Full Version: Celtic & Rangers
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Diamonds 666
After reading some of the posts on here and how far apart the views are do you think either of the OF would be happy to exist without the other. I know we will get the replies, glad to see the back of them, but who would you have to complain about?

Do you think you would get 50 -60 thousand each week if their was no rivalry?

Most grounds I go to there is some funny banter amonst the fans and this includes the songs. YES, you do hear biggoted crap aswell but this is a minority. As an Airdrie fan you get the stereotype nonsense by some but on the whole it is very rare. Do either of the OF sing anything about the other that is funny i.e taking the pi$$, rather than religion or culture etc. This applies to both sets of fans, is there any genuine attempt to do this?

You always get the smug satisfaction when you think the other has done something wrong and you have the moral high ground for 2 minutes when the next screw up is just around the corner. If both are honest the away supports are just as bad. You can bet that there will be more letters sent after the next OF game.

I watched a programme last night on the Omagh bomb which killed young and old, Catholic and Protestant. Who did it is not the point, point is we all suffer with this centuries old nonsense. I thought it was getting better in Scotland but I really am starting to doubt it.
Beyemystic
QUOTE (Diamonds 666 @ Sep 16 2008, 14:04) *
I watched a programme last night on the Omagh bomb which killed young and old, Catholic and Protestant. Who did it is not the point, point is we all suffer with this centuries old nonsense. I thought it was getting better in Scotland but I really am starting to doubt it.

Nothing to do with Celtic or Celtic fans, idiot.

It is this sort of malicious insinuation which diddy fans use to smear Celtic and balance/cancel out the behaviour of the huns. In this way they invent 'old firm' symmetry, and believe it responsible for all 'sectarianism'. Absolving themselves of any responsibility and protecting their ideological cousins into the bargain.

It doesn't appear to matter that the insinuations are invariably groundless either. Indeed, a common one is "tacit" support for "terrorists" - support generally so tacit that it can only be perceived by agenda-driven lunatics desperately grasping for a stick with which to beat the "Oirish" Celtic FC.
Diamonds 666
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Sep 16 2008, 14:37) *
Nothing to do with Celtic or Celtic fans, idiot.

It is this sort of malicious insinuation which diddy fans use to smear Celtic and balance/cancel out the behaviour of the huns. In this way they invent 'old firm' symmetry, and believe it responsible for all 'sectarianism'. Absolving themselves of any responsibility and protecting their ideological cousins into the bargain.

It doesn't appear to matter that the insinuations are invariably groundless either. Indeed, a common one is "tacit" support for "terrorists" - support generally so tacit that it can only be perceived by agenda-driven lunatics desperately grasping for a stick with which to beat the "Oirish" Celtic FC.

Yet again you miss the point with your blinkered views.

No reason to continue.
Pink Freud
QUOTE (Diamonds 666 @ Sep 16 2008, 14:53) *
Yet again you miss the point with your blinkered views.

No reason to continue.

None so blind as those with the moral high ground.
LordHawHaw
After reading some of the posts on here and how far apart the views are do you think either of the OF would be happy to exist without the other. I know we will get the replies, glad to see the back of them, but who would you have to complain about?

I'd love Rangers to go bust and be wound up, not that it would ever happen, a Scottish league without Rangers would be a better place in my opinion.

I don't particularly care, maybe a reduction in crowd at Celtic along with an increase at the Edinburgh clubs and Aberdeen would make the league more competitive. I'm pretty sure that Celtic would be likley to look at the bigger picture of the sustainability of Scottish football outside the white hot must win competetiveness of us or Rangers winning.

Most grounds I go to there is some funny banter amonst the fans and this includes the songs. YES, you do hear biggoted crap aswell but this is a minority. As an Airdrie fan you get the stereotype nonsense by some but on the whole it is very rare. Do either of the OF sing anything about the other that is funny i.e taking the pi$$, rather than religion or culture etc. This applies to both sets of fans, is there any genuine attempt to do this?

I can only really think of Celtic when we talk about genuine attempts at being funny in both banners and songs, some of the stuff that the Jungle bhoys/ Green brigade have come up with in terms of banners directed at Rangers and our other competition (particularly in Europe) have been excellent. I thought the Scotland's "shame banner" with the big arrow at Celtic park after the Manchester riots was superb. Beachball day, pepperami day, Newspaper day, at the pox? some were superb like beach ball day and genuinely make me laugh out loud when I was in amongst it

You always get the smug satisfaction when you think the other has done something wrong and you have the moral high ground for 2 minutes when the next screw up is just around the corner. If both are honest the away supports are just as bad. You can bet that there will be more letters sent after the next OF game.

Depnds what you means "by just as bad" I think we're both just as bad as obnoxiously taking over the town and stadium and our attidtude to other teams.

I've absolutely no idea why you would tack this onto the of your post, it shows either a complete ignorance of Celtic and their support or an agenda, both which Beyemystic correctly picked you up on, your reply was crap as was Pink Frauds
Top Cat
Don't listen tae the 2 dhims above and the usual deflection lines. They wouldnae be around if it wisnae for us and there grateful we're here tae make them feel worthy of chasing us. Although they like tae disassociate themselves wae sectarianism through throwaway lines, the dhims have been trying tae rid the world of the 'protestant' for centuries. We feck up their brainswashing schemes. On Omagh and the bleating from them aboot you raising it , the multitude of Fenian's sitting in Parkheid singing ra songs should gie you the right answer to their thoughts on the matter, never mind the lies the little Fenian on post two gave ye in trying tae exhonerate himself and his kind. dry.gif

*rant over tongue.gif
khenny
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 17 2008, 08:03) *
Don't listen tae the 2 dhims above and the usual deflection lines. They wouldnae be around if it wisnae for us and there grateful we're here tae make them feel worthy of chasing us. Although they like tae disassociate themselves wae sectarianism through throwaway lines, the dhims have been trying tae rid the world of the 'protestant' for centuries. We feck up their brainswashing schemes. On Omagh and the bleating from them aboot you raising it , the multitude of Fenian's sitting in Parkheid singing ra songs should gie you the right answer to their thoughts on the matter, never mind the lies the little Fenian on post two gave ye in trying tae exhonerate himself and his kind. dry.gif

*rant over tongue.gif

I don't even know where to start when it comes to the spelling!! There's non-denominational schooling for you. rolleyes.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (khenny @ Sep 17 2008, 08:21) *
I don't even know where to start when it comes to the spelling!! There's non-denominational schooling for you. rolleyes.gif

You can have it in the 'Queens English' as well if you want dhim.
On second thoughts, maybe you don't! tongue.gif
Diamonds 666
I've absolutely no idea why you would tack this onto the of your post, it shows either a complete ignorance of Celtic and their support or an agenda, both which Beyemystic correctly picked you up on, your reply was crap as was Pink Frauds

[/quote]

The only people who made reference to the Celtic support within the last part of my statement were you and Beyemistic. I was making a point regarding the divisions that we have within society and why it is so pointless when people are killed as a result. I have no agenda against Celtic and never will.
glasnost

I don’t want 60,000 at Celtic Park each week so that’s an irrelevant question for me.

Do either of the OF sing anything about the other that is funny i.e taking the pi$$, rather than religion or culture etc. This applies to both sets of fans, is there any genuine attempt to do this?

From our perspective of course there is.

The rest is nonsense.
djn
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Sep 16 2008, 14:37) *

Tacit support? As in "ooh, ahh, tacitly up the 'RA "?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Diamonds 666 @ Sep 17 2008, 12:58) *

The only people who made reference to the Celtic support within the last part of my statement were you and Beyemistic. I was making a point regarding the divisions that we have within society and why it is so pointless when people are killed as a result. I have no agenda against Celtic and never will.

Reading it againt I think I misunderstood your albeit poorly worded last paragraph, sorry if I have
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 17 2008, 07:44) *
I'd love Rangers to go bust and be wound up, not that it would ever happen, a Scottish league without Rangers would be a better place in my opinion.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Without the other side of the OF, one side would keep winning, and there would really be no need for improvement (as both are currently miles ahead of the other), so if one went bust, I'd bet money on the other side falling down to the rest of the SPL's level.

Celtic going bust wouldn't personally bother me, but I know it would have effects on the club I love, in which it would probably see Murray downgrade them even further than what he has done to us just now.

Both of the OF need the otherside, to push them on and make them need to buy in good enough players, as without them, lets face it, they wouldn't need to bring in anyone knew as they would be leaps and bounds ahead of the rest.

Attendances at one side of the OF would fall as well IMO, due to their being no rivalry with the other, and hence all the fans who take up the ST for to get the OF games don't need to, as the OF games would cease to exist.

As for your "better place" sh*te, your mob wouldn't change so it really wouldn't change much, the only difference being it would only be one side of the sectarian argument being spouted.
fatman76
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 17 2008, 16:41) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Without the other side of the OF, one side would keep winning, and there would really be no need for improvement (as both are currently miles ahead of the other), so if one went bust, I'd bet money on the other side falling down to the rest of the SPL's level.

Celtic going bust wouldn't personally bother me, but I know it would have effects on the club I love, in which it would probably see Murray downgrade them even further than what he has done to us just now.

Both of the OF need the otherside, to push them on and make them need to buy in good enough players, as without them, lets face it, they wouldn't need to bring in anyone knew as they would be leaps and bounds ahead of the rest.

Attendances at one side of the OF would fall as well IMO, due to their being no rivalry with the other, and hence all the fans who take up the ST for to get the OF games don't need to, as the OF games would cease to exist.

As for your "better place" sh*te, your mob wouldn't change so it really wouldn't change much, the only difference being it would only be one side of the sectarian argument being spouted.

Agree with most of that. The only thing I would say is that if Rangers did go bust I think the support would just adopt another team and we follow, follow them!
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Sep 17 2008, 16:51) *
Agree with most of that. The only thing I would say is that if Rangers did go bust I think the support would just adopt another team and we follow, follow them!

Aye, Cambuslang Rangers. biggrin.gif