Full Version: Raith 1 - 1 East Fife
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
gray's grim reaper
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Sep 14 2008, 15:18) *
I don't think anybody cheered at the final whistle.

We're your derby and until you become good enough to get into the same league as Dunfermline, we'll be the only one you've got. If you can't get even a wee bit excited by that then what's the point.

Your 'we don't care' line would be more convincing if your fellow fans on here were saying the same thing or if your home crowd didn't almost double for our visit.

smile.gif

Fact of the matter is while most fans on here have not said it that doesnt mean that most fans dont think it, rovers fans on here represent a minority of our support and the VAST MAJORITY view dunfermline as our main and fiercest rivals, always have and always will, no matter what East Fife achieve in the future, for 20 years you have been in the doldrums of scottish football, stuck down with the dregs.

Yes we we were excited by the derby, not because of the fact its East Fife but because it was the return of that fat git, along with more than a few rejects, LLoyd young, smart aswell as others who were never good enough in a rovers shirt while they were here, where is East fifes pride? youre club is practically a Rovers reunion with some fat bugger as the hapless headmaster, how can you cheer that on? you are being run by a man who cares as much for the club as i do, his only goal being to get one over the rovers, Theres not a chairman in this league who would give him the time of day and he is an embarassment to you're club.

By the amount of fans you brought (well done on that by the way) this was obviously the biggest game you've had in years, yes we had a big crowd and a few more than usual but had it been dunfermline im confident there would have been double the amount of yesterdays game.

While East Fife will consider us their closest rivals history shows to us youre just a 'significant other' the same as cowdenbeath, You are right in saying that you are our only derby untill we get promotion, if we dont get promoted this year we wont have one next as if you play like that against a team with a proven striker, (bearing in mind ours was injured along with other key members) you're derby will be against Cowden next year.

Only luck and our inability to score yesterday prevented you from getting a drubbing, fife were never at the races untill they scored against the run of play then you enjoyed a 10 minute spell, apart from crawford who was to slow to get to the ball before oconnor in the first half i actually thought we were going to pitch a tent in youre half and set up camp.

I believe the EF fans when they say they will play better as you sure as hell cant get any worse, fact is with that defence you will concede goals, Mcmanus is still the same workhorse as when i played U-10's with him but isnt a prover scorer at this level, Crawford showed some great touches but Unless youre midfield get a grip on games he aint going to get any supply.
Andy.C
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Sep 14 2008, 21:31) *
I think theres ability there. Theyre not all has-beens either.

Saying nice stuff like that isn't going to rile their fans though is it?

We've got a rivallry to think about here!
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (Angusfifer @ Sep 14 2008, 21:39) *
It's quite funny seeing the carpet-dodgers working themselves into a lather over this game.
The Fife fans are perfectly phlegmatic about our current situation.
For us it was a poorish first-half but we finished the game the stronger side. In the wider scheme of things Davie Baikie called it spot on. We were up against a team that have managed to establish themselves as a Second Division outfit. I didn't see anything to suggest that Raith are any better than potential play-off candidates.
For me the league is still wide open...

Your choice of language immediately betrays a lack of objectivity. I dispute that EF finished the stronger side. A few passages of pressure towards the end of game after we were so much on top for so long maybe makes it seem like that.

This 'we were up against an established second division team' contradicts the fact that many of EFs players were playing at a higher level last season - it is not the team which played in the third division last season, whilst your chairman ridicules us for signing lower league players by comparison.

Any honest person at the game would admit that we played a higher standard of football than EF. Whether you think that standard isnt good enough to win the league is your opinion. That remains to be seen, but I think we've a much better chance than EF.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Sep 14 2008, 21:51) *
Saying nice stuff like that isn't going to rile their fans though is it?

We've got a rivallry to think about here!

Yea, we have to keep reminding them we're the big club.

I do think that once they find their best line-up they'll be more of a force tho.
Juan_kalot
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 14 2008, 20:50) *
By the amount of fans you brought (well done on that by the way) this was obviously the biggest game you've had in years, yes we had a big crowd and a few more than usual but had it been dunfermline im confident there would have been double the amount of yesterdays game.

We actually took more to Dunfermline a couple of years ago in the cup (midweek in winter!), and speaking of Dunfermline, most Pars fans hate Falkirk and don't give a shit about Raith.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Juan_kalot @ Sep 14 2008, 22:23) *
We actually took more to Dunfermline a couple of years ago in the cup (midweek in winter!), and speaking of Dunfermline, most Pars fans hate Falkirk and don't give a shit about Raith.

Believe that if you want!!! laugh.gif
bring_back_the_twa_hoops

Theres rivalry between us and Falkirk too. Its not just a Falkirk-Pars thing, its a Falkirk-Fife thing. When we play Dunfermline they give a shit alright.

You appear to be saying that East Fife, Falkirk and Dunfermline fans see Raith Rovers as noboddies.

Keep up the Jaunking rolleyes.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 14 2008, 21:50) *
Fact of the matter is while most fans on here have not said it that doesnt mean that most fans dont think it, rovers fans on here represent a minority of our support and the VAST MAJORITY view dunfermline as our main and fiercest rivals, always have and always will, no matter what East Fife achieve in the future, for 20 years you have been in the doldrums of scottish football, stuck down with the dregs.

Yes we we were excited by the derby, not because of the fact its East Fife but because it was the return of that fat git, along with more than a few rejects, LLoyd young, smart aswell as others who were never good enough in a rovers shirt while they were here, where is East fifes pride? youre club is practically a Rovers reunion with some fat bugger as the hapless headmaster, how can you cheer that on? you are being run by a man who cares as much for the club as i do, his only goal being to get one over the rovers, Theres not a chairman in this league who would give him the time of day and he is an embarassment to you're club.

While East Fife will consider us their closest rivals history shows to us youre just a 'significant other' the same as cowdenbeath, You are right in saying that you are our only derby untill we get promotion, if we dont get promoted this year we wont have one next as if you play like that against a team with a proven striker, (bearing in mind ours was injured along with other key members) you're derby will be against Cowden next year.

Only luck and our inability to score yesterday prevented you from getting a drubbing, fife were never at the races untill they scored against the run of play then you enjoyed a 10 minute spell, apart from crawford who was to slow to get to the ball before oconnor in the first half i actually thought we were going to pitch a tent in youre half and set up camp.

I believe the EF fans when they say they will play better as you sure as hell cant get any worse, fact is with that defence you will concede goals, Mcmanus is still the same workhorse as when i played U-10's with him but isnt a prover scorer at this level, Crawford showed some great touches but Unless youre midfield get a grip on games he aint going to get any supply.

What a load of utter pish. Couple of decent points but mostly drivel.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 14 2008, 22:31) *
What a load of utter pish. Couple of decent points but mostly drivel.

Why not comment on the pish spouted by East Fife fans wink.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 14 2008, 22:34) *
Why not comment on the pish spouted by East Fife fans wink.gif

That would make me as unpopular as you tongue.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 14 2008, 21:50) *

Bollocks. A rejuvinated East Fife is a much more mouth watering prospect that the parsy whores. The history between the 2 clubs is evident.

Many of us would support our team through thick and thin irrespective of who the chairman is. Raith fans are the ones with issues here. East Fife would still be here with our without Gray as Chairman.

Double you say? I doubt that very much.

Very mature.

The games all about luck mate. Your inability to score isn't our fault rolleyes.gif

Now thats a fair enough point.
gray's grim reaper

I class falkirk as a rival too, infact in my post i was going to say i consider them to be more of a rival than East fife, that statement would look ludicrious given the gulf between the teams now.

Put it this way, if all the professional fife clubs and falkirk were in the same league it would be in order of rivalry.

Pars
Bairns
East Fife
Cowdenbeath.

Youre regarded in my opinion and probably many others as being 'just the wee club doon the road'
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 14 2008, 23:35) *
I class falkirk as a rival too, infact in my post i was going to say i consider them to be more of a rival than East fife, that statement would look ludicrious given the gulf between the teams now.

Put it this way, if all the professional fife clubs and falkirk were in the same league it would be in order of rivalry.

Pars
Bairns
East Fife
Cowdenbeath.

Youre regarded in my opinion and probably many others as being 'just the wee club doon the road'

Your a fackin fantasist mate. Away and behave.
Gordon EF
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 14 2008, 23:35) *

That's probably what Dunfermline and Falkirk are beginning to see Raith as.
rw89
Apparently Wilson and Walker are mickey mouse players...only on Fan talk surely! laugh.gif
gray's grim reaper
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 14 2008, 23:14) *

Double you say? I doubt that very much.

Why so? by my reckoning the millenium derby would be the last time we played them at home the crowd was 7464.

Yesterdays attendance was given as 3637, thats MORE than double, would you like me to do the maths for you?
Michael W
Arguing about who are and aren't our rivals laugh.gif

New lows.

gray's grim reaper
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Sep 14 2008, 23:42) *
That's probably what Dunfermline and Falkirk are beginning to see Raith as.

I have no doubt, you have posted a fact just as i have so why the fuss?
Gordon EF
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 14 2008, 23:46) *
I have no doubt, you have posted a fact just as i have so why the fuss?

No fuss, just facts.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 14 2008, 23:45) *
Why so? by my reckoning the millenium derby would be the last time we played them at home the crowd was 7464.

Yesterdays attendance was given as 3637, thats MORE than double, would you like me to do the maths for you?

That was 8 years ago. A lot has changed since then. Society has changed, attitudes towards football have changed and most importantly Raith & Dunfermline have changed. Its called regression i reckon. Next year they'll call it recession. Same old shit, different title.
Take a walk down Kirkcaldy or Dunfermline high street any day of the week. Chances are you're more inclined to see an Old Firm top than a Raith or Pars one.
If you think you'd get 7500 now your taking far too many tablets bud.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 14 2008, 23:52) *
That was 8 years ago. A lot has changed since then. Society has changed, attitudes towards football have changed and most importantly Raith & Dunfermline have changed. Its called regression i reckon. Next year they'll call it recession. Same old shit, different title.
Take a walk down Kirkcaldy or Dunfermline high street any day of the week. Chances are you're more inclined to see an Old Firm top than a Raith or Pars one.

I bet it's closer to 7500 than the crowd that was at Starks on Saturday wink.gif
gray's grim reaper
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 14 2008, 23:52) *

You may be right but the fact remains it's still more than double and we will always get a bigger crowd against our biggest rivals, As East Fifes record attendance will back my theory up.

To be honest im surprised there were so many there yesterday given the scandalous admission prices to see 2nd division football.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 14 2008, 23:54) *
I bet it's closer to 7500 than the crowd that was at Starks on Saturday wink.gif

How the f**k would you know. You're an armchair Man Utd supporter cool.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 14 2008, 23:57) *
You may be right but the fact remains it's still more than double and we will always get a bigger crowd against our biggest rivals, As East Fifes record attendance will back my theory up.

To be honest im surprised there were so many there yesterday given the scandalous admission prices to see 2nd division football.

Of course you will, i'm not disputing that. Both Kirkcaldy and Dunfermline are Big towns but that is not reflected in their home gates. For a town the size of Kirkcaldy you should be hitting 3-4000+ every week at least but thats not your clubs fault. Your attendance yesterday was poor considering the hype. Had it been the Parsy whores it would still be poor.
Stevo Fife

Not sure what you mean by East Fifes record attendance. You dont want to go down that route. Its scary wink.gif

Just remember who Fifes most succesful club are tongue.gif
gray's grim reaper
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 00:07) *
Not sure what you mean by East Fifes record attendance. You dont want to go down that route. Its scary wink.gif

Just remember who Fifes most succesful club are tongue.gif

Struggling to remember mate, wasnt around much before the war, infact i was just a nipper last time you shared same league status with us sad.gif
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (gray's grim reaper @ Sep 15 2008, 00:31) *
Struggling to remember mate, wasnt around much before the war, infact i was just a nipper last time you shared same league status with us sad.gif

Yes, Raith are indeed the benchmark to which we aspire to. rolleyes.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 00:36) *
Yes, Raith are indeed the benchmark to which we aspire to. rolleyes.gif

Jabba seems to think so......... tongue.gif
BIGQ FAE KDY
QUOTE (King Kebab @ Sep 13 2008, 21:41) *
Well have to admit to feeling a little bit disappointed tonight after that game, I thought we really didn't do ourselves justice, the reason why we didn't play with a midfield until the 70th minute still escapes me, Fozzy isn't mobile or creative enough and Big Greigie is a defender being played out of position, we didn't look effective or cohesive as a unit until Fagan went into the middle and The Boabie came on (although in my opinion he should be starting). With that in mind I would warn the Wraith support in against over-praising their own side when the couldn't score from open play against a not very mobile back four and a non-existent middle four, yes you had the bulk of the play in the first half but I reckon, penalties aside, O'Connor made as many saves as McCulloch did today, just probably not as composed, and at times, not as photogenic as Wullie's efforts!!!

Like I said it wasn't until we upped the ante by taking certain players off and putting other players into their correct positions did it look better from our point of view. McManus was not as effective as he usually is but when he went off Crawford did look a different class when moved into a more direct "up front" position at least 3 or 4 times he tore the Wraith back four a new arsehole, but just couldn't help but think it was too little too late!!!

As for the penalties well by my reckoning there were five Penalty decisions for the referee to make and he fucked up everyone of them bar one, the two that Wraith got were not penalties, the one they didn't get when Tweed took the legs from a player was as stonewall as you are likely to see Crawford in the box near the end was a penalty of a similar sort, in my view McManus' second half dive was the only one he got right, but then again these decisions didn't really matter at the end of the day as Wullie decided to hold a master class!!!

At the end of the day I thought both sides were really not all they are cracked up to be, the Rovers are no great shakes and we are definitely a work in progress, but it saying that it was a fucking cracking game, the atmosphere was tremendous, as it should be at a local derby, I even found the Willie Gray stuff funny, as did the majority of Wraith boys and probably Wullie himself!!!

The two things that did disappoint me off the pitch though is the quite disgraceful form of apartheid practised at Starks Park, namely not allowing the away fans to light up behind the stands at half time, quite funny though watching the Security guard trying to make around 30 guys stop smoking as they puffed away on the concourse, I honestly thought he was going to start crying as he was ignored by all and sundry as he went about telling everybody to put them out, he finally got the police round to enforce the draconian regulations but by that time the teams were walking out again and the Smokers Protest Group had finished and were heading back up the stairs leaving him to get a bollocking from the Police for wasting their time and dragging Officers away from their posts for f**k all, but it was quite annoying to walk back up the stairs and see the nicotine refuelled Lino-Lickers up the side of the stand puffing away to their hearts content blethering away to the stewards!!!

The other thing that annoyed me was the "Fozzie is a racist" chants from the away fans, without opening up that whole can of worms again, having spoken to Fozzie I know he holds the Wraith support in the highest regard, pity for it to be tainted or perhaps ended by that quite frankly pathetic chant, I know from this Forum that a lot of the Lino Lickers support Fozzie in his defence of this allegation and it really just smacked of desperation and patheticness in attempt to upset an opposition player!!!

So at the end of this long winded rant, a draw was fair enough but both teams really must improve before the next meeting!!!

I have it on good authority from someone who knows fozzy well that he never said anything and we all know who did utter the abuse but cant divulge it.Fozzy is a top guy and we didnt want him to leave as for the song it is just a bit of banter but why were the away fans singing it.The game was an absolute belter and we should have won by a few goals but didnt which was disappointing.Your chairman is a complete tit waving his ef scarf about trying to wind us up as for his son the less said about that erse the better.
BIGQ FAE KDY
QUOTE (Juan_kalot @ Sep 14 2008, 12:12) *
Heard from a source at Bayview that Raith Rovers could be given as little as 100 tickets for the game in November.

A small crowd of Raith fans waited outside the stadium for Willie Gray yesterday, these are the guys you should thank when 90% of you can't get in to the game!

100 tkts wow thanks for that we will just stand on the hill instead saving a tenner as for waiting for willie gray dont talk pish why would we waste our time doing that.I was in that small group and we were waiting for the bus to pick us up and take us TO STYX not waiting for jabba.The bus had to make 3 trips instead of 1 and was running late
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (BIGQ FAE KDY @ Sep 15 2008, 00:54) *
100 tkts wow thanks for that we will just stand on the hill instead saving a tenner as for waiting for willie gray dont talk pish why would we waste our time doing that.I was in that small group and we were waiting for the bus to pick us up and take us TO STYX not waiting for jabba.The bus had to make 3 trips instead of 1 and was running late

As has already been made clear.
CALDERON
QUOTE (Angusfifer @ Sep 14 2008, 21:39) *
It's quite funny seeing the carpet-dodgers working themselves into a lather over this game.
The Fife fans are perfectly phlegmatic about our current situation.
For us it was a poorish first-half but we finished the game the stronger side. In the wider scheme of things Davie Baikie called it spot on. We were up against a team that have managed to establish themselves as a Second Division outfit. I didn't see anything to suggest that Raith are any better than potential play-off candidates.
For me the league is still wide open...

In all honesty, I think that should we get our injured players back, we will be up there with Ayr challenging for the title.

With regards to East Fife, as everyone knows, they have some real quality up front. However, they are really lacking in the midfield/defensive area. They really raised their game on Saturday and fought hard (fair play to them), but im not sure if they would be able to continue that same level against the likes of Brechin/Peterhead/Ayr etc, without that level of spice involved.

Im quietly confident about the rest of the season. Yet again, we would have crumbled last season after losing the goal.

Someone is due a hiding from us (that old phrase eh?), lets hope its soon.

Oh, and what does Weir need to do to score?
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Sep 15 2008, 09:21) *
Oh, and what does Weir need to do to score?

Grow a pair and take a penalty.
CALDERON
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Sep 15 2008, 09:23) *
Grow a pair and take a penalty.

Actually, good point.

Why the f**k were Walker and Wilson taking penalties? Weir are Wardlaw should have grabbed the ball off him.
rw89
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Sep 15 2008, 09:50) *
Actually, good point.

Why the f**k were Walker and Wilson taking penalties? Weir are Wardlaw should have grabbed the ball off him.

In fairness to Wilson, i'm pretty sure he has scored in every shootout he has taken a penalty in with us. Still more balls from the forwards next time!
CALDERON
QUOTE (rw89 @ Sep 15 2008, 09:56) *
In fairness to Wilson, i'm pretty sure he has scored in every shootout he has taken a penalty in with us. Still more balls from the forwards next time!

Maybe, but Im a bit concerned that our main centre forward was nowhere to be seen for either penalty. Surely he'd be really eager to open his account?
lzreid
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 14 2008, 22:55) *
That would make me as unpopular as you tongue.gif

Now there's a poll I'd like to see tongue.gif .

QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 15 2008, 00:04) *
Of course you will, i'm not disputing that. Both Kirkcaldy and Dunfermline are Big towns but that is not reflected in their home gates. For a town the size of Kirkcaldy you should be hitting 3-4000+ every week at least but thats not your clubs fault. Your attendance yesterday was poor considering the hype. Had it been the Parsy whores it would still be poor.

Exactly, you have to ask why e can bring in 3,600 one week and next week we'll be down to the usual 1800. Fucking infuriating.
graeme_p
QUOTE (BIGQ FAE KDY @ Sep 15 2008, 00:48) *
I have it on good authority from someone who knows fozzy well that he never said anything and we all know who did utter the abuse but cant divulge it.

Quinny,

This in itself makes Fotheringham every bit as guilty as the racist scum that did abuse Tade and a fair target for a bit of banter during the derby.

If he knows who the guilty party is he should drop them in it from a great height. Racism should not be tolerated let alone condoned by those lacking the balls to root it out.
lzreid
QUOTE (graeme_p @ Sep 15 2008, 10:51) *
Quinny,

This in itself makes Fotheringham every bit as guilty as the racist scum that did abuse Tade and a fair target for a bit of banter during the derby.

If he knows who the guilty party is he should drop them in it from a great height. Racism should not be tolerated let alone condoned by those lacking the balls to root it out.

Exactly.

I have no problem with the abuse dished out to Fozzy on Saturday. I can also assure you all that there was nothing tongue in cheek about the abuse I gave him. If he is guilty - and I have no reason to believe he's not - then he deserves every bit of it regardless of how well he played for us. chuck in the fact it was clearly affecting an opponent during a derby match and it was worth every bit of it.
BullyWee1878
Is Eddie Hitler now a Raith fan again as his big team lost at the weekend ? ohmy.gif
Tam EF

Agree. £28 for me and the 2 kids. mad.gif Would have been nice if there was some kind of family gate.
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (Tam EF @ Sep 15 2008, 13:59) *
Agree. £28 for me and the 2 kids. mad.gif Would have been nice if there was some kind of family gate.

At a Fife Derby laugh.gif laugh.gif
bobbykdy

Isnt there a parent child gate at the away end? There is at ours, £17. You and 1 of yer kids could have went through it if there was, then the other you would still obviously have to pay £7 for unless you could find an adult to take yer other bairn through. Still would have been a £4 saving though.

Pretty bad if there isnt, I would have thought it would be the same at both ends.
Wild Rover

We would have lost a fortune if had family gate as everyone would have just went in pairs cause you all related in someway or another anyway ! smile.gif
bobbykdy
QUOTE (Wild Rover @ Sep 15 2008, 14:49) *
We would have lost a fortune if had family gate as everyone would have just went in pairs cause you all related in someway or another anyway ! smile.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif
CALDERON
Anyone else see David Berthelot outside Starks after the game?
lzreid
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Sep 15 2008, 15:12) *
Anyone else see David Berthelot outside Starks after the game?

Hmmm... Ex-Rover + Wullie in attendance = EF having a new fat GK who will promptly be deployed on the wing.
Gordon EF
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Sep 15 2008, 09:21) *
They really raised their game on Saturday and fought hard (fair play to them), but im not sure if they would be able to continue that same level against the likes of Brechin/Peterhead/Ayr etc, without that level of spice involved.

Who are we talking about here? Wasn't it John McGlynn who said that the first half was the best he'd seen Raith play all season?

I don't think anyone will see Saturday as a raising of East Fife's game. We obviously started slowly and progress has been slow. I would say the last 3 games have seen an improvement, 1 goal conceded and unbeaten but there's still a lot of room for improvement.

We also pa=layed Brechin two weeks ago and should have beaten them.
P.C
only 10 pages, your letting the side down boys wink.gif laugh.gif
lzreid
It's only Monday. Not even gonna think about Stirling until Friday.