Full Version: Celtic-aalborg
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Scots in Europe
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Top Cat
QUOTE (Seaborn @ Sep 17 2008, 21:57) *
Can't you answer the question? rolleyes.gif

Can't you? laugh.gif
4 months ago we played in a European Final. We'll be back in next year. Will you?? laugh.gif laugh.gif
seamus
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Sep 17 2008, 21:49) *
Our worst home performance in European competition since a 0-0 with Pat Dolan's plucky St. Patrick's Athletic in 1998. Prior to that it was when PSG wiped the floor with us in 1995. And at least on those occasions we had a few shots and stuff, this time we only produced anything at all once Aiden came on.

Credit to 'BK Alboorg' or whatever they're called, but Strachan must surely carry the can for this piece of nonsense.

OFFS stop acting like a pantomine donkey so you can create attention to yourself.

The group is still wide open and in some ways if we dont qualify for the Uefa it will provide us with more time to beat the Huns in the league.

I would rather have four in a row than the last 16.
Butterfield
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 17 2008, 22:00) *
Can't you? laugh.gif
4 months ago we played in a European Final. We'll be back in next year. Will you?? laugh.gif laugh.gif

I didn't ask when you last played in a Final, or when you'll be back. 1eye.gif
Top Cat
QUOTE (Seaborn @ Sep 17 2008, 22:03) *
I didn't ask when you last played in a Final, or when you'll be back. 1eye.gif

You didn't answer my question either! rolleyes.gif
At least we've been there a few times, know what a mean! wink.gif laugh.gif
Butterfield
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 17 2008, 22:06) *
You didn't answer my question either! rolleyes.gif
At least we've been there a few times, know what a mean! wink.gif laugh.gif

I'll answer your question, after you answer mine, you thick fucker!
Top Cat
QUOTE (Seaborn @ Sep 17 2008, 22:07) *
I'll answer your question, after you answer mine, you thick fucker!

A Gers fan gloating at the dhims, who would have thought it! rolleyes.gif There's my answer, put the rest together thicko and you'll find the obvious! huh.gif

Now, tell me your answer tae my question?? laugh.gif laugh.gif
keithgy
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 17 2008, 22:10) *
A Gers fan gloating at the dhims, who would have thought it! rolleyes.gif There's my answer, put the rest together thicko and you'll find the obvious! huh.gif

Can you answer me this simple question,Which of your 3 P&B accounts are you going to use tomorrow?
shaft
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Sep 17 2008, 21:49) *
Our worst home performance in European competition since a 0-0 with Pat Dolan's plucky St. Patrick's Athletic in 1998. Prior to that it was when PSG wiped the floor with us in 1995. And at least on those occasions we had a few shots and stuff, this time we only produced anything at all once Aiden came on.

Credit to 'BK Alboorg' or whatever they're called, but Strachan must surely carry the can for this piece of nonsense.

What game did you watch the wee laddie did f**k all!!
Why is it that celtic only ever look like they might find the net when its 0-0 with ten mins to go??
They were dire and the danish will get pumped off all mind they will pick up 4 points which will be more than this dreadful celtic team.
Butterfield
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 17 2008, 22:10) *

You still haven't answered the question. You're obviously a moron, so carry on gloating. laugh.gif
IXI THE ONE IXI
Thought Nakamura looked to be onside for the disallowed goal, the penalty was poor as well, although I'd fancy Celtic doing that mob away from home.
Top Cat
QUOTE (Seaborn @ Sep 17 2008, 22:12) *
You still haven't answered the question. You're obviously a moron, so carry on gloating. laugh.gif

rolleyes.gif

I don't need yer permission tae gloat and I answered yer question cause yer too thick tae work it out. I'm still waiting on yer answer though or are ye fecked for an answer!! laugh.gif laugh.gif
Batistuta_g_2000
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 15 2008, 11:02) *
A must win game for us on Wednesday vs Aalborg. We have to start with Crosas who would partner Brown for me in the middle. McGeady out on the right and Robson the left. Maloney and Samaras up front.

Don't know too much about our opponensts but they lost 2-0 at home on Saturday and are only two points ahead of the team QOS played - FC Nordsjælland having played a game more.

Samaras is dirt!, how many chances did he have? we're boned, we needed a win or at least for utdscum or villareal to get a result, will be very tough now.....Naks played a blinder though, I love that gook, in fact I love all gooks! Mcgeady didnt even start, WTF...................................
Top Cat
QUOTE (Seaborn @ Sep 17 2008, 22:12) *

QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 17 2008, 22:15) *
rolleyes.gif

I don't need yer permission tae gloat and I answered yer question cause yer too thick tae work it out. I'm still waiting on yer answer though or are ye fecked for an answer!! laugh.gif laugh.gif

Still waiting Falkirk bhoy! laugh.gif
Butterfield
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 17 2008, 22:24) *
Still waiting Falkirk bhoy! laugh.gif

You haven't answered my question at all, which was, in simple English, since you're so stupid that that's the way it has to be,

Where do you think it all went wrong with your club when they didn't get in to Europe 'proper'?
Top Cat
QUOTE (Seaborn @ Sep 17 2008, 22:26) *
You haven't answered my question at all, which was, in simple English, since you're so stupid that that's the way it has to be,

Where do you think it all went wrong with your club when they didn't get in to Europe 'proper'?

huh.gif Oh yer interested. I read you wrong then, well let's see now, we played shite and deserved tae go out imo cause we underestimated Kaunus and we overestimated that some of our players that night were good enough! tongue.gif

Now let's go on tae yer answer? laugh.gif
ICTChris
The referee sent off the wrong player? ohmy.gif Saw that in the Highland League once but the Champions League? laugh.gif
Colin M
Two poor sides really, next to no quality on the pitch other than a few flashes from Nakamura.
Butterfield
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 17 2008, 22:33) *
huh.gif Oh yer interested. I read you wrong then, well let's see now, we played shite and deserved tae go out imo cause we underestimated Kaunus and we overestimated that some of our players that night were good enough! tongue.gif

Now let's go on tae yer answer? laugh.gif

It only took around five attempts! laugh.gif

To answer your question, Falkirk have never been in European competition.
Top Cat
QUOTE (Seaborn @ Sep 17 2008, 22:35) *
To answer your question, Falkirk have never been in European competition.

No, I know they haven't.
I'm glad yer taking an interested in the Gers though and our travels in tae Europe. Are you thinking of changing yer allegience?? tongue.gif
Frank Booth
Did anyone else notice that the font on the back of the Sellick shirts was the exact same one Ladybird Books use in their "easy reader" series?
Butterfield
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 17 2008, 22:39) *
No, I know they haven't.
I'm glad yer taking an interested in the Gers though and our travels in tae Europe. Are you thinking of changing yer allegience?? tongue.gif

I don't know what an allegience is.
Supras
QUOTE (Colin M @ Sep 17 2008, 22:34) *
Two poor sides really, next to no quality on the pitch other than a few flashes from Nakamura.

Should have watched Villarreal-Manchester United, two exciting teams, bulging with world class players, rather than this pradictably mundane clash between two poor sides.
No8.
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 17 2008, 17:07) *
Ah Celtic are easy money tonight, as much as I like to see them lose, I can't turn my nose up at free bookies money wink.gif

Sorry but i have to laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Beyemystic
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Sep 17 2008, 21:52) *
Where do you think it all went wrong for yer team tonight?? rolleyes.gif

No complaints, just a lack of quality.

Much as I hate to single out individuals, even apart from the penalty failure Robson was again visibly out of his depth. After about 10 minutes we had a corner down the right which Barry weakly hit along the ground to the first defender, then when it came back out to him he made sure he touched it so the throw went the other way.

It's maybe a glib supporters' cliche but "my granny could have done better" was never more appropriate.

Then after 20 minues he needlessly hacked down a plodding Scandinavian on the edge of our area, surrendering cheaply a dangerous free kick. The guy is a liability and should be binned forthwith.

QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 17 2008, 22:02) *
OFFS stop acting like a pantomine donkey so you can create attention to yourself.

The group is still wide open and in some ways if we dont qualify for the Uefa it will provide us with more time to beat the Huns in the league.

I would rather have four in a row than the last 16.

Get a grip Seamus, we were rotten. We are rotten.

QUOTE (shaft @ Sep 17 2008, 22:12) *
What game did you watch the wee laddie did f**k all!!
Why is it that celtic only ever look like they might find the net when its 0-0 with ten mins to go??

You mean when it was 10 mins to go and Aiden was on the pitch?

QUOTE (shaft @ Sep 17 2008, 22:12) *
They were dire and the danish will get pumped off all mind they will pick up 4 points which will be more than this dreadful celtic team.

Sadly you're more than likely correct.

If I were Wearethepeople I'd be looking to cover my losses by sticking big money on Celtic's opponents in the away matches.
bairnagain
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Sep 17 2008, 22:51) *
a plodding Scandinavian

You are a total an utter arsehole. You weren't even there tonight.
castlekeeper
you can taste the jealousy on this page celtic are in europe rangers aren't and the team that drew with celtic beat theteam that knocked out rangers. there are no we diddy teams left in the competition so the rangers fans will just need to sit at home and watch and learn how to behave when watching your team play in europe and manchester.
seamus
Beyemystic is acting like an alias. huh.gif
Diamonds are Forever
Celtic have nothing in centre midfield. Robson and Brown are hopelessly out of their depth. Maloney needs to learn that once he's beaten a man he needs to put the ball in the box, not go back and try and repeatedly beat him until he loses it.
Frank Booth
QUOTE (seamus @ Sep 17 2008, 22:56) *
Beyemystic is acting like a cunt as usual

Fixed it for you.
LordHawHaw

We could and should have won that game, entirely our own fault, the chances we created we should have taken one, my target for this section was always the Uefa place, anything else would be a bonus, however this result must put us under pressure for even that place. I said the result would be dependent on which Celtic team turned up, or more to the point which team Strachan put out.

I'm only going to mention Caldwell, he was excellent tonight, and congratulations to Aalborg, their fans had a ball as they deserved to.

Roll on Livingston

Strachan must die biggrin.gif
Frank Booth
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 17 2008, 23:06) *
Strachan must die biggrin.gif

In his sleep by a bullet from the IRA? rolleyes.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Sep 17 2008, 23:09) *
In his sleep by a bullet from the IRA? rolleyes.gif

Do you think teh IRA would be interested?
Frank Booth
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 17 2008, 23:10) *
Do you think teh IRA would be interested?

Neh
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Sep 17 2008, 23:11) *
Neh

Even for a lot of money?
Frank Booth
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 17 2008, 23:13) *
Even for a lot of money?

Was that ever their motive?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Sep 17 2008, 23:15) *
Was that ever their motive?

So I'll need to hand back the collection sad.gif
Beyemystic
QUOTE (Diamonds are Forever @ Sep 17 2008, 22:57) *
Celtic have nothing in centre midfield. Robson and Brown are hopelessly out of their depth. Maloney needs to learn that once he's beaten a man he needs to put the ball in the box, not go back and try and repeatedly beat him until he loses it.

You are right about Maloney but he's still one of our better players. Its partly because he's usually stuck out on the left so he has to check back on himself in order to cross/shoot etc. Even Aiden suffers from this scenario.

With Brown its the same sort of problem: he is clearly being played out of position. His game is all about trying to burst past opponents, ambitious passes etc. but what use is that when he's patrolling Lenny's old stomping ground in his own half? Playing so deep his inability to tackle properly becomes a liability.

Chesney froze out Gravesen and Jarosik for having the temerity to play to their strengths down the business end of the pitch. In contrast Brown has won favour by being 'disciplined' but what limited talent he has is being totally squandered.
Beyemystic
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 17 2008, 23:06) *
We could and should have won that game, entirely our own fault, the chances we created we should have taken one, my target for this section was always the Uefa place, anything else would be a bonus, however this result must put us under pressure for even that place. I said the result would be dependent on which Celtic team turned up, or more to the point which team Strachan put out.

Don't remember all that many unsure.gif
RoswellSaint
Was quite shocking tonight and a petition has started online to present to the board.

Complaints and signatures are also being sent to the media to get the campaign rolling as high profile as possible.

If you want to sign this Pettytition
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Sep 17 2008, 23:16) *
You are right about Maloney but he's still one of our better players. Its partly because he's usually stuck out on the left so he has to check back on himself in order to cross/shoot etc. Even Aiden suffers from this scenario.

With Brown its the same sort of problem: he is clearly being played out of position. His game is all about trying to burst past opponents, ambitious passes etc. but what use is that when he's patrolling Lenny's old stomping ground in his own half? Playing so deep his inability to tackle properly becomes a liability.

Chesney froze out Gravesen and Jarosik for having the temerity to play to their strengths down the business end of the pitch. In contrast Brown has won favour by being 'disciplined' but what limited talent he has is being totally squandered.

Brown should never be played in midfield , he's a liability, regardless of whether he's too deep or not, he was shocking tonight, not just him some of the play was just not up to the standard we should be expecting from our players, and this is consistantly not up to standard.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Sep 17 2008, 23:20) *
Don't remember all that many unsure.gif

Ok, I'll give you that, maybe not clear cut chances, we had the better players on that field with the worse tactics
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (castlekeeper @ Sep 17 2008, 22:55) *
you can taste the jealousy on this page celtic are in europe rangers aren't and the team that drew with celtic beat theteam that knocked out rangers. there are no we diddy teams left in the competition so the rangers fans will just need to sit at home and watch and learn how to behave when watching your team play in europe and manchester.

I love it how fans of teams not even in the SPL can comment on the OF in Europe, whereas the teams they support will never get a sniff at a European competition.

Celtic, on the show tonight, are lucky to be in the CL, and if they were to play like they did tonight in a 2 legged KO game, I'd fancy them to be put out as well.

The thing is though, the OF will be in Europe next year, can we say that for the other sides in the SPL nevermind outwith?

Now OF fans can wind each other up, as we will be back in Europe, and chances are, we will make a decent impact the following season.

Chances are, any diddy sides in Europe are going to be pamped out at the first hurdle by some unknown side (sometimes a half decent side, but usually unknown) year in, year out.

Aberdeen have been the 1 exception in countless years.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 17 2008, 23:27) *
Celtic, on the show tonight, are lucky to be in the CL, and if they were to play like they did tonight in a 2 legged KO game, I'd fancy them to be put out as well.

Gies peace biggrin.gif we deserve to be there, as do Aalborg, who also deserved the draw.
Frank Booth
QUOTE (WeAreThePeople @ Sep 17 2008, 23:27) *
I love it how fans of teams not even in the SPL can comment on the OF in Europe, whereas the teams they support will never get a sniff at a European competition.

Have you ever commented on the worthyness or otherwise of an actor even though you'll never appear in a film?

Ever commented on how good or bad a meal is even though you'll never work as a chef in a restaurant?

Twat.
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Sep 17 2008, 23:35) *
Have you ever commented on the worthyness or otherwise of an actor even though you'll never appear in a film?

Ever commented on how good or bad a meal is even though you'll never work as a chef in a restaurant?

Twat.

I'm actually quite a good cook wink.gif

And I don't comment on Actors, just wither IMO the film is good or not.
zenith st.petersburg
Maloney should have started up front with Samaras . That would have given McGeady a start and Hartley in place of Brown who shows no signs of improving.
Brown looks increasingly out of his depth imo.
Reynard
My mate came round to watch that game tonight. I thought Celtic didn't really deliver one decent ball into the box all night. They had virtually all the play but lacked a killer pass. Samaras is dire. McDonald isn't effective alongside Samaras, mainly because Samaras is not very good.

Naylor had an utter 'mare. Celtic should still have won the game. Robson took another shit penalty and there was f**k all wrong with the offside goal. I think Celtic will beat them over there anyway, Aalborg are not that great.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Sep 17 2008, 23:47) *
Maloney should have started up front with Samaras . That would have given McGeady a start and Hartley in place of Brown who shows no signs of improving.

There were some worse performances that Brown tonight IMO....I'd have went with Crosas in the middle, be interesting to see how we set up v Livi, lets bring in some hope in the form of Caddis, Crosas, o'dea...was Brown's goal offside?
khenny
QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Sep 17 2008, 23:47) *

I can't agree with the idea that Brown is out of his depth. He did no better or no worse than most on the park last night. I thought Robson should have given over penalty duties to Maloney as the wee man always tends to hit top corners with his spot kicks.

If you look at the number of attempts on goal then I'm sure there are many positives you can take from the game. Strachan can't be held responsible for Robson missing a penalty, or the asst ref missing a perfectly good goal by flagging for offside.

I believe we are playing well enough at the moment to take this team away from home and therefore get back on track where 2 home victories will be enough to progress.

Would still like to see Caddis blooded for the next round of matches as Hinkel is struggling.
H_B
Didn't think Celtic were all that bad last night.

McGeady should have started instead of Maloney though. That was an error from Strachan. I'd also have started Crosas instead of Brown.

Scott McDonald isn't good enough either. He should be nowhere near the CL.