Full Version: Morton Heading Back To The Second Division
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Captain_Sensible
Good to see Morton heading back to the Second Division.

Davie Irons is dreadful manager, they don't have any good players, their ground is falling down and their supporters smell.

What a joke of a club. laugh.gif
vikingTON
Excellent, the Captain's curse is upon us.
The last time I checked, Killie, Hearts, Inverness et al were all "f*cked" last year - I have every confidence now that we'll have a similar result. biggrin.gif

Thanks Cap x.
Captain_Sensible
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 13 2008, 20:43) *
Excellent, the Captain's curse is upon us.
The last time I checked, Killie, Hearts, Inverness et al were all "f*cked" last year - I have every confidence now that we'll have a similar result. biggrin.gif

Thanks Cap x.

blink.gif

You obviously checked wrong. rolleyes.gif

What's not in dispute however is that Morton are utter shite. laugh.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 13 2008, 20:45) *
blink.gif

Beaten as many SPL sides this season as your mince have: with a much better record too. rolleyes.gif
Captain_Sensible
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 13 2008, 20:47) *
Beaten as many SPL sides this season as your mince have: with a much better record too. rolleyes.gif

Your mince has also been beaten by many more First Division sides than we have: with a much worse record than everyone else. rolleyes.gif laugh.gif

Morton will never ever ever be in the SPL. biggrin.gif
Web
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 13 2008, 20:45) *
blink.gif

Definitely not in dispute is that you are an utter bampot.
vikingTON
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 13 2008, 20:51) *
Morton will never ever ever be in the SPL. biggrin.gif

Excellent, we'll be there next season if your prediction record's anything to go by.
You lot won't be though. cool.gif
Captain_Sensible
QUOTE (Web @ Sep 13 2008, 20:52) *

Dundee are utter garbage. Your club are cheats and your supporters sing sectarian songs.
Mr.Blue
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 13 2008, 20:40) *

Davie Irons is dreadful manager, they don't have any good players, their ground is falling down and their supporters smell.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
yer teas oot fatboy
Web
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 13 2008, 20:54) *
Dundee are utter garbage. Your club are cheats and your supporters sing sectarian songs.

Great isn't it?? I revel in these facts. Any questions?
Captain_Sensible
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 13 2008, 20:53) *
Excellent, we'll be there next season if your prediction record's anything to go by.
You lot won't be though. cool.gif

crying.gif crying.gif crying.gif
Captain_Sensible
QUOTE (Mr.Blue @ Sep 13 2008, 20:54) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
yer teas oot fatboy

You didn't really need to post what yer maw has just shouted.
vikingTON
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 13 2008, 20:55) *
crying.gif crying.gif crying.gif

Keep practicing them for May and your departure. laugh.gif
Large shipment of FAIL for C. Sensible...
Captain_Sensible
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 13 2008, 20:58) *

No need to practice. I cried the last time I departed Hampden Park in the month of May...... back in 1987. biggrin.gif
Mr.Blue
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 13 2008, 20:56) *
You didn't really need to post what yer maw has just shouted.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 13 2008, 21:00) *
No need to practice. I cried the last time I departed Hampden Park in the month of May...... back in 1987. biggrin.gif

21 years ago - shame you've had nothing memorable since then. biggrin.gif
Shit team moving to a shit plastic stadium - the only way is down for the junkies of Feegie. cool.gif
port-ton
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 13 2008, 21:00) *

did you get arrested?
vikingTON
QUOTE (port-ton @ Sep 13 2008, 21:03) *
did you get arrested?

He forgot that incest is illegal in civilisation.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 13 2008, 20:58) *
Large shipment of FAIL for C. Sensible...

Interestingly, you made the same "FAIL" comment when I raised this matter in the other thread.

A bit defensive you Morton fans, eh? Only trying to bring the issue to your attention.

vikingTON
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Sep 13 2008, 21:10) *
Interestingly, you made the same "FAIL" comment when I raised this matter in the other thread.

A bit defensive you Morton fans, eh? Only trying to bring the issue to your attention.

Hi Captain Sensible!

*Waves to Captain Sensible*
port-ton
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Sep 13 2008, 21:10) *

I take it St Johnstone won today? you can always tell when Savo appears on this board.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 13 2008, 21:11) *
Hi Captain Sensible!

*Waves to Captain Sensible*

He wishes.

QUOTE (port-ton @ Sep 13 2008, 21:17) *
I take it St Johnstone won today? you can always tell when Savo appears on this board.

I know, I only show up when we're winning. True story.

In answer to the original poster (me, apparently), I doubt very much that Morton will be facing relegation this season, that honour will be reserved for Clyde. Mind you, this falls well short of their early season championship ambitions.
Captain_Sensible
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 13 2008, 21:01) *
21 years ago - shame you've had nothing memorable since then. biggrin.gif

Apart from several seasons of top flight football and a 16 year unbeaten run at Crappielow with 16 wins in 20 games.

A bit more memorable than Morton's time spent in the Second & Third Divisions. biggrin.gif

Shit team moving to a shit plastic stadium -

I'd didn't realise Morton were moving from their crumbling wreck of a ground. When was this announced?
sydney

Well if Morton are going down to the 2nd, we'll no doubt be playing you lot next season. Hamilton are clearly a better side than Saints and that was probably your best bet of staying up. Can't wait to see your new ground in the 1st Division next season smile.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 13 2008, 21:50) *
I'd didn't realise Morton were moving from their crumbling wreck of a ground. When was this announced?

We can do a bit of work on the ground without having to sell it and relocate to Feegie Park - a prime piece of real estate you have on your hands there. rolleyes.gif
Don't worry, you can keep moving further and further from the town whenever your hapless club need a cash injection (pun intended) - you'll be in Kilwinning within the next 21 years. biggrin.gif
Mr.Blue
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Sep 13 2008, 21:42) *
He wishes.

I know, I only show up when we're winning. True story.

In answer to the original poster (me, apparently), I doubt very much that Morton will be facing relegation this season, that honour will be reserved for Clyde. Mind you, this falls well short of their early season championship ambitions.

nothing wrong with a bit of pre-season optimism
which has now and truelly been shot down in flames sad.gif
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
If Morton are going to stay up, they really must get rid of Davie Irons. He's a terrible manager. When he was at Gretna, he nearly denied them promotion and then left them way behind in the SPL. He's now done nothing except drag Morton to 10th in the league. If you guys have any sense and want to stay up, get rid of him.
Dunning1874
QUOTE (Future-SM-Keeper-Ere @ Sep 13 2008, 23:33) *
If Morton are going to stay up, they really must get rid of Davie Irons. He's a terrible manager. When he was at Gretna, he nearly denied them promotion and then left them way behind in the SPL. He's now done nothing except drag Morton to 10th in the league. If you guys have any sense and want to stay up, get rid of him.

To be fair he kept us up last year, when McInally had fucked us right up, and a battle with Stirling to avoid 10th was starting to look more likely than a battle with Clyde to avoid 9th.

I'v got faith in Davie Irons after the way he turned us around last season, but we badly need to get a win.
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Sep 13 2008, 23:38) *
To be fair he kept us up last year, when McInally had fucked us right up, and a battle with Stirling to avoid 10th was starting to look more likely than a battle with Clyde to avoid 9th.

I'v got faith in Davie Irons after the way he turned us around last season, but we badly need to get a win.

The thing is, are you ever going to win under Irons' management? McInally did a good service by taking you back up to the 1st from the 3rd, although it was time for him to go after the struggle at the bottom end. Irons doesn't look anywhere near improving Morton. A decent manager could have you around 7th right now, with better aims for the future.
South Lanarkshire Jag
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Sep 13 2008, 23:38) *
but we badly need to get a win.

so that will be the Ton beating us next week then to continue their hoodoo over us sad.gif
The Naitch
QUOTE (Future-SM-Keeper-Ere @ Sep 13 2008, 23:42) *
The thing is, are you ever going to win under Irons' management? McInally did a good service by taking you back up to the 1st from the 3rd, although it was time for him to go after the struggle at the bottom end. Irons doesn't look anywhere near improving Morton. A decent manager could have you around 7th right now, with better aims for the future.

McInally took us from the 2nd to the 1st....and at the 3rd time of asking. Irons deserves a chance after keeping us up last season, I just hope that the folk that matter show as much patience as they did with McInally.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Sep 13 2008, 23:55) *
McInally took us from the 2nd to the 1st....and at the 3rd time of asking. Irons deserves a chance after keeping us up last season, I just hope that the folk that matter show as much patience as they did with McInally.

People seem to think we buy season tickets for 5 years. How many years of utter shite do we have to watch for something good ? Or in this case, to get back to square one ? blink.gif
South Lanarkshire Jag
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Sep 14 2008, 00:10) *
People seem to think we buy season tickets for 5 years. How many years of utter shite do we have to watch for something good ? Or in this case, to get back to square one ? blink.gif

Do you think if the Ton went down you would come straight back up?
tigerton
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 13 2008, 21:50) *
Apart from several seasons of top flight football and a 16 year unbeaten run at Crappielow with 16 wins in 20 games.

11th April 1998: Greenock Morton 2-0 St Mirren

You sir are a twat
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (South Lanarkshire Jag @ Sep 14 2008, 00:19) *
Do you think if the Ton went down you would come straight back up?

Very much so.

The football wasn't great but we pumped every team except Stirling, although we did beat them. We're better than the 2nd division but we are still a joke in this division and I find it annoyintg that people are happy to put up with this pish - we SHOULD be doing better.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (tigerton @ Sep 14 2008, 00:39) *

You sir are a twat

That was established long before twenty to one on the 14th of September 2008. smile.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Sep 14 2008, 00:39) *
The football wasn't great but we pumped every team except Stirling, although we did beat them. We're better than the 2nd division but we are still a joke in this division and I find it annoyintg that people are happy to put up with this pish - we SHOULD be doing better.

The problem of this season wasn't yesterday and it wasn't going to be solved yesterday.
tigerton
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Sep 14 2008, 00:45) *
That was established long before twenty to one on the 14th of September 2008. smile.gif

im sure it had been, im new and have never encountered said twat, just had to get it off my chest tongue.gif
Exuberant
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Sep 14 2008, 00:39) *
Very much so.

Be realistic. Credit crunch. Falling crowds. New TV deal for SPL. More "not too bad" players getting signed for their reserve teams. SFL teams left to scrounge for the remains. Those who scrounge badly fall to pieces.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Sep 14 2008, 01:29) *
Be realistic. Credit crunch. Falling crowds. New TV deal for SPL. More "not too bad" players getting signed for their reserve teams. SFL teams left to scrounge for the remains. Those who scrounge badly fall to pieces.

Am I really, honestly, seriously, going to listen to a guy that plays with model railways. Be serious, please. blink.gif

There is more dignity in the dead.
gmfc
QUOTE (Web @ Sep 13 2008, 20:52) *

You forgot to add SMELLY utter bampot.
Captain_Sensible
QUOTE (tigerton @ Sep 14 2008, 00:39) *

That was the game that ended our 16 year unbeaten run. rolleyes.gif

You sir are a twat

Oh dear. Yes, you've made yourself look like one. laugh.gif
Captain_Sensible
QUOTE (gmfc @ Sep 14 2008, 07:27) *
You forgot to add SMELLY utter bampot.

Is this really the place to describe yer maw huh.gif
stevenston saint
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 13 2008, 22:04) *
We can do a bit of work on the ground without having to sell it and relocate to Feegie Park - a prime piece of real estate you have on your hands there. rolleyes.gif
Don't worry, you can keep moving further and further from the town whenever your hapless club need a cash injection (pun intended) - you'll be in Kilwinning within the next 21 years. biggrin.gif

biggrin.gif I could walk to the ground.

You cannot hide your jealousy on our new ground.It is not in Feegie Park as you claim so you should get your facts right.
We have a ground all paid for,no debts and a team now 9th in the SPL.
Are you not getting one of our old stands?

For what its worth,i hope Morton stay up as they are a 1st division club in my opinion.I agree you need to get rid of Irons.
dirty dingus

This may be true but in the grand scheme of things being in the second division is no biggie compared to those poor souls blighted by being dirty paisley b*****ds, take a moment to contemplate their woes, then smile.
Dr Koop
(Sits down with cup of coffee to watch the boxing.)
tigerton
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 14 2008, 08:14) *

Oh dear. Yes, you've made yourself look like one. laugh.gif

actually, we beat you 3-1 about 6 months before that at cappielow tongue.gif so your so called 16 year unbeaten run ended before that game ya fanny bandit
Dr Koop

Toby
QUOTE (Captain_Sensible @ Sep 14 2008, 08:14) *

No it wasn't it was a 2-0 midweek win round about February the season before.
port-ton
Arguing who is the best team out of Morton and St Mirren is like arguing who is the best out of Paul Mcshane and Titus Bramble.