Full Version: Dunfermline Vs St Mirren
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Domestic Cup Football
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
MarreZ
Im looking forward to locking horns with the team that has challenged and failed against us over the past decade.

I know Gus will be tempted to give a run out to the young boys in a game like this, and even so, the kids should have enough to see off a mid table Dunfermline side.

It is Dunfermlines cup final against an SPL team, they wont expect to go any further, but will no doubt put up a decent fight, so he should keep a few experienced heads in there.

0-4 St Mirren McGinn 2, Mehmet, Lawson.
Skinto McGinto
I might even go to the game - although I've heard that walking around Dunfermline at night, I may be molested.

Is this true, and should I go with an armed guard?
Ric
Pointless game, Dunfermline's fans have been shouting out how they are so superior to the SPL sides, and St.Mirren in particular, and with the amount of whinging I can only presume they must be right.

I expect a total hammering with the Pars showing us what "total football" means in a Scottish context.

In fact I wonder if there is any point turning up?
Thundermonkey
Looking forward to drawing the Fife Scum away in the next round already biggrin.gif
Grant228
Why i the f**k would a diddy cup game against tbh one of the Spl sides who are not any better than any 1st division sides be a cup final?
Incase St Mirren fans missed we have been in 3 of those in 4 years....how many have they been in the last 10 years?
MarreZ
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Sep 16 2008, 17:01) *
Why i the f**k would a diddy cup game against tbh one of the Spl sides who are not any better than any 1st division sides be a cup final?
Incase St Mirren fans missed we have been in 3 of those in 4 years....how many have they been in the last 10 years?

The year after we were relegated, we drew Dunfermline in the cup, Jimmy Calderwood said in the press that the game was St Mirrens cup final.

If it was our cup final when we were in the first and you were 3rd bottom of the SPL, then its your cup final now.
Grant228
QUOTE (MarreZ @ Sep 16 2008, 17:20) *
The year after we were relegated, we drew Dunfermline in the cup, Jimmy Calderwood said in the press that the game was St Mirrens cup final.

If it was our cup final when we were in the first and you were 3rd bottom of the SPL, then its your cup final now.

What didn't he say in the press?
MarreZ
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Sep 16 2008, 17:37) *
What didn't he say in the press?

That Dunfermline are going to the win the first division this year?
Grant228
QUOTE (MarreZ @ Sep 16 2008, 18:01) *
That Dunfermline are going to the win the first division this year?

Good chance of it happening then wink.gif
buddie06smfc
I'm looking forward to my bridie.
Saints will pump this 1st division mob.
You can w**k all you like about being 3 of 4 cup finals (How many of them did you win?) but you are lying in the 1st division with no chance of getting out and making hee-haw.
We make money in the SPL.
Not long until you fold wink.gif
Glesga Frm
God SPHELL Team fans think there teams are tickets, the trouble is that the First division aint far off the class of the SP SMELL, the just cant admit it, oh look, Hearts and Hibs out of the cup by First division teams, and no offence but the two who are tipped for relegation....wow the class between the leagues is really showing aint it....
Glesga Frm
God SPHELL Team fans think there teams are tickets, the trouble is that the First division aint far off the class of the SP SMELL, the just cant admit it, oh look, Hearts and Hibs out of the cup by First division teams, and no offence but the two who are tipped for relegation....wow the class between the leagues is really showing aint it....
Glesga Frm
MarreZ
QUOTE (Glesga Frm @ Sep 17 2008, 12:43) *

The class between SPL and first division posters is showing, we can say in one post, what it takes you three to say. The trouble with you is, you havent bothered to read the posts properly, or realise that there is previous between our clubs, which is why there is a bit of animosity.
Glesga Frm
I could nto care less mate, i read what i want if it dont sound good i reply....Its that simple.
sandboy
QUOTE (MarreZ @ Sep 16 2008, 17:20) *

It was Bert Paton who said that. I actually remember an irate St mirren fan in the daily record hotline the next day complaining about him!

Jimmy Calderwood might have said it as well but i dont think we played St Mirren in the cup under JC except during that season we were both in the SPL.

Anyway, will be looking forward to this after Saturday. I fully expect at least one of Hamilton/Mason/Mehmet to get a goal though.

Prices are reasonable, £13/£8/£5.
Exuberant
St Mirren will have enough to win this one, but it won't be larger than a 2 goal margin.
Frank Booth
QUOTE (sandboy @ Sep 18 2008, 21:00) *
I fully expect at least one of Hamilton/Mason/Mehmet to get a goal though.

You forgot about Potter.
MarreZ
It was Bert Paton who said that. I actually remember an irate St mirren fan in the daily record hotline the next day complaining about him!

Jimmy Calderwood might have said it as well but i dont think we played St Mirren in the cup under JC except during that season we were both in the SPL.

Anyway, will be looking forward to this after Saturday. I fully expect at least one of Hamilton/Mason/Mehmet to get a goal though.

I think you might be right enough, the condescending prick.

Unfortunately my wifes working, and im gutted, i think its a great stadium to visit.
Stoo61
Should be a decent game, hopefully we show up and don't take a doing. League is the most important but stuffing the Buddies would be decent fun.
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
This was the one game I wanted to avoid most when I saw the seedings for the draw, away to the Pars. Saints have shown some good performances so far this season, but no doubt the Pars will be looking to win this one. I think they can sneak it 2-1.

Wont stop me going to the game anyway, hopefully Saints will put in a good performance.
DAFC
SPL is worse the the SFL.

FACT.

wink.gif
MarreZ
QUOTE (DAFC @ Sep 20 2008, 22:00) *

FACT.

wink.gif

You cant just write a sentence and put fact at the end to make it a fact, it actually has to be a fact.
Parscelona

Have to disagree there, the prices should have been kept the same like our other cup tie prices this season ie £10 for Adults and £5 for Concessions. Yes i would understand an increase in prices if we were playing a top six SPL side but St Mirren are far from that.

I don't think we have anything to fear from St Mirren, we know what they're about and a strikeforce which involves Jim Hamilton means we don't have much to worry about. tongue.gif

This was probably the easiest draw we could get so i'm happy we've got them at home and hopefully we'll win and progress through to the next round.

Match Prediction: Dunfermline 2-0 St Mirren smile.gif
chico
QUOTE (DAFC @ Sep 20 2008, 22:00) *

FACT.

wink.gif

enjoy it for this season and the next few.

FACT.

wink.gif
Islay
We should destroy this little Paisley team. Its a no contest, we have been vastly superior to them over a number of years...even now in the league below. It must be boring to be a St Mirren fan too...
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
QUOTE (Parscelona @ Sep 21 2008, 15:35) *
Have to disagree there, the prices should have been kept the same like our other cup tie prices this season ie £10 for Adults and £5 for Concessions. Yes i would understand an increase in prices if we were playing a top six SPL side but St Mirren are far from that.

I don't think we have anything to fear from St Mirren, we know what they're about and a strikeforce which involves Jim Hamilton means we don't have much to worry about. tongue.gif

This was probably the easiest draw we could get so i'm happy we've got them at home and hopefully we'll win and progress through to the next round.

Match Prediction: Dunfermline 2-0 St Mirren smile.gif

Jim Hamilton has actually struck up a good strike partnership with Billy Mehmet. He's been playing well recently.
If we play a strikeforce containing Dargo or Wyness, then you not need be worried. Wyness hasn't done anything since joining, whereas Dargo runs away from the ball constantly.
DAFC
enjoy it for this season and the next few.

FACT.

Thanks.

tm

biggrin.gif
Fallen Angel
I'm looking forward to the game.

Any Pars fans who laugh when the teams are read out and Mehmet and Hamilton are starting beware....... sad.gif

Hamilton has got MoM from radio Clyde two games in a row and they're playing decent stuff despite their lowly league position. Mehmet is starting to look like the striker he always had the potential to be ohmy.gif

However, If we play as we played against Saintees and defend like we did at Dundee we might have a chance wink.gif

I like the St Mirren games as I just ignore all the negativity that "some" posters try to bring to the forums and look at it for what it is going to be......A good competitive game between two closely matched teams tongue.gif

I hope St Mirren bring a decent support although with less than 5000 at Love Street on Saturday I'd expect less than 500 of them at EEP.

Here's to an exciting game, a load of goals and the Pars to nick it in the last minute biggrin.gif
MarreZ
QUOTE (Fallen Angel @ Sep 21 2008, 19:39) *
I'm looking forward to the game.

Any Pars fans who laugh when the teams are read out and Mehmet and Hamilton are starting beware....... sad.gif

Hamilton has got MoM from radio Clyde two games in a row and they're playing decent stuff despite their lowly league position. Mehmet is starting to look like the striker he always had the potential to be ohmy.gif

However, If we play as we played against Saintees and defend like we did at Dundee we might have a chance wink.gif

I like the St Mirren games as I just ignore all the negativity that "some" posters try to bring to the forums and look at it for what it is going to be......A good competitive game between two closely matched teams tongue.gif

I hope St Mirren bring a decent support although with less than 5000 at Love Street on Saturday I'd expect less than 500 of them at EEP.

Here's to an exciting game, a load of goals and the Pars to nick it in the last minute biggrin.gif

I doubt there will be a lot of goals, we are decent defensively and weak in attack despite having half a team of decent strikers.
sandboy
QUOTE (Parscelona @ Sep 21 2008, 15:35) *

I think a small increase is fair enough since it's an spl team we're playing in this round. It's still £3 less than first division prices so that seems reasonable to me.

Hopefully it'll be a good game. I have a feeling st mirren will win but there isnt much between bottom half spl and top half div1 teams, so i'd expect it to be pretty close.
timbermill tactician
Hopefully the pars will bring their A game for this one. If they do I expect a close game with perhaps extra time and penalties. I,m sure saints will not underestimate us. If they do they may get a surprise.
Lochwinnoch Saint
A mild distraction from SPL football see us taking on a team in the midst of Scottish football wilderness Al’a debt ridden Dungfermline. You can see from the Dung fans that this is a cup final for them. A BIG NIGHT OUT rolleyes.gif
Would not surprise me if Gus sends out half of our reserve team for a look.
Anyway here is hoping the next round brings in something a bit more exciting.
Islay
QUOTE (Lochwinnoch Saint @ Sep 21 2008, 21:40) *
You can see from the Dung fans that this is a cup final for them. A BIG NIGHT OUT rolleyes.gif

We have had four cup finals since 2004. How many have you had? Facing St Mirren is a mere distraction towards another one. It must be boring supporting St Mirren.
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
QUOTE (Islay @ Sep 21 2008, 22:51) *
We have had four cup finals since 2004. How many have you had? Facing St Mirren is a mere distraction towards another one. It must be boring supporting St Mirren.

Four....Renfreshire Cup biggrin.gif

How many Finals did you actually win? As far as I remember, we won the 1st Division Title and Bells Cup...more silverware than the Pars.
Islay
QUOTE (Future-SM-Keeper-Ere @ Sep 21 2008, 23:01) *
Four....Renfreshire Cup biggrin.gif

How many Finals did you actually win? As far as I remember, we won the 1st Division Title and Bells Cup...more silverware than the Pars.

We have won the First Division title as well. And it's not the winning it's the experience that counts wink.gif
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
QUOTE (Islay @ Sep 21 2008, 23:04) *
We have won the First Division title as well. And it's not the winning it's the experience that counts wink.gif

You were talking about the last four years biggrin.gif
gingapar
looking forward to this one not fussy about the cup itself but games between the two are usually quite enjoyable as there has never really been any gulf in quality between the sides in the last decade or so. I lso quite enjoy the novelty of everyone wearing the same colours although i remember when being confused about it at love street when i was wee and not really knowing who were the home or away supporters.

Hopefully it'll be decent well contested battle of a match with a few goals but ultimately decided over 90 minutes cos extra time and/or penalties midweek are a pain in the arse!
The Chef
Think this one will be tight, 1 goal might well settle it with extra time and penalties a real prospect. Got a feeling that Hamilton will come back to haunt us though. sad.gif
tam the bud
With a home crowd of 2631 laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif at their last home game, the Pars have really proved what a wee diddy team they are rolleyes.gif
Stoo61
St.Mirren, why can't we write St. Mi d d en? Dungfermline is fine but no St. Mi d d en.....WEST COAST BIAS!! biggrin.gif

codfish
The ticket prices have me tempted to head through after work tomorrow - not sure why, given how bad the game was last time I watched us at East End Park! laugh.gif

I reckon we'll sneak a 2-1 win after extra time - Gary Mason with a screamer in the 119th minute.....maybe. tongue.gif
gingapar
QUOTE (tam the bud @ Sep 22 2008, 10:44) *
With a home crowd of 2631 laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif at their last home game, the Pars have really proved what a wee diddy team they are rolleyes.gif

totally, almost as bad as the 2,538 your mob lodged against ross county in your first home game against them in the 04/05 season, and that's without the credit crunch, was there maybe a massive crackdown on unjustified jobseekers claims in the paisley area? 'but how can ah get a joab wi track marks like these oan ma erms but, like, man, pure?'
Fallen Angel
QUOTE (tam the bud @ Sep 22 2008, 10:44) *

A certain statistic shows that your "massive" SPL side had less than 5000 of a crowd on Saturday and that with an away team that are a dang sight closer to you than Ross County are to us wink.gif

Perhaps you should sort out your own house first before slagging off others wink.gif

Pot, kettle and black spring to mind rolleyes.gif
tam the bud
QUOTE (gingapar @ Sep 22 2008, 15:37) *
totally, almost as bad as the 2,538 your mob lodged against ross county in your first home game against them in the 04/05 season, and that's without the credit crunch, was there maybe a massive crackdown on unjustified jobseekers claims in the paisley area? 'but how can ah get a joab wi track marks like these oan ma erms but, like, man, pure?'

laugh.gif you must have too much time on your hand to dig out that crowd figure laugh.gif any truth in the rumour that only the dugout will be open for pars fans tomorrow tongue.gif
gingapar
QUOTE (tam the bud @ Sep 22 2008, 17:59) *
laugh.gif you must have too much time on your hand to dig out that crowd figure laugh.gif any truth in the rumour that only the dugout will be open for pars fans tomorrow tongue.gif

it's amazing what you can achieve with a spare half hour and a point to prove! And aye, not far from it. Are away fans in behind the goals or getting stuck in the corner of the main stand? the north stand will be shut to save on the pie and polis pennies.
Reynard
I'm looking forward to a couple of steak bridies.

That's all I'm looking forward to tomorrow. We will probably lose this one.
TOM HENDRIE
Not going cause we are shit and i need to baby sitt ohmy.gif

revolvingduck
Would be disappointed to lose to such a small club. Am looking forward to playing their big brother Morton on Saturday if i'm being honest
Reynard
QUOTE (revolvingduck @ Sep 22 2008, 23:30) *
Would be disappointed to lose to such a small club. Am looking forward to playing their big brother Morton on Saturday if i'm being honest

That is some terrible fishing going on in that there post. dry.gif