Full Version: That Bbc Report Exposing The Sectarian Bigotry Of Celtic Fans.
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Proteus Maximus
It says something when you get enough Celtic fans to complain about a very innocent football windup.

It says something about the people who didn't bin this too.

However, the biggest thing we have learned today is that Celtic really do have an unusually high number of bigoted, bitter, sectarian crackpots and are consumed by delusional and hypocritical persecution complex with no basis in reality.

Perhaps they should just go to this imaginary home and leave all decent Scottish people and football fans to enjoy their lives in peace.

As this Hibs fan said in an unusually rational post for that site:

Whilst hating to get caught up in the whole sectarianism debate no doubt the whole hipocrisy of the Irish diplomats making an official complaint regarding an 'inappropriate' song sung by Rangers fans will ignite debate from the followers of every Scottish club side.

How one complaint from a Celtic supporter has made national headlines is quite frankly a kick in the teeth to the majority of supporters who follow clubs outwith the Old Firm and have to hear 'party songs' from the fans of the Glasgow clubs whenever they play in their towns or cities.

Trying to complain about songs which question your clubs ancestoral history are fruitless and often end up with the complainant being warned about their behaviour rather than the masses who chant about events to which they have little, or more commonplace, no idea about at all.

Yes Rangers fans were out of line with their chant 'the famine's over why don't you go home' but is a chant of 'dirty orange b******' better? - now before Celtic fans and their paranoid minds start pointing accusing fingers I'm a supporter of Hibernian Football Club and couldn't really give a toss about the Hoops but fair's fair and this complaint simply ridicules the Scottish game.

For the Scottish Government even to give the diplomat a response stinks of desperation at ending a problem which has dogged Scotland and in particular the West of Scotland for decades.

Surely rather than pandering to the complaint of the poor wee soul who was offended the Government should instruct those from both halves of the Old Firm support who continue to sing offensive ditty's on their travel that they will be arrested and perhaps even enforce the Police to act upon sectarian singing.

As it stands it appears the Police force are quite happy to arrest an individual for sectarianism but will leave the masses alone.

Lazy Police work or orders from higher above?

You can answer that one.

As for the Irish diplomat - evidently you have nothing better to worry about than receiving a complaint from a football fan - I wonder if you offer the same service to all Irish residents in Scotland who have a complaint - maybe even about important issues such as housing or schooling - I doubt it.

And finally the Scottish Government - shame on you for taking this on board without even trying to eradicate the root cause.

Credit to Rangers FC for admitting 'In the days following the recent Old Firm match, the Club were made aware that a substantial number of complaints had been made regarding the singing of the chorus of a song known as 'The Famine Song' by our supporters at this match.

'Rangers Football Club approached Strathclyde Police for guidance on this matter, with a view to issuing a joint statement indicating that persons singing this song in future may face the possibility of arrest.'

Surprise surprise though - the Police force refused to comment and as usual will hide their head in the sand.

It's strange that you've got to look outside Glasgow for some sense outside the Rangers support.

Every week that passes just proves the ever growing extent of the sectarian bigots and the twisted bile of Celtic. Oh they don't do such songs, aye right?
sev
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 16 2008, 00:01) *
It says something when you get enough Celtic fans to complain about a very innocent football windup.

However, the biggest thing we have learned today is that Celtic really do have an unusually high number of bigoted, bitter, sectarian crackpots and are consumed by delusional and hypocritical persecution complex with no basis in reality.

Perhaps they should just go to this imaginary home and leave all decent Scottish people and football fans to enjoy their lives in peace.

It's strange that you've got to look outside Glasgow for some sense outside the Rangers support.

Every week that passes just proves the ever growing extent of the sectarian bigots and the twisted bile of Celtic. Oh they don't do such songs, aye right?

Do you actually ever talk about football. Is your life so empty and boring that all you can muster up is sectarian pish?
LordHawHaw
I think the Hibs fan ( laugh.gif ) PTB209 is posting elsewhere these days biggrin.gif
sev
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 00:13) *
I think the Hibs fan ( laugh.gif ) PTB209 is posting elsewhere these days biggrin.gif

absolute loser
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 16 2008, 00:16) *
absolute loser

Oh the irony.

I you hadn't already exposed yourselves as sectarian bigots of a particularly hateful kind, I would have paid attention.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 16 2008, 00:22) *
Oh the irony.

I you hadn't already exposed yourselves as sectarian bigots of a particularly hateful kind, I would have payed attention.

You should have dided that at School
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 00:29) *

rolleyes.gif
Frank Booth
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 16 2008, 00:29) *

I see what you did(ed) there
fitbin
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 16 2008, 00:01) *

Very innocent?

Aye right.

That's about as "innocent" as you are a Ross Fan rolleyes.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Sep 16 2008, 08:16) *
Very innocent?

Aye right.

That's about as "innocent" as you are a Ross Fan rolleyes.gif

or you are a Berwick Rangers fan rolleyes.gif
ChampionsElect
Why does a Ross County fan care so much for Rangers and against us?
fatman76
This thread is waste of time!

When I was a young boy my mum gave me some advice and I feel the need to share this with everyone, as it seems to to have passed most of you by.

"Sticks and stones will break my bones, but names will never hurt me!!!"

ALL THIS CAFUFFLE OVER A SILLY SONG!!!

Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Sep 16 2008, 13:45) *
ALL THIS CAFUFFLE OVER A SILLY SONG!!!

Not that certain Celtic songs send some of your representatives into an apoplectic frenzy. biggrin.gif Things were always likely to move this way
fatman76
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Sep 16 2008, 13:50) *
Not that certain Celtic songs send some of your representatives into an apoplectic frenzy. biggrin.gif Things were always likely to move this way

Maybe some but not me. I grew up standing in the old west enclosure and this type of sing song is just part of being an old firm fan.

This whole situation has been blown out of proportion.
H_B
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Sep 16 2008, 13:45) *
"Signs of the cross will break my bones, but racist songs will never hurt me!!!"
fatman76
Poor show changing my post.

I can also tell you that I couldnae care if someone crosses themselves............even at Ibrox. Again just part of being a Old Firm fan.

Stick yer political correctness right up and roond yerself!
H_B
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Sep 16 2008, 14:15) *
I can also tell you that I couldnae care if someone crosses themselves............even at Ibrox.

Shame that isn't a view shared by all the Hun fans.
fatman76
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 14:16) *

Can I just add to my previous comment......... if I was at the game and someone crossed themselves I would be one of the first on my feet calling him a pape bazza. But after the game I would happily go out drinking with the same person. I aint gonna lose any sleep over stuff like that and a silly song is not going to offend me either.
I say bring back all the good time songs for the old firm games and lets no forget why we have the best derby match in the world. Lets leave it at the gates when we leave though.
osticpcompany
QUOTE (Proteus Maximus @ Sep 15 2008, 23:01) *

i called the BBC today to complain about the unbalanced reporting, on the anniversary of the Omagh Bombing tic fans were giving it the usual BOTOB, now i would have though this would have been more offencive given that women and unborn children died that day but alas no, the powers that be would rather pander to the Irish Mafia yet again, "where in Ireland is Glasgow"
OH and i had to wait 30 mins due to the volume of Gers fans calling, not taking this one lying down!
osticpcompany
QUOTE (sev @ Sep 15 2008, 23:03) *
Do you actually ever talk about football. Is your life so empty and boring that all you can muster up is sectarian pish?

I think you'll find it's you lot who reserve the right to be offended at every turn who started this particular petty pish as you so eloquently put it!
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (osticpcompany @ Sep 16 2008, 15:42) *
I think you'll find it's you lot who reserve the right to be offended at every turn who started this particular petty pish as you so eloquently put it!

Celtic fans started with the Famine Song? ohmy.gif That's an interesting take
H_B
QUOTE (osticpcompany @ Sep 16 2008, 15:39) *
tic fans were giving it the usual BOTOB

The BOTOB relates to the IRA, not the Provisional IRA. The IRA of that era were heroes.
osticpcompany
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 14:44) *
The BOTOB relates to the IRA, not the Provisional IRA. The IRA of that era were heroes.

nice try to justify your drivel, is it sectarian to suggest that if people hate Britain, the The Royal Family and everything about the place that took the Irish in at a time of need, that if they don't like it they can always go home, where is the offence?
Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE (osticpcompany @ Sep 16 2008, 15:58) *
nice try to justify your drivel, is it sectarian to suggest that if people hate Britain, the The Royal Family and everything about the place that took the Irish in at a time of need, that if they don't like it they can always go home, where is the offence?

Oh FFS not another one, you'll be drivelling on about 'this great nation' and our british heritage' before we know it laugh.gif
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (osticpcompany @ Sep 16 2008, 15:58) *

'Took them in'? The Irish had a perfect right to settle anywhere they liked.
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Sep 16 2008, 16:03) *

They were British at the time, whether they liked it or not, so they had every right.

Still, I still think it's ironic to hear the sons of Irish immigrants singing "Go home, ya Huns" to the indiginous population.
osticpcompany
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Sep 16 2008, 15:03) *

Why did they, as they are so keen on telling us they are a Foreign land, and yes they did also aid the German U-Boats, so no we didn't need to take them in! But like the koo koo bird it takes another's nest and then tries to get rid of the nests inhabitants!
H_B
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Sep 16 2008, 16:23) *
Still, I still think it's ironic to hear the sons of Irish immigrants singing "Go home, ya Huns" to the indiginous population.

In what way are these people indigenous?
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (osticpcompany @ Sep 16 2008, 16:24) *
Why did they, as they are so keen on telling us they are a Foreign land, and yes they did also aid the German U-Boats, so no we didn't need to take them in! But like the koo koo bird it takes another's nest and then tries to get rid of the nests inhabitants!

Did you just punch the keyboard for that post and hope for the best?
Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE (osticpcompany @ Sep 16 2008, 16:24) *

Scottish education, you just can't beat it laugh.gif Did all Irishmen aid the German U-boats as you put it? Did some of them fight in the british forces? And what the f**k is a koo koo bird? laugh.gif
osticpcompany
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Sep 16 2008, 15:23) *
They were British at the time, whether they liked it or not, so they had every right.

i think you'll find they were occupied at the time with no British Citizenship nor would they want it i suspect, we Brits were good at that at the time, and whether we like it or not the riches we enjoy now and the buildings were paid for by occupation
Swampy
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Sep 16 2008, 15:23) *

I always assumed that song meant 'home' as in literally 'to their house' - sung to the losing team near the end of the game.

If it's to imply that they should go to Germany or something then that's quite offputting.
Pink Freud
QUOTE (Swampy @ Sep 16 2008, 16:30) *
I always assumed that song meant 'home' as in literally 'to their house' - sung to the losing team near the end of the game.

If it's to imply that they should go to Germany or something then that's quite offputting.

No I'm sure you are right. After all, Celtic fans occupy the moral high ground and have never been guilty of racism or bigotry. It's a diddy team conspiracy. Ya diddy.
osticpcompany
QUOTE (Swampy @ Sep 16 2008, 15:30) *

lol laugh.gif
osticpcompany
QUOTE (Centre Stand Hero @ Sep 16 2008, 15:28) *
Scottish education, you just can't beat it laugh.gif Did all Irishmen aid the German U-boats as you put it? Did some of them fight in the british forces? And what the f**k is a koo koo bird? laugh.gif

i thought you lot knew your history?
Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE (osticpcompany @ Sep 16 2008, 16:35) *
i thought you lot knew your history?

Who are my lot?
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (osticpcompany @ Sep 16 2008, 16:30) *
i think you'll find they were occupied at the time with no British Citizenship nor would they want it i suspect,

Occupied or no, wanting it or no, the Union of 1801 gave common citizenship to the inhabitants of GB and Ireland.

we Brits were good at that at the time, and whether we like it or not the riches we enjoy now and the buildings were paid for by occupation

Change 'good' for 'powerful' and that sentence will bear more semblance to the truth.
Centre Stand Hero
i think you'll find they were occupied at the time with no British Citizenship nor would they want it i suspect, we Brits were good at that at the time, and whether we like it or not the riches we enjoy now and the buildings were paid for by occupation

WTF huh.gif
th1stleandr0se

Oops. I'm obviously not as good on my Irish history as some of you on here in spite of some Irish blood (both flavours) in my veins. What I meant was that it was considered internal movement rather than immigration.
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 16:26) *
In what way are these people indigenous?

Maybe native would be a better word. I still always thought that the song identified Protestants as German (Huns being a derogatory term for Germans) because of the Hanoverian connection, and they should go back there. Obviously the Rangers support is mainly of Scottish heritage and the Celtic support of Irish descent, hence the irony.

If they had simply meant go back to your house then "Go home, you Scots", would have been nicer, don't you think?
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 14:16) *

There's quite a few players in our team who bless themselves every game.

Never seen any bother when they do it.
H_B
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Sep 16 2008, 23:33) *
Maybe native would be a better word.

Or perhaps not.

Maybe "slightly less recent immigrants"?
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 17 2008, 09:30) *
Or perhaps not.

OK Hieronymus, I know where this is leading. The Scots came from Ireland originally before some went back to colonise. I suppose we can see this as the cause of conflict elsewhere as well. The Palestinians want their homeland back from the Israelis but they in turn think it was theirs in the first place.

Most lowland Scots are descended from the above Irish Scots, Picts, Britons, Angles and Saxons but certainly not Huns.
H_B
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Sep 17 2008, 12:43) *
OK Hieronymus, I know where this is leading.

Good, you will realise then the folly of a Scottish Hun attempting to be considered indigenous then.
Proteus Maximus
Talk about missing the point! rolleyes.gif
Proteus Maximus
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 17 2008, 09:30) *
Or perhaps not.

Oh, the lengths Celtic fans go to, in order to redefine words for greatest available offence.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.