Full Version: Spanish Consul Investigate Celtic Fans
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Proteus Maximus
SPAIN has become the latest country to be caught up in an Old Firm storm — this time over death threats to Rangers star Nacho Novo. Diplomats with the Spanish Consul General in Edinburgh last night confirmed they have launched their own probe into the sick stunt by internet bigots.

It comes just days after Irish officials contacted the Scottish Government over Gers fans taunting Celtic rivals with the controversial Famine Song.

Last night Spanish consular spokesman Federico Palomera said: "We have made it known to the relevant authorities."

They are acting on complaints they received against yobs who posted Spaniard Novo's home address on a Hoops supporters' website.

The posting on the popular Huddleboard followed suggestions on some internet chatrooms that Rangers players should be seen as targets for attack.

It came amid the backlash to an assualt on Celtic coach Neil Lennon in Glasgow's West End, just hours after his side's 4-2 defeat in the last Old Firm match.

Furious Ibrox security chiefs contacted Strathclyde Police bosses, demanding an investigation into the Novo web threat.

They also ordered security staff to patrol outside the 29-year-old's Glasgow home amid fears for the footballer and his family.

Yesterday a source revealed: "It appears the Consul General was contacted after they felt the authorities were failing to act on the Novo situation.

"Not only did Novo have his address posted on a website, rival fans also sing a song which features lyrics praying he will be murdered in his sleep."

The Ibrox ace has been targeted by opposing fans since turning down a move to Celtic to join Rangers from Dundee in 2004.

Months later, he complained to cops after thugs sprayed "Novo RIP" near his home after an Old Firm victory against the Hoops.

Bile
Earlier this week, The Scottish Sun told how Irish diplomats raised concerns over Rangers fans chanting a song about the 19th century potato famine.

Last night, the Rangers Supporters Trust welcomed the Novo probe.

Spokesman Stephen Smith said: "This move is a logical response to a dishonest campaign motivated by sectarian bile and a sick desire to score points regardless of the truth."

Rangers declined to comment on the matter.

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/ho...icle1702847.ece
H_B
You missed out the Darryl King/Darryl Broadfoot by-line for added authenticity wink.gif
Swampy
Spokesman Stephen Smith said: “This move is a logical response to a dishonest campaign motivated by sectarian bile and a sick desire to score points regardless of the truth.”

Maybe it's just me that this reads as if it's just a bit of tit-for-tat.

Anyway, if the Spanish consul feel that Novo is in danger then fair play to them for acting on it. Hopefully the situation will be resolved.
Swampy
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 18 2008, 10:57) *
You missed out the Darryl King/Darryl Broadfoot by-line for added authenticity wink.gif

It's genuine, surprisingly:

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/ho...icle1702847.ece
H_B
QUOTE (Swampy @ Sep 18 2008, 11:59) *

I'm just surprised that the Consul official wasn't Juan Tanamera wink.gif

I really hope it is true biggrin.gif
LordHawHaw

I see tha sun have turned up the heat on Celtic as expected Carson at it too biggrin.gif

Famine song = bit of fun
Novo song = need to have a VIP protection teams from the civil guard flown over

Every time, it's like a P&B type media biggrin.gif
Swampy
When did The Sun call the Famine Song just a bit of fun?
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (Swampy @ Sep 18 2008, 13:51) *

They might not have. But Haw Haw's way makes it 'more true'
JUMPURS

Well the quote Bain as sayig it was just a bit of 'tit for tat wind up'
H_B
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Sep 18 2008, 14:06) *

He doesn't work for the Sun though.
JUMPURS

Novo get's his address posted on the web and there is an outcry (not that i think it is right). Lenon get's a kicking (his 2nd or 3rd iirc) and nobody gives a f**k lol

Maybe the British consul will write to the ehhhh British consul
LordHawHaw

I as paraphrasing with my slant on it as I thiught you'd guess by Novo not really needing the Civial guard over, the sun today went into overdrive with levelling the field with the usual journalists... a couple
LordHawHaw
While I was looking for this I read Leckies report on last nights game laugh.gif

Jitters leave Hoops in the brown stuff

From BILL LECKIE at Celtic Park

Published: Today
rigTeaserImage
LOOKS like the wrong team wore brown shorts.

It was the Danes who were meant to come here and get transfixed in Parkhead’s headlights.

They were the rookies who’d be ploughed cartoon-flat by the green-and-white juggernaut before they’d realised what hit them.

That was the script — or at least that’s what it HAD to be if Celtic were to come across as credible challengers to the group’s big two.

This morning, that script looks as plausible as The Texas Chainsaw Massacre re-written by Disney.

Because, instead, it was Gordon Strachan’s men who got the wobbles.

They were the ones who gave away the daft fouls, left the gaping holes at the back, missed the gift of a penalty.

They were the ones who couldn’t break down ten men.

Last 16 material?

More like something Remnant Kings would chuck in a bargain bin.

Aalborg defended more securely, passed the ball more crisply, made better runs and looked all-round sharper than the Scottish champions.

And the longer it went, the more it was Celtic who were juddered and jolted by an attack of the jitters.

Stephen McManus had them from the off, Barry Robson got them from the spot.

Advertisement
Click here

But no one epitomised their collective collywobbles more than Andreas Hinkel, a man who looked more and more like he fancied being anywhere but out there in the glare.

You could feel the relief every time the German got the ball and didn’t give it away again.

It’s a toss-up who felt it more — the player, the crowd or a manager whose own judgement looks more flawed the longer he sticks by him.

Though picking out who was worse than who in Hoops is a bit like arguing over whether Aalborg’s strip was chocolate, teak or simply jobby-coloured.

It makes no odds. It was horrible no matter what you plumped for.

By 20 minutes from time, the 300 Danish fans tucked into Restricted View Land were mocking the 50,000-odd around them with a chorus of “You Only Sing When You’re Winning . . . ”

That must have stung a support who’ve grown used to seeing off the Milans, the Man Us, the Juves and anyone else who thinks they’re hard enough to have a go.

A support who stifled their boos at half-time and to be fair, they still held back when it was all over and a massive opportunity had slipped away.

But inside, they were raging.

Though for me, they should think themselves lucky it wasn’t a damn sight worse.

The Danes played with relative freedom right up until they had Michael Beauchamp sent off in one of the clearest cases of mistaken

identity you’ll ever see.

They broke in decent numbers, linked up simply, forced Celtic to flood jerseys behind the ball.

When Michael Jakobsen — the man who SHOULD have walked for hauling down Georgios Samaras — whistled a blistering 13th-minute free-kick just past Artur Boruc’s right-hand post, it was a fright.

Jeppe Curth’s miss when put clean through behind a sleeping McManus 90 seconds later was a major escape.

The buzz phrase for moments like these is ‘a wake-up call’.

But what do most of us do when we get that in the morning?

We hit snooze and roll over again.

And so it was with Celtic. Not even the barrage of noise their supporters kept whipping up could wake them.

McManus put himself under pressure with a booking for a silly foul. Robson gave away another free-kick in the same area Jakobsen had struck one from earlier.

Saturday’s four-goal first-half romp against Motherwell at Fir Park started looking like a blip on an otherwise ordinary start to the season.

Then Shaun Maloney did that thing he does, going inside his man then drawing the ball back to switch direction and draw the foul.

Steve Olfers bought it and tripped him. The ref had no doubt.

Robson plainly had plenty. He slammed the kick straight at Aalborg keeper Zaza.

And this time there was no cavalry charge following in like the one he himself had led in Iceland last week when Faddy missed from the spot.

Maybe it was justice, though — because Maloney seemed to handle the ball as he controlled and raced into the box.

Later, Shunsuke Nakamura would curl a free-kick that Zaza did brilliantly to leap and touch over at his left-hand postage stamp.

And that was it. Two dead-ball close things, the only nail-biter from open play the Scott Brown tap-in disallowed for offside when Nakamura looked to be on.

Yet even if they HAD sneaked one in the end, so what?

Sure, a win would have been a win, three points the same whether through a sclaff or a five-goal stroll.

But if a last-gasp, heart-stopping win over a team described as the sixth-best in their country is the yardstick for what’s to come, maybe even the safety net of a UEFA Cup place is beyond them.

With away form as horrendous as this club’s has been down the years, home has to be where the heart of any campaign is.

Last night, there was only a hole where that heart should have been.

Oh, and one final thought in the light of this week’s off-field nonsense.

As the Celtic supporters sang No Huns In Europe, will Hinkel be firing off a complaint to the German Embassy
H_B
Just reaffirms my views on Leckie as a journalist to be honest.

Possibly the worst match report I have seen outwith Follow Follow.
LordHawHaw
Just reading some of his stuff...on the huns riot in Manchester, whit the fukk has it to do with us biggrin.gif

just as only an idiot believes the myth that Celtic fans in Seville were all helping old senoritas across the road. I saw the sick in the street there too. Heard the bigotry. Heard the smash of glass in among the sardine -packed hordes......difference was the authorities there controlled the situation......Plus our amigos in Seville didn't buy their big screens for a tenner off some geezer in a pub''.
HeartsparkDollarsign
QUOTE (Swampy @ Sep 18 2008, 11:57) *
Maybe it's just me that this reads as if it's just a bit of tit-for-tat.

Anyway, if the Spanish consul feel that Novo is in danger then fair play to them for acting on it. Hopefully the situation will be resolved.

No, it's not just you. That's an almost blatant admission that it's a spurious tit-for-tat action. He's alluding entirely to the response to the Famine Song and makes no reference to the supposed Novo situation.

Maybe it would have been a step too far to come right out and actually say: "We cooked this up to deflect attention from our latest catastrophic PR disaster", but at least there's a shred of honesty in this particular RST statement, which is a big step for these guys.
seamus
I thought it was April the 1st when I read this in the paper Im sure the Spanish polis will tell the consul how tolerant and cuturally aware the Hun is after Ossasuna,Villarael and Barcelona.

The orangers trust have made themselves look more stupid if that was possible.
LordHawHaw
You know the more and more I think about it I'm stunned by that report on our game biggrin.gif That was written and published by a national newspaper the SUN, how could that happen, does anybody read this toads words before they publish them biggrin.gif

HAW SWAMPY....should we allow this guy into Celtic park free because he's a journalist?

vikingTON
I'm stunned he actually gets paid by the word for stating nothing new, little truthful or correct and nothing constructive.
seamus
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 18:01) *
You know the more and more I think about it I'm stunned by that report on our game biggrin.gif That was written and published by a national newspaper the SUN, how could that happen, does anybody read this toads words before they publish them biggrin.gif

HAW SWAMPY....should we allow this guy into Celtic park free because he's a journalist?

You would think it was written by David Edgar.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 18 2008, 18:06) *
You would think it was written by David Edgar.

I've never read a report like that, I don't read newspapers, how far have they fallen if that's the standard biggrin.gif We should not be allowing the SUN anywhere near Celtic park without paying
seamus
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 18:11) *
I've never read a report like that, I don't read newspapers, how far have they fallen if that's the standard biggrin.gif We should not be allowing the SUN anywhere near Celtic park without paying

I am going to E-mail the Sun Consulate ohmy.gif
Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 18 2008, 18:53) *

Make sure you do, The Sun 'newspaper' is an absolute disgraceful publication, just stop buying the rag.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 18 2008, 18:53) *

Somebody should take their pencils and break them biggrin.gif
seamus
QUOTE (Centre Stand Hero @ Sep 18 2008, 18:59) *
Make sure you do, The Sun 'newspaper' is an absolute disgraceful publication, just stop buying the rag.

The Record is far worse IMO.
I enjoy the Daily Maill it relaxes me, somehow all that right wing anger is therapeutic.
myshkin
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 14:15) *
While I was looking for this I read Leckies report on last nights game laugh.gif

All that anger. From a St Mirren fan as well laugh.gif who would have thunk that?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (myshkin @ Sep 18 2008, 19:11) *
All that anger. From a St Mirren fan as well laugh.gif who would have thunk that?

The whole article is dripping, I was seriously shocked, I don't read newspapers
No8.
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 19:24) *
The whole article is dripping, I was seriously shocked, I don't read newspapers

I know. What is he on..the whole world could see Naka was a yard off biggrin.gif
fitbin
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 13:05) *
I see tha sun have turned up the heat on Celtic as expected Carson at it too biggrin.gif

Famine song = bit of fun
Novo song = need to have a VIP protection teams from the civil guard flown over

Every time, it's like a P&B type media biggrin.gif

Erm, because everyone on P&B thought the odious Famine Song was "a bit of fun"? ohmy.gif

We're not all out to get you wink.gif

(well, not all of the time)
Swampy
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 17:01) *

What are you asking me for? I'm not a press secretary for Celtic.

My objection to your rantings about the press in the past were that you seemed to want Celtic to go after journalists legally for writing unflattering things (not incorrect things - just unflattering ones) about Celtic PLC. You later retracted that, and I said fair enough, so I thought we'd put the whole worry issue to bed now rolleyes.gif

In any case most major stadia worldwide are full of journalists who don't like the team in question.

Incidentally I didn't read the Leckie report there so I don't know what's wrong with it. I don't doubt it sucks for one second, though.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Swampy @ Sep 18 2008, 19:50) *
What are you asking me for? I'm not a press secretary for Celtic.

Looking for an opinion, we had media discussion before

My objection to your rantings about the press in the past were that you seemed to want Celtic to go after journalists legally for writing unflattering things (not incorrect things - just unflattering ones) about Celtic PLC. You later retracted that, and I said fair enough, so I thought we'd put the whole worry issue to bed now rolleyes.gif

Not a rant smile.gif
I'm not stupid enough to think we should go after people who write unflattering things about Celtic...we'd run out of money, I never retracted, I clarified, the papers can lie all they want, as soon as it's actionable then action it. In regards to consistantly negative comment like Leckie then by all means ban the fuckker, we have no responsibilty for his employment and living especially when he write negative stories

Incidentally I didn't read the Leckie report there so I don't know what's wrong with it. I don't doubt it sucks for one second, though.

It's above, still looking for an opinion if your willing to give it
Swampy
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 18:58) *
Looking for an opinion, we had media discussion before

OK, well, my take on it is that Celtic would be well within their legal and perhaps even moral rights to tell him to naff off. However:

1) It would be seen as petty and could be a PR own-goal in that sense
2) Leckie would no doubt use his august organ to castigate Celtic even more, so it could be counter-productive.

Not a rant smile.gif
I'm not stupid enough to think we should go after people who write unflattering things about Celtic...we'd run out of money, I never retracted, I clarified, the papers can lie all they want, as soon as it's actionable then action it.

I'm slightly more idealistic in that I don't think the press should get away with telling outright lies. Of course they do, but I'd like to see them made to work for it.

In regards to consistantly negative comment like Leckie then by all means ban the fuckker, we have no responsibilty for his employment and living especially when he write negative stories

It's above, still looking for an opinion if your willing to give it

Right hold on, I'll trawl through this shite tongue.gif
Swampy
Right, it's far from a classic report, and bear in mind that I didn't see the game (I watched Madrid vs BATE Borisov instead) but until the last, ridiculous sentence I don't see anything wrong with it. I think a side with such a great legacy of winning at home in Europe would have to have a pretty serious off-day not to get one past AaB, so to a guy like me who reads the match report without having seen the game, I'd probabky think it was a bit hackneyed and over the top but the gist of it I wouldn't argue with.

The last sentence, as I say, is just stupid.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Swampy @ Sep 18 2008, 20:09) *
Right, it's far from a classic report, and bear in mind that I didn't see the game (I watched Madrid vs BATE Borisov instead) but until the last, ridiculous sentence I don't see anything wrong with it. I think a side with such a great legacy of winning at home in Europe would have to have a pretty serious off-day not to get one past AaB, so to a guy like me who reads the match report without having seen the game, I'd probabky think it was a bit hackneyed and over the top but the gist of it I wouldn't argue with.

The last sentence, as I say, is just stupid.

Fine thanks.

My view? I was hunting through Celticminded site for Leckie stories and I was genuinely shockd by the bile directed towards Celtic and Catholics in the stories Celtic fans had flagged by him.

I thought his slant and language in certain areas of his match report were very poor and even partisan, Maloney penalty for instance.
fitbin
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 20:17) *
Fine thanks.

My view? I was hunting through Celticminded site for Leckie stories and I was genuinely shockd by the bile directed towards Celtic and Catholics in the stories Celtic fans had flagged by him.

I thought his slant and language in certain areas of his match report were very poor and even partisan, Maloney penalty for instance.

Sorry, but when you're trawling through "Celtic minded" sites and then complaining that other "journalism" might be partisan... rolleyes.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 18 2008, 20:28) *
Sorry, but when you're trawling through "Celtic minded" sites and then complaining that other "journalism" might be partisan... rolleyes.gif

Celticminded is a Celtic site I'd expect it to be slanted biggrin.gif anyway it was Leckies sarticle I was looking fo , links not quoites.

Leckie is meant to be a reporter biggrin.gif not a Rangers fan reporting which IMO that match report is
Richie
Leckie in talkig shite shocker!! ohmy.gif

HawHaw... did you see the bit where he was talking about "keyboard heroes" and how they write a load of pish for their own gain etc.
The Irony of that article was obviously lost on Leckie rolleyes.gif

... Indeed, if he's so fed up with the whole issue etc, why does he perpetuate it in his column?... Its not as if he is gaining anything out of it is it £££ rolleyes.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Richie @ Sep 18 2008, 20:32) *
Leckie in talkig shite shocker!! ohmy.gif

HawHaw... did you see the bit where he was talking about "keyboard heroes" and how they write a load of pish for their own gain etc.
The Irony of that article was obviously lost on Leckie rolleyes.gif

Aye I seen that, seriously amazed that he gets away with being so one sided IMO
Swampy
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 19:17) *
Fine thanks.

What kind of anti-Catholic stuff has he written?

I'm genuinely curious. I don't buy The Sun so I don't know.

The thing is I actually quite liked Leckie as far as the diddy teams are concerned as he seems to genuinely care about SFL sides, but he turns into a right weirdo when he writes about the SPL (or society in general, in fact.)
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 18 2008, 17:35) *
I thought it was April the 1st when I read this in the paper Im sure the Spanish polis will tell the consul how tolerant and cuturally aware the Hun is after Ossasuna,Villarael and Barcelona.

The orangers trust have made themselves look more stupid if that was possible.

And Celtic in Barcelona shortly after eh? wink.gif
youroldda
i hear that they are also seriously looking into racist abuse against one of their waiters by a mr b fawlty?
No8.
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 20:36) *
Aye I seen that, seriously amazed that he gets away with being so one sided IMO

My God you lot are easily offended. Leckie is a Tit!! I have heard a few stories about him cowering away in a corner of the press box at Ibrox being ignored by all the other Journos.

He wants to be controversial and provoke a reaction....who does he catch? LHH laugh.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Swampy @ Sep 18 2008, 21:02) *
What kind of anti-Catholic stuff has he written?

I'm genuinely curious. I don't buy The Sun so I don't know.

The thing is I actually quite liked Leckie as far as the diddy teams are concerned as he seems to genuinely care about SFL sides, but he turns into a right weirdo when he writes about the SPL (or society in general, in fact.)

He seems to hunt out freak wild stories about the Catholic church, I even checked into one of his stranger ones that sets him off on a follow followesque rant

QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 18 2008, 21:32) *
And Celtic in Barcelona shortly after eh? wink.gif

In a story about the Rangers riot he inserted
just as only an idiot believes the myth that Celtic fans in Seville were all helping old senoritas across the road. I saw the sick in the street there too. Heard the bigotry. Heard the smash of glass in among the sardine -packed hordes......difference was the authorities there controlled the situation......Plus our amigos in Seville didn't buy their big screens for a tenner off some geezer in a pub''.

LordHawHaw
QUOTE (No8. @ Sep 18 2008, 22:59) *
My God you lot are easily offended. Leckie is a Tit!! I have heard a few stories about him cowering away in a corner of the press box at Ibrox being ignored by all the other Journos.

He wants to be controversial and provoke a reaction....who does he catch? LHH laugh.gif

No sure he caught me, he write for a national daily, albeit a redtop, I did not know that mainstream tabloids had move into the daily sport territory
the igzter
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 20:17) *
Fine thanks.

You really need to re-read the dosage insrtuctions on your medication......no, seriously your becoming a parody.

Celtic fail to beat the whipping boys of the group at home, with the help of a penalty. I watched the game myself and you didn't deserve more than a point out of it.

You get pelters in the Sun ( the Sun for fucks sake) and you're on here claiming "bile towards Celtic and Catholics".

Get a grip man.
No8.
How long have you posted here? Read the St Mirren supporters posts. They are hardly the most rational of people when it comes to the OF with a few notable exceptions.

Leckie gives it out to Rangers as much as Celtic but Celticminded wouldn't print those stories as it doesn't fit their agenda. I remember The Suns back page headline Duds Army after Rangers had lost in Europe. The time they slated Rangers for losing to Auxerre but praised the Gallant Celtic for narrowly losing out to the mighty Liverpool. Of course Auxerre drew Liverpool in the next round and hammered them!! laugh.gif

Why get upset about such a cheap rag...It is the equivalent of getting upset by that daft Jambo Urine Cameron. They are not worth worrying about.

Edit to add...He also once famously praised the St Mirren support for attacking Rangers supporters who were sitting in the 'home end' at Love Street. So i wouldn't take it personally
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (the igzter @ Sep 18 2008, 23:12) *
You really need to re-read the dosage insrtuctions on your medication......no, seriously your becoming a parody.

Celtic fail to beat the whipping boys of the group at home, with the help of a penalty. I watched the game myself and you didn't deserve more than a point out of it.

You get pelters in the Sun ( the Sun for fucks sake) and you're on here claiming "bile towards Celtic and Catholics".

Get a grip man.

A parody huh.gif

Who's arguing about the result or how poorly we played, not me.

QUOTE (No8. @ Sep 18 2008, 23:15) *
How long have you posted here? Read the St Mirren supporters posts. They are hardly the most rational of people when it comes to the OF with a few notable exceptions.

Leckie gives it out to Rangers as much as Celtic but Celticminded wouldn't print those stories as it doesn't fit their agenda. I remember The Suns back page headline Duds Army after Rangers had lost in Europe. The time they slated Rangers for losing to Auxerre but praised the Gallant Celtic for narrowly losing out to the mighty Liverpool. Of course Auxerre drew Liverpool in the next round and hammered them!! laugh.gif

Why get upset about such a cheap rag...It is the equivalent of getting upset by that daft Jambo Urine Cameron. They are not worth worrying about.

I'm not that interested if Leckie slags rangers stupid, I'd actually like that
No8.
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 23:18) *
I'm not that interested if Leckie slags rangers stupid, I'd actually like that

A parody right enough tongue.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (No8. @ Sep 18 2008, 23:22) *
A parody right enough tongue.gif

And I was giving you the benifit of the doubt over the igzter in that you knew what the word meant wink.gif
the igzter
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 23:18) *
Who's arguing about the result or how poorly we played, not me.

So why the cerebal short circuit?

You fucked my coupon. probably Leckie's as well. Be happy.

To suggest that if you don't like Celtic, and I fucking hate them, that somehow you are promoting "anti-Catholic bile" is bizarre.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.