Full Version: Celtic-aalborg
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Scots in Europe
Pages: 1, 2, 3
H_B
QUOTE (bairnagain @ Sep 17 2008, 22:54) *
You are a total an utter arsehole. You weren't even there tonight.

He isn't old enough to go to games on his own.
shaft
why does the ugliest man in scottish football take the pens when they have 2 set piece specialists in the team?Surely maloney or naka would be a better option.Mcgready was on for final 12 min....what the f**k did he do?Nothing,the most overated player in football.Watching last night makes me even more sure that it is Strachan who is out of his depth and has got thro the last 2 yrs due to luck and being the best of 3 shit teams in a group of 4.2 points max will be the sweep from the matches.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 18 2008, 09:10) *
Scott McDonald isn't good enough either. He should be nowhere near the CL.

Honestly he played like a guy from teh stands and perhaps more worrying, looked like a guy that came out of the stands, right down to having had more than a few pints before the game biggrin.gif
H_B
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Sep 18 2008, 10:12) *
Honestly he played like a guy from teh stands and perhaps more worrying, looked like a guy that came out of the stands, right down to having had more than a few pints before the game biggrin.gif

He has that really irritating sneer as well when being subbed. He should have been hanging his head in shame coming off.

It's been quite interesting to see Anorthosis, Cluj and Aalborg (probably the three teams everyone wanted from Pot 4) getting good away results.
SaltyTON
I usually watch the Celtic games in the CL for some Scottish reason, still trying to remember why after that game last night, and they were so bad I turned over to watch a Nicolas Cage film (turned out to be quite good, in spite of his him).

I can see why they are moaning, but it was just one game, big woop you were pish last night, but you should have won it and would have if Robson hadn't hit a bloody awful penalty. I still expect them to go through, although whether to the last 16 or to the UEFA cup who knows! Maybe they will learn this simple fact.

Maloney can't fucking start, he is an impact substitute, nothing more.

Oh, that and Hinkel and Naylor are shite, but everybody knew that already! laugh.gif
khenny
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Sep 17 2008, 23:16) *
You are right about Maloney but he's still one of our better players. Its partly because he's usually stuck out on the left so he has to check back on himself in order to cross/shoot etc. Even Aiden suffers from this scenario.

With Brown its the same sort of problem: he is clearly being played out of position. His game is all about trying to burst past opponents, ambitious passes etc. but what use is that when he's patrolling Lenny's old stomping ground in his own half? Playing so deep his inability to tackle properly becomes a liability.

Chesney froze out Gravesen and Jarosik for having the temerity to play to their strengths down the business end of the pitch. In contrast Brown has won favour by being 'disciplined' but what limited talent he has is being totally squandered.

Are you completely out of your tiny little mind??? Aiden McGeady invented that feckin scenario. He constantly loses possession and gets caught on the ball while trying to beat the same guy for the 3rd or 4th time!! He is still woefully short of delivering consistantly half decent performances and yet still gets given rapturous applause from a not insignificant amount of the ever forgiving of all things Irish support!

When we lost Maloney in the Jan transfer window I was gutted as it was clear he was (and still is IMHO) much better than McGeady. Don't get me wrong there is neither of them setting the heather on fire at present but I'll take Maloney over McGeady every day of the week and twice on Sundays!!

McGeady has delivered very occassionally and usually against much lesser opposition. The only exception being when he played well against Barcelona when we were beaten 3-2.

As for your second bit of inane drivel about Strachan ruining the geniuses of Graveson and Jarosik (which is basically what you are saying) because they "played to their strengths". I'm sorry I just sharted from laughing so hard wub.gif .

You continue to make me laugh with yer anti Strachan stand and yer "McGeady is god cause he's Irish" p1sh. Please never stop posting yer constant stream of guff as it always brings a smile to my face. biggrin.gif
glasnost
Now, I am no mystic meg and nor is the guy who sits behind me but when Robson was about to take the penalty we both said at near enough the same time........”A bet he hits it doon the middle’.
khenny
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 12:32) *
Now, I am no mystic meg and nor is the guy who sits behind me but when Robson was about to take the penalty we both said at near enough the same time........"A bet he hits it doon the middle'.

You are 100% right about Robson and his spot kicks, I think he was lucky to get away with 2 of his last 3. Maloney tends to hit the postage stamps with his shots from 12 yards out, I would give the duties back to him.
ChampionsElect
Overall just a terrible performance.

No movement at all. Brown and Robson kept going backwards. Maloney, McManus,McDonald and the full backs were crap. The ful backs didn't overlap at all, offering nothing down the wings.

Samaras and Caldwell played well.

Goal was onside.

They came and played for a draw.

But it is our bad performance to blame.
celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 12:32) *
Now, I am no mystic meg and nor is the guy who sits behind me but when Robson was about to take the penalty we both said at near enough the same time........”A bet he hits it doon the middle’.

Yep all around me we agreed he would hit it down the middle wheather he scored or not was a different story, what robson doesn't get is if you hit it down the middle hit it about 2 yards of the ground and not along the ground where the keeper will leave his legs.

On another note gary caldwell for captain, he was tremendous last night, he was playing centre half, sweeper, right back, holding midfield player and playmaker as our midfield went awol again
glasnost
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Sep 18 2008, 15:37) *
Yep all around me we agreed he would hit it down the middle wheather he scored or not was a different story, what robson doesn't get is if you hit it down the middle hit it about 2 yards of the ground and not along the ground where the keeper will leave his legs.

On another note gary caldwell for captain, he was tremendous last night, he was playing centre half, sweeper, right back, holding midfield player and playmaker as our midfield went awol again

Normally I would laugh at suggestions to give Caldwell the armband but I might lend some support towards it as it might help push McManus closer to the stands on match day where he undoubtedly should be.
Maleybhoy
me and ma dad both said as soon the penatly was given that robson would hit it down the middle.

still shouldnt need a penalty to beat aalborg right enough.

i was pleasantly surprised with caldwell last night, ive never been a fan of him, but him and samaras looked like the only 2 on the park actually wanting to win the game.

we've made it even harder for ourselves now, you've got to expect villareal and man u to take 6 points from aalborg.
Stockholm Syndrome
Don't quite know where to start on last night's game, but here goes!

After this result, it has now become even more clear that we simply MUST get some points away from home this year, otherwise there's no chance of us going through.

I knew this game wasn't going to be easy, and so it proved. Aalborg probably surprised a few people with this efficient performance, but judging on that, it certainly won't be the only point they pick up in this group. I can actually see the next match day also ending in two draws, but we shall see!

Celtic weren't bad last night, but crucially, they just weren't very good. I was surprised to see Maloney instead of McGeady, and despite his heroics V Barcelona last season, Robson just didn't look cut out for the big occasion at all. I think he should be taken off penalty duties as well, as he constantly blasts them down the middle, relying entirely on luck, rather than somebody like Maloney or Nakamura who could easily tuck them away. Having said all that, the goalkeeper was two steps off his line, but you may as well give up on appealing for those, as despite being rules, they are NEVER applied.

Strachan's substitutions again have to come into question. Brown or Robson were much better options to take off than McDonald when McGeady game on, and then he only gave Maloney about 10 minutes up front before hauling him off too.

The red card incident, having seen in now on the TV, was farcical. At the game I was going mad at the guy to get off the pitch, and couldn't understand what took him so long. I don't think we'll be seeing that referee in European competitions for quite some time!

The best thing to happen last night was the Man Utd V Villarreal result. Effectively the group hasn't even started yet, and we will go into the Villarreal game more determined than ever to put an end to our pathetic away record.
glasnost
QUOTE (Stockholm Syndrome @ Sep 18 2008, 16:29) *
despite his heroics V Barcelona last season, Robson just didn't look cut out for the big occasion at all.

His heroics? He scored a goal. His performance overall was utterly woeful and he looked as out of his depth as I have ever seen from a Celtic midfielder.

QUOTE (Stockholm Syndrome @ Sep 18 2008, 16:29) *
The red card incident, having seen in now on the TV, was farcical. At the game I was going mad at the guy to get off the pitch, and couldn't understand what took him so long. I don't think we'll be seeing that referee in European competitions for quite some time!

Did the player who was guilty try to tell the referee?

Stockholm Syndrome
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 19:46) *
His heroics? He scored a goal. His performance overall was utterly woeful and he looked as out of his depth as I have ever seen from a Celtic midfielder.

Ok, perhaps heroics was a bit strong, but it was a truely incredible moment! Especially from where I was sat in the Jock Stein I thought it was just sailing over the bar. The realisation when it looped in and the celebrations were something special!

QUOTE (glasnost @ Sept 18 2008, 19:46 post=2785079) *
Did the player who was guilty try to tell the referee?

From what I've heard, the guy who got the red card told the ref he was wrong, but wouldn't say who was the guilty party. Rioch apparantly also told the linesman it was the wrong man, so the linesman replied "well who was it then?" laugh.gif
calum_gers
Their number 2? who committed the foul told the referee it was him, and the ref wouldnt believe him.
castlekeeper
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 18 2008, 21:26) *
Their number 2? who committed the foul told the referee it was him, and the ref wouldnt believe him.

i dont support any of the old firm but from a neutral point of view Boric played well ,i thought Naylor played all right also,Hinkel for a german internationalist didnt impose himself enough, Caldwell was man of the match for celtic,McManus distrobution poor i'd rather see Balde , Robson bit like a headless chicken at times gives away too many nigling fouls, Nakamura wasn't at the races, McDonald not good enough for the european stage,Samaras really good player but needs a quality striker along side him cant do everything on his own, Brown played out of position was exceptional in position in motherwell game,Maloney needs time to gel with new team mates, McGeady wast of space shoots when he should be passing and passes when he should be shooting also too gready tries tobeat too many players, Veniggoor not enough time to make an impact.

Strachan i like the guy but last night his tactics were poor why did he not approach it like the motherwell game where from a football point of view ,the passing and movement was sublime.
zenith st.petersburg
QUOTE (khenny @ Sep 18 2008, 08:09) *
I can't agree with the idea that Brown is out of his depth. He did no better or no worse than most on the park last night. I thought Robson should have given over penalty duties to Maloney as the wee man always tends to hit top corners with his spot kicks.

If you look at the number of attempts on goal then I'm sure there are many positives you can take from the game. Strachan can't be held responsible for Robson missing a penalty, or the asst ref missing a perfectly good goal by flagging for offside.

I believe we are playing well enough at the moment to take this team away from home and therefore get back on track where 2 home victories will be enough to progress.

Would still like to see Caddis blooded for the next round of matches as Hinkel is struggling.

I agree Brown was no worse than the rest on the night but he has consistently underachieved. IMO it's the Graveson scenario all over but Brown gets more slack cos he's young and Scottish?
Caddis is excellent and i have been saying for months he should be starting - Hinkel is another major dissapointment.
glasnost
QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Sep 19 2008, 07:21) *
I agree Brown was no worse than the rest on the night but he has consistently underachieved.
IMO it's the Graveson scenario all over but Brown gets more slack cos he's young and Scottish?

Graveson did no worse when he played with us than Brown. The latter gets more slack as you say which, when you conisder how much more he cost us, is quite strange.

QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Sep 19 2008, 07:21) *
Caddis is excellent and i have been saying for months he should be starting - Hinkel is another major dissapointment.

It's a bit too early to be saying he is excellent but certainly he has hrdly put a foot wrong when given the chance. I hope he gets his chance soon and that Strachan doesn't hold him back like he has done with O'Dea. If he doesn't, then I hope he moves on.
celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 19 2008, 09:37) *
Graveson did no worse when he played with us than Brown. The latter gets more slack as you say which, when you conisder how much more he cost us, is quite strange.

It's a bit too early to be saying he is excellent but certainly he has hrdly put a foot wrong when given the chance. I hope he gets his chance soon and that Strachan doesn't hold him back like he has done with O'Dea. If he doesn't, then I hope he moves on.

What is your love of Darren O'Dea all about? He is slow, can't jump and his distibution is awful, whenever he has played centre half i have not been impressed, he is actually a poor man's Mcmanus and mcmanus is pish
glasnost
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Sep 19 2008, 10:08) *
What is your love of Darren O'Dea all about? He is slow, can't jump and his distibution is awful, whenever he has played centre half i have not been impressed, he is actually a poor man's Mcmanus and mcmanus is pish

FFS, we have already discussed this at length not so long ago. Have you forgotten or what?

celtic_glasgow
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 19 2008, 10:09) *
FFS, we have already discussed this at length not so long ago. Have you forgotten or what?

Yeh but i still just don't get it, and note i didn't ask i simply stated he is pish, like the rest of our team
Disraeli
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 18 2008, 15:44) *
Normally I would laugh at suggestions to give Caldwell the armband but I might lend some support towards it as it might help push McManus closer to the stands on match day where he undoubtedly should be.

"Normally I would laugh at suggestions to give Caldwell the armband" - So would I laugh.gif .Seriously though, tell me you're confusing the term "armband" with "water wings".
Stockholm Syndrome
QUOTE (castlekeeper @ Sep 18 2008, 21:58) *
i dont support any of the old firm but from a neutral point of view Boric played well ,i thought Naylor played all right also,Hinkel for a german internationalist didnt impose himself enough, Caldwell was man of the match for celtic,McManus distrobution poor i'd rather see Balde , Robson bit like a headless chicken at times gives away too many nigling fouls, Nakamura wasn't at the races, McDonald not good enough for the european stage,Samaras really good player but needs a quality striker along side him cant do everything on his own, Brown played out of position was exceptional in position in motherwell game,Maloney needs time to gel with new team mates, McGeady wast of space shoots when he should be passing and passes when he should be shooting also too gready tries tobeat too many players, Veniggoor not enough time to make an impact.

And the longest sentence ever award goes to...

Had me gasping for breath after reading that! laugh.gif
glasnost
QUOTE (celtic_glasgow @ Sep 19 2008, 10:30) *
Yeh but i still just don't get it, and note i didn't ask i simply stated he is pish, like the rest of our team

I am certainly not suggesting he is any superstar, but he has certainly desereved to be treated better than he has. It's Strachans treatment of him that particularly irks me. I only hope that doesn't extend to the promising Caddis. You never know though, Strachan might pitch Caddis away to Man Utd or the huns at centre half!

Beyemystic
QUOTE (khenny @ Sep 18 2008, 12:23) *
Are you completely out of your tiny little mind??? Aiden McGeady invented that feckin scenario. He constantly loses possession and gets caught on the ball while trying to beat the same guy for the 3rd or 4th time!! He is still woefully short of delivering consistantly half decent performances and yet still gets given rapturous applause from a not insignificant amount of the ever forgiving of all things Irish support!

When we lost Maloney in the Jan transfer window I was gutted as it was clear he was (and still is IMHO) much better than McGeady. Don't get me wrong there is neither of them setting the heather on fire at present but I'll take Maloney over McGeady every day of the week and twice on Sundays!!

McGeady has delivered very occassionally and usually against much lesser opposition. The only exception being when he played well against Barcelona when we were beaten 3-2.

As for your second bit of inane drivel about Strachan ruining the geniuses of Graveson and Jarosik (which is basically what you are saying) because they "played to their strengths". I'm sorry I just sharted from laughing so hard wub.gif .

You continue to make me laugh with yer anti Strachan stand and yer "McGeady is god cause he's Irish" p1sh. Please never stop posting yer constant stream of guff as it always brings a smile to my face. biggrin.gif

Another post from Khenny with all the accuracy of a Barry Robson penalty wink.gif

The scenario I was talking about is Chesney playing right footed players on the left wing (be it McGeady, Maloney or Riordan) - which necessitates them checking back, cutting inside and mucking about when they should be hitting the byeline and banging in crosses.

We have the bizarre situation where the inept Lee Naylor generally provides the majority of crosses from that side, from deep positions, after the ball is rolled back to him by the frustrated 'left winger'.