glasnost
Sep 18 2008, 12:09
THE BUS PARK
Is there any logical reason that can be given as to why Celtic cannot sort out the bus park and get it properly surfaced?
For years it has been a damned disgrace, manky and full of potholes. I have ruined god knows how many trainers over the years thanks to it.
I suppose it can be linked to the grander scheme of things with regards to how little the plc actually care about the supporters.
ChampionsElect
Sep 18 2008, 12:11
It is actually quite poor, seen a few fans fall on their c**t over the years.
This and shoddy quiz questions! I demand answers!
glasnost
Sep 18 2008, 12:16
This from Peter Lawwell two years ago from a Q&A session with the CSA.
The Coach Park at Celtic Park is slowly becoming the death knell for many Celtic Supporters Clubs who are losing members hand over fist because of the length of time they have to sit on the coach in the Coach Park before finally getting to move. The underfoot conditions of the place is also a disgrace and there are no answers coming from the Club with regards its future. When are the Club going to address the problem and either upgrade the Coach Park or look at building others on opposite ends of the approaches to the ground?
The plan at the moment is that potentially the whole area could change. The link road off the M74 is planned to go just where the Coach Park is at the moment so that will hopefully help with communication as the link road to the M74 will free up other traffic. The announcement that the new indoor arena is to be built across from London Road gives us an opportunity to co-exist with them if you like with regards to car parking.
fitbin
Sep 18 2008, 12:47
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 13:09)

For years it has been a damned disgrace, manky and full of potholes
Glasgow?
Aye, it is.
Mebbe you should contact the Irish Consulate about these important issues
LordHawHaw
Sep 18 2008, 12:52
I use the bus park every game as i park at the police station, it is as you say a complete disgrace, sounds like the games/M74 should sort it out, it badly needs it
JUMPURS
Sep 18 2008, 13:09
Why not get your bus parking somewhere else like nuneaton street or that?
LordHawHaw
Sep 18 2008, 14:22
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 14:09)

Why not get your bus parking somewhere else like nuneaton street or that?
It's the official bus park, it should be to a ceratin standard
JUMPURS
Sep 18 2008, 14:46
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 15:22)

It's the official bus park, it should be to a ceratin standard
If you are that annoyed, get your bus to park elsewhere. I've been in the bus park once and it was a nightmare, so thankfully the bus i went on, didn't make a habit of using it. I'd rather have a 5 min walk after the game and the bus leaving sharp, rather than a 2 second walk to the bus and a 30min wait trying to get out.
glasnost
Sep 18 2008, 14:49
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 15:46)

If you are that annoyed, get your bus to park elsewhere. I've been in the bus park once and it was a nightmare, so thankfully the bus i went on, didn't make a habit of using it. I'd rather have a 5 min walk after the game and the bus leaving sharp, rather than a 2 second walk to the bus and a 30min wait trying to get out.
It’s the principle of the matter.
JUMPURS
Sep 18 2008, 14:53
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 15:49)

It’s the principle of the matter.
Do you pay extra to use it? Do other PL clubs offer a bus park?
glasnost
Sep 18 2008, 14:55
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 15:53)

Do you pay extra to use it?
No.
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 15:53)

Do other PL clubs offer a bus park?
I have no idea nor do I care.
Disraeli
Sep 18 2008, 14:57

THE BUS PARK
Is there any logical reason that can be given as to why Celtic cannot sort out the bus park and get it properly surfaced?
For years it has been a damned disgrace, manky and full of potholes. I have ruined god knows how many trainers over the years thanks to it.
I suppose it can be linked to the grander scheme of things with regards to how little the plc actually care about the supporters.
A disgrace? Nay, I say it's a catastrophe.It's a tragedy on par with the desecration of the Sabine, and I say it's the fault of Strachan.He's such a vile little man, unchristian and vulgar.
Peter Lawwell himself is trying to escape the clutches of Herr Strachan, as we refer to him.
Fizzy Gillespie
Sep 18 2008, 14:58
why don't the green brigade all get together and fill in the potholes for the club, they could then make up numerous badly painted banners with looney toons characters in celtic shirts boiling tar and shovelling gravel, a song too possibly.
JUMPURS
Sep 18 2008, 14:58
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 15:55)

No.
I have no idea nor do I care.
I think the answer to both questions are more. It is a token effort. Rather than them having a spare bit of ground doing f**k all, they opened it up and let the busses park on it, no doubt because someone moaned about not having anywhere to park and their being a bit of spare ground 'that'll do'
Yet now the moaning continues.
glasnost
Sep 18 2008, 15:02
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 15:58)

I think the answer to both questions are more. It is a token effort. Rather than them having a spare bit of ground doing f**k all, they opened it up and let the busses park on it, no doubt because someone moaned about not having anywhere to park and their being a bit of spare ground 'that'll do'
Yet now the moaning continues.
I hardly think it is unreasonable, given how much us supporters spend on the club, to suggest that Celtic could do a little bit to make the coach park user friendly. If you think there is and that having hundreds of supporters be subject to dangerous underfoot conditions is fine then fair enough.
Millfield Marksman
Sep 18 2008, 15:05
QUOTE (Fizzy Gillespie @ Sep 18 2008, 15:58)

why don't the green brigade all get together and fill in the potholes for the club, they could then make up numerous badly painted banners with looney toons characters in celtic shirts boiling tar and shovelling gravel, a song too possibly.
Excellent idea
"Ask, not what your club can do for you, but what can you do for your club"
JFKCSC
Jie Bie
Sounds like Celtic aren't going to do anything about it until 2014 anyway.
How muuch would re-surfacing a large area with asphalt cost? Not that much I would think. Maybe Celtic could get Bobo to chip in for it?
JUMPURS
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 16:02)

I hardly think it is unreasonable, given how much us supporters spend on the club, to suggest that Celtic could do a little bit to make the coach park user friendly. If you think there is and that having hundreds of supporters be subject to dangerous underfoot conditions is fine then fair enough.
Well since you bring it up and the supporters safety is at risk, i'd personally just close it.
Would that make you happy? The supporters might not twist an ankle then.
glasnost
QUOTE (Fizzy Gillespie @ Sep 18 2008, 15:58)

i was more thinking that the tossers who buy The Celtic Opus could be asked to give a few quid to fund properly surfacing it.
glasnost
Sep 18 2008, 15:06
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 16:05)

Well since you bring it up and the supporters safety is at risk, i'd personally just close it.
Would that make you happy? The supporters might not twist an ankle then.
Why would you prefer to close it rather than just surface it properly?
JUMPURS
Sep 18 2008, 15:08
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 16:06)

Why would you prefer to close it rather than just surface it properly?
Like i said, it's just a bit of buckshee land that celtic had and decided to let busses park on it. If busses don't want to makr on it cos it is dangerous, i'd take the land back off em.
Personally i would resurface it and charge the busses that park there to pay to park there, but no doubt that would cause uproar too.
glasnost
Sep 18 2008, 15:10
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 16:08)

Personally i would resurface it and charge the busses that park there to pay to park there, but no doubt that would cause uproar too.
Why would you want to charge supporters buses that decide to park there?
P.S. Keep that quiet - the plc might hear you and take it on board. Anything to squeeze more money out of the fans.
JUMPURS
Sep 18 2008, 15:12
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 16:10)

Why would you want to charge supporters buses that decide to park there?
P.S. Keep that quiet - the plc might hear you and take it on board. Anything to squeeze more money out of the fans.
It would keep it fair, the people who get the benefit of it, pay for it. the ones who want it resurfaced, painted and maintained (no doubt lighted next).
If not other supporters who do not use it, will in effect be subsidizing something they don't want or need.
If you had 2 choices, pay for a proper car park, or keep it the way it is, what would you chose?
glasnost
Sep 18 2008, 15:22
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 16:12)

It would keep it fair, the people who get the benefit of it, pay for it. the ones who want it resurfaced, painted and maintained (no doubt lighted next).
If not other supporters who do not use it, will in effect be subsidizing something they don't want or need.
They (and you) are in effect already subsidising the coach park by virtue of the need to have stewards in it. How does that sit with you and why would it suddenly become an issue if a few quid was spent resurfacing it?
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 16:12)

If you had 2 choices, pay for a proper car park, or keep it the way it is, what would you chose?
As a point of principle I wouldn’t give the plc any more money. However, it is a hard one when you weigh it up against the safety of supporters and treating them appropriately. The decision ultimately would be out of my hands.
JUMPURS
Sep 18 2008, 15:24
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 16:22)

They (and you) are in effect already subsidising the coach park by virtue of the need to have stewards in it. How does that sit with you and why would it suddenly become an issue if a few quid was spent resurfacing it?
As a point of principle I wouldn’t give the plc any more money. However, it is a hard one when you weigh it up against the safety of supporters and treating them appropriately. The decision ultimately would be out of my hands.
Again though, if you don't like the coach park, don't park in it. It isn't particularly complicated.
Why does your supporters bus continue parking there?
glasnost
Sep 18 2008, 15:27
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 16:24)

Again though, if you don't like the coach park, don't park in it. It isn't particularly complicated.
Yes you have said that. Given that you are already subsidising it, why would it suddenly become an issue, as per your post above, if a few quid was spent resurfacing it?
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 16:24)

Why does your supporters bus continue parking there?
We run a democratic bus, one member one vote.
JUMPURS
Sep 18 2008, 15:29
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 16:27)

Yes you have said that. Given that you are already subsidising it, why would it suddenly become an issue, as per your post above, if a few quid was spent resurfacing it?
I don't subsidise it, but i don't see why other supporters should tbh. Again, you want the priviledge of a nice car park, then you should have to pay for it. If not, you take what you get.
We run a democratic bus, one member one vote.
So on your bus you are in the minority with your complaint about the car park? Maybe the majority of people who use it think it is ok.
fitbin
Sep 18 2008, 18:34
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 16:27)

We run a democratic bus, one member one vote
I can just imagine...
Anyhow, if you all supported your local club, you wouldn't need supporters coaches for home games
glasnost
Sep 18 2008, 18:41
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 16:29)

I don't subsidise it, but i don't see why other supporters should tbh. Again, you want the priviledge of a nice car park, then you should have to pay for it. If not, you take what you get.
Sorry, I thought you spent money on Celtic, my mistake. Those who do are currently helping to subside the running of the bus park and until your comments earlier on today, I have never heard it mentioned or complained about. I am interested why you think it is suddenly an issue and that it wouldn't be fair on those who don't use the bus park (but still subsidise it) if Celtic spent a few quid surfacing it.
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 16:29)

So on your bus you are in the minority with your complaint about the car park? Maybe the majority of people who use it think it is ok.
I have no idea if I am in the minority or not, I haven't done a straw poll on it. Certainly I expect the usual moaning about it this season as in previous seasons. We have some older people on our bus which is one of the main reasons people are keen still to use the bus park given it's guaranteed distance from the ground.
Frank Booth
Sep 18 2008, 18:44
There was a question about East End Park from a wheelchair-bound Saints fan about the lack of a tarmaced surface on the approaches to the disabled area.
The answer given was that if the surfaced was tarmaced, it would then attract a rateable value.
I'd have to assume this is the same reason that the bus park remains in its pothole-strewn unlit state.
LordHawHaw
Sep 18 2008, 18:49
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Sep 18 2008, 19:44)

There was a question about East End Park from a wheelchair-bound Saints fan about the lack of a tarmaced surface on the approaches to the disabled area.
The answer given was that if the surfaced was tarmaced, it would then attract a rateable value.
I'd have to assume this is the same reason that the bus park remains in its pothole-strewn unlit state.
Could well be, I think they're just waiting for the Commonwealth games fixing some things up
badger_whacker
Sep 18 2008, 21:42

THE BUS PARK
Is this the parking area that has just been resurfaced and opened in the past few days?
LordHawHaw
Sep 18 2008, 21:46
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Sep 18 2008, 22:42)

Is this the parking area that has just been resurfaced and opened in the past few days?
No unless they managed to do something from late last night
badger_whacker
Sep 18 2008, 21:49
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 22:46)

No unless they managed to do something from late last night
Are City Building not carrying out an upgrade to a car park at Celtic Park?
youroldda
Sep 18 2008, 21:57
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 19:49)

Could well be, I think they're just waiting for the Commonwealth games fixing some things up
im hoping we get tax payers money to upgrade parkhead for the c/games, can you imagine the Hun outcry?
glasnost
Oct 4 2008, 11:00
Newsroom Staff
A NEW matchday car park facility at Celtic Park is now operational and will be open again this Saturday, October 4 for the home game against Hamilton.
The car park, Dalriada Street 2, behind the Lisbon Lions Stand, has a capacity of approximately 300 and will be open from 11am till 2pm.
It can be accessed via Janefield Street (Springfield Road end) and entry is on a first come, first served basis.
After 2pm, the car park will be closed, and police will re-open it when it is safe to do so after the match has finished.
---------------------------------------
Interesting.
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 4 2008, 12:00)

Interesting
Fascinating
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 18 2008, 13:47)

Glasgow?
Aye, it is.
Mebbe you should contact the Irish Consulate about these important issues

You sad little b*****d.
Top Cat
Oct 4 2008, 16:35
QUOTE (glasnost @ Oct 4 2008, 12:00)

Newsroom Staff
A NEW matchday car park facility at Celtic Park is now operational and will be open again this Saturday, October 4 for the home game against Hamilton.
The car park, Dalriada Street 2, behind the Lisbon Lions Stand, has a capacity of approximately 300 and will be open from 11am till 2pm.
It can be accessed via Janefield Street (Springfield Road end) and entry is on a first come, first served basis.
After 2pm, the car park will be closed, and police will re-open it when it is safe to do so after the match has finished.
---------------------------------------
Interesting.
Did it mention anything for away fans along the lines of 'Those silly enough tae bring yer motors and park there, please remove yer car radio and hub caps before leaving yer car unattended!'
Gallacticos
Oct 4 2008, 16:39
Why not do your bit for the planet and walk to the game?
I can't see why Celtic would consider the bus park a priority, considering it's conditions are on par with pretty much all the parking facilities in the surrounding area. Maybe this money would be better spent on reducing ticket prices rather than wasting time revamping a car park?
glasnost
Oct 5 2008, 08:44
QUOTE (Gallacticos @ Oct 4 2008, 17:39)

Why not do your bit for the planet and walk to the game?
I can't see why Celtic would consider the bus park a priority, considering it's conditions are on par with pretty much all the parking facilities in the surrounding area. Maybe this money would be better spent on reducing ticket prices rather than wasting time revamping a car park?
No-one is saying it should be a priority.
You might be onto something though re money. Of course, why you think it has to come down to one or the other is puzzling but I might just be persuaded to ditch any annoyance over the bus park if a whopping 50p or so got knocked off my season ticket. I am sure not to be alone with this thinking
It must annoy you to see the plc wasting time on this new matchday car park facility not to mention the fact that the money they spent on it could have been used to reduce CL tickets by 43p.
kiwififer
Oct 5 2008, 09:00
I thought the Irish were supposed to be good at working on the roads and stuff, at least that's what I'm led to believe from the other half of the devide.
Oh aye, selling pegs as well, but that's not going to fill the car park.

THE BUS PARK
It's clearly Strachans fault. Get him oot! He's no Celtic minded enough to care about the state of oor bus park. Stupid wee git he thinks all we care about is titles and trophies.
Top Cat
Oct 5 2008, 19:29

THE BUS PARK
I don't often agree wae anything Celtic but I agree with you on this. The fans pay the bills/wages of the club they support at the end of the day and should always come first in things like this imo!
GavMan_AUFC_1910
Oct 6 2008, 12:30
At the end of the day Rangers and Celtic will always be a disgrace.
Glasnost, why do you support Celtic, or are you a closet Hun?
You must be so much fun to attend matches with.
WeAreThePeople
Oct 6 2008, 14:27
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Oct 6 2008, 15:27)

I try and avoid as much as posible.
I've been pretty anti Rangers on numerous occasions, doesn't stop me getting the closet Hun treatment and I don't get stuck into the club I claim to support like he does.
glasnost
Oct 6 2008, 14:39
QUOTE (deky @ Oct 6 2008, 15:33)

Wouldn’t it be simpler just to have me on ignore if that’s the case?
WeAreThePeople
Oct 6 2008, 14:49
QUOTE (deky @ Oct 6 2008, 15:33)

I've been pretty anti Rangers on numerous occasions, doesn't stop me getting the closet Hun treatment and I don't get stuck into the club I claim to support like he does.
I'll put the boot into my club for things I don't like.
Am I a closet dhim?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.