Full Version: Worst Games Ever
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
StandFree03
After reading the Spore thread I got thinking about all the crud that I've played over the years.

Rise of the Robots (Amiga) - It was massively hyped and had great graphics but it was spectacularly bad. Truly awful.

State of Emergency (PS2) - Really bad game that somehow thought that having loads of characters flying about on the screen at once would make it something special.

The Simpsons: Bart vs the Space-mutants (Amiga) - I quite enjoyed this to begin with but for some reason it seemed to take me forever to get past the first level. The collision detection was brutal and had me pulling my hair out.

Streetfighter II (C64) - I have no idea why someone thought that this game would work on the C64. You had to wait about 15 minutes between games for the tape to load and the graphics were horrific. Absolutely brutal, even for its time.

There must be loads of shite games out there. Anyone remember any particularly bad ones?
Frank Booth
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Sep 16 2008, 01:09) *
Rise of the Robots (Amiga) - It was massively hyped and had great graphics but it was spectacularly bad. Truly awful.

The Simpsons: Bart vs the Space-mutants (Amiga) - I quite enjoyed this to begin with but for some reason it seemed to take me forever to get past the first level. The collision detection was brutal and had me pulling my hair out.

There must be loads of shite games out there. Anyone remember any particularly bad ones?

Those 2 were brutal but seeing as I'm a bit older than you I offer up...

3D Rats on the Spectrum.
garymcc1874
I loved State Of Emergency ph34r.gif
StandFree03
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Sep 16 2008, 01:16) *
Those 2 were brutal but seeing as I'm a bit older than you I offer up...

3D Rats on the Spectrum.

Never heard of it. Explain how bad it was cool.gif

QUOTE (garymcc1874 @ Sep 16 2008, 01:24) *
I loved State Of Emergency ph34r.gif

Hmm, there's a few people I know who liked it. I absolutely hated it though. all you did was run from point A to point B while a whole load of annoying fuckers bolted about the screen.
Frank Booth
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Sep 16 2008, 01:53) *

It was cited as the first ever 3D game on the Spectrum...possibly the 1st 3D game ever.

It was alternating "square rings" of colour giving a 3D "into the screen" effect with the odd 40 x 28 "rat" appearing as fodder for shooting.
DarkBlue62
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Sep 16 2008, 01:53) *

Hmm, there's a few people I know who liked it. I absolutely hated it though. all you did was run from point A to point B while a whole load of annoying fuckers bolted about the screen.

I also liked it. I never did play the 2nd one tho unsure.gif
Ric
The Ninja Master for the C64 should get a mention here. Despite being a cheap Firebird release (£1.99) it managed to generate page after page of hate mail.

Quite what you mastered was never known and the ninja theme really could have been anything, it just happened that ninja's were cool in the mid 80's. The game consisted of nothing more than a couple of different screens each with a different task. For example one of them was to defend against objects thrown at you. As they come on the screen you had to move the joystick into one of the 8 directions to perform a block. After so many objects, you went onto the next screen. As I say there only was a couple of screens and the complexity of the game was zero.

Once you had completed all the tasks, you were unceremoniously dumped back to the start, given a belt colour and told to do it again. The difference this time round being the speed of the items chucked at you. Dreadful game.

Oh, and a special mention should go to RXD, which was an upwardly scrolling maze, shoot'em-up (again for the C64). In fact this game was so bad it never even got published, even though the guy at Alternative Software said he would, the b*****d! wink.gif
MrDust
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Sep 16 2008, 02:00) *
It was cited as the first ever 3D game on the Spectrum...possibly the 1st 3D game ever.

It was alternating "square rings" of colour giving a 3D "into the screen" effect with the odd 40 x 28 "rat" appearing as fodder for shooting.

Didnt Ant Attack take that trophy......

The follow up to Football manager- Kevin Toms and Sensible soccer follow up were poor......

Also Matchday 2 follow up super match soccer....If memory suits the release date was moved and moved....and after buying it......You can see why......
Ric
QUOTE (MrDust @ Sep 16 2008, 13:06) *
Sensible soccer follow up were poor......

I am guessing you aren't meaning the Amiga version, as it was flawless.
Kirky_Clyde
Championship Manager 5
Gaz
I think this thread will take the usual turn where people name their least favourite games rather than the worst ones.
Dunning1874
QUOTE (Gaz @ Sep 16 2008, 13:29) *
I think this thread will take the usual turn where people name their least favourite games rather than the worst ones.

Aye, that's why I'm saying FIFA 04. That was fucking dreadful.

No seriously, really bad games - World Cup Italia 90. Jesus christ that was bad.
MrDust
QUOTE (Ric @ Sep 16 2008, 13:09) *

Sensible soccer 2 on the Xbox, PS2 and Pc.....
Ric
QUOTE (MrDust @ Sep 16 2008, 14:12) *
Sensible soccer 2 on the Xbox, PS2 and Pc.....

Yup, that's fair enough, no Sensible Software games translated well to non Amiga platforms.

Conversely, the Amiga versions of their games (sensi soccer, cannon fodder, sensi golf) all utter classics.
Gaz
QUOTE (Ric @ Sep 16 2008, 14:19) *
Yup, that's fair enough, no Sensible Software games translated well to non Amiga platforms.

Conversely, the Amiga versions of their games (sensi soccer, cannon fodder, sensi golf) all utter classics.

Cannon Fodder was alright on the MD.

Always felt it's the type of game (along with Lemmings) that'd translate well to the DS.
Kirky_Clyde

Obviously. How can we say if a game is bad or not if we haven't played it?
Gaz
QUOTE (Kirky_Clyde @ Sep 16 2008, 15:31) *
Obviously. How can we say if a game is bad or not if we haven't played it?

You misunderstand.
Thundermonkey
Roland in the Caves on the Amstrad CPC464

Horrible frustration

Utterly pointless as I knew no-one who ever escaped the first level. The final jump to escape the cave was too steep to stay on and no amount of leaping once you made it to the top made any difference.

A great game if you enjoy bashing your face against a rock for 5 hours.
ChampionsElect
Men In Black ( PS1).

Hated that game with a passion, wonder why I ever got it.

GTA4 (PS3)- Big let down, think the game was too hyped up. Traded it back in after getting it on release.
StandFree03

Who cares?
StewartyMac
There were obviously a lot of brutal games for the early machines, as was to be expected.

That doesn't exempt the truly awful 'Voyage Into the Unknown' for the Spectrum.

Billed as an exciting space adventure, the only thing exciting was the £1.99 price. After it had loaded, all 'excitement' vanished as unplayable section after unplayable section rolled along. Apparantly you had to travel across the universe in search of some crystal, but you'd never have known.

As one review succinctly put it.....'A total mess'.
stpatty
No love for the old ET game?

Ed - I always hated Rayman. Far too bloody hard once you got past the first level, shooting cages to free wee pink things did get tedious...
sergie's no1 fan
ecco the dolphin - what was the point in it? blink.gif

Scotty Tunbridge
Any Simpsons based game.
Stuboy
i remember the south park '3d' game being pretty awful
MTJ
QUOTE (sergie's no1 fan @ Sep 16 2008, 20:40) *

That game actually got great reviews IIRC

QUOTE (Scotty Tunbridge @ Sep 16 2008, 21:51) *
Any Simpsons based game.

I actually liked Hit and Run, but Simpsons Road Rage is one of the worst games I've ever played. That also reminds me. Crazy Taxi what a load of mince.

WWF Warzone now that was bad.
Gall09
QUOTE (Thundermonkey @ Sep 16 2008, 16:37) *
Roland in the Caves on the Amstrad CPC464

Horrible frustration

Utterly pointless as I knew no-one who ever escaped the first level. The final jump to escape the cave was too steep to stay on and no amount of leaping once you made it to the top made any difference.

Don't know if this game has been mentioned on this forum;

Super Mario Frustration

I think that game would rank up there wi being 3 up at home in FM wi 20 minutes to go and somehow losing 4-3 to fuckin' Motherwell mad.gif.

Scotty Tunbridge
QUOTE (Stuboy @ Sep 16 2008, 21:54) *

Who does'nt love throwing pee coloured snowballs at Turkeys.
Mr. Brightside
QUOTE (Gall09 @ Sep 16 2008, 22:14) *
Don't know if this game has been mentioned on this forum;

Super Mario Frustration

I think that game would rank up there wi being 3 up at home in FM wi 20 minutes to go and somehow losing 4-3 to fuckin' Motherwell mad.gif .

That vid is brilliant
djchapsticks
QUOTE (Stuboy @ Sep 16 2008, 21:54) *

I remember being so deeply disappointed buying that for N64.

as a 14 year old, A South Park game was just too damn good to be true and I had visions of it being up there with the likes of Goldeneye. It was fucking dire and £40 of saved pocket money straight down the drain.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (Mr. Brightside @ Sep 16 2008, 22:31) *
That vid is brilliant

"This is fucking worse than fucking Panic at the Disco"

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
stpatty
Oh that Mario vid had me in tears laugh.gif
sainteesean
QUOTE (Scotty Tunbridge @ Sep 16 2008, 22:17) *
Who does'nt love throwing pee coloured snowballs at Turkeys.

pee coloured! it WAS pee, you heard the unzipping and all tongue.gif

i actually quite liked the game, decent wee multiplayer mode? :|
Aitchy
QUOTE (sergie's no1 fan @ Sep 16 2008, 20:40) *

That brings back the memories! Here is the wiki link for those who have never played the mighty ecco http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ecco_the_Dolphin

Worst game for me was when one of my Aunties got me this fishing game for the megadrive, when i was about 8, was total crap!
MattBairn
QUOTE (Ric @ Sep 16 2008, 13:09) *

SWOS was an absolutely stunning game.
I found my old Amiga when gutting out my loft and getting ready to move.

If I can find the old adaptor at the back to plug it into my TV I might have to fire it up and have a game again smile.gif
Im sure I still have my old Zipstick joystick too biggrin.gif
MrDust
QUOTE (MattBairn @ Sep 17 2008, 15:56) *
SWOS was an absolutely stunning game.
I found my old Amiga when gutting out my loft and getting ready to move.

If I can find the old adaptor at the back to plug it into my TV I might have to fire it up and have a game again smile.gif
Im sure I still have my old Zipstick joystick too biggrin.gif

Xbox 360.....its on arcade.....I wasted around 6-8 month........

I just packed me Amiga away for the loft....I had it lying in a corner...
Ric
QUOTE (MrDust @ Sep 17 2008, 16:56) *
Xbox 360.....its on arcade.....I wasted around 6-8 month........

The recent Sensi Soccer remake was dreadful (the one with the big heads).

There is another one for the X360 though, isn't there?

Still, I doubt it will be as good as the original.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (MTJ @ Sep 16 2008, 21:55) *
I actually liked Hit and Run, but Simpsons Road Rage is one of the worst games I've ever played. That also reminds me. Crazy Taxi what a load of mince.

Fucking ace game!! Me and my bro had some amazing games of tig on that.