Full Version: Ulster Mp In Celtic Trip Ira 'snub'
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Proteus Maximus
<h2 style="font-size: 1.05em; line-height: 1.05em;" class="padding-bottom-7"> A FRESH sectarian singing row flared last night after the Ulster sports minister hinted he may snub an invite to Celtic Park in protest at IRA tunes sung by their fans. </h2> Gregory Campbell, a DUP MP, has written to Hoops chairman and former Northern Ireland secretary John Reid condemning IRA chants from Celtic fans at Motherwell last week.

It comes after Irish officials contacted the Scottish Government over Rangers fans taunting Celtic rivals with the controversial Famine Song.

Work
Mr Campbell was asked to be a guest at the home of the SPL champions after claiming he and his wife suffered sectarian abuse by fans on a ferry.

But, speaking in his role as East Londonderry MP, he said: "The recent songs about the IRA would suggest an awful lot more work needs to be done.

"It would call into question attendance at the ground."

But he praised Celtic and Rangers for trying to tackle the problem of bigots at games.

A Celtic spokesman vowed to consider his letter and added: "We are pleased Mr Campbell recognises the great work which Celtic has carried out in tackling sectarianism."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gG4u4Wy28H0
JUMPURS
hun in 'tit for tat' shocker
H_B
The troops are rallying round biggrin.gif

Bain must have been out lighting torches on the hills of Ayrshire.
Proteus Maximus
Personally, I think that singing in favour of racist, sectarian murderers who killed many innocent men, women and children, is much worse than the famine song.
H_B
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 19 2008, 10:35) *
Personally, I think that singing in favour of racist, sectarian murderers who killed many innocent men, women and children, is much worse than the famine song.

Good progress.

We have established that you think the Famine Song is bad. Credit to you...
kiwififer
Why do you support Ross County, yet have an OF game in your sig?
sev
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 19 2008, 10:35) *

Yawn!!!! Another thread dedicated to what this forum has been talking about for the last 2 weeks.
JUMPURS
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 19 2008, 10:43) *
Yawn!!!! Another thread dedicated to what this forum has been talking about for the last 2 weeks.

Seems like the huns are more upset by the famine song (and being told not to sing it cos it is racist) than Celtic fans are about it being sung lol
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (kiwififer @ Sep 19 2008, 10:41) *
Why do you support Ross County, yet have an OF game in your sig?

'twas an error on my behalf.
kiwififer
You should change it then, it's a bit misleading.
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (kiwififer @ Sep 19 2008, 10:57) *
You should change it then, it's a bit misleading.

How do I do it?

I couldn't find the option for it.
kiwififer
My controls then edit personal information. Down the bottom is your team, which is clearly not Ross County.

Easy Peasy!
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (kiwififer @ Sep 19 2008, 11:03) *
My controls then edit personal information. Down the bottom is your team, which is clearly not Ross County.

Easy Peasy!

Cheers mate.

Worked a treat.
No8.
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 19 2008, 10:20) *

I know i shouldn't but i laugh.gif at that
kiwififer
It's now more honest. How many threads will you start about songs and such like? You only really need 1 or 2 at most btw
No8.
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 19 2008, 10:43) *

Hmmm i wonder what happened 2 weeks ago on the Football front? I just cant seem to remember after all the Mock outrage from the MOPE!! tongue.gif
Proteus Maximus
There's just been so much bad news for Celtic this week.

It wouldn't all go in one thread.

Wait till the next big bit of news about Celtic comes out.

I have the inside track, but I'm not going to break the news here.
fatman76
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 19 2008, 11:21) *

It wouldn't all go in one thread.

Wait till the next big bit of news about Celtic comes out.

I have the inside track, but I'm not going to break the news here.

You cant indicate that you have large piece of info without tellings us. There is a name for girls like you!
Proteus Maximus
Why John Reid won't stop IRA chants...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gG4u4Wy28H0
youroldda
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 19 2008, 10:14) *

your like some sort of sectarian virus on this forum, any chance you just die and give us all peace?
JUMPURS
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 19 2008, 11:21) *

So muh bad news for Celtic this week?? talk about deflecting laugh.gif

I haven't seen this much deflecting since the Obama camp called into question John McCain's war service lol
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (youroldda @ Sep 19 2008, 12:06) *
your like some sort of sectarian virus on this forum, any chance you just die and give us all peace?

Nice post.

So complaining about sectarianism is sectarian?
No8.
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 19 2008, 12:07) *
So muh bad news for Celtic this week?? talk about deflecting laugh.gif

I haven't seen this much deflecting since the Obama camp called into question John McCain's war service lol

You mean you haven't seen so much deflecting since a 2 week old story broke on Monday only 2 days after Celtic supporters were heard chanting PIRA Songs at Fir Park tongue.gif
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (No8. @ Sep 19 2008, 12:25) *
You mean you haven't seen so much deflecting since a 2 week old story broke on Monday only 2 days after Celtic supporters were heard chanting PIRA Songs at Fir Park tongue.gif

JUMPURS

Bain must be right, it must all be a consipiracy with the press.

What PIRA songs where being sung at fir park??

infact don't answer that as it will only go round and round and round.
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 19 2008, 12:51) *

wink.gif
sev
QUOTE (No8. @ Sep 19 2008, 11:21) *
Hmmm i wonder what happened 2 weeks ago on the Football front? I just cant seem to remember after all the Mock outrage from the MOPE!! tongue.gif

tongue.gif back ya jobby
H_B

What PIRA songs did they sing?
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 19 2008, 10:17) *
hun in 'tit for tat' shocker

But its not tit for tat when Rangers are the ones dong the wrong?

Tim in ignorance to the obvious shocker.
JUMPURS
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 19 2008, 13:31) *
But its not tit for tat when Rangers are the ones dong the wrong?

Tim in ignorance to the obvious shocker.

How come the huns stop using 'well they do x' as an excuse and condemn the problem??

And before you start, i would like Tim's to do the same.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (youroldda @ Sep 19 2008, 12:06) *

Does that mean "waaaaaaah stop showing up the truth about our fans"?

As it seems like you lot don't like to be exposed to what you really are.

QUOTE (JUMPURS)
How come the huns stop using 'well they do x' as an excuse and condemn the problem??

And before you start, i would like Tim's to do the same.

Not many bears do like the problem, but we also don't like to see it pointed out by Celtic fans who are in the exact same boat as we are, and each time one set does something, the other side tend to try and point score by pointing it out and trying to make it as big as possible. Hence why both tend to use the "well they done blah"
shizzlemanizzle
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 19 2008, 12:51) *

Round & round & round & round & round...........

Its all the old firm ever do, its a f*cking pantomine.

Seriously old firm fans, take a step back from the situation & take it in from a neutral perspective. Can none of you see how ridiculous this makes you look? You are both guilty as charged & you know it so you argue the toss about who is most guilty!!
KnightswoodBear
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 19 2008, 10:20) *

Superb laugh.gif
seamus
I think Celtic fans should start singing hyms at the games like they used to in the olden days.

Imagine 50,000 fans giving it laldy with "Walk with me o my Lord" and imagine the Huns anger and frustration at trying to figure out a way to protest about it.

Rangers are truly a protestant club.
JUMPURS
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 19 2008, 17:34) *
I think Celtic fans should start singing hyms at the games like they used to in the olden days.

I don't, religion has no place in football.
seamus
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 19 2008, 17:50) *
I don't, religion has no place in football.

Well what about the Holy Ground.
fitbin
QUOTE (shizzlemanizzle @ Sep 19 2008, 14:01) *
Round & round & round & round & round...........

Its all the old firm ever do, its a f*cking pantomine

Oh no it isn't

Oh yes it is sad.gif
badger_whacker
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 19 2008, 17:34) *

Imagine 50,000 fans giving it laldy with "Walk with me o my Lord" and imagine the Huns anger and frustration at trying to figure out a way to protest about it.

Rangers are truly a protestant club.

You seem to believe that Celtic fans and therefore Catholics have a monopoly on hymns and the crucifix. Funnily enough, Protestants also sing hymns and use the symbol of the crucifix.

Celtic fans who pretend to be real catholics are the height of ignorance.

At least protestants answer directly to God rather than a Nazi youth who milks money from the poor of the world and helps the spread of aids by preaching non-contraception methods.
seamus
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Sep 19 2008, 18:23) *
You seem to believe that Celtic fans and therefore Catholics have a monopoly on hymns and the crucifix. Funnily enough, Protestants also sing hymns and use the symbol of the crucifix.

At least protestants answer directly to God rather than a Nazi youth who milks money from the poor of the world and helps the spread of aids by preaching non-contraception methods.

I dont like the Ecumenical Posse.
What does God ask the protestants?and Does he mark their answers?
badger_whacker
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 19 2008, 18:32) *
I dont like the Ecumenical Posse.
What does God ask the protestants?and Does he mark their answers?

Do you actually go to chapel or do you just act religious at matches like the vast majority of Old firm fans do? I bet you still call yourself a Roman Catholic.

Unlike this chap:

link
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Sep 19 2008, 18:23) *

Deary me, helping spread of aids biggrin.gif Them Catholics eh biggrin.gif
seamus
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Sep 19 2008, 19:05) *
Do you actually go to chapel or do you just act religious at matches like the vast majority of Old firm fans do? I bet you still call yourself a Roman Catholic.

Unlike this chap:

link

I wish I had as strong a faith as I used to have I used to get a lot of comfort from it.
I don't go every week, its fair to say that I get dragged along probabaly about once a month.I will need to become more at ease with my spiritaul side as I have recently been asked to be a godfather.Its not something to take lightly and I would not have agreed to it if I did not think I would be able to carry out the role effectivley.
badger_whacker
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 19 2008, 19:08) *
Deary me, helping spread of aids biggrin.gif Them Catholics eh biggrin.gif

It's fact and you know it. You're poor response shows as much.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Sep 19 2008, 19:31) *
It's fact and you know it. You're poor response shows as much.

Illogical nonsense motivated by god know what, certainly not evidence, even if you think about it at a very surface level, if you followed Catholic teachings then we would not have any epidemic.

If you are devout enough to follow a priest saying don't use condoms, then you are more than likely to follow no sex outside marrage, the aids empidemic is caused by poverty and ignorance
fitbin
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 19 2008, 19:38) *
the aids empidemic is caused by poverty and ignorance

Much like the Old Firm, sadly
badger_whacker
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 19 2008, 19:38) *
Illogical nonsense motivated by god know what, certainly not evidence, even if you think about it at a very surface level, if you followed Catholic teachings then we would not have any epidemic.

If you are devout enough to follow a priest saying don't use condoms, then you are more than likely to follow no sex outside marrage, the aids empidemic is caused by poverty and ignorance

People who are born with aids have been preached the evils of contraception, therefore helping it's spread. Immoral.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 19 2008, 19:42) *
Much like the Old Firm, sadly

laugh.gif Hope yer roof blow aff

QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Sep 19 2008, 19:43) *
People who are born with aids have been preached the evils of contraception, therefore helping it's spread. Immoral.

Then in that case if your a Catholic you refrain from sex, do you have any facts or figures to back up Catholics get more aids because of their church?
seamus
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Sep 19 2008, 19:43) *

How can someone who has not been born be preached to huh.gif
fitbin
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 19 2008, 19:46) *
laugh.gif Hope yer roof blow aff

biggrin.gif

You gonnae huff and puff outside my house? ohmy.gif
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 19 2008, 19:52) *
biggrin.gif

You gonnae huff and puff outside my house? ohmy.gif

He's a strange chap.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.