Full Version: How Has Your Team Fared?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Kirky_Clyde
As the thread says, how do you think your team has played so far this season and does it justify where you currently sit in the league?

Clyde:

Morton - Played poor in the first half and most of the second and perhaps a tad fortunate to nick a point at the death.

Dundee - Could of easily won this game, if it weren't for Douglas in such superb form. More than matched our opponents and Dundee didn't look like league contenders on the day.

Ross County - Another drab home affair. 2 down at the break and again, fortunate to come away with a point.

Livingston - Missed it, but again apparently another decent away showing. Perhaps deserved a draw and Hutton should of done better with their late winner.

St Johnstone - Deserved a win, no doubt about it. However we did make it difficult after giving them 2 soft goals to pull their way back into it.

Partick Thistle - For the 3rd home game of the season, Clyde were again down at the break. However probably the best 45 mins of our season in the second half could of justified more than a point.

So after the first 6 games, we have 6 points. Think we've played much better than the league suggests though. Probably deserved to lose the first 2 home game, could have had a draw from the Livi game and could easily have came away with wins in Dundee and the home game against Thistle aswell as our win in Perth.

SavotheGreat
This looks like another opportunity for Clyde fans to w**k over the miracle that was their victory over St Johnstone FC.

Radford
QUOTE (Kirky_Clyde @ Sep 16 2008, 16:14) *
St Johnstone - Deserved a win, no doubt about it. However we did make it difficult after giving them 2 soft goals to pull their way back into it.

Quite a few Clyde fans have come away with that second statement but if our goals were soft, what the hell were yours? One guys is allowed to run unchallenged from his own half and then the smallest player on the park gets a free header inside the six yard box! No doubts Clyde fully merited the points but we had to work far harder for our two goals than Clyde did theirs!

Considering we are only five points off the top, a win behind Thistle, a point behind Dunfermline, and above three other teams, it's fair to say we're about three places higher than some our peformances probably deserve!

Livingston (h) - How long ago this seems now. Started well then weathered a good spell from Livi before taking the lead early in the second half. Lost a player with about 30 minutes left but defended well and they didn't create a single chance of note with the man advantage. Last minute goal probably put an unfair reflection on the scoreline.

Morton (a) - Thought we deserved to be ahead at half-time and should maybe have had a bigger lead but didn't do enough in the second half and Morton merited their equaliser on the balance of second half play.

Dunfermline (h) - Took us apart like no other team has done in Perth for a long time. More fight and hunger but also passed the ball about much better.

Thistle (a) - Terrible decisions made by McInnes and Thistle took full advantage. If their strikers had been on form, I dread to think what the score could have been.

Clyde (h) - Surpassed the previous two matches as Clyde didn't need to get near the heights of the Pars or Thistle to beat us. Comical goals conceded and even when fought our way back into the match, we never looked like we wouldn't concede again.

County (a) - Much better performance and on that basis, maybe deserved the break that saw us claim the points. A draw wouldn't have been unfair but the players worked so hard they deserved their break. Two stunning goals in the game, from Samuel and Brittain.

We've somehow managed to get seven points but definitely don't deserve any more than that.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Radford @ Sep 16 2008, 16:26) *
Quite a few Clyde fans have come away with that second statement but if our goals were soft, what the hell were yours? One guys is allowed to run unchallenged from his own half and then the smallest player on the park gets a free header inside the six yard box! No doubts Clyde fully merited the points but we had to work far harder for our two goals than Clyde did theirs!

Considering we are only five points off the top, a win behind Thistle, a point behind Dunfermline, and above three other teams, it's fair to say we're about three places higher than some our peformances probably deserve!

Livingston (h) - How long ago this seems now. Started well then weathered a good spell from Livi before taking the lead early in the second half. Lost a player with about 30 minutes left but defended well and they didn't create a single chance of note with the man advantage. Last minute goal probably put an unfair reflection on the scoreline.

Morton (a) - Thought we deserved to be ahead at half-time and should maybe have had a bigger lead but didn't do enough in the second half and Morton merited their equaliser on the balance of second half play.

Dunfermline (h) - Took us apart like no other team has done in Perth for a long time. More fight and hunger but also passed the ball about much better.

Thistle (a) - Terrible decisions made by McInnes and Thistle took full advantage. If their strikers had been on form, I dread to think what the score could have been.

Clyde (h) - Surpassed the previous two matches as Clyde didn't need to get near the heights of the Pars or Thistle to beat us. Comical goals conceded and even when fought our way back into the match, we never looked like we wouldn't concede again.

County (a) - Much better performance and on that basis, maybe deserved the break that saw us claim the points. A draw wouldn't have been unfair but the players worked so hard they deserved their break. Two stunning goals in the game, from Samuel and Brittain.

We've somehow managed to get seven points but definitely don't deserve any more than that.

More like another dose of turgid, terminal boredom.   Naval gazing on the bus on the on the way home after yet another game, trying to remember where you left the sleeping pills.   If you want to check how your team is faring, try the league table just after 5pm every Saturday.  It should suffice.    
Nizzy
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 16 2008, 16:43) *
More like another dose of turgid, terminal boredom.   Naval gazing on the bus on the on the way home after yet another game, trying to remember where you left the sleeping pills.   If you want to check how your team is faring, try the league table just after 5pm every Saturday.  It should suffice.    

I think you've missed the point of this place. Seriously, why don't you do us all a favour and piss off?
Kirky_Clyde
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 16 2008, 16:57) *
I think you've missed the point of this place. Seriously, why don't you do us all a favour and piss off?

Seconded.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 16 2008, 16:57) *

Talk about smug?   Obviously I can't say you're actually right but I have to reluctantly concur with what you're saying.    You certainly ain't the Thistle fans I relate to from the 70s.  It's with a heavy heart that I might as well move on.  Awae tae, son.    As the fella said:  "Tell him to f**k off in such a way that he ends up looking forward it".  Good riddance.   We are the Thistle Team ...
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Kirky_Clyde @ Sep 16 2008, 17:12) *
Seconded.

As for you shunny boay, yer club went to the dogs years ago ... and then left for Cumbernauld.   G'luck ...
SavotheGreat
Jees, Dublinjag fairly gets on folks nerves. Me thinks me spotted a wind-up merchant.
Nizzy
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 16 2008, 17:21) *
It's with a heavy heart that I might as well move on.

Thank Christ. Your posts reek of rank hypocrisy.

Navel gazing? Turgid, terminal boredom? I refer you to your first ever post / topic on this board which was an exercise in self-aggrandisement
Dublinjag
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Sep 16 2008, 17:26) *
Jees, Dublinjag fairly gets on folks nerves. Me thinks me spotted a wind-up merchant.

Just not part of the dumbed-down PC world, I guess.  Seriously.  A different breed ...   
Nizzy
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 16 2008, 17:40) *
Just not part of the dumbed-down world, I guess.  

I beg to differ. Now, make good on your promise, and get to feck.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 16 2008, 17:32) *
Thank Christ. Your posts reek of rank hypocrisy.

Navel gazing? Turgid, terminal boredom? I refer you to your first ever post / topic on this board which was an exercise in self-aggrandisement

Yer haverin' ...
Web
Get a fucking room.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 16 2008, 17:55) *
I beg to differ. Now, make good on your promise, and get to feck.

I take it that picture on the top left is you wishing every post/thread was LAC? Would you not just be better subscribing to Playboy, or sumpin', aye? It's pathetic. Ma son looks at YouTube fur that kinda shit. Cheerio, son ... can't wait tae read yer post on the Complaints Forum. Yell be dayin' PR fur Alex Salmond next ...
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Web @ Sep 16 2008, 17:59) *
Get a fucking room.

I stayed in one in Dundee once in '76.  She was a uni student frae Kirkcaldy ... but the room was awful so a' et it a' ... 
Nizzy
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 16 2008, 18:01) *
Cheerio, son ...

Still here...
Exuberant
Dublinjag. On this place, we can swear, unlike Jagsforum. Whilst I said there "get out", here I'm saying "fuck off".

Understand?
Dublinjag
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Sep 16 2008, 16:22) *
This looks like another opportunity for Clyde fans to w**k over the miracle that was their victory over St Johnstone FC.

Shocking comment.  Absolutely disgraceful.   Don't you think they've suffered enuf since the Celtic miracle ... ?
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Sep 16 2008, 18:25) *
Dublinjag. On this place, we can swear, unlike Jagsforum. Whilst I said there "get out", here I'm saying "f**k off".

Understand?

Classic bully ... you're only pretending to be diplomatic, then? Talk about two-faced? Horses for courses an' a' that ... eh?
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 16 2008, 18:24) *
Still here...

Fur the meantime, aye ... if that doesn't tax you too much ... 
Exuberant
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 16 2008, 18:28) *
Classic bully ...

You're getting bullied by a 17 year old geek. How pathetic must you be!
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Sep 16 2008, 18:31) *

You're getting bullied by a 17 year old geek. How pathetic must you be!

Aye, a "teenaged geek", as you say yourself. But I'd nearly say you're too "smart-arsed" for a mid-teen.

Anyhow, The pen is mightier than the sword ... you'll get sense.   Almost hate to sound condescending an' a' that, but you'll grow out of it eventually and discover the acute sense of irony in life, son. It's actually quite funny, ironically ...
vikingTON
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 16 2008, 18:34) *
Aye, a "teenaged geek", as you say yourself. But I'd nearly say you're too "smart-arsed" for a mid-teen.

Anyhow, The pen is mightier than the sword ... you'll get sense. Almost hate to sound ctndescending an' a' that, but you'll grow out of it eventually and discover the acute sense of irony in life, son. It's actually quite funny, ironically ...

You're not doing a very good job of it.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 16 2008, 19:44) *
You're not doing a very good job of it.

Sorry, typo there.   We'll hammer you by at least one goal on Sat.   Then it's the big weekend in Dunoon on Dec 6. That's the next time we'll play you as it'll be Ross Co in the final ...
vikingTON
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 16 2008, 19:47) *
Sorry, typo there. We'll hammer you by at least one goal on Sat. Then it's the big weekend in Dunoon on Dec 6. That's the next time we'll play you as it'll be Ross Co in the final ...

I don't particularly care.
Exuberant
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 16 2008, 19:47) *
Sorry, typo there. We'll hammer you by at least one goal on Sat. Then it's the big weekend in Dunoon on Dec 6. That's the next time we'll play you as it'll be Ross Co in the final ...

You've just cursed us.

Morton have never been an easy side and I expect them to be a tough task on Saturday. If we win by a goal, I certainly wouldn't consider it a hammering, unless of course it was 1-0 going on 10-0, which it won't be.
Kirky_Clyde
DublinJag, don't forget your team were up the shitter a few years ago just like Clyde were and both were saved.

And I see your from Ireland. This is a Scottish football forum.
Nizzy
Will people please stop quoting the fud. All this time I've been on P&B and only now have I chosen to utilise the ignore function.

Unbelievable.
Web
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 16 2008, 20:07) *
Will people please stop quoted the fud. All this time I've been on P&B and only now have I chosen to utilise the ignore function.

Unbelievable.

rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
Dr Koop
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Sep 16 2008, 16:22) *

Not that Saints fans have been acquainted with many victories this season. rolleyes.gif
Grant228
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 16 2008, 20:07) *
Will people please stop quoting the fud. All this time I've been on P&B and only now have I chosen to utilise the ignore function.

Unbelievable.

I thought u utilised it on me before huh.gif
But aye back to the original topic
Partick(a)- Although we lost 1-0 i found this a very entertaining game one witch i thought we did enough to merit a point out of but if we don't take our chances we will not win much games this year.
Queens(h)-Dreadful first half but us but it actually made me happier to see that we could go a goal down and still show fight somthing that was lacking last year very pleasing win smile.gif
Saints(a)-I decided to miss my first competitive game of this season to go swimming in dundee... dry.gif
Airdrie(h)-Frustrating game with us deserving to win it but again not taking our chances
Livi(h)-I don't think that we dont to badly in this game the referee was rank rotten tho and Livi seemed to get all the breaks sad.gif
Dundee(a)-Thank god for Paul Galacher cool.gif
Dublinjag
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 16 2008, 19:49) *
I don't particularly care.

Ok, stay in the Cafe Continental, instead, and chat up some Gourock burds.  Yer more likely tae score ...
vikingTON
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 16 2008, 21:12) *
Ok, stay in the Cafe Continental, instead, and chat up some Gourock burds. Yer more likely tae score ...

Cafe Continental's a dive - the only burds in there are the 40 year old slapper teachers who beseige the place whenever the schools finish.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Sep 16 2008, 20:01) *
You've just cursed us.

Morton have never been an easy side and I expect them to be a tough task on Saturday. If we win by a goal, I certainly wouldn't consider it a hammering, unless of course it was 1-0 going on 10-0, which it won't be.

I was using the word "hammer", ironically.  Maybe it's too old-fangle ...
Dublinjag
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 16 2008, 21:22) *
Cafe Continental's a dive - the only burds in there are the 40 year old slapper teachers who beseige the place whenever the schools finish.

Perfect.  I thought younger blokes liked oulder wimmin' these days?  You could get a lesson from a 40 yr old teacher .. and a lecture afterwards ...