Full Version: Ayr 1 V 1 Brechin
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
rw89
Brilliant result! biggrin.gif laugh.gif
davidkennedyshand
Yup back to the top of the league i'm happy with it.

Away to the Methil Galacticos next week should be interesting.I hear we're emptying local supermarkets of baked tatties and Chicken Tikka in anticipation.
Then 2 tough games v Peterhead at home and away to Raith and we should get a better idea of what kind of challenge we can mount.
Nocturnal Groove
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Sep 21 2008, 17:08) *
f**k me, thats Ayr won the league already. We were top this stage last season, and what happend to us? Let that be a warning to ya!

Who said we had won the league? I just observed a few comments during the week from the usual raith suspects that you lot would be top of the league tonight, so thought id point out in the topic title that was not the case wink.gif
rw89
QUOTE (Nocturnal Groove @ Sep 21 2008, 16:48) *
Who said we had won the league? I just observed a few comments during the week from the usual raith suspects that you lot would be top of the league tonight, so thought id point out in the topic title that was not the case wink.gif

erm... quotes please. rolleyes.gif
Cliche Guevara
Honestly some Raith fans can't help poking their noses into every topic.

Celebrating a result that exactually sees them fall a place in the league, no less.

It's time for Raith to start doing their talking on the park. Try and win a few games, eh guys, and let's leave all the speculation and desperation for a bit.
St. Starko
It's good that Ayr didn't manage to get further ahead of us, but we really need to do the buisness against Brechin on Saturday which is definetly going to be a very very close match. Luck would be lovely please! biggrin.gif
Cyril
aye mate you can laugh be well be laughing more you think you are so smart with posts saying your top leage but were not far behind and you can only draw agains brechin mate and they are not a greate team
Ayrgirl
QUOTE (Cyril @ Sep 21 2008, 18:52) *
aye mate you can laugh be well be laughing more you think you are so smart with posts saying your top leage but were not far behind and you can only draw agains brechin mate and they are not a greate team

Anyone care to translate?
Shibuya
I will....

Dear Raith Rovers...

WE'RE TOP OF THE LEAGUE AND YOUR NO!!!!
davidkennedyshand
From what i gather he thinks 2 of the 3 teams above Raith in the league are pish.
dudley
QUOTE (Nocturnal Groove @ Sep 21 2008, 12:11) *
Sorry to disappoint you, but the only 0 you lot will get today is the amount of points you will leave with wink.gif tongue.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif
rw89
I'm loving how arrogant the Ayr fans are at the moment. laugh.gif
Paisley Plumber
A question about today's Ayr side .... I've obviously missed something about Chris Aitken. Club Captain's long awaited best ever league game last week against Straney and this week not even on the sub's bench? What occurred ? unsure.gif
Nocturnal Groove
QUOTE (Paisley Plumber @ Sep 21 2008, 19:58) *
A question about today's Ayr side .... I've obviously missed something about Chris Aitken. Club Captain's long awaited best ever league game last week against Straney and this week not even on the sub's bench? What occurred ? unsure.gif

dropped for Agnew like alot of people have been calling for? Dont honestly know, maybe carrying a knock, or with us being part time, maybe couldnt make it to a sunday game?
Paisley Plumber
QUOTE (Nocturnal Groove @ Sep 21 2008, 20:05) *
dropped for Agnew like alot of people have been calling for? Dont honestly know, maybe carrying a knock, or with us being part time, maybe couldnt make it to a sunday game?

Ah ok cheers ... Did'nt make the game..... how did Agnew play? is he the answer to Aitken?
Beren
Jings, that's jist braw. thumbup2.gif
'Steve
Thought that was a terrific game to watch. Thought Brechin were the better side in and the first half and could have been a couple of goals to the good before the we eventually opened the scoring. Gary Twigg had a header that hit the post and Michael Paton somehow screwed wide from several yards out.

The opening goal was a terrific header from Gary Twigg and it was a deserved lead. Don't think Stevenson's equaliser was an 'absolute fucking belter' as described earlier in this thread. It was a decent strike but I honestly believe Nelson had more than enough time to get down to it and that he was caught napping. Didn't see the goal coming and it came as a real blow not long before the half time break.

Thought the second half was an excellent spectacle. Very even game, end to end stuff, and plenty of chances for either side. We defended frantically at times but once again had the chances to go back in front. A few minutes from the end we nearly stole it when Byers got down to the by-line before cutting it back for Twigg who somehow blasted straight at Grindlay from just 5 yards out.

Overall, a draw was definately the right result and I think we all saw two teams that will be at the business end of the table come the end of the season.
Nocturnal Groove
QUOTE (Paisley Plumber @ Sep 21 2008, 20:09) *
Ah ok cheers ... Did'nt make the game..... how did Agnew play? is he the answer to Aitken?

couldnt really judge any individual on the first half performance really, as the whole team played extremely shite.

Second half he shows bits and pieces of what he is capable of.

It really is starting to get frustrating that the whole team cant play well for the full 90 minutes of a game, cant really complain when were still unbeaten and top of the league, but were gonna get punished soon if we put in many shifts like we did for the first 40 minutes today.
Nocturnal Groove
surprised no1 has mentioned this already though, what happened to Stevo midway through the second half? was he booted in the face or was it the ball that was blasted off his face? couldnt see it properly at the time, but looked a sore one.
Cliche Guevara
I'm loving how arrogant the Ayr fans are at the moment

I don't think any Ayr fan is being arrogant at all. I don't think anyone is convinced, yet, that we will win the league, and I reckon everyone pretty much has their feet planted firmly in the ground.

If Rovers fans are going to wank on endlessly about anything and everything, about their team, some other supporters will eventually point out that they aren't that great.
Brian Reid = God
most the raith fans here are wanks
rw89
QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Sep 21 2008, 21:21) *
I don't think any Ayr fan is being arrogant at all. I don't think anyone is convinced, yet, that we will win the league, and I reckon everyone pretty much has their feet planted firmly in the ground.

If Rovers fans are going to w**k on endlessly about anything and everything, about their team, some other supporters will eventually point out that they aren't that great.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif So, what exactly are Rovers fans wanking over?We have a larger fan base who post on here, indeed a larger fan base overall, compared to any other team in the league so there will be more Rovers fans posting on here. Nobody is saying Rovers are perfect yet you seem to think we go on about it endlessly. So, apparently, the Rovers fans are arrogant when Ayr fans are boasting about being top of the league when we're not even 1/4 of the way through the season. huh.gif laugh.gif
Cliche Guevara
Hardly boasting - although teasing Raith fans is probably justified.

Raith don't have a bigger fan base than Ayr, it's that the Rovers fans on Fan Talk seem to be too annoying even for other Raith fans, so they use P&B as their club forum.

It gets a bit much sometimes.

Nobody is saying Rovers are perfect yet you seem to think we go on about it endlessly

I think you'll find you do!
Nocturnal Groove
QUOTE (rw89 @ Sep 21 2008, 21:27) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif So, what exactly are Rovers fans wanking over?We have a larger fan base who post on here, indeed a larger fan base overall, compared to any other team in the league so there will be more Rovers fans posting on here. Nobody is saying Rovers are perfect yet you seem to think we go on about it endlessly. So, apparently, the Rovers fans are arrogant when Ayr fans are boasting about being top of the league when we're not even 1/4 of the way through the season. huh.gif laugh.gif

There ye go, i changed the title again, now will ye stop greeting cos i had a wee dig at some of yer less literate supporters?
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Sep 21 2008, 21:32) *
Raith don't have a bigger fan base than Ayr, it's that the Rovers fans on Fan Talk seem to be too annoying even for other Raith fans, so they use P&B as their club forum.

Attendances say otherwise tongue.gif wink.gif
Nocturnal Groove
QUOTE (Steven @ Sep 21 2008, 21:39) *
hence why most Raith fans most on here.......

so how exactly does someone most then?
Cliche Guevara
As for Fantalk it's the other way round, hence why most Raith fans most on here

I think you'll find that's what I'm saying, and the attendances are starting to level off as we attract a lot of our non-attenders back, by being less dire than over the last five years.

so how exactly does someone most then?

It's like a post, but if you're a Raith fan you do it endlessly and it becomes the most
Nocturnal Groove
QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Sep 21 2008, 21:42) *
I think you'll find that's what I'm saying
I think you'll find this is Steven were talking about, and he wont click until next month sometime rolleyes.gif

QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Sep 21 2008, 21:42) *
It's like a post, but if you're a Raith fan you do it endlessly and it becomes the most

laugh.gif laugh.gif
rw89
QUOTE (Nocturnal Groove @ Sep 21 2008, 21:34) *
There ye go, i changed the title again, now will ye stop greeting cos i had a wee dig at some of yer less literate supporters?

laugh.gif Thank you! biggrin.gif
a_n_d_o
QUOTE ('Steve @ Sep 21 2008, 20:48) *
Thought that was a terrific game to watch. Thought Brechin were the better side in and the first half and could have been a couple of goals to the good before the we eventually opened the scoring. Gary Twigg had a header that hit the post and Michael Paton somehow screwed wide from several yards out.

am I missing something?
dudley
QUOTE ('Steve @ Sep 21 2008, 20:48) *

The opening goal was a terrific header from Gary Twigg and it was a deserved lead. Don't think Stevenson's equaliser was an 'absolute fucking belter' as described earlier in this thread. It was a decent strike but I honestly believe Nelson had more than enough time to get down to it and that he was caught napping. Didn't see the goal coming and it came as a real blow not long before the half time break.

Thought the second half was an excellent spectacle. Very even game, end to end stuff, and plenty of chances for either side. We defended frantically at times but once again had the chances to go back in front. A few minutes from the end we nearly stole it when Byers got down to the by-line before cutting it back for Twigg who somehow blasted straight at Grindlay from just 5 yards out.

Overall, a draw was definately the right result and I think we all saw two teams that will be at the business end of the table come the end of the season.

Sounds like I missed a really good game. Thanks for the write up Steve I've been scouring the Forum for a blow by blow account.

Well done the Lads!
The Other Chairman
AUFC1910,
Give £20 to your charity.
Ayrgirl
QUOTE (Steven @ Sep 21 2008, 21:39) *
Attendances say otherwise tongue.gif wink.gif

Wtf - I thought Morton weren't in this division any more.

We had a bigger crowd than you - whoopie fucking doo.
Iain
QUOTE (Nocturnal Groove @ Sep 21 2008, 21:00) *
surprised no1 has mentioned this already though, what happened to Stevo midway through the second half? was he booted in the face or was it the ball that was blasted off his face? couldnt see it properly at the time, but looked a sore one.

Neither, he went in for a 50:50 challenge and the two players booted the ball at the same time. It sounded sore, but he was holding his face because of the pain, not because it had been hit.
Jeff Venom

Good account of the game id say. From a purely football perspective it was a good game to watch.
By the way Twigg didnt header against the post, he turned on a dime at the edge of the box and beat the keeper all ends up with a lovely curling shot that probably deserved to go in. Was a magic piece of individual play and I was very impressed with him overall (was impressed with the left winger as well, King?).

The second half was as entertaining a game ive seen at somerset for a while, us mostly camped in the brechin half waiting for a piece of magic (chance would be a fine thing) while Brechin looked capable of scoring almost everytime they broke up the field.

Obviously disappointed not to pick up 3 points at home but I think 1-1 was a fair reflection in the end.
AUFC 1910
QUOTE (The Other Chairman @ Sep 22 2008, 08:56) *
AUFC1910,
Give £20 to your charity.

If there isn`t a "Shut Up Raith Fans" charity, then it will be the British Heart Foundation beerchug.gif

Oh, by the way, if Raith are the biggest team in the second division, why is it they can`t bring a decent support down to Somerset? Absolutely pitifull!!
BrechinCityFC
QUOTE (Jeff Venom @ Sep 22 2008, 10:48) *
Good account of the game id say. From a purely football perspective it was a good game to watch.
By the way Twigg didnt header against the post, he turned on a dime at the edge of the box and beat the keeper all ends up with a lovely curling shot that probably deserved to go in. Was a magic piece of individual play and I was very impressed with him overall (was impressed with the left winger as well, King?).

The second half was as entertaining a game ive seen at somerset for a while, us mostly camped in the brechin half waiting for a piece of magic (chance would be a fine thing) while Brechin looked capable of scoring almost everytime they broke up the field.

Obviously disappointed not to pick up 3 points at home but I think 1-1 was a fair reflection in the end.

Yeah you were probably more impressed by our inept manager taking King off and bringing on Calum Smith. Can't believe we have Michael Paton on loan from Aberdeen again as he never impressed me during his time here last year and didn't again yesterday. He walked straight into the team ahead of a lad that tried his hardest last week and succeeded in turning a game to win us 2 points). I must admit I was totally shocked to turn up at the ground on Sunday and see Micahel Paton there, and even more shocked to see him starting. Especially considering all the comments from our Manager about the lad being in contention for a start. What sort of message does that send out to our player?
GoRdY_b
QUOTE (BrechinCityFC @ Sep 22 2008, 12:47) *
Yeah you were probably more impressed by our inept manager taking King off and bringing on Calum Smith.

That one baffled a few of us as well, he'd been causing us problems all game.

Draw a fair result, could have been worse had it not been for some miraculous goalkeeping to keep the scores level.

Still think we need a decent striker as Williams is struggling right now and Gormless just isn't a player. Easily worse than Stuart Boyd, in fact, I'd go as far as to say I'd rather have Wardlaw back.
cityred
[quote name='BrechinCityFC' date='Sep 22 2008, 12:47' post='2794514']
Yeah you were probably more impressed by our inept manager taking King off and bringing on Calum Smith. Can't believe we have Michael Paton on loan from Aberdeen again as he never impressed me during his time here last year and didn't again yesterday. He walked straight into the team ahead of a lad that tried his hardest last week and succeeded in turning a game to win us 2 points). I must admit I was totally shocked to turn up at the ground on Sunday and see Micahel Paton there, and even more shocked to see him starting. Especially considering all the comments from our Manager about the lad being in contention for a start. What sort of message does that send out to our player?

I find the above post must be put on from someone that was at a different game from me. Paton was exceptional, particularly in the first half. And to be honest, Calum Smith made little impression when he came on against two huge defenders, as he can't handle the physical side of the game well.

Your description of Paton is well wide of the mark, especially when you consider he has been handed a long-term club from an SPL club, and is a regulat at under-age level for the international team. Your ramblings are either those of someone who is a nut case, but certainly some one who knows SFA abouot the game.

I meant to say I thoroughly agree with Steve's earlier post. An excellent game and you only had to look at teh way Scott Walker struggled to get near Paton in the first half, to see how good his contribution was.

As for our manager being inept, he's so inept, we're two points off the top of the league and competing against sides with much biiger budgets and much bigger fan bases.

Get a grip FFS!
Javier Mascherano
Was delighted to see Paton's name back in the team yesterday, I was just saying yesterday morning how he added something different to the team and would love to have him back at the club for a longer run.

Any idea how long we have him for?
BrechinCityFC
QUOTE (cityred @ Sep 22 2008, 15:01) *
[quote name='BrechinCityFC' date='Sep 22 2008, 12:47' post='2794514']

I find the above post must be put on from someone that was at a different game from me. Paton was exceptional, particularly in the first half. And to be honest, Calum Smith made little impression when he came on against two huge defenders, as he can't handle the physical side of the game well.

Your description of Paton is well wide of the mark, especially when you consider he has been handed a long-term club from an SPL club, and is a regulat at under-age level for the international team. Your ramblings are either those of someone who is a nut case, but certainly some one who knows SFA abouot the game.

I meant to say I thoroughly agree with Steve's earlier post. An excellent game and you only had to look at teh way Scott Walker struggled to get near Paton in the first half, to see how good his contribution was.

As for our manager being inept, he's so inept, we're two points off the top of the league and competing against sides with much biiger budgets and much bigger fan bases.

Get a grip FFS!

Okay he is at an SPL club but can't get a game for a team that can't score goals..so is on loan to us. Doesn't have a good goals scoring record, compare that with games started against C. Smith record for us. Yeah Scott walker was having a torrid time against him...only made one bad challenge on him and Paton was never seen again for the rest of the match, so he didn't exactly cope too well, also in the first half when Scott Walker managed to out sprint him. FACT. To say C. Smith can't handle the physical side of the game..maybe thats because as soon as we put him on we lumped the ball up to him to challenge for 50-50 headers, instead if playing from the back. Paton neve challenged for a header all day..but then people will argue that thats not his game.

Maybe the fact he is an international at youth level, which next point is a problem in general with this country, the spl youth players get picked reguarly against other youngsters playing week in week out for their club outside the SPL. Therefore not a valid argument.

Sorry idept was probably a strong word. Maybe a bit strange is the correct term. He makes some interesting tactical choices. In fact I think that in spite of the Manager we are top and not because of him. I don't expect him to get every decision right but I believe a few better placed decisions and we would be top. I think we have the squad to win the league.
BrechinCityFC
QUOTE (Fernando Torres @ Sep 22 2008, 16:12) *
Was delighted to see Paton's name back in the team yesterday, I was just saying yesterday morning how he added something different to the team and would love to have him back at the club for a longer run.

Any idea how long we have him for?

1 month
a_n_d_o

so you are arguing that smith should have started but not come on as a sub? make up your mind... paton was by far one of our best players last season, maybe didn't get as many goals as he could have but his movement created space and chances for others. i am of course surprised to see him back, but any player that brings a bit of quality to the squad is welcome in my eyes. i personally think c.smith is more effective coming off the bench, but it will be interesting to see whos on the bench alongside him...
'Steve
QUOTE (Jeff Venom @ Sep 22 2008, 10:48) *

Sorry you are correct, I had meant to say hit the post with a shot. It was an absolutely terrific turn to set himself up for the shot and it definately deserved to go in. Yeah Charlie King was on the left wing as our captain Darren Smith is currently injured. Thought Willie Dyer had an excellent game yesterday. Wasn't too convinced with Seeley at centre back, absolutely no complaints with him in the air, he won everything, but he is a bit suspect with the ball at his feet and gave the ball away cheaply at times.

I'm happy that Michael Paton has signed on for another month again, I think his pace causes defences no end of problems. I do agree though that putting Paton straight into the lineup was a bit harsh on Smith who has waited long enough for his chance and he turned the game around last week. In saying that though, Paton had a decent game but faded as the match wore on.
Iain
Is Seeley the one who looks like a computer geek?
'Steve
QUOTE (Iain @ Sep 22 2008, 17:15) *
Is Seeley the one who looks like a computer geek?

Cross between a computer geek and Carlos Cuellar, yes.
utdtillidie
As far as i know Aitken was injured during the week. I doubt Reid would wait till he'd had his best game in an Ayr shirt before dropping him.

Draw fair result yesterday, nice to see Ayr dominate for long periods of time (in the 2nd half), makes a change. Just add a couple of goals next time please Ayr.

AUFC TOTL!!! biggrin.gif
BrechinCityFC
QUOTE (a_n_d_o @ Sep 22 2008, 16:43) *
so you are arguing that smith should have started but not come on as a sub? make up your mind... paton was by far one of our best players last season, maybe didn't get as many goals as he could have but his movement created space and chances for others. i am of course surprised to see him back, but any player that brings a bit of quality to the squad is welcome in my eyes. i personally think c.smith is more effective coming off the bench, but it will be interesting to see whos on the bench alongside him...

no I was saying that king should have stayed on and Michael Paton should have been taken off instead of moving him to left wing where he never put a single cross into the box when moved there. King was one of our best players on the day and got subbed. I'm sorry but if he is classed as a striker then his job is to score goals which he didn't do. Why sign him for a month? Whats the point we have an international break coming up so he will be here for another couple of games.

Well in my eyes we already have better quality that can't get a game.

Anyone have the stats on the our strikers from this season and last season?
'Steve
QUOTE (BrechinCityFC @ Sep 22 2008, 21:35) *
no I was saying that king should have stayed on and Michael Paton should have been taken off instead of moving him to left wing where he never put a single cross into the box when moved there. King was one of our best players on the day and got subbed. I'm sorry but if he is classed as a striker then his job is to score goals which he didn't do. Why sign him for a month? Whats the point we have an international break coming up so he will be here for another couple of games.

Well in my eyes we already have better quality that can't get a game.

Anyone have the stats on the our strikers from this season and last season?

I'm pretty sure he'll be signed for up to and including the Queens Park game at Glebe Park at the end of next month. That would be 5 games in total, and he's a useful player to have. I do agree with you though regarding the substitutions on Saturday. When Chucky gets the ball you always think he's going to do something with it, whereas you would expect Paton to outpace about 5 players but have no final product.
dudley

Callum Smith will I imagine be gutted! This was a disgrace. Callum came on last week and scored the 2 goals that won us the game after not being in the starting 11 for ages. This player deserved to start. There should be no arguement about that. I too cannot believe we have Paton back. Callum is and IMO has always shown himself to be the better and more clynical striker of the 2 even though he hasn't played that much. I think this is an injustice to this young lad and we had better be careful we don't lose him. He must be sickened! The Manager has built up his hopes in the press only to destroy them in one fell swoop. I for one cannot understand this. As I have said before, you have to build a players and teams confidence. I just don't see the point in having Paton when we have a number of good strikers already at the club?
Is Murie injured? He had a really good game last week.

Thought I was seeing things when I read Paton was playing But read your post Steven and that confirmed it.