Full Version: Raith 1 - 1 East Fife
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
danelder89
Anyone else feel the stand shaking, I was scared ph34r.gif laugh.gif

P.C
QUOTE (Lang Toun Lad @ Sep 13 2008, 22:36) *
If they want you to take them donw they will ask you or YouTube to do so. Until then, post away!! boldblue.gif boldblue.gif

I think the East Fife fans will find that they think they were louder because of the distance between stands. At times we were singing "It's Nice to Know Your Here" because it sounded as if you weren't singing a lot. Although I did feel we stopped singing a lot during the second half. sad.gif

the home crowd at the start of the game were rilled with Wullie and his flag waving, pretty sure that caused him to break out in a sweat, (too much like excercise) and sang for the first 30mins or so but after that died of death, wasnt until we got the equaliser that they all found their voices again.

The game over the piece we should of won, we had alot more shots on target but have to say finishing from both teams was pretty bad (even without our missed pens). We are struggling at the moment with injuries and was a bit concerned before kick off that we might suffer because of it, thought we played well especially in defense, Wilson in particular was fantastic and cant see him being at the rovers past the end of the season.

Overall great game to watch with plenty of drama, great support (well in numbers anyway) from both sides and looking forward to the return in Methil, well if i can actually get in to see it that is! rolleyes.gif
P.C
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Sep 13 2008, 22:52) *
Anyone else feel the stand shaking, I was scared ph34r.gif laugh.gif

yeah thats why we arent really supposed to do the bouncy, we used to do it all the time, its only when your not doing it you notice how much it moves ohmy.gif
The American
Mcdonald and Fozzy in centre mid almost had me creaming my panties. Where was Young today?

JohnnyW
Gaz got out of hospital tonight, he's badly dislocated his elbow. It's been popped back in and his arm is in plaster, I think he'll be out for a while.

He's gutted as it was the first time in the league he's got a run out upfront and he was really enjoying the game when it happened.
P.C
QUOTE (JohnnyW @ Sep 13 2008, 23:17) *
Gaz got out of hospital tonight, he's badly dislocated his elbow. It's been popped back in and his arm is in plaster, I think he'll be out for a while.

He's gutted as it was the first time in the league he's got a run out upfront and he was really enjoying the game when it happened.

hope hes back soon, looked a sore one
JohnnyW
QUOTE (P.C @ Sep 13 2008, 23:19) *

I wasn't at the game so didn't see the incident but I met him at the hospital not long after the ambulance brought him in so saw the aftermath, it looked bloody sore. I think it'll sting in the morning when the morphine wears off.
danelder89
QUOTE (P.C @ Sep 13 2008, 23:19) *

I actually thought he was seriously hurt by the reaction of some players around him, waving frantically to the bench, looking away in disgust etc. I was half expecting to see an oxygen mask come out so in a way I was quite relieved when I was told it was just his elbow.
rw89
QUOTE (JohnnyW @ Sep 13 2008, 23:23) *
I wasn't at the game so didn't see the incident but I met him at the hospital not long after the ambulance brought him in so saw the aftermath, it looked bloody sore. I think it'll sting in the morning when the morphine wears off.

sad.gif Sounds pretty bad
Paco

Really gutted to hear that, hope to see him back playing soon. I was sceptical when he signed, but he's been excellent so far.

Best wishes to him, hope he has a speedier than anticpated recovery.
JohnnyW
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Sep 13 2008, 23:23) *
I actually thought he was seriously hurt by the reaction of some players around him, waving frantically to the bench, looking away in disgust etc. I was half expecting to see an oxygen mask come out so in a way I was quite relieved when I was told it was just his elbow.

It was probably more of a shock thing apparently his arm was 90 degrees the opposite way of where it should have been. The x-ray nurse at the hospital said today that it was the worst elbow dislocation she's seen.

He said it was fairly innocuous he was just running towards the box and got clipped when he went down his arm got caught between the defenders leg and popped the elbow out.
Rovers_Lad
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 13 2008, 21:25) *
You did deserve to win over the 90 minutes, but you didn't!

No shit sherlock

Has to be said, your an experienced 2nd division outfit and you look nothing special.

What a lot of utter pish.Have a look through your squad of 567 and you`ll see a lot of them have experience of playing at higher level than the 2nd division.I`m all for backing supporters backing there club when they`ve been pish and overrun by there rivals but that comment is laughable your club.

You run out of steam and ideas second half and lack firepower up front.

Your experienced players lacked ideas the whole game

Apart from the penalties i didn`t see much to suggest you would beat us convincingly, and the first half was mostly route 1.

We shouldn't fear anyone in this division if Raith are one of the "best sides", but we will improve. Certain players (as with most teams) are out of their depth at East Fife, and if we hope to cement our status as a second division club on the up, then i would expect a few new faces next window. cool.gif

The_Scarlet_Spook
We should all give thanks for the bountiful Fife derby.

Much love is wafted from the spirit realm to my most magnificent chums in Methil.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Sep 13 2008, 23:36) *
No shit sherlock

What a lot of utter pish.Have a look through your squad of 567 and you`ll see a lot of them have experience of playing at higher level than the 2nd division.I`m all for backing supporters backing there club when they`ve been pish and overrun by there rivals but that comment is laughable your club.

Buckfast boy has arrived laugh.gif
Rovers_Lad
Your response is a sign I was right.
danelder89
Right, hope the club don't get fined for this rolleyes.gif

1st penalty miss - Brutal

2nd penalty miss - How did Ferry miss the rebound? huh.gif

Rovers chance - Davo heads narrowly wide

Rovers chance 2 - What a save sad.gif
Stevo Fife
Deary me, all this cut and pasting. Still here we go... rolleyes.gif

QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 13 2008, 21:25) You did deserve to win over the 90 minutes, but you didn't![/quote]

No shit sherlock Erm ok then laugh.gif

Has to be said, your an experienced 2nd division outfit and you look nothing special.

Erm, can you not read? Your writings bad too. Anyway, that was in reference to your team, not mine rolleyes.gif And a squad of 567 is just being silly.

You run out of steam and ideas second half and lack firepower up front.

[b]Ok, you can squeeze that one in.

Apart from the penalties i didn`t see much to suggest you would beat us convincingly, and the first half was mostly route 1.

Erm, i think you'll find it was 1-1

We shouldn't fear anyone in this division if Raith are one of the "best sides", but we will improve. Certain players (as with most teams) are out of their depth at East Fife, and if we hope to cement our status as a second division club on the up, then i would expect a few new faces next window. cool.gif

[b]Yes, good arguement.

Now away to yer bed son. You're boring.

[/b][/b]
Stevo Fife
Messy i know, but its late rolleyes.gif
Cyril
fare play to you methil huns mate you surprised a few people incldin me and thats the best game ive seen in years mate altho we were the beter side i think your keeper is superb and your fans sang there harts out wullie gray is still a c**t thogh but i think you methil tink deseve a bit of respect for that
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (Paco @ Sep 13 2008, 23:25) *
Really gutted to hear that, hope to see him back playing soon. I was sceptical when he signed, but he's been excellent so far.

Best wishes to him, hope he has a speedier than anticpated recovery.

I'm the same. I slated him in the game at the Recs but since then he's he's done really well.

Get well soon.
St. Starko
Wardlaw was fantastic before he got injured and seemed to be the most likely to score a goal. However, it wasn't to be sad.gif Poor guy, it seemed a nasty nasty dislocation.
raith1974
Every week so far this season, EF fans have been telling us how their team have dominated games and should have won, now some EF fans are telling us that they deserved a draw, created as much chances as us and thought their team controlled the game at the end of the game.

Sorry, no chance, first half you got into the Raith box, once and even then Crawford was too slow to do anything. Raith on the otherhand played virtually all of the first half in the EF half, We created chance after chance and should have been 3 up at half time.

Second half started the same way the first ended with us out playing EF. Their defence was slow, midfield couldn't stringanything together, only when Linn came on did EF look slightly dangerous and only because he was direct. Yes you cam into the game but scored against the run of play. After that we scored had at least another 3 chances to score whereas you had one chance near the end.

Can you not just admit the better team by a country mile were Raith, the crowd EF fans and directors could only dream of, 3600 (more like 4200) just doesn't fit into your poxy little one stand. Willie Gray claimed EF would get 12 points well that's 2 dropped and if you continue like that for the rest of the season you will be playing for a relegation playoff.
raith1974
Further to what i have said, we played EF strongest side today, with Smart, player of the year at the heart of their defence, ha don't make me laugh, his level is no better than 3rd Div/Junior football.

Smith was missing, our main goal threat, Dunbar was missing, Sloan was out, McGurn was injured, plus three others that are long term, next time we play hopefully we will have Smith, Dunbar and McGurn back, three of our better players.

Big_Andy
Nah. To be honest, I thought Smart had a good game. Cleared up a lot of danger. Thought the EF defence was a bit slow on their feet, but our 'attacks' never really worried them. Mr McGlynn, told you at the start of the season we needed more cover up front. What did you do? Nothing. Got a guy on loan till he got injured too, fair enough, but we really need our own strikers. Now we have two 17 year old strikers to pick.................. rolleyes.gif Oh, and Weir who doesn't get the chance to be a striker, cause he is doing the midfielders jobs for them in winning the second ball.

Anyhow, can't wait till the return game at the Methilhilbilly Hideout. Just hope we don't have to play defenders or supporters up front!
lzreid
QUOTE (Mrs T @ Sep 14 2008, 08:39) *
Nah. To be honest, I thought Smart had a good game. Cleared up a lot of danger. Thought the EF defence was a bit slow on their feet, but our 'attacks' never really worried them. Mr McGlynn, told you at the start of the season we needed more cover up front. What did you do? Nothing. Got a guy on loan till he got injured too, fair enough, but we really need our own strikers. Now we have two 17 year old strikers to pick.................. rolleyes.gif Oh, and Weir who doesn't get the chance to be a striker, cause he is doing the midfielders jobs for them in winning the second ball.

Anyhow, can't wait till the return game at the Methilhilbilly Hideout. Just hope we don't have to play defenders or supporters up front!

Sorry mate but that is utter pish.

Right now we hold the registrations of Weir, Hislop and Wardlaw, we have Smith on a loan deal and we have 'cover' in Andy Tod. We then have Bryce and Wedderburn coming through from the 19s.

How many strikers do you think we should have? More to the point, how do you think we'd pay for more?
Mon_The_Fife
QUOTE (raith1974 @ Sep 14 2008, 05:17) *
Every week so far this season, EF fans have been telling us how their team have dominated games and should have won, now some EF fans are telling us that they deserved a draw, created as much chances as us and thought their team controlled the game at the end of the game.

Sorry, no chance, first half you got into the Raith box, once and even then Crawford was too slow to do anything. Raith on the otherhand played virtually all of the first half in the EF half, We created chance after chance and should have been 3 up at half time.

Second half started the same way the first ended with us out playing EF. Their defence was slow, midfield couldn't stringanything together, only when Linn came on did EF look slightly dangerous and only because he was direct. Yes you cam into the game but scored against the run of play. After that we scored had at least another 3 chances to score whereas you had one chance near the end.

Can you not just admit the better team by a country mile were Raith, the crowd EF fans and directors could only dream of, 3600 (more like 4200) just doesn't fit into your poxy little one stand. Willie Gray claimed EF would get 12 points well that's 2 dropped and if you continue like that for the rest of the season you will be playing for a relegation playoff.

QUOTE (raith1974 @ Sep 14 2008, 05:22) *
Further to what i have said, we played EF strongest side today, with Smart, player of the year at the heart of their defence, ha don't make me laugh, his level is no better than 3rd Div/Junior football.

Smith was missing, our main goal threat, Dunbar was missing, Sloan was out, McGurn was injured, plus three others that are long term, next time we play hopefully we will have Smith, Dunbar and McGurn back, three of our better players.

And laugh.gif

How are those grapes, bitter boy?

We were missing Paul Stewart, Stanic and Lloyd Young, when fit all 3 will be in the starting 11.
mike
Wat a game glad to have a real derby for us this year and with that fat drug dealing mink in the main stand directors box should of let him watch it from the dressing room toilet anyway thought we were fantastic and made beast fife look average throughout the game. We were very unlucky with the penalties and will probaly never ever get two in a game again but i thought weir or wardlaw should of stepped up. Hope Wardlaws return is quick as it looks like were going to struggle with hissy out now wardlaw smith? weir if he is injured who have we got to u19s which dont get me wrong are good players but need someone to play off with experience, with no money we are defo going to struggle. I hope wardlaw is ok as that incident looked very painful, but we definetly missed him when he went off as he was a playing off weir very well. there was no harrasment for the east fife back four when bryce came on and looked at times missing and never got in front of the cb and put them off but when linn came off the bench east fife had and injection of pace and more passing ability than the first half huh.gif

mon the rovers

also felt the stand shaking thought the cant was going to fall down
rw89
QUOTE (Mon_The_Fife @ Sep 14 2008, 09:30) *
We were missing Paul Stewart, Stanic and Lloyd Young, when fit all 3 will be in the starting 11.

laugh.gif Christ! Fozzy was bad enough against Wilson i'd hate to see what Stanic would be like!
Big_Andy
Static
mike
and fozzy is a pyscho by the way what a nutter ! ohmy.gif
MonTheRovers!!
Officially 1016 in the away end yesterday. Fucking awesome support in the home end!!
lzreid
QUOTE (mike @ Sep 14 2008, 09:55) *
and fozzy is a pyscho by the way what a nutter ! ohmy.gif

That's a bit harsh. He was certainly getting wound up though. The Fozzy is a racist chants along with his constant struggle against Wilson really seemed to be getting to him smile.gif ,
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (lzreid @ Sep 14 2008, 10:19) *
That's a bit harsh. He was certainly getting wound up though. The Fozzy is a racist chants along with his constant struggle against Wilson really seemed to be getting to him smile.gif ,

He fair ripped him, and that left back a new arsehole.
bobbykdy
Rovers deserved to win on the balance of play, but............if you miss 2 penalites then dont win you have no one to blame but yourself. East Fife to their credit did what any team with character would do, they hung in and in and when Fozzy scored I though "this aint our day, we are going to lose 1-0."

Great effort from Weir which really deserved a goal, what a relief when big Laurie bulleted in the header. What has happened to him by the way? Dont get me wrong he was always a 100 per center and a bigger Rovers guy you couldnt hope for but in the past he always seemed a bit limited. Now he just seems to have stepped up a aevel or two, immense.

Again fair play to East Fife, they kept going because we didnt take our chances and in the end I cant really grudge them their point. Great atmosphere too.
mike
wilson i thought was close to mom for me never stopped running and skinned almost everyone he ran against get in huh.gif
Andy.C
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 13 2008, 21:05) *
Not the best of home support it has to be said. I expected a lot more.

Summary = Cracker of a derby B)

This was a bigger match for the East Fife fans than it was for the Raith fans. There would have been nearly double that crowd if the Pars were in town.

Agree that it was a cracker of a match though!

QUOTE (King Kebab @ Sep 13 2008, 22:22) *
Sorry about that, but because we effectively took over the ground and made so much more noise than your mob it felt like a home game to me!!! tongue.gif

I saw that you's were singing but I couldn't really hear much. Did you retrieve your spray-painted bedsheet that declared your love for Willy yet?

Wish him all the best.

I got a fright at first and must admit that I was relieved in some way that it was just a dislocation.
lzreid
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Sep 14 2008, 10:22) *
He fair ripped him, and that left back a new arsehole.

He certainly did. Like I said earlier, if he hadn't missed the penalty he would have comfortably been MOTM.

Note to Mr Baikie;

Kevin Fotheringham is not a midfielder. He is a left back. I appreciate he may have been good enough in that position to play against the Elgins opf this world but you've just taken a step up.
rw89
QUOTE (bobbykdy @ Sep 14 2008, 09:23) *
Rovers deserved to win on the balance of play, but............if you miss 2 penalites then dont win you have no one to blame but yourself. East Fife to their credit did what any team with character would do, they hung in and in and when Fozzy scored I though "this aint our day, we are going to lose 1-0."

Great effort from Weir which really deserved a goal, what a relief when big Laurie bulleted in the header. What has happened to him by the way? Dont get me wrong he was always a 100 per center and a bigger Rovers guy you couldnt hope for but in the past he always seemed a bit limited. Now he just seems to have stepped up a aevel or two, immense.

Again fair play to East Fife, they kept going because we didnt take our chances and in the end I cant really grudge them their point. Great atmosphere too.

We should really refer to these as Dalzielisms. Dalziel (and whoever was manager when Laurie first joined) played him at left back and in left midfield. This is not his best position. He then moved to Cowden when Mixu played him at center back. Laurie then plays very well. Again, he moves to Stirling, plays at a higher level and gets more experience. Any fan who had seen him with Stirling or Cowden could tell he would be an excellent signing this summer. Glad he is proving the "shit before, will be shit now" groups wrong. laugh.gif
bobbykdy
QUOTE (rw89 @ Sep 14 2008, 10:49) *
We should really refer to these as Dalzielisms. Dalziel (and whoever was manager when Laurie first joined) played him at left back and in left midfield. This is not his best position. He then moved to Cowden when Mixu played him at center back. Laurie then plays very well. Again, he moves to Stirling, plays at a higher level and gets more experience. Any fan who had seen him with Stirling or Cowden could tell he would be an excellent signing this summer. Glad he is proving the "shit before, will be shit now" groups wrong. laugh.gif

It was Calderon who freed him the first time, though he was signed long before he was boss.

I still remeber him and Dene Shields (yesterday of East Fife) trudging out of Glebe Park in 2003 an hour before kick off with their faces tripping them. They had obviously just been told that day they wouldnt be playing. I knew then that Lauries time with us was up. Dalziel was just Dalziel, saying he wouldnt have signed guys like Eliis if he had had more time to choose his squad. dry.gif Says it all about his management skills really.
fifepup
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Sep 14 2008, 10:17) *
Officially 1016 in the away end yesterday. Fucking awesome support in the home end!!

What's with the crowd obsession?

You lot are full of shit.
First it was the "when you come through on the mini bus" pish..
then we had your bald fud of a gaffer declaring we'd bring 500 max, and be outnumbered 5-1. laugh.gif
Your downplayed estimates on our support start at a laughable 800, and your "official figures" on the away support have so far ranged from 1000 to 1200+. Make your minds up.

The you claim laughably that "both sets of fans never stopped singing".
Half right! But there's no shame in it, home supports usually are a bit quieter.
You're like a bunch of wee lassies. Totally fucking deluded.
"I get the feeling it was their cup final" Good one, laugh.gif laugh.gif
Keep them coming.

One thing about Rovers fans, they can certainly talk a good game, and never miss a chance to put a healthy blue tinted spin on everything. They think if they repeat their undiluted pish often enough, someone will fall for it. rolleyes.gif
MonTheRovers!!
Fifepup - comedy gold!!!
Big_Andy
Not the words I would have used MTR! Remember the smaller you are, the louder you have to shout to be heard............ smile.gif
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Mrs T @ Sep 14 2008, 11:38) *
Not the words I would have used MTR! Remember the smaller you are, the louder you have to shout to be heard............ smile.gif

And I can shout pretty loud!!
Mon_The_Fife
Does the Raith website show highlights of the game at some point? Anyone have the goals uploaded on you tube yet?
rw89
QUOTE (Mon_The_Fife @ Sep 14 2008, 11:49) *
Does the Raith website show highlights of the game at some point? Anyone have the goals uploaded on you tube yet?

It will at some point. Usually on monday or tuesday before they are uploaded.
Laid Back Maverick
First of all, a big thank you to Willie Gray for stirring up this match for so long that we actually got a decent crowd. I had to feel a bit embarrassed for him though, all that scarf-waving when he's a Celtic supporter. whistling.gif

I convinced my old man to go to the match yesterday (which i manage to do, maybe once a season) and it was the first Raith match he's truly enjoyed since our days in the Premier. It was good to have some atmosphere in the away stand too for a change.

As for the game, you can't miss two penalties and complain about drawing. The first penalty could have been saved by my pet rabbit hopping across the goal line, there was so little power in it. Missed the second one because I was still in the queue for some bovril for my old man, but I heard it was along the same lines.

I thought we played well at times but depended too heavily on Wilson and movement up the right wing. Some pretty poor finishing by our strikers but then Wardlaw and Weir are never going to be prolific scorers, I still think Weir's too short - I reckon he must be half a foot shorter than me - 5'6? and a lot of centre-backs are 6' +. So many shots at goal and not a lot to show for it, I thought that East Fife would sneak a winning goal at some point - it felt like one of those days.

Andy.C
QUOTE (fifepup @ Sep 14 2008, 11:13) *

It was a massive game and a massive result for East Fife though. The only time I heard your fans was at the final whistle when you gave out a big relieved cheer.
To the Raith fans it was just another game and another potential 3pts.

The Fife are quite insignificant at the end of the day.
lzreid
QUOTE (fifepup @ Sep 14 2008, 11:13) *
What's with the crowd obsession?

You lot are full of shit.
First it was the "when you come through on the mini bus" pish..
then we had your bald fud of a gaffer declaring we'd bring 500 max, and be outnumbered 5-1. laugh.gif
Your downplayed estimates on our support start at a laughable 800, and your "official figures" on the away support have so far ranged from 1000 to 1200+. Make your minds up.

The you claim laughably that "both sets of fans never stopped singing".
Half right! But there's no shame in it, home supports usually are a bit quieter.
You're like a bunch of wee lassies. Totally fucking deluded.
Keep them coming.

One thing about Rovers fans, they can certainly talk a good game, and never miss a chance to put a healthy blue tinted spin on everything. They think if they repeat their undiluted pish often enough, someone will fall for it. rolleyes.gif

Sorry mate but that entire post is bullshit.

John McGlynn might have underestimated how many you would bring, I would sugges tthough that describing him as a 'bald fud' for that is a slight overreaction.

As for the singing, calm yourself mate eh? You lot could be heard just before kick off and just after you scored. Glass houses / stones come to mind. The same comes to mind when you mention a blue tinted vision. Are you kidding me? How much money has Wullie spen so you can scrape a draw thanks to 2 atrocious penalties? The truth is if we had spent that kind of money and had your start I'd be describing our performances as embarassing.
Juan_kalot
Heard from a source at Bayview that Raith Rovers could be given as little as 100 tickets for the game in November.

A small crowd of Raith fans waited outside the stadium for Willie Gray yesterday, these are the guys you should thank when 90% of you can't get in to the game!
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Juan_kalot @ Sep 14 2008, 12:12) *
Heard from a source at Bayview that Raith Rovers could be given as little as 100 tickets for the game in November.

A small crowd of Raith fans waited outside the stadium for Willie Gray yesterday, these are the guys you should thank when 90% of you can't get in to the game!

Fucking hell. That's mental!! I've still not made up my mind whether or not i'm going. As for the idiots that waited on him, was he not waving wads of cash at them!? laugh.gif Just aswell his ego is just as big as him, fat, silly c**t.

Edit: Great name by the way! laugh.gif