Full Version: Raith 1 - 1 East Fife
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 15 2008, 23:00) *
That remains to be seen wink.gif

Trust me wink.gif

I know you'd love to see EF do a backward Gretna, but it aint gona happen.
CALDERON
And to be honest, ive always found the Pars "rivalry" pretty pathetic. I dont hate them. I dont really care about them actually.

I have a bit of a dislike to EF due to the whole Gray thing and the historic rivalry, and I dont like Cowden cos they are bloody tinks.

Just friendly rivalry though. (Says the man who ran down the entire South Stand after we scored to shout at Gray)
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 23:16) *
Trust me wink.gif

I know you'd love to see EF do a backward Gretna, but it aint gona happen.

Funny they all seemed pretty confident before it all went tits up as well.......... wink.gif
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 23:10) *
Thats not quite what i meant. Its a tidy stadium, yet will need maintaining, sustaining call it what you want. Its not being used. The shakey stand is a concern. I`d get that checked out before your average 1600 at the home end are drastically reduced laugh.gif
As for the SPL, never say never, so i'll say it for ya...
Not gona happen. wink.gif

The Forth Bridge shakes ever time a loco goes over it, but its stood for 120 years. There is nothing structurally wrong with the stands.
As for the SPL, we're not smaller than many clubs who have been there - and lets not forget that Dumbarton, Clydebank, Ayr United andMorton have all been there.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Sep 15 2008, 23:16) *
We have both had our cup final but in 5 - 10 years time i would hope we could be a stable team in division 1. In reality if we even get into division 1 we will probably do a Stirling and fall back down, but there's nothing wrong with dreams (just like how you feel Fife can maybe get into division 1). I think the percentage of seats we fill is completely irrelevant. As long as we get more bums on seats than East Fife then we are generating more gate income. Even though you fill a higher percentage of seats, you're still getting less money. tongue.gif

Fair point, but surely it depends where the income is going? Is it paying off debt, repair bills on expensive oversized stadiums, staff / playes wages, overheads, material costs?
Its all of these. The more you have the more you gotta pay back.
Face it, we`re all fucked laugh.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 15 2008, 23:17) *
Funny they all seemed pretty confident before it all went tits up as well.......... wink.gif

Yeah, but what a fucking ride smile.gif
magambo1
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Sep 15 2008, 23:02) *
huh.gif

This man his it summed up pretty well ^^

No...i seem them as this wee team who constantly try to make themselves feel bigger but trying to associate themselves with a bigger team.

Correct.
Swings and Roundabouts
King Kebab
QUOTE (renton @ Sep 14 2008, 17:51) *
I'd definately say that Linn and Fagan added something to EF that they had lacked before.

Yes!!!

A fucking midfield!!! mad.gif
King Kebab
QUOTE (Martin Nelson @ Sep 14 2008, 18:00) *
Although on the whole I was gutted we didn't get the convincing win we really should have, after East Fife fluked the lead the game was a lot more evely balanced and we could have ended up losing it so a draw isn't the end of the world.

How was that???

Try and not come across as bitter, as it ruined an otherwise good post!!!
King Kebab
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Sep 14 2008, 21:56) *

Yea, we have to keep reminding them we're the big club.

I do think that once they find their best line-up they'll be more of a force tho.

I think you'll find out that most of us know it, it's really just Baikie that doesn't!!!

Personally I would start with a midfield, rather than bring one on an hour into a game!!! dry.gif
King Kebab
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Sep 14 2008, 22:27) *
Theres rivalry between us and Falkirk too. Its not just a Falkirk-Pars thing, its a Falkirk-Fife thing. When we play Dunfermline they give a shit alright.

You appear to be saying that East Fife, Falkirk and Dunfermline fans see Raith Rovers as noboddies.

Keep up the Jaunking rolleyes.gif

Is that a word??? wink.gif
King Kebab
QUOTE (raith1974 @ Sep 15 2008, 22:16) *
Dave Baikie said in the Sun today that his team were gash in the first half but better in the second half matching Raith over the pitch. He then said that due to this a draw was a fair result, HOW!!!

Duh, 'cos we scored first??? rolleyes.gif
the_russian
Got back yesterday, good game, good weekend. Not sure if i'll try and plough through all these posts later on right enough, i'm guessing that most are about the crowd, Willie Gray and Gretna.

On the football front though, quite happy with the point after such a poor first half performance, Rovers could have won the game in the first 45 but are completely toothless. Justice was done with the first pen as it should never have been one.

Can't comment on the second, as you'd need a telescope to see up that end of the park, but Willie Mc was the hero of the day.

I was definately happier with the 2nd half performance, Linn added something we'd been missing in the first half. Crawford showed some good touches too, although it must be frustrating for McManus up front on his own getting balls played over his head. Would have brought Templeman on instead O'Reilly too. Thought we'd knicked it at the end, think i'd have ended up on the park.

As I said though, i'm quite happy with the point. We can only improve for the November game.

Thats me 5 games unbeaten, so i'm definately not a jinx anymore!
lzreid
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 20:49) *
Unlike some i could mention wink.gif

I mean, c'mon, the guy even goes on our own website to see whats being said. AND he has an EF top!
I should know, i bought the fucking thing and he`s still not paid me! tongue.gif

Cheap b*****ds the pair of you, if you can't buy someone a present out of Poundland you're not a very good friend are you?

QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 22:37) *
I think we've both had our cup final mate. In all seriousness, where do you boys see your club in say 5-10 years time?
Your sitting in a 10,000 seater stadium which you can barely quarter fill for home games, all done i may add to suit the requirements of Scotlands laughable flagship the SPL. A league i may add which Raith will probably never see again. That is not a dig by the way.
Your stadium, whilst very nice, is deteriotaing badly and will cost money to sustain, both now, and into the very distant future. A stadium i may add, by your own fans admission "has stands that shake when half full" which is surely an investigative measure for the pen pushers at Health & Safety??
Now if Raith are barely staying afloat financially (like most clubs in this country) are your expectations set too high?
Your stadium could well be the straw that breaks the camels back when it comes to moving onwards and upwards.

Probably f**k all to do with Saturdays game, but it does put a different slant on a thread thats is running its course. wink.gif

A serious question? Jesus!

In 5 years time I'd like to see us established in the First Division, existing well within our means.

The problem with living within well within our means is that the first couple of years back upstairs will be ridiculously tight. We'll be operating on a budget that must presuppose relegation and perhaps only marginally better crowds depending on who is in the league and our own performance. Therefore, we need to put together an excellent management / player recruitment structure (otherwise known as the holy grail).

As for the stadium, you are correct, it's the millstone around our kneck. My understanding is that right now we are paying the interest on the mortgage rather than the mortgage. which I'm sure the philanthropists at the Bank of Ireland are delighted with. Unfortuantely, we have no other option at the moment. We can;t afford to move, we can just about afford to keep the creditors quiet.
Andy.C
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Sep 15 2008, 23:02) *
No...i seem them as this wee team who constantly try to make themselves feel bigger but trying to associate themselves with a bigger team.

Funny that. The Townies I work with, and there are a few, all regard Raith as their main derby.

I have a dilemma regarding the East Fife rivallry as I quite like them and their supporters. They do provide better derby material than Cowden too.
Willie Gray is a bannet of the highest order though and makes a complete cunt of the Fife with his daft comments. Nice to see Andy Cook make a mockery of him ridiculing us for buying players from the amateurs by having Shields on toast. I'd take those daft yellow boots off Shields by the way. Only superstar players and folk that can justify flashy boots through skill should wear them, normal players like Shields just look like dafties.

biggrin.gif
renton
QUOTE (the_russian @ Sep 16 2008, 05:18) *
Got back yesterday, good game, good weekend. Not sure if i'll try and plough through all these posts later on right enough, i'm guessing that most are about the crowd, Willie Gray and Gretna.

On the football front though, quite happy with the point after such a poor first half performance, Rovers could have won the game in the first 45 but are completely toothless. Justice was done with the first pen as it should never have been one.

Can't comment on the second, as you'd need a telescope to see up that end of the park, but Willie Mc was the hero of the day.

I was definately happier with the 2nd half performance, Linn added something we'd been missing in the first half. Crawford showed some good touches too, although it must be frustrating for McManus up front on his own getting balls played over his head. Would have brought Templeman on instead O'Reilly too. Thought we'd knicked it at the end, think i'd have ended up on the park.

As I said though, i'm quite happy with the point. We can only improve for the November game.

Having watched it again, I'd have to agree about that first penalty. There is very little in it. As for toothless, none of the first half opportunities were really clear cut chances, more snatched at half chances, like the Davo header over the bar. really, the only chance that should have been converted comfortably was Wardlaw's one on one, he opted to try and take it round rather than blast it. Fair play to McCulloch, he made up the yards well.

Linn was easily the best player in yellow and black on saturday. Crawford, if he showed one or two wee touches, seemed really lazy to me and not involved at all. Mcmanus was terrible, sorry, I know that may get peoples backs up, but he was barely involved, and didn't do much when he was. Both Raith full backs dealt with him comfortably. EF, despite having seven strikers, were as toothless as us on the day. I recall someone at the Falkirk game suggesting that he'd rather have Mcmanus than Weir, not on that performance. The only thing wrong with Weir on the day was his reluctance to take a penalty!

Some EF fans have suggested that they will get better, because several important players were missing. This is also true of Raith, we were missing our top goal scorer, Smith, as well as Sloan and Dunbar, both of whom could have been introduced to change the game - as an aside, Sloan is the designated penalty taker laugh.gif

Still, happy enough with the performance if not the result. I suspect the opposite is true of most EF fans...
P.C
just out of curiousity was there any EF fans in styx prematch?
P.C
QUOTE (the_russian @ Sep 16 2008, 05:18) *

we actually didnt know you were at the game until after it finished when we were waiting for the bus, so how many of you and your aliases went? laugh.gif
Spank the monkey
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Sep 16 2008, 10:35) *
Funny that. The Townies I work with, and there are a few, all regard Raith as their main derby.

Hmmmm, most of my mates who are pars diehards keep telling me they don't care about raith.Its falkirk they hate but that might just be to wind me up.

Anyways the game.I thought it was one of the most exciting derby days i've had as a raith fan since probably beating the pars at east end park all that time ago (the one where the referee got smacked in the face by thew corner flag by accident when dargo scored).

I was thoroughly nervous up till kick off and wullie (albeit it he is a total knob) did add to the stakes of the game by well...being a total knob but thats up to him what he does with his scarf.displeased a few fans...yes, would have incited a riot...no.

The game was brilliant.Thought cook and wilson were outstanding today, ellis also looks as if he has played centre back with campbell all his life.Even davo out of position played some fantastic balls across the park.Gutted to miss the two penals but hey, at least we were creating chance after chance, something we have been known to struggle to do.Hope wardlaw is recovering okay...he chased everything on saturday as did weiry.Midfield was good, thought walker did very well to keep his head up after his miss and ferry who i am usually quite critical off played well and worked his socks off (still not sure how he didn't score of wilsons penalty rebound though).

All the hype about East fife being the new gretna put a bit of fear into me that we might get trunced but after watching the game i don't think they are any better than any other team in the second division.In fairness though at times they outplayed us, we struggled to get the ball off crawford anytime he had it at feet and shields always worried me when he had the ball.Its their defence that lets them down.Smart looked dead on his feet after 65 mins as did tweed and wilson was tearin the left back and bibby a new one.Their keeper was havin a blinder whereas ours didn't fill me with confidence at all, bar one save he looked very shakey at corners and i cannot believe he caught the ball outside the box...he was lucky not to walk.

Think from our perspective it was def two points dropped but East Fife played well and even could've nicked at the end, so ok, it should have been dead and buried after second penalty but it wasnt and after that a draw was probably fair.

On a down spot (always is one) i thought bryce and graham loked very out of their depth even though they had the fresh legs.Yes they are young but as regular sub strikers they need to be making more of an impact than they did.Hard game to come into though i guess.

Anyways, brilliant day, brilliant game, can't wait till the next one and i hope that some of the part time fans realise that although not all games are as exciting as this one was, that for a saturday afternoons entertainment the rovers aren' t too bad an option and get themselves back for more games in future.
lzreid
QUOTE (Spank the monkey @ Sep 16 2008, 11:12) *
i cannot believe he caught the ball outside the box...he was lucky not to walk.

Dunno if I've said it here but I reckon the ref. got both incidents with the 'keepers spot on. The EF keeper probably could have walked for bringing down Wardlaw but he clearly went for the ball and there was never any intent to play the man. A red would have been harsh.

You could see O'Connor try and stop his run before he left the area, a booking would probably have been fair but a red, again, would have been harsh.

As an aside, I genuinely though Fotheringham would go, his tackles were poorly timed all game and there were one or two that were bordering on the reckless.
Andy.C
Anyways, brilliant day, brilliant game, can't wait till the next one and i hope that some of the part time fans realise that although not all games are as exciting as this one was, that for a saturday afternoons entertainment the rovers aren' t too bad an option and get themselves back for more games in future.

Good point.
I hope that most of the fans that wouldn't usually have been there on Saturday return for the Stirling game. I've been entertained by the Rovers this season and it was there for all to see on Saturday that John McGlynn has the team playing the ball on the ground from the back.

I cant wait for the Stirling game and hopefully we'll be up around the 2k mark for it.
Spank the monkey
QUOTE (lzreid @ Sep 16 2008, 11:25) *
As an aside, I genuinely though Fotheringham would go, his tackles were poorly timed all game and there were one or two that were bordering on the reckless.

I think the referee did get it spot on.I just meant that he was lucky that the ref did get it spot on.Up that end after giving one team two penalties, there are some refs who might have just buckled under pressure and shown the red card to even it up.

Agree with fozzy comments.He's quite clever with where/when/how he tackles though.I mean he's built his career around being a hatchet man (with a decent left peg) so he's probably got the equivalent of a degree in "no gettin sent aff when he should" by now. wink.gif
Duracell Bunny
Highlights are now up! smile.gif
lzreid
QUOTE (Spank the monkey @ Sep 16 2008, 11:51) *
I think the referee did get it spot on.I just meant that he was lucky that the ref did get it spot on.Up that end after giving one team two penalties, there are some refs who might have just buckled under pressure and shown the red card to even it up.

Agree with fozzy comments.He's quite clever with where/when/how he tackles though.I mean he's built his career around being a hatchet man (with a decent left peg) so he's probably got the equivalent of a degree in "no gettin sent aff when he should" by now. wink.gif

Gordon EF
QUOTE (lzreid @ Sep 16 2008, 11:25) *

I thought his tackles were timed brilliantly. ph34r.gif

He made a couple of decent professional fouls.
Paco
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 16 2008, 11:59) *

What a spawny goal for East Fife! Punted off the shin and into the corner... still, you take them.

Can't really clear up the Wardlaw penalty, but I think the video shows that Weir was certainly fouled. Probably what you would call 'clever' play, getting in front of the man.

Weir shat himself with his chance. Davidson should most certainly have scored early on too, I'd forgotten about that.
lzreid
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Sep 16 2008, 12:41) *
I thought his tackles were timed brilliantly. ph34r.gif

He made a couple of decent professional fouls.

Sounds like the time Silvestro punched the Peterhead player and I swore blind to my Peterhead supporting mate that I never saw it wink.gif .

Couple of very intelligent fouls from the man as well which I have no problem with.
MonTheRovers!!
Cannae believe how lucky that Fotheringham, goal is. Wilson boots it off his shin and it ricochets into the corner.

Is that Smart at out goal jumping across to try and meet Ellis about 5 years too late? laugh.gif

And that is two fucking SSIITTTTEERRSS at the end.
the_russian
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Sep 16 2008, 16:19) *
And that is two fucking SSIITTTTEERRSS at the end.

Watched them a good few times, i'd have ran over the pitch towards you lot wearing nothing but my scarf if the ball had hit the net, then i'd have started humping the ground.
Rovers_Lad
In fairness though at times they outplayed us, we struggled to get the ball off crawford anytime he had it at feet and shields always worried me when he had the ball.

blink.gif huh.gif
Grant228
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Sep 16 2008, 10:35) *

Aye because a team we havn't played in 10 years would be our "main" derby right enough huh.gif
Michael W
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Sep 16 2008, 17:08) *
Aye because a team we havn't played in 10 years would be our "main" derby right enough huh.gif

I doubt you'll be playing Falkirk anytime soon either tongue.gif
lzreid
The smelly ones are coming down to keep the thread alive? Braw.
MarvMarvSuperMarv

I agree with him. Apparently the Pars don't regard us as their rivals. The few at school (Who are the most brain dead cnuts) say Falkirk is their Derby. Funny that, They won't be playing them for a few years either.
Big_Andy
All the Townie Parsy hoors at my work see us as their main rivals. And theres plenty of them.
DancingInTheStreets
One question I asked EF fans earlier in the thread hasn't been answered yet.

Does Jabba have any influence over team selection?

If not, what would happen if DB decided not to pick some of the mainly ex-Raith has-beens which have been thrust upon him?
Pratt Street Elite General
QUOTE (the_russian @ Sep 16 2008, 16:27) *
Watched them a good few times, i'd have ran over the pitch towards you lot wearing nothing but my scarf if the ball had hit the net, then i'd have started humping the ground.

Wouldn't you of nobbed Willie after all, all "East Fife fans love Willie"?
Paco
Can I attempt to put an end to this derby argument by saing that Dunfermline fans, in general, adopt the same attitude to us as we did to East Fife for twenty years... that is, they're in a league below us, I don't care about them.

If we were to be promoted, we'd see the derby rekindled, and they'd rediscover their hate for us...
MarvMarvSuperMarv
QUOTE (Pratt Street Elite General @ Sep 16 2008, 18:05) *
Wouldn't you of nobbed Willie after all, all "East Fife fans love Willie"?

Did you see the EF players pointing to Jabba the hut when they scored? Fuckin' tossers.
Although they were probaly thinking of that brown envelope.
the_russian
QUOTE (DancingInTheStreets @ Sep 16 2008, 18:01) *
One question I asked EF fans earlier in the thread hasn't been answered yet.

Does Jabba have any influence over team selection?

If not, what would happen if DB decided not to pick some of the mainly ex-Raith has-beens which have been thrust upon him?

Willie doesn't have any influence over the team selection, the manager has 100% control, I know that for certain. Also, the club have never signed a player that the manager hasn't wanted.
Grant228
The only feeling i have ever had towards Raith Rover's fans is respect for the fact that they went to there local team instead of going to Glasgow to watch the of.
Never had any hate for them.
fifepup
Raith have historically been our main rivals, and they are also the closest.
This obviously gives games between us an added edge.
Saying that, I think I some of us especially the younger fans, hate Cowdenbeath more than anyone, as we have had a few games against them in recent years.
Also because a large portion of their fans are truly the scum of the earth.
Crowd trouble at almost every game.

Dunfermline.. hmm maybe in the sixties we were really big rivals but we don't have much antipathy towards them nowadays. It's like a pretendy WWF sort of rivalry.
We always pumped them when we played them anyway. laugh.gif

Falkirk dont even register on our scale, and I doubt they have any hate for us either.
We always used beat them when we played them as well.

Andy.C

Are you the voice of the whole Dunfermline support like?

It may be a matter of when you started watching your team but I definitely see the Pars as our biggest rivals although East Fife are making a fair old go of it just now which is more than welcome.
St Pauli Fifer
QUOTE (fifepup @ Sep 16 2008, 19:58) *
Raith have historically been our main rivals, and they are also the closest.
This obviously gives games between us an added edge.
Saying that, I think I some of us especially the younger fans, hate Cowdenbeath more than anyone, as we have had a few games against them in recent years.
Also because a large portion of their fans are truly the scum of the earth.
Crowd trouble at almost every game.

Dunfermline.. hmm maybe in the sixties we were really big rivals but we don't have much antipathy towards them nowadays. It's like a pretendy WWF sort of rivalry.
We always pumped them when we played them anyway. laugh.gif

Falkirk dont even register on our scale, and I doubt they have any hate for us either.
We always used beat them when we played them as well.

Could not care about Cowdenbeath (even though it is my era). There is a team in between Methil and Cowdenbeath and as far as I'm concerned, they are, and always have been until 20 years ago our sole local rivals. Dunfermline are irrelevant to me too. Miles away.

There will also always be added spice between RR and EF. Bigger town, bigger stadium yet no multiple League Cup wins and not even a solitary Scottish Cup. Must really piss off Rovers fans and their older relatives (the wee team down the road pishing all over the Rovers for years). Ok, I wasn't alive to see it but that record will stand until well after all us P&B posters have long gone to our graves.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (St Pauli Fifer @ Sep 16 2008, 20:28) *
There will also always be added spice between RR and EF. Bigger town, bigger stadium yet no multiple League Cup wins and not even a solitary Scottish Cup. Must really piss off Rovers fans and their older relatives (the wee team down the road pishing all over the Rovers for years). Ok, I wasn't alive to see it but that record will stand until well after all us P&B posters have long gone to our graves.

Yeah, that cup win back in 1938 really keeps me up at night. I often find myself crying myself to sleep over it.
rw89
QUOTE (St Pauli Fifer @ Sep 16 2008, 20:28) *

Not really. I've always seen East Fife in a similar way to Cowden: couldn't care less because you've spent so much time in leagues below. You're cup wins were so long ago they are insignificant, in the same way it is insignificant that Queens park have won the Scottish cup. In that respect anyway, Rovers have played in the UEFA cup...something which i doubt pisses off many Fife fans.
Tam EF
QUOTE (rw89 @ Sep 16 2008, 20:55) *
Not really. I've always seen East Fife in a similar way to Cowden: couldn't care less because you've spent so much time in leagues below. You're cup wins were so long ago they are insignificant, in the same way it is insignificant that Queens park have won the Scottish cup. In that respect anyway, Rovers have played in the UEFA cup...something which i doubt pisses off many Fife fans.

Playing in a competition and winning them are entirely different. wink.gif
gray's grim reaper
QUOTE (Tam EF @ Sep 16 2008, 21:38) *
Playing in a competition and winning them are entirely different. wink.gif

Just out of curiosity, barring last seasons Diddy league win, how many East Fife fans currently attending new bayview have seen the club lift silverware?

Or are you all glory hunters?

Records that were made before the majority of fans were even born bear little relevance in this thread.
the_russian
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 16 2008, 21:48) *

Thats pretty much it. We're all glory hunters, us East Fife supporters.
Stevo Fife
Click to view attachment
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 16 2008, 21:48) *
Just out of curiosity, barring last seasons Diddy league win, how many East Fife fans currently attending new bayview have seen the club lift silverware?

Records that were made before the majority of fans were even born bear little relevance in this thread.

This thread is decending into a "my cock is bigger than your cock" farce.
Why don't you lino b*****ds all get tae f**k.