Full Version: Ryder Cup 2008
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > All Other Sports
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
TheDoctor
Another Ryder Cup weekend coming up at the end of the week and Nick Faldo has his team ready to take on the Yanks over three days of action in Valhalla.

Can Faldo continue where Ian Woosnam and Sam Torrance have left things with the Ryder Cup in the cabinet? Will not picking the experience of Colin Montgomerie cost the Europeans the title? Will America suffer by not having the injured Tiger Woods at their disposal? Will there be a female streaker for a change at a major sporting event?

Let's hear your thoughts......
jupe1407
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Sep 15 2008, 09:17) *
Another Ryder Cup weekend coming up at the end of the week and Nick Faldo has his team ready to take on the Yanks over three days of action in Valhalla.

Can Faldo continue where Ian Woosnam and Sam Torrance have left things with the Ryder Cup in the cabinet? Will not picking the experience of Colin Montgomerie cost the Europeans the title? Will America suffer by not having the injured Tiger Woods at their disposal? Will there be a female streaker for a change at a major sporting event?

Let's hear your thoughts......

It's going to be a lot tighter than the previous two thrashing we've handed the yanks, however the US team looks weaker on paper than in the last few cups. Mind you, so is ours.

I didnt agree with Faldo picking Poulter, but i wouldnt have had Monty in his place. Definitely Darren Clarke.

Not having Woods might actually help the yanks, as his Ryder Cup record isnt anything like you'd expect from the worlds best golfer.

Ill go for a 2 point winning margin for Europe.
capybara
Going to be interesting, not sure if Faldo has the same spirit around the team. Seems kind of low key build up this time. Woods, dont think he will be missed that much his Ryder cup record aint that good.

What is the time difference anybody know?

H_B
Fancy Faldo to make a baws up of this. He is an arse.

the jambo-rocker
QUOTE (jupe1407 @ Sep 15 2008, 09:22) *
It's going to be a lot tighter than the previous two thrashing we've handed the yanks, however the US team looks weaker on paper than in the last few cups. Mind you, so is ours.

I didnt agree with Faldo picking Poulter, but i wouldnt have had Monty in his place. Definitely Darren Clarke.

Not having Woods might actually help the yanks, as his Ryder Cup record isnt anything like you'd expect from the worlds best golfer.

Ill go for a 2 point winning margin for Europe.

agree with almost everything except i think it will be seperated by the difference of a point to europe
capybara
Azinger has already started the war of words,he is "suggesting" that the Europeans will partake in gamesmanship.
KnightswoodBear
I fear that us being firm favourites this time will go against us. Faldo is a tit and his wildcard picks were a little strange. Clarke should've been in, and Monty did have a decent shout purely on his Ryder Cup form in the past.

The Yanks having no Tiger Woods will only help them imho, as he's not a teamplayer when it comes to the RC. I remember the year that he was famously paired with Mickelson on the opening pairs and the two of them didn't say a word to each other all day, then on the final day when the Europeans had won, he insisted on finishing his round and getting the point, when decency dictated that he should call it a half.

I fucking love the Ryder Cup biggrin.gif
dogma
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 15 2008, 10:13) *
Fancy Faldo to make a baws up of this. He is an arse.

Agree with this. Already looks like his ego has over ridden the need to build team spirit and picking Poulter is very divisive. Have a feeling that the rest of the team so right through the old pals act and would rather have had in form Clarke than Poulter. The Yanks have apparently got a better spirit this time round and I fancy they may nick this one off us.
H_B
QUOTE (dogma @ Sep 15 2008, 12:58) *
Agree with this. Already looks like his ego has over ridden the need to build team spirit and picking Poulter is very divisive. Have a feeling that the rest of the team so right through the old pals act and would rather have had in form Clarke than Poulter. The Yanks have apparently got a better spirit this time round and I fancy they may nick this one off us.

Yep, completely agree. Back to the days of Seve with the captain being more important than the team.

Last time out Woosnam made the right choices, and the criticism from Bjorn actually helped team morale if anything, as the rest rallied round him.

This time everyone knows Faldo has fucked up the wildcards by picking Poulter. Thing about that being, it shouldn't matter so much as an individual, but probably is more important as an upset to morale.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 15 2008, 13:21) *
This time everyone knows Faldo has fucked up the wildcards by picking Poulter. Thing about that being, it shouldn't matter so much as an individual, but probably is more important as an upset to morale.

Covered this on the previous thread but I really don't agree with that.

Faldo is an egotistical ass who is fairly likely to blow the whole thing I'd agree but for me Poulter was a very easy pick and this "Clarke is in form" because he happens to have won a tournament three or four weeks ago is just nonsense. Fact is Poulter of the three players in line for a wild card (or 4 including Monty) is the highest ranked of them and should have been the first one named. If Clarke was to get in it would have been over Casey rather than Poulter for me. "Form" is subjective depending on the time frame you want to use. Should Molinari have been in because he's the guy "in form" right this second?
Shengus Khan
Poulter was the right pick. He's higher in the world rankings and finished ahead of Clarke in both the European and World points list. Plus he's average finishing position over the course of the last 6 events is much higher than that of Clarke.

In my opinion Faldo made the correct picks.

I also heard on Golf Night yesterday that Azinger has instructed the green keepers at Valhalla to widen the fairways to help out his big hitters. Crazy decision. Barring Holmes and Mickelson the rest of them hit the ball like women. Garcia, Westwood, Casey, Stenson, Karlsson and even Harrington are going to have an absolute field day this week.
H_B
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Sep 15 2008, 13:27) *
If Clarke was to get in it would have been over Casey rather than Poulter for me. "Form" is subjective depending on the time frame you want to use. Should Molinari have been in because he's the guy "in form" right this second?

I think you have to pick the guy who you think will do the best job.
Oliver Wilson knew that he had to qualify to get in. Ross Fisher believed the same, quite rightly, though I actually think he'd have done quite well.

Given that they have no Foursomes/4balls world rankings, it gives you a chance to pick someone who you think will do you a job in that, who may not have a very high WR/OM ranking.

Obviously subjective but I think Clarke will get you far more points playing 5 matches than Poulter.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 15 2008, 13:46) *
I think you have to pick the guy who you think will do the best job.
Oliver Wilson knew that he had to qualify to get in. Ross Fisher believed the same, quite rightly, though I actually think he'd have done quite well.

Given that they have no Foursomes/4balls world rankings, it gives you a chance to pick someone who you think will do you a job in that, who may not have a very high WR/OM ranking.

Obviously subjective but I think Clarke will get you far more points playing 5 matches than Poulter.

That's fine. I respect that opinion and Clarke does have an excellent pairs record, although given European dominance in the pairs format over recent years, almost anyone to have played a few Ryder Cups does. His singles record is actually pretty poor.

However, my issue was really with the opinion dogma posted, and you completely agreed with, that Clarke should be in because he's more "in form" that Poulter. The world rankings would suggest otherwise.
H_B
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Sep 15 2008, 13:57) *
However, my issue was really with the opinion dogma posted, and you completely agreed with, that Clarke should be in because he's more "in form" that Poulter. The world rankings would suggest otherwise.

I didn't mean to agree with that, if I did. I'm not sure form plays a huge part in Ryder cups, unless you are woefully out of form (which has affected both teams in the past - guys getting in on performances the year before who have barely made a cut since).

I just worry that Poulter is going to be our Corey Pavin, and that Faldo is such an obstinate type that the criticism will just encourage him to pick Poulter for at least 4 of the 5 matches.
Stu
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Sep 15 2008, 11:48) *
The Yanks having no Tiger Woods will only help them imho, as he's not a teamplayer when it comes to the RC. I remember the year that he was famously paired with Mickelson on the opening pairs and the two of them didn't say a word to each other all day, then on the final day when the Europeans had won, he insisted on finishing his round and getting the point, when decency dictated that he should call it a half.

I agree Woods' absence will be of benefit to them. Don't see a problem with him finishing his game though. Now, for a real twat like that look at Chris di Marco at the last Ryder Cup. The match was all over, he was either level or one down to Westwood coming down the last, put it in the water at least once and still insisted on finishing the hole. Twat mad.gif His absence is also a blow as he's a p***k who would help with the whole Paul Casey "hate Americans" stance.

QUOTE (Shengus Khan @ Sep 15 2008, 13:35) *
I also heard on Golf Night yesterday that Azinger has instructed the green keepers at Valhalla to widen the fairways to help out his big hitters. Crazy decision. Barring Holmes and Mickelson the rest of them hit the ball like women. Garcia, Westwood, Casey, Stenson, Karlsson and even Harrington are going to have an absolute field day this week.

Faldo was asked about this just after he'd made his wildcards. His response was he fancied the European team to have more bombers, so fingers crossed it plays into our hands.

Some idiot at the press conference also asked Faldo if he was confident the team would produce another nine point win laugh.gif
Paco
Europe will lose because of the muppet that is Nick Faldo. The team spirit that has played such a big part in the last few victories simply won't be there with that egotistical maniac in charge.

I sincerely hope I wrong, but I think someone should remind Faldo that it's called The Ryder Cup, not The Faldo Cup. It's not all about him, it's about the players.

The USA seem to have finally twigged that morale is the key to success, and no Woods should be a good help as a result of that. With a number of 'newbies' I'd fancy the likes of Furyk and Mickleson to try and help them through, so I fancy them to nick it.

Hope I'm wrong. Should be enjoyable, no matter the outcome.
centralparker
QUOTE (Paco @ Sep 15 2008, 16:45) *
Europe will lose because of the muppet that is Nick Faldo. The team spirit that has played such a big part in the last few victories simply won't be there with that egotistical maniac in charge.

Faldo is a brilliant golfer but I don't think he's much of a motivator or communicator - key requirements for a captain in any team sport.
Shengus Khan

I think that's a little OTT. Faldo is, after all, the Ryder Cup's record point's scorer so he obviously knows something about team play. People said a couple of years back that Woosie would be a disaster and he turned out to be a fine captain.

If we're looking for idiotic captains then lets look no further than Mr Hal Sutton. Surely the most incompetent man ever given the job laugh.gif

Randall Graves

I sincerely hope I wrong, but I think someone should remind Faldo that it's called The Ryder Cup, not The Faldo Cup. It's not all about him, it's about the players.

The USA seem to have finally twigged that morale is the key to success, and no Woods should be a good help as a result of that. With a number of 'newbies' I'd fancy the likes of Furyk and Mickleson to try and help them through, so I fancy them to nick it.

6 Yanks compared to 4 Europeans making their debut, either team could either freeze or the fact that it is a new experience may make them fearless, should be interesting none the less.
H_B
QUOTE (Shengus Khan @ Sep 15 2008, 16:51) *
I think that's a little OTT. Faldo is, after all, the Ryder Cup's record point's scorer so he obviously knows something about team play.

Didn't Montgomerie or someone say that Seve was trying to line up putts for them when dotting about the course in that golf buggy?

I can't see Faldo being content to stay in the background, pick his teams then stay out of the way. I fancy him to get involved in the matches in some way.
Shengus Khan
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 15 2008, 16:54) *
Didn't Montgomerie or someone say that Seve was trying to line up putts for them when dotting about the course in that golf buggy?

I can't see Faldo being content to stay in the background, pick his teams then stay out of the way. I fancy him to get involved in the matches in some way.

Aye, that's right. I'd love to know Seve's mileage for that week. I think he could've circumnavigated the globe a couple of times over. He was absolutely everywhere.

I think Faldo will be content with picking the team and looking a bit smarmy. He's a relaxed looking guy whereas Seve was really uptight. Plus Faldo has better players in his side so i'm sure he'll trust them and let them make their own decisions.
doulikefish
yanks for me and i shall be having a small wager wink.gif
utdtillidie
I have a wee feeling the Yanks will be right up for this. I think Zinger has picked team players this year. Dont agree with Faldo's picks.

Right now im not too bothered who wins it, possibly due to no Scottish participation (1st time since 1934 or something) but i know as soon as the first chorus of U S A goes up i'll be right up for spanking those yankie doodle b@st@rds!!!!!!!!!!!
H_B
QUOTE (utdtillidie @ Sep 16 2008, 15:15) *
I have a wee feeling the Yanks will be right up for this. I think Zinger has picked team players this year.

Except for Hunter "the slave" Mahan presumably?
Taylorboy77
Guys, do any of you really know anything about golf ohmy.gif ?

For a fact, Faldo is a legend, infact a Ryder Cup legend and will be doing everything in his powers to ensure the current great run of ryder cup wins does not come to and end on his shift. wink.gif

How anyone can slate the man is joke. He has won 6 majors, record points holder for european player in ryder cups etc.

He will be a tremendous captain, mark my words.

Secondly, this american team are a bunch of nobodies who have hardly had any success in their careers. I for the life of me cannot see this american team (guided by a plank that is azinger) getting to 14.5 points. NO WAY NO CHANCE NOT EVER wink.gif .

I am already concerned that Azinger is trying to whip this crowd into a frenzy for Fridays start as I believe he knows that this will be the only way that the americans can win "ALA Brooklyn 1999" where the fans were cheating by kicking american balls into better lies and hiding Europeans balls (Coltart v Woods in single) etc.

Im predicting 18 points again to europe and the following to start on Friday AM

Garcia & Westwood
Karlsson & Stenson
Harrington & McDowell
Rose & Poulter
Taylorboy77
QUOTE (centralparker @ Sep 15 2008, 16:47) *
Faldo is a brilliant golfer but I don't think he's much of a motivator or communicator - key requirements for a captain in any team sport.

Every single player in our team grew up watching him, Olly, Seve etc start whooping the yanks and winning majors.

Faldo will have this team eating out his hand and busting their ass off to destroy the yanks by the record margin.

Faldo is a winner. End of story.
Taylorboy77

Mickleson cannae get himself through any pressure situations, never mind try and guide a rookie laugh.gif
H_B
QUOTE (Taylorboy77 @ Sep 16 2008, 15:27) *
How anyone can slate the man is joke. He has won 6 majors, record points holder for european player in ryder cups etc.

He will be a tremendous captain, mark my words.

Big deal.

Jack Nicklaus is the second greatest golfer of all time and he was beaten by Tony Jacklin's side.

He's not going to go down and hole a putt. It is far more important that as captain he is well liked. Faldo is not well liked amongst the current pros - that is no secret.
Taylorboy77
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 15:35) *
Big deal.

Jack Nicklaus is the second greatest golfer of all time and he was beaten by Tony Jacklin's side.

He's not going to go down and hole a putt. It is far more important that as captain he is well liked. Faldo is not well liked amongst the current pros - that is no secret.

not being funny but how do you know what the current team member think of him??
I think you will be shocked that how many actually like and RESPECT him.
This faldo bashing is a joke and its so easy for everyone to jump on the bandwagon IMO.

Would there be as much hulabalo if he picked Clarke instead of Poulter??? wink.gif
H_B
QUOTE (Taylorboy77 @ Sep 16 2008, 15:45) *
not being funny but how do you know what the current team member think of him??
I think you will be shocked that how many actually like and RESPECT him.

You don't see the contradiction in this question and statement?
Taylorboy77
Yet another thing that pisses me off about the whole slag faldo off thing, why does none of the press/reporters mention about the fact he has taken young Kaymer along for the week for experience etc??

A tremendous touch from Faldo to take a young guy who would have made the team bar the fact his mother passed away in the summer and forced him to miss some massive ranking tournaments.
Stu
So the genius has been caught out and revealed to the world who the pairings will be on Friday. Well done him dry.gif

Although part of me does wonder if the whole thing is a bluff and he'll be going with completely different pairings.
Taylorboy77
QUOTE (Stu @ Sep 18 2008, 12:39) *
So the genius has been caught out and revealed to the world who the pairings will be on Friday. Well done him dry.gif

Although part of me does wonder if the whole thing is a bluff and he'll be going with completely different pairings.

According to Faldo the pairings on the paper were for todays pratice. He openly admitted that.

I think he is at the capers with these interviews etc as it is takin the pressure of the thing that matters the most IE the 12 players. Every single article you read or see is all about Faldo this, Faldo that.
I have seen very little coverage on how the players are shaping up in practice etc.

I think its a cunning plan from Captain Fantastic Faldo. wink.gif
KnightswoodBear
I am almost aroused with excitement today
Taylorboy77
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Sep 18 2008, 12:55) *
I am almost aroused with excitement today

Know the feeling only too well Bear, I am positively moist with excitement wink.gif

Tonight cannot come quick enough so we can see once and for all who is up against who 2morrow morning cool.gif

Once the first 4 games are announced, we know its only hours till the best sporting event hits the screens.
dogma
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Sep 15 2008, 13:27) *
Covered this on the previous thread but I really don't agree with that.

Faldo is an egotistical ass who is fairly likely to blow the whole thing I'd agree but for me Poulter was a very easy pick and this "Clarke is in form" because he happens to have won a tournament three or four weeks ago is just nonsense. Fact is Poulter of the three players in line for a wild card (or 4 including Monty) is the highest ranked of them and should have been the first one named. If Clarke was to get in it would have been over Casey rather than Poulter for me. "Form" is subjective depending on the time frame you want to use. Should Molinari have been in because he's the guy "in form" right this second?

I see your logic in that but every year the Americans man for man outrank Europe and that hasnt worked too well from them recently. The way that Poulter didnt bother to play in the last ranking tourney suggests ( rightly or wrongly ) that he knew in advance that he would be picked and there is every chance that this could rile some members of the team. Clarke performs well in Ryder Cup and is a hugely popular member of the team and the APPEARANCE that Faldo may have given his mate preferential treatment is more significant that who actually is picked. My pick would have been Clarke as he has been in good form in the run up and has performed well at prev Ryder Cups.

FWIW I think the US team having so many rookies and no Woods could really help them. Suspect this could be a really close one
H_B
QUOTE (Stu @ Sep 18 2008, 12:39) *

No no.

They were the sandwich pairings. Faldo really is a dick.

Why did he have to write them down anyway? Does he have the memory of a goldfish?
dubs
Is it just me or do the media seem to be hoping that Europe lose this so they can absolutely rip Faldo to shreds?
Taylorboy77
QUOTE (dubs @ Sep 18 2008, 13:02) *
Is it just me or do the media seem to be hoping that Europe lose this so they can absolutely rip Faldo to shreds?

Yes, its amazing how many folk are ripping the guy to shreds.

The same folk will be hailing him and his team come sunday night when they have spanked them once again rolleyes.gif

British Press are a shower of wankers. Should be backing the TEAM (including captain) to the hilt.
dubs
I'm not saying he doesn't deserve it likes, this charade with the pairings is an absolute embarrasment - but it just seems to me that some would prefer us to lose because they don't like Faldo.
H_B
QUOTE (Taylorboy77 @ Sep 18 2008, 13:08) *
British Press are a shower of wankers. Should be backing the TEAM (including captain) to the hilt.

Why?

They aren't supporters, they are journalists.
Taylorboy77
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 18 2008, 13:12) *
Why?

They aren't supporters, they are journalists.

A shower of w****r for only presenting half the story. If they are going to be "journalists" surely they should paint the full picture and not only the bits they want to??

I sat and watched the whole interview live last night when this happened and he was taking the piss faldo from all these "journalists" asking the most stupid questions.

yet, in the press today its all about the early part of the interview regarding lists etc but if you seen the whole thing he eventually explained that the list was his pairing for todays morning practice etc.

He also then went on about well the rookies have fitted in etc etc but none of that is posted.
They are wankers, end of.... tongue.gif
H_B
QUOTE (Taylorboy77 @ Sep 18 2008, 13:19) *
but if you seen the whole thing he eventually explained that the list was his pairing for todays morning practice etc.

Yes, after embarrassing himself completely with some half arsed sandwich nonsense, insulting the intelligence of all present and watching.
Taylorboy77
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 18 2008, 13:21) *
Yes, after embarrassing himself completely with some half arsed sandwich nonsense, insulting the intelligence of all present and watching.

feck me - seriously, did you see the actual interview or are you just reading it fae the papers like everyone else??

christ, when he said it, he had a big feck off smirk on his puss clearly indicating it was a joke when he went on about the sandwich order laugh.gif .

incredible, it really is, that so many of this population are so gulable and unable to form an opinion about someone on their own. Its so easy to jump on the bandwagon. rolleyes.gif

think most in the audience were actually insulting this great golfing legend with some of their stupid questions and trying to trip him up into giving out pairings for friday etc.

The whole thing has worked perfectly for Faldo IMO in that all the talk is about him and it lets the players get on without any hassle etc. Nice one Nick. B)
H_B
QUOTE (Taylorboy77 @ Sep 18 2008, 13:29) *
think most in the audience were actually insulting this great golfing legend with some of their stupid questions and trying to trip him up into giving out pairings for friday etc.

Yes, it is shocking that his pairings would be handed out early. It's fortunate no one was able to trip him up here.
Taylorboy77
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 18 2008, 13:31) *
Yes, it is shocking that his pairings would be handed out early. It's fortunate no one was able to trip him up here.

yes, that makes alot sense??? WTF?

Seriously, Faldo has got this circus gonig just the way he wants it to go. All the focus away from the team.
H_B
QUOTE (Taylorboy77 @ Sep 18 2008, 13:34) *
Seriously, Faldo has got this circus gonig just the way he wants it to go. All the focus away from the team.

On that we agree. Prepare for more of the same over the weekend.
Taylorboy77
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 18 2008, 13:35) *
On that we agree. Prepare for more of the same over the weekend.

dont care as it will allow the team to gou out and horse this pishy american team. wink.gif
Pedro_C
As someone who loves his sports, and to be honest golf not being of one of my favourites, I have to say that I'm a little bit bit worried with Faldo being in charge. I do love the Ryder Cup though. it's just one of those tournaments that you can't help but take your eyes off. Howvever I have a bad feeling they have the wrong person in charge. Great golfer without a doubt but as a captain I''m not convinced. Hope i'm proved wrong though.
Taylorboy77
QUOTE (Pedro_C @ Sep 18 2008, 14:24) *
As someone who loves his sports, and to be honest golf not being of one of my favourites, I have to say that I'm a little bit bit worried with Faldo being in charge. I do love the Ryder Cup though. it's just one of those tournaments that you can't help but take your eyes off. Howvever I have a bad feeling they have the wrong person in charge. Great golfer without a doubt but as a captain I''m not convinced. Hope i'm proved wrong though.

I can see why alot of folk think this but I do not think we get to see the actual faldo that the players do.
By all accounts, the players have all bought into his management style etc so he must be doing something right.

Faldo was Mr Ryder Cup as a player and will not want to throw away a reputation he taken 20 odd years to build up by being a crappy captain. wink.gif