Full Version: Raith 1 - 1 East Fife
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
P.C
QUOTE (lzreid @ Sep 15 2008, 15:28) *
It's only Monday. Not even gonna think about Stirling until Friday.

i think the server may crash with the strain if another rovers postathon thread is created

i think we have to be happy tho that we are still unbeaten in the league, one postive as well from sat is that we played that well last season and got beat, if we can convert those into draws il be quite happy. especially at home
Michael W
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Sep 15 2008, 15:12) *
Anyone else see David Berthelot outside Starks after the game?

Completely irrelevant to his appearance at the game, but I've seen him wandering around Kirkcaldy a few times recently.
lzreid
QUOTE (P.C @ Sep 15 2008, 15:32) *
i think the server may crash with the strain if another rovers postathon thread is created

i think we have to be happy tho that we are still unbeaten in the league, one postive as well from sat is that we played that well last season and got beat, if we can convert those into draws il be quite happy. especially at home

All very true. Despite having less points, I've been much happier with our start. Thinking back, there were glaring deficincies that were apparent from the start of last season particularly in defence. With the return to full fitness of Sparky, the return of Laurie, some decent cover in that position and some solidity at left back those problems seem to have been fixed.
P.C
QUOTE (lzreid @ Sep 15 2008, 15:52) *
All very true. Despite having less points, I've been much happier with our start. Thinking back, there were glaring deficincies that were apparent from the start of last season particularly in defence. With the return to full fitness of Sparky, the return of Laurie, some decent cover in that position and some solidity at left back those problems seem to have been fixed.

exactly, the game on sat is one last season we would of lost, i have noticed that there seems to be a greater desire in the squad this season and the heads dont go down if we conceed first. Tho i still think we would benefit from have Ellis as captain
lzreid
QUOTE (P.C @ Sep 15 2008, 16:40) *
exactly, the game on sat is one last season we would of lost, i have noticed that there seems to be a greater desire in the squad this season and the heads dont go down if we conceed first. Tho i still think we would benefit from have Ellis as captain

Bang on. I like Davidson as player, he is willing, versatlie, hard working and a genuine asset to have in the squad. He's not a natural leader though. Laurie Ellis marks all the boxes, he can organise his defence, he knows when to shout at a player ande when to encourage and his work off the field is exemplary.
Stevo Fife
[quote name='lzreid' date='Sep 15 2008, 10:36' post='2775078']
Now there's a poll I'd like to see tongue.gif .

Doncha dare!! tongue.gif
lzreid
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 17:16) *
Doncha dare!! tongue.gif

Not sure you could beat Mr A Hitler of Munich never mind Eddie biggrin.gif .
DancingInTheStreets
QUOTE (Michael W @ Sep 14 2008, 23:45) *
Arguing about who are and aren't our rivals laugh.gif

New lows.

Agree, but it is funny!

For the record, scumfermline will always be our main rivals in my eyes.

I've always hated them and have never wished them well in any event.
This includes the cup finals against Celtic which, for me, were the equivalent of watching Hitler vs Mussolini at tiddlywinks.

Cowdenbeath, I like to see doing well as long as it's not at our expense.

East Fife, up until Jabba's involvement, were much the same - especially when my old PE teacher Jim Moffat was there.
They have now put themselves firmly in 2nd place but I still see at as more of a friendly rivalry.

Falkirk put me neither up nor down.

pantene proV
QUOTE (DancingInTheStreets @ Sep 15 2008, 17:21) *
Agree, but it is funny!

This includes the cup finals against Celtic
which, for me, were the equivalent of watching Hitler vs Mussolini at tiddlywinks.

East Fife, up until Jabba's involvement, were much the same - especially when my old PE teacher Jim Moffat was there.
They have now put themselves firmly in 2nd place but I still see at as more of a friendly rivalry.

That's extremely sad and rather petty. I would always support Dunfermline against either of the forces of darkness in a cup final.

Diddy team every time! The fans would be just like us - waking up on the day of the game, nervous, excited, relishing the whole experience.

Contrast that with the OF fans waking up on the day of the game, and you would rather their team win??

I would never deny smaller teams fans the chance to experience what I felt on 27/11/94
DancingInTheStreets
QUOTE (pantene proV @ Sep 15 2008, 17:45) *
I would never deny smaller teams fans the chance to experience what I felt on 27/11/94

Neither would I, apart from Dunfermline.

We've got to keep some bragging rights. smile.gif
Duracell Bunny
Obsessed!!! laugh.gif
faither
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 14 2008, 21:50) *

Only luck and our inability to score yesterday prevented you from getting a drubbing, fife were never at the races untill they scored against the run of play then you enjoyed a 10 minute spell, apart from crawford who was to slow to get to the ball before oconnor in the first half i actually thought we were going to pitch a tent in youre half and set up camp.

Bit of a handicap in a football team!
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 15 2008, 19:20) *

Beat me to it, absolutely legendary!!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (lzreid @ Sep 15 2008, 17:19) *
Not sure you could beat Mr A Hitler of Munich never mind Eddie biggrin.gif .

Of course, you're absolutely correct.
Despite all this friendly, healthy rivalry, at least we are devoted followers of our team and keep the same username for more that a week.

Unlike some i could mention wink.gif

I mean, c'mon, the guy even goes on our own website to see whats being said. AND he has an EF top!
I should know, i bought the fucking thing and he`s still not paid me! tongue.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (DancingInTheStreets @ Sep 15 2008, 17:21) *
Agree, but it is funny!

This includes the cup finals against Celtic which, for me, were the equivalent of watching Hitler vs Mussolini at tiddlywinks.

Speaking of Cowdenbeath, see its all kicking of in the forum below laugh.gif

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=91716
Cyril
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 20:56) *
Speaking of Cowdenbeath, see its all kicking of in the forum below laugh.gif

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=91716

cowdenbeeth are scum mate and i hate them as much as you lot they woudnt know a bar of soap if it hit them in the pus the smelly b*****ds
Big_Andy

The author of the linked piece has to be the most deluded and bitter numpty jobby to ever support East Fife.........and that takes some doing. laugh.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Mrs T @ Sep 15 2008, 21:16) *
The author of the linked piece has to be the most deluded and bitter numpty jobby to ever support East Fife.........and that takes some doing. laugh.gif

My money is on Jabba himself....... laugh.gif
gray's grim reaper
QUOTE (faither @ Sep 15 2008, 19:21) *
Bit of a handicap in a football team!

As opposed to what? a fat defence? a non existent midfield?

At least our handicap is down to missing players, look at it this way, Hissy and smith would be our two first choice strikers, both were missing. you had both first choice strikers playing and still couldnt score more than us, despite the fact we passed the ball to youre octopus between the sticks twice.
St. Starko
QUOTE (P.C @ Sep 15 2008, 16:40) *
i still think we would benefit from have Ellis as captain

Said it since game one.

QUOTE (lzreid @ Sep 15 2008, 16:49) *
Bang on. I like Davidson as player, he is willing, versatlie, hard working and a genuine asset to have in the squad. He's not a natural leader though. Laurie Ellis marks all the boxes, he can organise his defence, he knows when to shout at a player ande when to encourage and his work off the field is exemplary.

Exactly my thoughts. Davo is a sulking wee shite. We missed penalty two and his head goes down and his conversation with other players is always downbeat. No encouraging at all.

laugh.gif oh dear. Och well, they've had their cup final. Let them off with it.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 20:49) *
I mean, c'mon, the guy even goes on our own website to see whats being said. AND he has an EF top!
I should know, i bought the fucking thing and he`s still not paid me! tongue.gif

I haven't been on AFTN for ages.............

My IP was banned!!! laugh.gif
CALDERON

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Andy.C

I guarantee the person that wrote that was no taller than 5ft 5.

The reek of small man syndrome in that piece was overpowering.
raith1974
Dave Baikie said in the Sun today that his team were gash in the first half but better in the second half matching Raith over the pitch. He then said that due to this a draw was a fair result, HOW!!!

Raith outplayed EF in the first which Baikie said, second half was more even, with Raith still the slightly better side, but EF deserved a draw. If a team has 70% of a game and the oppositon 30% that doesn't mean that it should end a draw, i would have more respect for Baikie if he could just tell as it is and admit that his team didn't deserve anything and were lucky that Raith failed to take their numerous chances to EF's two.
BullyWee1878
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 15 2008, 22:12) *
I haven't been on AFTN for ages.............

My IP was banned!!! laugh.gif

Why havent you been in the Mon the Reds thread Eddie you are always posting stuff in there well until your big team got beat rolleyes.gif
Duracell Bunny
You really are obsessed aren't you!!! rolleyes.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Sep 15 2008, 21:49) *
Said it since game one.

Exactly my thoughts. Davo is a sulking wee shite. We missed penalty two and his head goes down and his conversation with other players is always downbeat. No encouraging at all.

laugh.gif oh dear. Och well, they've had their cup final. Let them off with it.

I think we've both had our cup final mate. In all seriousness, where do you boys see your club in say 5-10 years time?
Your sitting in a 10,000 seater stadium which you can barely quarter fill for home games, all done i may add to suit the requirements of Scotlands laughable flagship the SPL. A league i may add which Raith will probably never see again. That is not a dig by the way.
Your stadium, whilst very nice, is deteriotaing badly and will cost money to sustain, both now, and into the very distant future. A stadium i may add, by your own fans admission "has stands that shake when half full" which is surely an investigative measure for the pen pushers at Health & Safety??
Now if Raith are barely staying afloat financially (like most clubs in this country) are your expectations set too high?
Your stadium could well be the straw that breaks the camels back when it comes to moving onwards and upwards.

Probably f**k all to do with Saturdays game, but it does put a different slant on a thread thats is running its course. wink.gif
Gordon EF
QUOTE (raith1974 @ Sep 15 2008, 22:16) *
a draw was a fair result, HOW!!!

Raith Rovers scored one goal, East Fife socred one goal.

If you listen to his interview on the Rovers website he says that we should have won the Queens Park and Brechin games but didn't and so maybe we got the breaks on Saturday. That would suggest that he thought Raith had the better of the game (which they did) and admitted it.

Maybe I'd had a wee bit too much to drink and was caught up in the derby atmosphere but I can't really remember Raith camping in our half for long periods creating chance after chance. McCulloch saved two penalties and made another couple of great saves, as well as nicking the ball off Wardlaw's feet in the first half. It was hardly the greatest injustice in world football ever.

Your balls in behind the defence for Weir and Wardlaw to run onto caught us out time after time in the first half but Raith clearly weren't able to make enough clear cut chances out of it.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (raith1974 @ Sep 15 2008, 22:16) *
Dave Baikie said in the Sun today that his team were gash in the first half but better in the second half matching Raith over the pitch. He then said that due to this a draw was a fair result, HOW!!!

Raith outplayed EF in the first which Baikie said, second half was more even, with Raith still the slightly better side, but EF deserved a draw. If a team has 70% of a game and the oppositon 30% that doesn't mean that it should end a draw, i would have more respect for Baikie if he could just tell as it is and admit that his team didn't deserve anything and were lucky that Raith failed to take their numerous chances to EF's two.

Fucking laughable. I`m sure Dave Baikie wont lose any sleep over you not giving him much respect.
The game ended in a draw. Accept it. If the players couldn't do much about it then what fucking chance do we have?
No bragging rights this time round. You'll have to wait till November cool.gif
CALDERON
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 22:37) *
I think we've both had our cup final mate. In all seriousness, where do you boys see your club in say 5-10 years time?
Your sitting in a 10,000 seater stadium which you can barely quarter fill for home games, all done i may add to suit the requirements of Scotlands laughable flagship the SPL. A league i may add which Raith will probably never see again. That is not a dig by the way.
Your stadium, whilst very nice, is deteriotaing badly and will cost money to sustain, both now, and into the very distant future. A stadium i may add, by your own fans admission "has stands that shake when half full" which is surely an investigative measure for the pen pushers at Health & Safety??
Now if Raith are barely staying afloat financially (like most clubs in this country) are your expectations set too high?
Your stadium could well be the straw that breaks the camels back when it comes to moving onwards and upwards.

Probably f**k all to do with Saturdays game, but it does put a different slant on a thread thats is running its course. wink.gif

Id probably expect/hope to be in the First Division in 5 years time, HOPEFULLY settled down as well.

God knows though, its the Rovers.
Andy.C

First division stability. Fantastic youth programme. Living within our means.

Now where do you see your club in 5-10 years time?
Gordon EF
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Sep 15 2008, 22:42) *

Champions League.
Andy.C
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Sep 15 2008, 22:44) *
Champions League.

I'm laughing with you not at you by the way.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Sep 15 2008, 22:42) *
First division stability. Fantastic youth programme. Living within our means.

I'd be quite content with 2nd division stability to be perfectly honest. Comfortably avoiding relegation to Scotlands basement leauge would make me more than content. If we manage to get up the dizzy heights of the first division then fantastic, although i wouldn't hold my breath.
Living within our means is the key word. Survival is the long term objective.
CALDERON
Sensible posts from EF and Rovers fans?

What is this strange universe i find myself in?
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 22:49) *
I'd be quite content with 2nd division stability to be perfectly honest. Comfortably avoiding relegation to Scotlands basement leauge would make me more than content. If we manage to get up the dizzy heights of the first division then fantastic, although i wouldn't hold my breath.
Living within our means is the key word. Survival is the long term objective.

Going about it the right way aren't you.........
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Sep 15 2008, 22:50) *
Sensible posts from EF and Rovers fans?

What is this strange universe i find myself in?

I like you Rovers boys. You're ok in my book. You do possess some stupid c***s amongst your ranks, but we'll put that down to 1.5 litre Buckfast bottles and bad parenting skills.
rw89
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 22:52) *
I like you Rovers boys. You're ok in my book. You do possess some stupid c***s amongst your ranks, but we'll put that down to 1.5 litre Buckfast bottles and bad parenting skills.

laugh.gif You aren't too bad either providing you don't use that fucking horse picture! tongue.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 15 2008, 22:50) *

Shut it you plastic Manc tart. Irrespective of who our chairman is, we were around long before he took over, and we'll be around long after he goes. Its called loyalty. Go look it up.
Gordon EF
In all seriousness, we could all say where we see our clubs in 5-10 years time, it doesn't really mean much though does it?

We got promoted from the 2nd in 1996 under Steve Archibald and were playing (admittedly, like shit) in the 1st division 11 years ago. I'm sure nobody thought we'd have such a poor decade at that point. I'm sure not many Raith fans thought they'd be an established 2nd division team by the mid noughties when they won the CC cup and were riding high in the Premier.

The aim for East Fife has got to be to become a stable 2nd division team who aim to get into the 1st division when we can. On crowds of 800 or so, it'll always be difficult to sustain 1st division football for more than a season or two the way Scottish football is structured at the moment.

As for living within our means, then as long as Willie Grey is here, our means are pretty high. I'd be worried of we were spending this kind of money without someone who can afford it but we do have that. When Willie leaves, we won't be able to afford the wages we're paying right now but if clubs like Brechin and Peterhead can be at the level they are at now, then so can we, if not potentialy higher.
Stevo Fife
Click to view attachment
QUOTE (rw89 @ Sep 15 2008, 22:54) *
laugh.gif You aren't too bad either providing you don't use that fucking horse picture! tongue.gif
rw89
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 22:57) *

sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif laugh.gif
Gordon EF
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 15 2008, 22:50) *

Hmm, yes, good input. Insightful.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 22:55) *
Shut it you plastic Manc tart. Irrespective of who our chairman is, we were around long before he took over, and we'll be around long after he goes. Its called loyalty. Go look it up.

That remains to be seen wink.gif
Grant228
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 14 2008, 21:50) *
Fact of the matter is while most fans on here have not said it that doesnt mean that most fans dont think it, rovers fans on here represent a minority of our support and the VAST MAJORITY view dunfermline as our main and fiercest rivals, always have and always will, no matter what East Fife achieve in the future, for 20 years you have been in the doldrums of scottish football, stuck down with the dregs.

huh.gif

QUOTE (Juan_kalot @ Sep 14 2008, 22:23) *
We actually took more to Dunfermline a couple of years ago in the cup (midweek in winter!), and speaking of Dunfermline, most Pars fans hate Falkirk and don't give a shit about Raith.

This man his it summed up pretty well ^^

QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Sep 14 2008, 22:27) *
Theres rivalry between us and Falkirk too. Its not just a Falkirk-Pars thing, its a Falkirk-Fife thing. When we play Dunfermline they give a shit alright.

You appear to be saying that East Fife, Falkirk and Dunfermline fans see Raith Rovers as noboddies.

Keep up the Jaunking rolleyes.gif

No...i seem them as this wee team who constantly try to make themselves feel bigger but trying to associate themselves with a bigger team.

QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Sep 14 2008, 23:42) *
That's probably what Dunfermline and Falkirk are beginning to see Raith as.

Correct.
Gordon EF
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 15 2008, 23:00) *
That remains to be seen wink.gif

Of course it does. It's the future you see. It remains to be seen because it comes after the present. When this future becomes the present, that's when we'll see it. rolleyes.gif
bring_back_the_twa_hoops

Rovers should have built a new stadium at Gallatown when they had the chance - perfect road access, parking, and away from housing. But they didnt and it was a big mistake. I dont think Strak's is as bad as you're making out, however. The North and South Stands are still new buildings, as is the Railway Stand. The Main Stand is a bit outdated with its pillars but its still not bad when you look at others. If you compare Stark's to Palmerston for instance its no contest.

I wouldnt discount us getting into the SPL again sometime, but thats as much a matter for boardroom policy as anything else.
Stevo Fife
I meant to say,

whilst walking to the stadium on Saturday, i was being followed by a dozen or so smelly b*****ds in Rovers tops singing anti East Fife songs down my neck.
Deeply offended i was. The language was appalling. I had to cross the road for fear of getting stuck into the kunts! tongue.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Sep 15 2008, 23:04) *
Rovers should have built a new stadium at Gallatown when they had the chance - perfect road access, parking, and away from housing. But they didnt and it was a big mistake. I dont think Strak's is as bad as you're making out, however. The North and South Stands are still new buildings, as is the Railway Stand. The Main Stand is a bit outdated with its pillars but its still not bad when you look at others. If you compare Stark's to Palmerston for instance its no contest.

I wouldnt discount us getting into the SPL again sometime, but thats as much a matter for boardroom policy as anything else.

Thats not quite what i meant. Its a tidy stadium, yet will need maintaining, sustaining call it what you want. Its not being used. The shakey stand is a concern. I`d get that checked out before your average 1600 at the home end are drastically reduced laugh.gif
As for the SPL, never say never, so i'll say it for ya...

Not gona happen. wink.gif
St. Starko

We have both had our cup final but in 5 - 10 years time i would hope we could be a stable team in division 1. In reality if we even get into division 1 we will probably do a Stirling and fall back down, but there's nothing wrong with dreams (just like how you feel Fife can maybe get into division 1). I think the percentage of seats we fill is completely irrelevant. As long as we get more bums on seats than East Fife then we are generating more gate income. Even though you fill a higher percentage of seats, you're still getting less money. tongue.gif