or so Raith played well and we simply couldn't keep possession. We weren't deliberately sitting in. After that, our play was tempered with a little caution - but we were a goal up and most teams would do the same away to a team above them in the league. In fact, towards the end of the match Stirling had their best spell as Raith tried to press forward and got exposed at the back. If you want to see 'sitting in' you should have seen the last quarter of our match last week against Alloa.
Big_Andy
Sep 20 2008, 20:26
Wish we played away from home all the time........................Starks bloody Park hoodoo strikes again. And I wasn't even there today, was learning how to , ahem, ride properly. A motorbike that is!
Were we that bad? Did Bryce play the full 90?
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 20 2008, 20:28
QUOTE (Mrs T @ Sep 20 2008, 21:26)

Wish we played away from home all the time........................Starks bloody Park hoodoo strikes again. And I wasn't even there today, was learning how to , ahem, ride properly. A motorbike that is!
Were we that bad? Did Bryce play the full 90?No, and no, last 15.
RedWeb
Sep 20 2008, 20:32
QUOTE (p&b is a disgrace @ Sep 20 2008, 19:22)

Disappointed with Albion. There were as poor as they were good 2 seasons ago ( if that makes sense ? )
Makes perfect sense. We were poor for long spells and it wasn't much fun to watch. If Raith had some decent strikers this game could have been ugly for the Beanos. We scored with our first attack and Raith must have been wondering what was going on. Second half continued to be one way traffic and only in the closing 10 minutes or so did we look like scoring again. Unlucky to hit the inside of the post but there ws nothing unlucky about Harty's penalty which was poor. As an aside it was interesting that the keeper didn't even get booked for what was a clear goalscoring opportunity. The Raith pen was too far away to see but there didn't seem any major complaints so it I'm not going to have any. Overall we were lucky not to lose easily but on the positive side were were fairly gash but still managed to draw at the home of the mighty Raith Rovers
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.