Full Version: The Renfrewshire Twins
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Fast_Action
In recent seasons, we have had both of the ugly sisters of Renfrewshire in this league, though sadly not at the same time - St Mirren and Morton. (Before some pedant from Greenock comes on and says that they are from Inverclyde, I am talking about histortic status here).

But who has brought more to the league? There is no doubt that both have brought us a great deal of entertainment, with both sets of fans believing that each are bigger and better than the rest of us (and inflicting a willie contest on us most weeks). St Mirren in the Coughlin days were superb, and my sides have just about healed having laughed at them for months on end. The same might be said of Morton in the McInally days.

There is no doubt that St Mirren have been lucky - the least convincing winners of the league in a long time. Let me cite two examples - having to rely on Charlie Adams cheating to handle balls into the net to secure three points, and having to rely on referees like Rangers Mike to turn a blind eye to such antics.

They have much in common. But who has brought more to this league?
CRM
I would say Midden have brought more to the League im terms of football (even if they were lucky a few seasons ago) but the Greenock sopadodgers have brought more fans to Firhill in recent seasons. To their credit - Morton were pish last year and they brought a very decent support to us just before christmas whereas St Mirren were doing well and I wasn't that impressed with their support and they are much closer to Firhill than Morton.
Dr Koop
Score draw for the biggest hissy fits outside of the Old Firm. cool.gif
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Sep 15 2008, 14:33) *
In recent seasons, we have had both of the ugly sisters of Renfrewshire in this league, though sadly not at the same time - St Mirren and Morton. (Before some pedant from Greenock comes on and says that they are from Inverclyde, I am talking about histortic status here).

But who has brought more to the league? There is no doubt that both have brought us a great deal of entertainment, with both sets of fans believing that each are bigger and better than the rest of us (and inflicting a willie contest on us most weeks). St Mirren in the Coughlin days were superb, and my sides have just about healed having laughed at them for months on end. The same might be said of Morton in the McInally days.

There is no doubt that St Mirren have been lucky - the least convincing winners of the league in a long time. Let me cite two examples - having to rely on Charlie Adams cheating to handle balls into the net to secure three points, and having to rely on referees like Rangers Mike to turn a blind eye to such antics.

Jaysus, that's probably the most tedious thread I've ever read in nearly 200 years. The poor man must be terminally bored.   It's enough to drive you to .... nologo.gif
Next it'll be Airdrie/Albion Rovers ... Thistle/Clyde ... Motherwell/Hamilton ... Drumchapel Amateurs/Bearsden Amateurs ... Morecambe & Wise ... Little & Large ... ad nauseam ... (yawn ... ) Z z z z z z z ...
Nizzy
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 15 2008, 15:31) *
Z z z z z z z z z ... probably the most boring thread I've ever read

The one in which you continually talk about yourself pushes it close.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 15 2008, 15:37) *
The one in which you continually talk about yourself pushes it close.

Nah, that's just innocent Thistle banter. Love the reactions of fans from other clubs too ... not quite so "smug and preening" as some so-called Jags ...  nologo.gif   
Dunning1874

Poor effort.
John Barleycorn
Click to view attachment
Colin M
There is no doubt that St Mirren have been lucky - the least convincing winners of the league in a long time.

Ric
In recent seasons, we have had both of the ugly sisters of Renfrewshire in this league..

Geography fail.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inverclyde#Towns_and_villages

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renfrewshire#Towns_and_villages
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Ric @ Sep 15 2008, 16:13) *

That's even more tedious, if it was possible, than the start of the thread itself ... (yawn) ... laugh.gif next we'll be analysing postcodes and whether people from Dunoon should support Morton (one ferry, one train) or Dumbarton (two ferries, one train).
Ric
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 15 2008, 16:19) *
That's even more tedious, if it was possible, than the original thread itself ... (yawn) ... laugh.gif next we'll be analysing postcodes and whether people from Dunoon should support Morton (one ferry, one train) or Dumbarton (two ferries, one train).

Pointing at Fast Action's posting mistakes is never tedious... wink.gif
Pink Freud
That's even more tedious, if it was possible, than the start of the thread itself ... (yawn) ... laugh.gif next we'll be analysing postcodes and whether people from Dunoon should support Morton (one ferry, one train) or Dumbarton (two ferries, one train).

Nights drawing in Dublin?
Dunning1874

There's a decent number of Morton fans in Dunoon.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Sep 15 2008, 16:31) *
There's a decent number of Morton fans in Dunoon.

Only because it's two ferries to get to Helensburgh and a longer train journey to Dumbarton ... nologo.gif  They'd be better off staying in McLure's than going to Kippielow.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Pink Freud @ Sep 15 2008, 16:29) *

Dublin, if nothing else, is far from tedious ... night or day ... nologo.gif Although I'd rather have a night out in Paisley toon compared to Greenock. What a Godforsaken kip of a place ...
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Pink Freud @ Sep 15 2008, 16:29) *

Ode to a piana man.  RIP Rick Wright.   
vikingTON
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 15 2008, 16:38) *
Dublin, if nothing else, is far from tedious ... night or day ... nologo.gif Although I'd rather have a night out in Paisley toon compared to Greenock. What a Godforsaken kip of a place ...

You've awful good eyesight to see it from Dublin.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 15 2008, 17:24) *
You've awful good eyesight to see it from Dublin.

I drove thro' Greenyuck a coupla months ago.  And kept driving ... puke.gif yucky.gif The only good thing about it is Chic Murray used to live there ...
vikingTON
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 15 2008, 17:27) *
I drove thro' Greenyuck a coupla months ago. And kept driving ... puke.gif yucky.gif

It's changed a lot since.
We've demolished two more tower blocks. cool.gif
Dublinjag
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 15 2008, 17:29) *
It's changed a lot since.
We've demolished two more tower blocks. cool.gif

Found a nice pub, tho', a couple hundred yards up from Gourock Train Station ... but it was that good I can't remember its name ...  nologo.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 15 2008, 17:33) *
Found a nice pub, tho', a couple hundred yards up from Gourock Train Station ... but it was that good I can't remember its name ... nologo.gif

Hmm, up?
I'm gping to guess at it being Kempock Street then perhaps Cleats' or the Kempock Bar (or Cafe Continental laugh.gif )
I'm just listing the pubs I know there rather than actual good ones though... rolleyes.gif
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 15 2008, 17:27) *
I drove thro' Greenyuck a coupla months ago.  And kept driving ... puke.gif yucky.gif The only good thing about it is Chic Murray used to live there ...

The next time, remind yourself not to steer on Cloch road. rolleyes.gif

Dublinjag
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 15 2008, 17:39) *
Hmm, up?
I'm gping to guess at it being Kempock Street then perhaps Cleats' or the Kempock Bar (or Cafe Continental laugh.gif )
I'm just listing the pubs I know there rather than actual good ones though... rolleyes.gif

Ah yes, the Cafe Continental ... friendly locals, some nice burds ... and a decent enough pint of nologo.gif I'll be in there on Dec 6 before the Morton Thistle game ...
vikingTON
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 15 2008, 17:44) *
Ah yes, the Cafe Continental ... friendly locals, some nice burds ... and a decent enough pint of nologo.gif I'll be in there on Dec 6 before the Morton Thistle game ...

I would say likewise, but nah... tongue.gif
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 15 2008, 17:44) *

Stay away from all the decent pubs on my birthday. wink.gif
Dublinjag
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Sep 15 2008, 17:49) *

Yeah, sure.  Will do.    beerchug.gif Life's too short to hang around trying to win friends and influence people ... nologo.gif ...
billyg
Let me cite two examples - having to rely on Charlie Adams cheating to handle balls into the net to secure three points, and having to rely on referees like Rangers Mike to turn a blind eye to such antics.

My how you've changed your stance , on the evening following that match you were foaming at the mouth blaming the "Asian Linesman" for not drawing McCurry's attention to the supposed hand ball ! Remember ? wink.gif

port-ton
We've brought a shitness to this league that none of you could have imagined. We keep your team in this league, so therefore we have brought much more to the league than the Skunks!
Dublinjag
QUOTE (port-ton @ Sep 15 2008, 18:43) *
We've brought a shitness to this league that none of you could have imagined. We keep your team in this league, so therefore we have brought much more to the league than the Skunks!

Bordering on incomprehensible, incoherent gibberish ... nologo.gif ... looks as if you've been smoking the stuff ...
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 15 2008, 18:45) *
Bordering on incomprehensible, incoherent gibberish ... nologo.gif ... looks as if you've been smoking the stuff ...

105 posts after you started, you've finally noticed. smile.gif
Dublinjag
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Sep 15 2008, 18:46) *
105 posts after you started, you've finally noticed. smile.gif

Very funny, granny!  Keep up the good work ... nologo.gif
Dr Koop
QUOTE (Ric @ Sep 15 2008, 16:13) *

Now, now Ric. You know what Wiki's like. rolleyes.gif
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 15 2008, 18:49) *
Very funny, granny!  Keep up the good work ... nologo.gif

k.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Sep 15 2008, 17:49) *

And Munn's Vaults pub in Maryhill would not be advised for certain kindsa Morton fans before the game on Saturday ...
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 15 2008, 18:57) *
And Munn's Vaults in Maryhill is not a good pub for certain kindsa Morton fans before the game on Saturday ...

Okay, thanks, thats smashing. Cheers.

nologo.gif nologo.gif beerchug.gif bootyshake.gif 1eye.gif nologo.gif beerchug.gif
David W
There is no doubt that St Mirren have been lucky - the least convincing winners of the league in a long time.

Not sure about that. They weren't pretty to watch but I think most people had them picked out as probable winners, although they didn't ultimately face much of a challenge. Gretna weren't impressive to watch and were undoubtedly less convincing than St Mirren given that they only won the league in the 93rd minute of the final game. Neither Hamilton or Dundee were particularly attractive last season and ended up being miles clear at the top. Dull teams always do well and that's why Dundee will probably win the league this year.
vikingTON
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 15 2008, 18:57) *
And Munn's Vaults pub in Maryhill would not be advised for certain kindsa Morton fans before the game on Saturday ...

Doesn't really refer to 'decent' in a Glasgow context does it?
Dublinjag
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Sep 15 2008, 18:58) *
Okay, thanks, thats smashing. Cheers.

nologo.gif nologo.gif beerchug.gif bootyshake.gif 1eye.gif nologo.gif beerchug.gif

Now we're getting somewhere. biggrin.gif  
Dublinjag
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 15 2008, 19:04) *
Doesn't really refer to 'decent' in a Glasgow context does it?

Not for the faint-hearted frae haufway doon the watter.   Although their Moonshine (spirit dregs, mainly banana rum and cheap voddy) is good value at 50p a nip ... rolleyes.gif
Muggy
QUOTE (David W @ Sep 15 2008, 19:03) *
Not sure about that. They weren't pretty to watch but I think most people had them picked out as probable winners, although they didn't ultimately face much of a challenge. Gretna weren't impressive to watch and were undoubtedly less convincing than St Mirren given that they only won the league in the 93rd minute of the final game. Neither Hamilton or Dundee were particularly attractive last season and ended up being miles clear at the top. Dull teams always do well and that's why Dundee will probably win the league this year.

It's true, Dundee don't play particularly attactive football, but watching Saturdays game against Dunfermline, I would objectively say that it's the best football I've watched this season. But yes, we rely on a strong foundation with experience all through the middle. Alex Rae insisted Hamilton won the league because they had experience in the key areas, and I think we have that now. I think teams will struggle to break us down, and that will be our key.
Fast_Action
QUOTE (billyg @ Sep 15 2008, 18:35) *
My how you've changed your stance , on the evening following that match you were foaming at the mouth blaming the "Asian Linesman" for not drawing McCurry's attention to the supposed hand ball ! Remember ? wink.gif

I never once referred to the Linesman as being "Asian". That was another Clyde fan, who I believe was subsequently banned.

The fact remains that on both occasions at Broadwood that season, you were mince and stole the points.
billyg
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Sep 16 2008, 10:15) *
I never once referred to the Linesman as being "Asian". That was another Clyde fan, who I believe was subsequently banned.

The fact remains that on both occasions at Broadwood that season, you were mince and stole the points.

We beat Clyde four times that season and we were mince ? smile.gif huh.gif