Full Version: Tartan Army
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Pages: 1, 2
Mad Malky Macmental
Hi all is it just me who gets black affronted by a small section of the Tartan Army?. You know the ones, the Hugh the accountant from Banff or the Findlay the barrister or the Alasdair with a D type who give it the whaes like us pish when things are going well but are so very quick running back to their 5 bedroom detached when things go titsup with their wee tartan hats with the feathers sticking out?. God these guys get right on my nipple ends. They actually believe that they are in some amazing elite club,trying to outdo one another drinking the most expensive malt or flying to the most farflung international backwater in order to get one up on each other,god they piss me off. wink.gif
IXI THE ONE IXI
It's the teucther William Wallace wannabes I can't be bothered with. You know the type, full make up, kilts, hats with feathers sticking out, beer gut, and act like they have to remind everyone how Scottish they are, while walking around in Glasgow.
RayBees
QUOTE (Mad Malky Macmental @ Sep 13 2008, 19:55) *
Hi all is it just me who gets black affronted by a small section of the Tartan Army?. You know the ones, the Hugh the accountant from Banff or the Findlay the barrister or the Alasdair with a D type who give it the whaes like us pish when things are going well but are so very quick running back to their 5 bedroom detached when things go titsup with their wee tartan hats with the feathers sticking out?. God these guys get right on my nipple ends. They actually believe that they are in some amazing elite club,trying to outdo one another drinking the most expensive malt or flying to the most farflung international backwater in order to get one up on each other,god they piss me off. wink.gif

It's not just you, but these people you're describing are around and sound an awful lot like rugby fans. And surely there's nothing worse than that?
G_Man1985
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Sep 13 2008, 20:18) *
It's the teucther William Wallace wannabes I can't be bothered with. You know the type, full make up, kilts, hats with feathers sticking out, beer gut, and act like they have to remind everyone how Scottish they are, while walking around in Glasgow.

When scotland play at home i wear all that, the kilt, the hat we the feather stickig out as you put it "glengary can call it also" and a good bit of make up also. Dont have a beard and well i dont walk around glasgow often since from dundee, would only walk in glasgow when going to scotland games. Of course im a william wallace wannabe.

Freedom my friend.

Im done here, goodbye son of william
Sam68+1
Although a regular at internationals at home I dont dress up in anything but a Scotland cap and t-shirt but I think they guys that go the whole hog give the occassion colour.
F_T_Y
Its called passion.
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (Sam68+1 @ Sep 15 2008, 13:03) *
Although a regular at internationals at home I dont dress up in anything but a Scotland cap and t-shirt but I think they guys that go the whole hog give the occassion colour.

Agree I only usually wear jeans and a scotland top and scarf , sometimes a kilt but its good to see abdy in there Scotland gear , when im older ill try tae get all that Scotland gear for the games aswell.
Nizzy
QUOTE (F_T_Y @ Sep 15 2008, 13:11) *
Its called passion.

No. It's called dressing up like a fud.
Makoliunas
The Tartan Army are an embarrassment for those reasons and so many more.

armchair footsoldier
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 15 2008, 13:29) *
No. It's called dressing up like a fud.

QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Sep 15 2008, 13:40) *

Mabe everybody should turn up in a fuckin suit and tie then . C'mon join the party ffs.
marf-1870
QUOTE (Mad Malky Macmental @ Sep 13 2008, 18:55) *

Here we go again mad.gif . Take it you couldn't be bothered looking at the other twenty threads with this pish on it?
latapythelegend

and hearts really make scotland proud eh...... rolleyes.gif tongue.gif
ever thought about entering the olympics:

Announcer at the diving finals in beijing:

"and in third place USA"
"and in second place China"
"and in first place............HEARTS!" tongue.gif
Jordo1872

Change the record eh mate! Your tedious beyond belief. wink.gif

I go to all Scotland games in a kilt because i enjoy the occasion and, if im honest, I would wear the kilt given any opportunity. I have no problem at all with people who dont, why would I?

We're all there to support Scotland and thats good enough for me.
H_B
QUOTE (Jordo1872 @ Sep 16 2008, 11:49) *
if im honest, I would wear the kilt given any opportunity.

Why don't you then?

Nothing to stop you wearing it up the town is there?
Jordo1872

I go to all Scotland games in a kilt because i enjoy the occasion and, if im honest, I would wear the kilt given any opportunity. I have no problem at all with people who dont, why would I?

QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 11:50) *
Why don't you then?

Nothing to stop you wearing it up the town is there?

Theres a clue in there somewhere...!
H_B
QUOTE (Jordo1872 @ Sep 16 2008, 11:58) *

Why is wearing a kilt to a football game any more of an occasion than wearing it into town?

How is the football game enhanced by your wearing of the kilt?
central staggie
QUOTE (marf-1870 @ Sep 15 2008, 14:53) *
Here we go again mad.gif . Take it you couldn't be bothered looking at the other twenty threads with this pish on it?

It's probably the same person. The same sad, lonley, pathetic individual. What a life.
H_B
QUOTE (central staggie @ Sep 16 2008, 12:01) *
It's probably the same person. The same sad, lonley, pathetic individual. What a life.

There should really just be a pinned thread, much like the "Fuck the OF" one.
central staggie
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 12:03) *
There should really just be a pinned thread, much like the "f**k the OF" one.

Thread? Ha! You'd need a whole section dedicated to the 'we hate the TA' gang.
lzreid
QUOTE (Jordo1872 @ Sep 16 2008, 11:58) *

QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 12:00) *
Why is wearing a kilt to a football game any more of an occasion than wearing it into town?

Ladies and Gentleman, I am currently taking bets on the above.

Jordo1872 - 11/2

H_B - 1/3

Descent into repetition of same argument - Evens.

All Money used will be less valuable than Monopoly money.
H_B
QUOTE (central staggie @ Sep 16 2008, 12:06) *
Thread? Ha! You'd need a whole section dedicated to the 'we hate the TA' gang.

I think in any discussion about groups of people there will be those for and against. It's only natural.
FC_1919
I personally am not a fan of the Glengarrys and bagpipe brigade. Is it just me who thinks bagpipes spoil the atmosphere somewhere when they are started up?

On another note, I am called Finlay, maybe I could get in the elite club! ohmy.gif
H_B
QUOTE (FC_1919 @ Sep 16 2008, 13:00) *
On another note, I am called Finlay, maybe I could get in the elite club! ohmy.gif

I would have thought so, yep.
FC_1919
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 13:02) *
I would have thought so, yep.

Where do I sign up?

B)
H_B
QUOTE (FC_1919 @ Sep 16 2008, 13:07) *
Where do I sign up?

cool.gif

Send a large SAE to :-

Bestest Fans Everest
Hamish Husband's Hame
3 Teuchter Lane
Shortbreadtoon
Banff
FC_1919
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 13:11) *
Send a large SAE to :-

Bestest Fans Everest
Hamish Husband's Hame
3 Teuchter Lane
Shortbreadtoon
Banff

My brother's called Hamish, can I just give it to him?

Please note - My dad is not a TA elite!
H_B
QUOTE (FC_1919 @ Sep 16 2008, 13:24) *
My brother's called Hamish, can I just give it to him?

You are doubly blessed. A man called Finlay with a brother called Hamish. ohmy.gif

You are the anointed one.
Shengus Khan
QUOTE (FC_1919 @ Sep 16 2008, 13:00) *
Is it just me who thinks bagpipes spoil the atmosphere somewhere when they are started up?

Nope. What a horrible fucking sound they make. The musical equivalent of fingers down a blackboard.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE (Mad Malky Macmental @ Sep 13 2008, 19:55) *

Agree there.

I am a normal Scotland fan from glasgow who is extremely passionate about my country.

I wear joggies or denims to a scotland match. Scotland top on sometimes a scarf.

glasnost
QUOTE (ClydeNewcomer @ Sep 16 2008, 13:40) *
I wear joggies or denims to a scotland match. Scotland top on sometimes a scarf.

FC_1919
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 13:26) *
You are doubly blessed. A man called Finlay with a brother called Hamish. ohmy.gif

You are the anointed one.

Bow down and kiss my Glengarry!

ph34r.gif
Makoliunas
QUOTE (armchair footsoldier @ Sep 15 2008, 14:50) *
Mabe everybody should turn up in a fuckin suit and tie then . C'mon join the party ffs.

?

Sorry, I hadn't realised that it was a straight choice between a kilt and a suit and tie. Do you think that dressing in a "zany" fashion makes you any more of a "part of the party" than anyone else? You strike me as the kind of guy who wears novelty ties to the office and thinks he's a character.

QUOTE (latapythelegend @ Sep 15 2008, 18:59) *
and hearts really make scotland proud eh...... rolleyes.gif tongue.gif
ever thought about entering the olympics:

Announcer at the diving finals in beijing:

"and in third place USA"
"and in second place China"
"and in first place............HEARTS!" tongue.gif

LMAO LOL.

Why has no-one else ever thought of saying something like that?

If I or this kind of thread were as tedious as that, you wouldn't constantly answer.

QUOTE (central staggie @ Sep 16 2008, 12:01) *

Must be, everyone else loves the TA ohmy.gif I know, because I read it in the Record.

Agree there.

I am a normal Scotland fan from glasgow who is extremely passionate about my country.

First of all, there's the fact that you admit to wearing trackie bottoms.

Secondly, you call them "joggies".

Thirdly, you're the only person in Western civilisation still to refer to jeans as "denims".

It's really no wonder that people worldwide think that Glasgow is a slumtown full of smelly mutants.
glasnost
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Sep 16 2008, 13:54) *
First of all, there's the fact that you admit to wearing trackie bottoms.

Secondly, you call them "joggies".

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Thirdly, you're the only person in Western civilisation still to refer to jeans as "denims".

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

It's really no wonder that people worldwide think that Glasgow is a slumtown full of smelly mutants.

Idiot.
Makoliunas
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 16 2008, 13:56) *
Idiot.

It's undeniably true.
Nizzy

While t-shirts such as these:

lend creedence to those who believe Edinburgh is a fashion backwater populated by an inordinate number of homosexuals.
Jordo1872
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 12:00) *

Monday to friday i go to work, week in, week out. Every now and again I get the chance to watch my country play football. I enjoy this. It makes me happy. I therefore consider it to be an occasion. Much in the same way as you consider any form of interaction with a female to be an occasion.

QUOTE (lzreid @ Sep 16 2008, 12:07) *
Ladies and Gentleman, I am currently taking bets on the above.

Jordo1872 - 11/2

H_B - 1/3

Descent into repetition of same argument - Evens.

All Money used will be less valuable than Monopoly money.

Odds cut;

Jordo1872 - 1/2 favourite.

Book closed.

Agree there.

Joggies lol brilliant laugh.gif
Makoliunas
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 16 2008, 14:02) *
While t-shirts such as these:

lend creedence to those who believe Edinburgh is a fashion backwater populated by an inordinate number of homosexuals.

You're right, sorry - obviously the Glaswegian uniform of AC / Inter Milan trackies is at the cutting edge in 2008. They're from Milan, right, how couldn't they be?

I don't believe that there are many homosexuals in Glasgow. To quote Red from the Shawshank Redemption, you need to be human first.
Nizzy
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Sep 16 2008, 14:06) *
You're right, sorry - obviously the Glaswegian uniform of AC / Inter Milan trackies is at the cutting edge in 2008.

I've noticed other posters refer to you ase tiresome, but I didn't really share that view until now.

I take it you're in some way suggesting you are 'cutting edge'?
H_B
QUOTE (Jordo1872 @ Sep 16 2008, 14:05) *
Monday to friday i go to work, week in, week out. Every now and again I get the chance to watch my country play football. I enjoy this. It makes me happy. I therefore consider it to be an occasion. .

Uh huh. A terrific insight into your social life there.

Now maybe you can answer the actual question I asked.
Jordo1872
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 14:09) *
Uh huh. A terrific insight into your social life there.

Now maybe you can answer the actual question I asked.

Your question was so ridiculous it didnt deserve an answer.

If you dislike the TA so much why are you so obsessed with them?
H_B
QUOTE (Jordo1872 @ Sep 16 2008, 14:11) *
Your question was so ridiculous it didnt deserve an answer.

How convenient.

If you dislike the TA so much why are you so obsessed with them?

Ah, the standard response when the "Everybody loves us" line is refuted.
lzreid
QUOTE (Jordo1872 @ Sep 16 2008, 14:05) *
Odds cut;

Jordo1872 - 1/2 favourite.

Book closed.

This doesn't work. I don't get to turn up at Ladbrokes and declare I want 19/1 on Man Utd to beat Stoke.

Besides, you're unwillingness to answer a fair question means your odds are lengthening.
Jordo1872
I enjoy wearing the kilt to scotland games. This also makes me happy. Therefore I enjoy the day. I also wear the kilt to weddings. This too makes me happy and, you guessed it, helps make the day what it is. An occasion.

Should I confirm this is ok with any of you prior to going? Your approval is very important to me, obviously laugh.gif

Now answer this princess, why do you care about what other men wear/do?
lzreid
QUOTE (Jordo1872 @ Sep 16 2008, 15:26) *
I enjoy wearing the kilt to scotland games. This also makes me happy. Therefore I enjoy the day. I also wear the kilt to weddings. This too makes me happy and, you guessed it, helps make the day what it is. An occasion.

Should I confirm this is ok with any of you prior to going? Your approval is very important to me, obviously laugh.gif

This is better. Your odds have stabilised after being in freefall.
H_B

So the day is improved by the wearing of a kilt?

Can't a trip up the town also be improved if you wear a kilt too, given you find it so much of a thrill?
Jordo1872

QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 16 2008, 15:38) *
So the day is improved by the wearing of a kilt?

Can't a trip up the town also be improved if you wear a kilt too, given you find it so much of a thrill?

I see you avoided my question.

Im sure a trip up town would be improved in the kilt, i'll maybe take a wee swagger up the Gallowgate first thing tomorrow.
Makoliunas
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 16 2008, 14:07) *
I've noticed other posters refer to you ase tiresome, but I didn't really share that view until now.

sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

That's a shame.

I take it you're in some way suggesting you are 'cutting edge'?

No, not at all. Do you still have those shoes that looked like you bought them from Clarks? I would post a picture, but I'm not sad enough to delve through the shopping thread to look for something that you bought months ago. Ahem.
H_B
QUOTE (Jordo1872 @ Sep 16 2008, 20:58) *
I see you avoided my question.

Which question?

Im sure a trip up town would be improved in the kilt, i'll maybe take a wee swagger up the Gallowgate first thing tomorrow.

Super. Good luck with that.
central staggie
To the original poster.

Does anyone come up to you in the streets around Hampden and call you an embarrassment because you are wearing jeans instead of a kilt? Highly doubt it. So live and let live.

Dosen't matter a jot what you wear to Scotland games.
korphaeron
If they aren't moaning about the football, then they're moaning about the fans.
Some people on this forum are just a joke rolleyes.gif