Pages: 1, 2
LordHawHaw

I defy anyone to come up with a better one cool.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7kI4ny-6Rn4
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 19 2008, 21:20) *
I defy anyone to come up with a better one cool.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7kI4ny-6Rn4

That's Matchstick Men and Matchstick Cats and Dogs!!!

Another nicked song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SnRX6_Txpaw

It's either stolen or it's about the IRA!
JUMPURS
LordHawHaw

I actually like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zhkdy0AOpaM

getting much more play time , this is by the Malleys, was this the group that were playing before the game on Wednesday?
sev
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 19 2008, 21:26) *
That's Matchstick Men and Matchstick Cats and Dogs!!!

Another nicked song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SnRX6_Txpaw

It's either stolen or it's about the IRA!

we are rangers, super rangers............. stolen from rod stewart.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXqrkjxtLSY

imagine stealing a song from a tim. get yer ain songs
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 19 2008, 21:35) *
we are rangers, super rangers............. stolen from rod stewart.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXqrkjxtLSY

imagine stealing a song from a tim. get yer ain songs

Jesus I remember that getting belted out the jungle at many a game, always like that song
sev
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 19 2008, 21:40) *
Jesus I remember that getting belted out the jungle at many a game, always like that song

Me too until i realised they wasted it
LordHawHaw
seen this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cAyWNxjvUCI
sev
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 19 2008, 21:49) *

you can hear the guy filming it singing the night away laugh.gif

Canny beat a bit of Rod the Mod though
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 19 2008, 22:01) *
you can hear the guy filming it singing the night away laugh.gif

Canny beat a bit of Rod the Mod though

Aye the Brazilian guy sing terrible, unlike me cool.gif I've always like him too, more so that he seem to be becoming more of a tim with the passing of time smile.gif
ChampionsElect
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 19 2008, 21:34) *
I actually like this

getting much more play time , this is by the Malleys, was this the group that were playing before the game on Wednesday?

Thats better than the first song you posted. Aye they were the band that performed on Wednesday, infront of the JS stand.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Sep 19 2008, 23:00) *
Thats better than the first song you posted. Aye they were the band that performed on Wednesday, infront of the JS stand.

I was later than usual on Wed so never heard most of their performance, still they were at Celtic park previously, I like their versions of songs I've heard

This is excellent

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJvttqV1sGc
orlandoblue
See in this version , what is it they shout on 33 seconds?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (orlandoblue @ Sep 20 2008, 14:56) *

I think they first shout Sinn Fein, then IRA as add ons to the song, see your post is if you don't mind me saying a fair reflection of how lots of posters on here and in general Scottish society find anything Irish suspect IMO.

That is a concert in Ireland, the IRA foought a war of independence against a brutal occuping force with no mandate from the people, IRA men were in the Irish government, IRA people have statues to them and are considered to be decent upstanding leaders of their people. Unpleasant as I think that is to you it's the reality of the woirld
orlandoblue
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 20 2008, 15:06) *
I think they first shout Sinn Fein, then IRA as add ons to the song, see your post is if you don't mind me saying a fair reflection of how lots of posters on here and in general Scottish society find anything Irish suspect IMO.

That is a concert in Ireland, the IRA foought a war of independence against a brutal occuping force with no mandate from the people, IRA men were in the Irish government, IRA people have statues to them and are considered to be decent upstanding leaders of their people. Unpleasant as I think that is to you it's the reality of the woirld

Could we copy and paste this reply to my other question of you wink.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (orlandoblue @ Sep 20 2008, 15:07) *
Could we copy and paste this reply to my other question of you wink.gif

No it's not my opinion of the IRA it's historical fact
orlandoblue
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 20 2008, 15:09) *
No it's not my opinion of the IRA it's historical fact

What is your opinion then?

Why is it such a secret?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (orlandoblue @ Sep 20 2008, 15:11) *
What is your opinion then?

Why is it such a secret?

My view is never been a secret
orlandoblue
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 20 2008, 15:15) *
My view is never been a secret

Well what is it?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (orlandoblue @ Sep 20 2008, 15:17) *
Well what is it?

It's irrelevent to any of the discussion we are having and I'm no sure I want to have that discussion with you as a stand alone topic smile.gif
orlandoblue
So it is a secret and I will draw my own conclusions from that.

Shame, I thought you were alright
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (orlandoblue @ Sep 20 2008, 15:24) *
So it is a secret and I will draw my own conclusions from that.

Shame, I thought you were alright

Exactly, your apparent consternation at the Irish singing about the IRA in Ireland, coupled with your take on "my view" in the famine thread tends to lead me to the view that you have already drawn you own conclusions
orlandoblue
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 20 2008, 15:27) *
Exactly, your apparent consternation at the Irish singing about the IRA in Ireland, coupled with your take on "my view" in the famine thread tends to lead me to the view that you have already drawn you own conclusions

Quite how you reach that conclusion from my post is make believe even walt disney would be proud of.
sev
Thought i would add this wee number

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C9HG7TRbnec
JohnMac
This is my favourite Sellick song.

Thought I should post both the English and Irish versions.

All together now "in the English version''

Soldiers are we, whose lives are pledged to Ireland.

http://www.youtube.com/?v=px4KQ4q7JfM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mRc3BTCRGZo

Which version is better?
sev
QUOTE (JohnMac @ Sep 20 2008, 15:57) *
This is my favourite Sellick song.

Thought I should post both the English and Irish versions.

All together now "in the English version''

Soldiers are we, whose lives are pledged to Ireland.

http://www.youtube.com/?v=px4KQ4q7JfM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mRc3BTCRGZo

Which version is better?

Do you guys like being up to your knees in fenian blood?
sev
what about this one?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d_8Xet3COmA...feature=related
JohnMac
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 20 2008, 15:10) *
Do you guys like being up to your knees in fenian blood?

I never have. Can you tell me what it's like?
sev
QUOTE (JohnMac @ Sep 20 2008, 16:15) *
I never have. Can you tell me what it's like?

wink.gif

wagner
What about the rousing "With Cat Like Tread" from The Pirates of Penzance. biggrin.gif
JohnMac
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 20 2008, 16:12) *

Well the Tims in Northern Ireland like telling the Prods (Ian Paisley & co) to f*ck off back to Scotland. It's all swings and roundabouts mate.
sev
QUOTE (JohnMac @ Sep 20 2008, 16:29) *
Well the Tims in Northern Ireland like telling the Prods (Ian Paisley & co) to f*ck off back to Scotland. It's all swings and roundabouts mate.

you are exactly right. well done
LordHawHaw

Cmon guys I started this for Celtic songs, not to start another mindless shooting match, can we stick to Celtic songs on this thread please, although the Irish national anthem is one beautiful bit of music.

Celtic songs only ta
patto
QUOTE (orlandoblue @ Sep 20 2008, 14:56) *

They are doing it in their own country, why does it effect you ?
thankuplz
I do like the Willy Maley song, reminds me of when i was young in bairds. Good times. This was always a half decent celtic song, not one of the best though http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sf0yC5lCIGk
orlandoblue
QUOTE (patto @ Sep 20 2008, 23:17) *
They are doing it in their own country, why does it effect you ?

happy.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (thankuplz @ Sep 21 2008, 01:14) *
I do like the Willy Maley song, reminds me of when i was young in bairds. Good times. This was always a half decent celtic song, not one of the best though http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sf0yC5lCIGk

Superb song smile.gif very underestimated...always gets a clapped along with when played at Celtic park, I'd love to hear the whole stadium sings it

Keep them coming cool.gif
stevenston saint
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 21 2008, 10:40) *
Superb song smile.gif very underestimated...always gets a clapped along with when played at Celtic park, I'd love to hear the whole stadium sings it

Keep them coming cool.gif

Does it have the same effect when you are watching in the pub?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (stevenston saint @ Sep 21 2008, 10:43) *
Does it have the same effect when you are watching in the pub?

I don't whch pub are you going to watch it in? I prefer the live stuff mysel, freezing afternoon, hot bovril and grease topped scotch pie YUMMIE!
stevenston saint
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 21 2008, 10:52) *
I don't whch pub are you going to watch it in? I prefer the live stuff mysel, freezing afternoon, hot bovril and grease topped scotch pie YUMMIE!

huh.gif Could you translate?
EricWimp
This has to be my favourite

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Y7xvegPH_Lw
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (EricWimp @ Sep 21 2008, 11:04) *

That is good , this is better IMO

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dARy-PeJffM
LordHawHaw

An oldie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Gwh7YZGCwI
glasnost
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 19 2008, 21:34) *
I actually like this

I can’t get access to the link to the Malleys but I have heard that they sang songs such as ‘Let the People Sing’, altering the lyrics when they did so. It’s then revealed that they have recently released an EP called “‘Let the People Sing’ EP”.

Who exactly are this band that’s being foisted upon us and are happy to change such songs to appease the plc and is it any coincidence that they and their CD have been wheeled out a couple of weeks after TÁL fanzine gave away a free CD from their “‘Let the People Sing’ campaign?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 23 2008, 15:41) *
I can’t get access to the link to the Malleys but I have heard that they sang songs such as ‘Let the People Sing’, altering the lyrics when they did so. It’s then revealed that they have recently released an EP called “‘Let the People Sing’ EP”.
Who exactly are this band that’s being foisted upon us and are happy to change such songs to appease the plc and is it any coincidence that they and their CD have been wheeled out a couple of weeks after TÁL fanzine gave away a free CD from their “‘Let the People Sing’ campaign?

That's exactly the song that I posted, I've been pretty impressed by the quality of this group, that's a couple of times they have sung at Celtic park. Didn't know they had released CD, nor do I know where they came from.

Also never noticed that they have indeed changed the lyrics ph34r.gif just listened again and the lines about Elizabethian times and Cromwellian war and fury have been changed to

Through the passages of time
With passion and of glory
To those who have gone before
I sing to you once more

Wonder why they have did that unsure.gif
DJP
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V1m8teWil9g ballboy

Not a celtic song as such, but sure it would go down well in Celtic pubs before the game.

The band in question are the excellent ballboy who are Celtic fans, the song is called "The Sash my father wore". So do ignore the title of the song and enjoy the amusing lyrics taking the pish out or Rangers. Off the album also entitled the Sash my Father wore, A quality album, fully recommend it, It was the album that got me into ballboy.

Not so sure about the video, obviously not the bands video.
khenny
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 20 2008, 16:38) *
Cmon guys I started this for Celtic songs, not to start another mindless shooting match, can we stick to Celtic songs on this thread please, although the Irish national anthem is one beautiful bit of music.

Celtic songs only ta

It would be great if we could have one topic on this board that didn't eventually descend into N. Ireland v Eire or Catholic v Protestant.

Has it ever happened?

sad.gif
LordHawHaw

An oldie biggrin.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IK0RnPPvBqI

Educational too
Proteus Maximus
Celtic have no good songs.

They're all racist dirges.
LordHawHaw
Two for the price of one smile.gif and two good Celtic songs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WZ_ADkAtRpM
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.