Full Version: Time To Go Alex
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
dundeefc1783
I think it is time dundee sacked alex rae for the sake of the club as he clearly doesnt have a clue what he is doing. Dundee have been terrible this season and a couple of early victories against poor opposition doesnt hide the fact that we are going nowhere fast.

I know a new manager would be stuck with the same players but i get the idea that rae doesnt have a clue what to do tactically during games as all we do is punt long balls to a strikers who would prefer the ball to his feet.

And some of his signings are just beyond befief

Freddie Daquin is thw worst player i have ever seen in my life and would struggle to get a game for some junior sides. Yet when fit Rae insists on playing him.

Darren williams is the least mobile player i have ever seen and how he played in the premiership or championship i will never know

Chris Pozniak in a word rubbish

Mark Gilhaney does the same time everytime so predictable

Darren Young to be fair hasnt played but i question rae's judgement signing a player with his injury history and i would imagine he spent a sizeable chunk of the wage budget on him. I mean young is the only player I have ever known who has picked up another injury while injured. its laughable.

So thin its time to go alex.
Dr Koop
Infamy! Infamy! They've all got it infamy! rolleyes.gif

Muggy
I am absolutely seething at that performance. I know what St. Johstone fans must have been going through a few weeks back. It was horrendous!!!

Before todays game, I backed Rae and said he should stay until the end of the season, but I'm not so sure. That was as bad as it's been for a while. Reminded of the Alan Kernaghan era. Livi were decent but no great shakes. We were woeful though and will be lucky to finsh in the top 4 at this rate.

No win in 3 - that's no where good enough.

I don't think it can get any worse. Will the Bennet takeover really affect anything.

G_Man1985
A new change could be good for Dundee, but we cant sign anyone until January so is there a point in bringing in someone now? I dont no what to think or how to feel. But hey i will smile for now because im away to have a pizza and a can of irn bru
alberto
i'm only going at the moment as i'm getting complimentary tickets......feel really sorry for anyone paying to watch that shite!!!!!!!! Rae is on a shoogly peg!!!!!!
Web
I am losing patience rapidly, his decisions are mindboggling sometimes.
Ludo *1
Let's go to the one man who has been snubbed twice and poorly treated at this club more than once.

It's time to go Jocky hunting.

I'd still back Rae rather than Billy Dodd's however.
Dr Koop

Clappity-clappity-clappity ...
Nizzy
QUOTE (G_Man1985 @ Sep 20 2008, 17:11) *
A new change could be good for Dundee, but we cant sign anyone until January so is there a point in bringing in someone now?

They could change the tactics. Get more out of the players that are currently there. Identify signing targets prior to the January window so he's not coming in at the last minute and trying to rush deals through.

I haven't seen Dundee this year, but the criticism of Rae appears to be harsh. After all, you're (not you personally, but the Dundee support) forever telling us how Rae had to rebuild the team and has improved the Dees league position every year since taking the job. And yet you're calling for his head at the first sign of a wobble.

Calm down.
Duncan Freemason
Well there's no doubt that Dundee have financially gone for "promotion or bust" this season. So far it seems to have backfired in a big big way. They are a reasonably well supported side with a big percentage of the city behind them (albeit most of them passively). A footballing meltdown looks on the cards this season, and if it continues to go the way it has so far, we are looking at a club back in big trouble. Personally, I've had a lot of time for Dundee, and I'm so old, I can even remember when they were (almost) a real force. I take no pleasure in seeing such a grand old club floundering around as they are this season. Alex Rae doesn't have to look too far for critics within and outwith the game. He doesn't have the personality or support to last long when things go badly. I don't think you'll have to wait too long until he's packing his bags at Dens.
Muggy
QUOTE (Web @ Sep 20 2008, 17:12) *
I am losing patience rapidly, his decisions are mindboggling sometimes.

I honestly think I could pick a team more capable of winning. We need a tactician and Rae isn't that.

I can't believe that.
LLD
I was suprised at how poor Dundee were today.
We didn't play well at all but were good enough to win comfortably.
Most of the Dundee players lacked the basics.
G_Man1985
I have not said anywhere in my post to call for his head. I just said could be a good change but to be honest im not sure what so ever, can be frustrating as i know dundee can do well, they just not putting the ball in the net and performing as a team. Too many excuses been used so far this season and thats only so many games into the season. All teams are close so not to worried, this result should give dundee a right wake up call
Muggy
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 20 2008, 17:16) *
They could change the tactics. Get more out of the players that are currently there. Identify signing targets prior to the January window so he's not coming in at the last minute and trying to rush deals through.

I haven't seen Dundee this year, but the criticism of Rae appears to be harsh. After all, you're (not you personally, but the Dundee support) forever telling us how Rae had to rebuild the team and has improved the Dees league position every year since taking the job. And yet you're calling for his head at the first sign of a wobble.

Calm down.

True, and I was one of the ones who backed him, but his tactical decisions are baffling. This is not the start of the wobble. It's been a wobble the whole season. We struggled against Morton and Clyde at home. Were defeated by Queens and Thistle. It's not looking good.
Nizzy
QUOTE (G_Man1985 @ Sep 20 2008, 17:19) *
I have not said anywhere in my post to call for his head.

I've explained that 'you' should be read as the Dundee support on P&B.
Muggy
QUOTE (LLD @ Sep 20 2008, 17:18) *

Your post hurts me, but it's true.
Nizzy
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Sep 20 2008, 17:19) *
Were defeated by Queens and Thistle.

What an outrage! rolleyes.gif
G_Man1985
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 20 2008, 17:20) *
I've explained that 'you' should be read as the Dundee support on P&B.

So you have, appologies
Muggy
QUOTE (Duncan Freemason @ Sep 20 2008, 17:16) *
Well there's no doubt that Dundee have financially gone for "promotion or bust" this season. So far it seems to have backfired in a big big way. They are a reasonably well supported side with a big percentage of the city behind them (albeit most of them passively). A footballing meltdown looks on the cards this season, and if it continues to go the way it has so far, we are looking at a club back in big trouble. Personally, I've had a lot of time for Dundee, and I'm so old, I can even remember when they were (almost) a real force. I take no pleasure in seeing such a grand old club floundering around as they are this season. Alex Rae doesn't have to look too far for critics within and outwith the game. He doesn't have the personality or support to last long when things go badly. I don't think you'll have to wait too long until he's packing his bags at Dens.

Well said. Can we borrow Yogi?
Dr Koop
Get more out of the players that are currently there. Identify signing targets prior to the January window so he's not coming in at the last minute and trying to rush deals through.

Hilarious. All those players signed and not one of them looks to have kicked a ball in earnest so far this season.
Muggy
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 20 2008, 17:20) *
What an outrage! rolleyes.gif

I wasn't being disrespectful to those teams, but I'm merely stating how we have performed this season. We have not been convincing at all, and struggled badly against Morton and Clyde.

The wobble has been coming and I saw in those games.
alberto
QUOTE (LLD @ Sep 20 2008, 17:18) *

spot on sad.gif well done livi,played some good football
Web

Calm down.

2 weeks son, tell us this in 2 weeks. We are fucking terrible.
Juan Sara
That was terrible today, honestly though its his 3rd season and we're going nowhere.

Duffy wasn't given as much as a chance as Rae has I think he should be handed his p45.
dundeefc1783
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Sep 20 2008, 17:40) *
That was terrible today, honestly though its his 3rd season and we're going nowhere.

Duffy wasn't given as much as a chance as Rae has I think he should be handed his p45.

Exactly he has to go

if they stick with him we will be lucky to finish in top 5
AyrshireTon
Dundee think they've got problems! dry.gif
EastFootball
I've been patient up till now, but today tipped me over the edge. Rae has to go.

No tactics, no clue when it comes to substitutions and no motivation from the touchline.

Normally I quite calm at a match until there's a poor refereeing decision or we...er...what's that thing called when you put ball in the net? Score, that's it. Anyway, after he took off Gilhaney to bring on Cowan I just lost it: boo-ing, yelling abuse at Rae, "RAE OUT", "RAE MUST GO", I even tried to get a rousing rendition of "there's only one Billy Dodds" going ph34r.gif

There were these 3 lads in front of me of no more than about 15 who kept turning round and saying to give him a chance. Eventually I just yelled back at them to go and watch the Old Firm if they can't see how pish we are. Although I stopped short of telling them to f**k off and do it...they were only kids after all ph34r.gif
Juan Sara
I think Dundee have been going by the songs of The Hoosiers recently....

a few weeks ago : I'm starting to worry about Rae
Now it'll hopefully be : goodbye Mr. Rae
dundeefc1783
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Sep 20 2008, 17:46) *
I think Dundee have been going by the songs of The Hoosiers recently....

a few weeks ago : I'm starting to worry about Rae
Now it'll hopefully be : goodbye Mr. Rae

the hooseirs could probably do a better job than rae
Muggy
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Sep 20 2008, 17:44) *
I've been patient up till now, but today tipped me over the edge. Rae has to go.

No tactics, no clue when it comes to substitutions and no motivation from the touchline.

Normally I quite calm at a match until there's a poor refereeing decision or we...er...what's that thing called when you put ball in the net? Score, that's it. Anyway, after he took off Gilhaney to bring on Cowan I just lost it: boo-ing, yelling abuse at Rae, "RAE OUT", "RAE MUST GO", I even tried to get a rousing rendition of "there's only one Billy Dodds" going ph34r.gif

There were these 3 lads in front of me of no more than about 15 who kept turning round and saying to give him a chance. Eventually I just yelled back at them to go and watch the Old Firm if they can't see how pish we are. Although I stopped short of telling them to f**k off and do it...they were only kids after all ph34r.gif

Seriously though, that was shocking. I still can't believe how poor we were. As you say, Rae show's n motivation or leadership from the touchline. The players needed someone today, but Rae did nothing. If Rae goes, I'd like to see a passionate manager who the players look upto. Last season, I know for a fact some of the players thought Rae was an arsehole and had no respect for him. What's that going to achieve?

We need a takeover or some serious investment this season, because we're not going up.
++Ammo - Airdrie++
wow talk about backlash!! all this after getting beat by the league leaders, no shame in being beat by a team with SPL ambitions guys!!

Ludo *1
QUOTE (++Ammo - Airdrie++ @ Sep 20 2008, 17:58) *
wow talk about backlash!! all this after getting beat by the league leaders, no shame in being beat by a team with SPL ambitions guys!!

Maybe they do now but before this game most Livi fan's and perhaps most backroom staff thought it was gonna be a 2-3 seasons until they win this was just rebuilding basically. I may be wrong but I thought Landi was wanting a top 3 finish this season and the league the next.
MTJ
Being humped by anyone at home if you are title contenders is not good, but Dundee on paper aren't any better than most in the division and infact I thought they were much stronger last year.
Muggy
QUOTE (MTJ @ Sep 20 2008, 18:10) *
Being humped by anyone at home if you are title contenders is not good, but Dundee on paper aren't any better than most in the division and infact I thought they were much stronger last year.

I would actually say it's the other way around, but it doesn't matter.
VitalDees
I have also had enough of him. Terrible tactics and he will play the same players that have been shit for the past so many weeks. It's a disgrace. I don't want Jocky Scott as out next manager anyway, we should stop going back to the past IMO.

One question though, if Kernaghan had been given the same time as Alex Rae would we be in the SPL?
Muggy
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Sep 20 2008, 18:12) *
I have also had enough of him. Terrible tactics and he will play the same players that have been shit for the past so many weeks. It's a disgrace. I don't want Jocky Scott as out next manager anyway, we should stop going back to the past IMO.

One question though, if Kernaghan had been given the same time as Alex Rae would we be in the SPL?

No. We would be in the 2nd division. Rae did well in his first season - that can't be denied.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Sep 20 2008, 18:12) *

No
Ludo *1
Just throwing this out there even though there is probably no chance it will happen in fact forget probably there is NO chance it would happen.

However Fabrizio Ravanelli when sacked said he'd always love to return an manage Dundee one day and if Bennet takes over we could tap into Ravanelli's Italian contacts. Just a thought. tongue.gif
VitalDees
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Sep 20 2008, 18:15) *
No. We would be in the 2nd division. Rae did well in his first season - that can't be denied.

Kernaghan was our manager for only a few months and wasn't giving the opportunity to bring in his own players if he had been given the same time and same budget as Alex Rae then I believe Kernaghan would be going better than our current manager is. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

RAE OUT RAVANELLI IN! tongue.gif
G_Man1985
Lets give it a bash. Bring back entertaining football without going into adminastration
Juan Sara
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Sep 20 2008, 18:21) *
Kernaghan was our manager for only a few months and wasn't giving the opportunity to bring in his own players if he had been given the same time and same budget as Alex Rae (who has it increased 50% in his first season and a bit more since) then I believe Kernaghan would be going better than our current manager is.

RAE OUT RAVANELLI IN! tongue.gif

Kernaghan was a grade A mong who couldn't manage his sock drawer. When he was the manager there was a bad mood arond Dens and the majority of players and staff hated him.
VitalDees
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Sep 20 2008, 18:24) *
Kernaghan was a grade A mong who couldn't manage his sock drawer. When he was the manager there was a bad mood arond Dens and the majority of players and staff hated him.

Yeah - he didn't control the dressing room. It's just the fact that I had to even ask myself that question it shows how fucking bad Rae is. Get RAE OUT.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Sep 20 2008, 18:30) *
Yeah - he didn't control the dressing room. It's just the fact that I had to even ask myself that question it shows how fucking bad Rae is. Get RAE OUT.

Haha aye right enough ...out with the old.
Duncan Freemason
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Sep 20 2008, 16:22) *
Well said. Can we borrow Yogi?

Well believe it or not, Yogi has plenty of critics down Westfield way. Those that moan all the time need to have a good look around the landscape of Scottish football. We are a small, well run club plying our trade in the SPL for a few seasons now. Look around at clubs who were vying with us not so long ago........Dundee (troubles increasingly well documented)........Raith Rovers............have struggled with some real iffy characters in charge these past few years coupled with pretty awful financial mismanagement........our great rivals DAFC.......just about impossible to paint a real picture of their finances because of so much re-structuring.......Partick.........up and down like yoyos.......Morton....the great come back is always just over the horizon. Given the choice, I'll happily keep Yogi and whatever flaws he might have. He's proven to be able to stick to a plan (aye, a realistic one) unlike so many of the owner/manager donkeys that have plagued our game.
jupe1407
Kernaghan was right up there with Dave "Coco" Smith in terms of unpopularity with the Dees support, if he was still here we'd be in the 2nd Division.

I would give Rae until mid December. If we're not any better off, we can get a new guy in who would have the whole of the transfer window to wheel and deal.

This is starting to remind me of the Angus Cook era, ie boardroom level confusion, struggling in the First and a general bad feeling about the place.

Thank f**k i cant go on Saturdays very often these days.
EastFootball
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Sep 20 2008, 18:21) *
Kernaghan was our manager for only a few months and wasn't giving the opportunity to bring in his own players...

Yes he was.

He was manager through a transfer window.
dundee scaff
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Sep 20 2008, 18:32) *
Haha aye right enough ...out with the old.

this season has shown how much we relied on big kev n robbo last season without them we r nothin more than average been to all games this season and that result 2day has been comin 4 weeks we r that bad full credit 2 livi they deserved the win last week n 2day was a chance 2 open up a gap especially as as our next 2 r tough away games that we now have 2 win to keep in touch with the pack
Juan Sara
QUOTE (jupe1407 @ Sep 20 2008, 18:36) *
I would give Rae until mid December.

That would be too late IMO.
Muggy
QUOTE (Duncan Freemason @ Sep 20 2008, 18:33) *
Well believe it or not, Yogi has plenty of critics down Westfield way. Those that moan all the time need to have a good look around the landscape of Scottish football. We are a small, well run club plying our trade in the SPL for a few seasons now. Look around at clubs who were vying with us not so long ago........Dundee (troubles increasingly well documented)........Raith Rovers............have struggled with some real iffy characters in charge these past few years coupled with pretty awful financial mismanagement........our great rivals DAFC.......just about impossible to paint a real picture of their finances because of so much re-structuring.......Partick.........up and down like yoyos.......Morton....the great come back is always just over the horizon. Given the choice, I'll happily keep Yogi and whatever flaws he might have. He's proven to be able to stick to a plan (aye, a realistic one) unlike so many of the owner/manager donkeys that have plagued our game.

Personally, I think he's doing a fantastic job. Some Falkirk fans perhaps need to look at the bigger picture and they would appreciate him more.

I'm feeling so pessimistic just now. sad.gif
Bigmouth Strikes Again
I've backed him all the way but today was 'the straw that broke the camels back' So GTF now Rae and Farrell, because I have had enough watching this absolute fucking pish.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.