Full Version: Clyde 1-1 Thistle
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Mon The Clyde
Pleased overall with a point, however it could have gone either way and after Clarke's equaliser I thought there was a winner was on the cards.

Thistle scored when a gap opened up for Chaplain to volley in. Clyde equalised when MCKay was bundeled down when he burst through. Clyde could have got the winner when Gemmill launched a 35 yard screamer which crashed off the bar, he was also through on goal however Tuffey did well down to his right hand side. Thistle had a few corners and one cleared off the line as Cherrie messed up, however he saved smartly from a training ground corner. Harkins blasted a free-kick off the Clyde wall.

Point overall is a decent result, mon the Clyde smile.gif
MTJ
Very unhappy after watching that. Very pedestrian like stuff, second to every ball.

I'm really at the end of my tether with Paton and Lennon. Paton is the First Division's answer to Graham Alexander. One footed, slow, predictable and the first touch of a rapist. Lennon heidless chicken hes never going to score and was in McGregor/Gibson's pocket all day long. Its clear McCall values workrate over performance considering how he continues to give him the nod over Gray.

Gary Harkins another who needs a boot up the arse, tries to do everything and thinks he really is Zidane aside from the Haircut.

Only one who deserves pass marks was Tuffey for a couple of good saves, otherwise very lucky to get a point luckily Clyde were extremely toothless in front of goal. How many teasing balls came into the box that were missed completely or they took an age to have a shot, which by then we were in a position to deal with?

Paton and Lennon must be dropped ASAP IMO.
Dr. Name
Thought a point was very lucky for us, but then again, i thought that the penalty was very harsh in a day where the officials were terrible.

We played terribly, tought it was a bad team performance, not gonna point out any individuals players like the idiot above me but i would say the team let themselves down today. The midfield was non existant and offered no support at all.

But fair play to Clyde, dont think it was a penalty. There had been other worse fouls happening all over the pitch and were ignored but a light shoulder challenge was given, but no qualms, very happy with a point considering how ad we played.
Mon The Clyde
Would agree with that, penalty looked on the soft side.

Not that I'm complaining smile.gif

Oh by the way, Donnelly is a diving wee shite dry.gif
MTJ
QUOTE (Dr. Name @ Sep 13 2008, 17:42) *
Thought a point was very lucky for us, but then again, i thought that the penalty was very harsh in a day where the officials were terrible.

We played terribly, tought it was a bad team performance, not gonna point out any individuals players like the idiot above me but i would say the team let themselves down today. The midfield was non existant and offered no support at all.

But fair play to Clyde, dont think it was a penalty. There had been other worse fouls happening all over the pitch and were ignored but a light shoulder challenge was given, but no qualms, very happy with a point considering how ad we played.

It was a clear penalty, he doesn't bring him down he pulls the trigger and more than likely a goal.

Sorry I was being a realist and pointing which players in particular need to go out the team for us to improve. Only Tuffey gets pass marks today, but the three I've mentioned have been consistently poor.
Maryhill Magyar
QUOTE (MTJ @ Sep 13 2008, 17:44) *
It was a clear penalty, he doesn't bring him down he pulls the trigger and more than likely a goal.

Sorry I was being a realist and pointing which players in particular need to go out the team for us to improve. Only Tuffey gets pass marks today, but the three I've mentioned have been consistently poor.

What did say, John Robertson do so badly today then?
MTJ
QUOTE (Maryhill Magyar @ Sep 13 2008, 17:47) *
What did say, John Robertson do so badly today then?

Robertson caught out of position several times particularly at the end of the game when Gemmill raced in behind him as well as his numerous shocking back passes which nearly resulted in disaster.
Garrowhillclyde
I thought that was a pretty entertaining game overall with decent chances for both sides.

I thought that out penalty was a bit on the soft side. Was pleased with our play down the right flank in the second half especially - just a pity there was no one to atteck the cross balls properly - we really should have done more.

The goal from Partick was very well taken and punishment for Clyde not clearing from the edge of the box. Thought Cherrie could have been better positioned.

Before the game I would have taken a point and I'm a bit more upbeat than I was last week as the team played better together than previously.

Who was the Jags number 9? Diving little shite. Cant beleive he didnt get booked for two blatant obvious dives just before half time.
CK
Felt we were unlucky not to get the winner in the closing stages, our second half performance was the best I've seen us play this season. Fairly dull and even first half, we had the better of the second half but pleased with a point as the game was a real end to end affair in the last 10 minutes. Gemmill was unlucky with his 30 yard effort which came crashing down off the underside of the bar, and a save from Tuffey prevented a winner in stoppage time.

Didn't agree with Brown's decision to drop Higgins and keep McGregor in, but he did have a fine game, I thought Billy Gibson was easily man of the match, Gemmill had his best game for us and Waddell was one of our better players before he went off. You never know what you are going to get with Cherrie, pulled off a fantastic save then almost punched the ball into his own net from the resulting corner. Lowing also had a good game, and Kettlewell and Emslie played better in the second half.
The Arch
I'd say we were lucky to get away with a point there. When we were one up, I thought we were eventually going to move it up a few gears, but it never really happened.

First half looked like two awful sides, low on confidence, with neither side showing any real interest in keeping the ball on the ground. Chaplain's goal was nicely placed, considering how high the ball had came down from, but I assumed Cherrie would save it. Maybe there was someone in the way, but I just assumed he would catch it. After that we had a lovely move involving Chaplain, and a one two between Donnelly and Lennon, with the latter falling over the box. One on ones aren't really his thing.

Second half Harkins blootered a massive chance way over, and Clyde win a penalty less than a minute later. The guy was looking for it and went down easily, but Twaddle again showed a naivety to his defending. That's the second time he's gave away a penalty this season that cost us. A shit penalty followed but Tuffey dived over it.

A Yeboah-esque attempt from Scott Gemmill was tipped onto the bar by Tuffey, and this was followed by an excellent save by Cherrie from a Rowson drive at the other end. The ginger haired egghead almost snatched victory for Clyde last minute, with a beautifully timed run and shot but Tuffey made another great save.

Main positive for us was signs of the old Rowson returning but we were pretty poor. Harkins hardly touched it second half, after running the game for the first 10 minutes. Lennon annoys me, and I'm not really sure what he gives us except pace. He only chases after lost causes, and never looks particularly dangerous. Gray in next week please.
Clyde4life
Unfortunate not to take all three points, with Tuffey the busier of the two goalies - but by far our best performance of the season at home.

Thistle had the edge in the 1st half - what is it with Chaplain against us? Sweet strike that totally flummoxed the suspect Cherrie. What was noticable was how deep Thistle's midfield were pushing our's, or was that self imposed?

Second half, and Thistle's only major involvement was to totally make an arse of a three on two break and Rowson hitting a cracker from the edge of the box - what a fine player he is.

Clyde's midfield pushed up and Elmslie and Kettlewell started running the show, with Gemmill looking lively, although Clarke was subdued despite another goal - 5 in 6. Div McKay has limited ability laugh.gif but makes things happen.

Gemmill was twice denied by two sublime Tuffey saves, and McKay was brought down for a penalty. McSwegan used his experience well when he came on and forced a save from Tuffey.

To me we played well the second half, against an experienced team in Thistle. Sometimes credit needs to be given to opposition, and if many Thistle fans tought they were poor in the second half, it's because Clyde made them look poor by being the better team.

Kiss of death time, but I fully expect us to start taking more points now, and moving towards a safe mid-table position.

MOM was easily Gibson, but special mentions to Elmslie and Kettlwell for outstanding second half contributions.
sydney
Gutted we didn't go on to win as I thought we were the better side throughout. First half was pretty even but we had more decent possession I thought without really threatening to be honest. Thistle had a couple of long shots easily dealt with by Cherrie. However, he couildn't do anything about the goal which was a cracker of a finish.
Clyde were much the better in the second half and created lots of problems for Thistle, especially down the right. Some superb balls into the box, but we couldn't capitalise and that is why we will really struggle this season. Didn't get a great view of the penalty so can't comment on that, although one or two people round me said it was a bit soft.
Strangley enough, I thought right at the death, Gemmell was clearly fouled on his way through to goal when Tuffey saved- to me that was a stone waller, whether he got the shot away or not, it was a clear push on him and by ther letter of the law, it could easily have been a second penalty.
Who was the little diving number 9 ? Got Michael booked for a nothing challenge when he went down like a ton of bricks, then had 2 blatent dives, one in the box. Unbelievable that the ref didn't book him.
Ref also pulled play up when Gemmell and a Thistle player clashed heads in the box and just as Clyde were in an excellent scoring position. However, to be fair, and again by the letter of the law, the ref was probably right to blow the whistle (couldn't he have waited just a few seconds more ? rolleyes.gif )
Anyway, pleased with the performance, much better than last week, and with a wee bit of luck we would have won.
I thought Gibson was outstanding (again). Also McGregor had a decent game after last weeks stupidity. Emslie looked a decent player to me, never rushed on the ball and played the best pass of the match through to McSwegan in the second half.
Thought the abuse the Kettlewell took from some was bang out of order to be honest. Teh guy is seriously lacking in confidence and that doesn't help. I thought overall he did OK to be honest.
Fast_Action
For alll that has been said by Thistle fans, I thought that defensively, they were excellent! It was a good game, belter of a goal by Chaplain, and although our tally of squandered chances could not have been far off three figures, there were some real positives out there today.

I have never seen as many perfect "balls in". Our two former Thistle players, Gibson and Waddell were great - Billy Gibson as solid as ever, and looks to be a better defender for us than Craig McKeown was (I was and still am a fan of C McK), and the number of perfectly placed balls from Ricky Waddell was a joy to see.

Emslie and Lowing I thought were cracking, and some of the work down the right hand side in the second half was superb. David McKay, take a bow!

Few criticisms of today, despite the squandered chances, but what encouraged me most was that for the first time this season, at the games I have attended (I have been out of the country quite a bit), we played like a team, and there was passion and spirit.

I still have nightmares about our first game against Thistle last season. Today, we were at least 100% better than that.
partick_twinny
QUOTE (Fast_Action @ Sep 13 2008, 19:45) *
For alll that has been said by Thistle fans, I thought that defensively, they were excellent! It was a good game, belter of a goal by Chaplain, and although our tally of squandered chances could not have been far off three figures, there were some real positives out there today.

I have never seen as many perfect "balls in". Our two former Thistle players, Gibson and Waddell were great - Billy Gibson as solid as ever, and looks to be a better defender for us than Craig McKeown was (I was and still am a fan of C McK), and the number of perfectly placed balls from Ricky Waddell was a joy to see.

Emslie and Lowing I thought were cracking, and some of the work down the right hand side in the second half was superb. David McKay, take a bow!

Few criticisms of today, despite the squandered chances, but what encouraged me most was that for the first time this season, at the games I have attended (I have been out of the country quite a bit), we played like a team, and there was passion and spirit.

I still have nightmares about our first game against Thistle last season. Today, we were at least 100% better than that.

I wasn't there, but I think when you compare it to most of our performances this season, you can say we were fucking shocking. My brother bumped into Simon Storey this evening and even he was admitting how shite Thistle were today.
ClydeSI
cant believe these posts. A few of us were sitting thinking that we were an accident waiting to happen, until about 10 mins into the second half. However, once div realised that he could tear your number 3 a new arsehole then there was only one team in it. It was never a penalty, but that was balanced out by the one we should have got in the last minute

And if that was your bird that you were walking down to the ground with (before you were sent back to the car for something) nizzy, then dont buy her boots for christmas - she doesnt suit them......
shawfield shed boy
Wanted to leave at HTBoth teams intent on getting banned for non football ability..Glad i never,2nd half was good performance and unlucky not to get three points ..

Thistle knocked the ball about well in the first half without pressure,tho 22nd half seemed differnet team though you No 11 (?) stand out at times

Point at home aint great but will take it whistling.gif
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (ClydeSI @ Sep 13 2008, 20:18) *
(before you were sent back to the car for something) nizzy

Go and get me my brolly from the car! Niz : Yes Ma'am.

then dont buy her boots for christmas - she doesnt suit them......

Harsh.
H Wragg
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Sep 13 2008, 21:19) *

Go and get me my brolly from the car! Niz : Yes Ma'am.

Talking of motor related incidents, I parked my blue Vauxhall Meriva what I thought might have been a tad too close to the roundabout before you drive along the wee road to the away end and was in two minds whether or not to move it but in the end I decided to leave it.
I nearly shat myself momentarily when the announcement came over "Would the owner of a blue Vauxhall Vectra....."

Incidentally, what is being built behind the empty goal?
ClydeSI
you know me, harsh but fair.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (H Wragg @ Sep 13 2008, 21:31) *

Sports Complex
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (H Wragg @ Sep 13 2008, 21:31) *

Sports complex and more importantly for winter, a wind break. We all expect tropical conditions at broadwood of a february evening match. rolleyes.gif

BTW, It wont include a stand, not that we need one.
sydney
cant believe these posts. A few of us were sitting thinking that we were an accident waiting to happen, until about 10 mins into the second half. However, once div realised that he could tear your number 3 a new arsehole then there was only one team in it. It was never a penalty, but that was balanced out by the one we should have got in the last minute

And if that was your bird that you were walking down to the ground with (before you were sent back to the car for something) nizzy, then dont buy her boots for christmas - she doesnt suit them......

Div frustrates me- he clearly has alot of pace, I just wish he had more belief. That said, he is gradualy getting better and better. When he first signed last season, I couldn't see much in him at all, but he seems to be developing into a pretty decent player.
sydney
QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Sep 13 2008, 21:52) *
Sports complex and more importantly for winter, a wind break. We all expect tropical conditions at broadwood of a february evening match. rolleyes.gif

BTW, It wont include a stand, not that we need one.

I just hope they build some extra car parking spaces. Broadwood is a disgrace on that front. A little over 2000 today and most cars had to park at the side of public roads as there were no spaces available. The least they should do is make a proper carpark at the back of the away stand. The current situation is a disgrace.
Sao Paulo
I'm a touch disappointed that we didn't go on to win today though the side certainly deserve a lot of credit for the way they performed in the latter forty-five.

There wasn't a lot in the game first half despite the scoreline come its' end. The deficit was established following a bit of individual quality on the part of Jags' Scott Chaplain. His stunning volley, on the turn, from the edge of the area left Cherrie completely rooted. Kettlewell must receive a portion of the blame for his mistimed leap come pathetic clearing-header that allowed Chaplain time enough to dispatch his shot. This was the only notable incidence of particularly poor defending on Clyde's part for the entire match. Throughout this half I thought Thistle had moved the ball about somewhat better than ourselves (such is their quality in midfield) although without forging any more opportunities than we ourselves did as such.

The second half saw some excellent football played by Clyde whom largely dominated proceedings; coming closer and closer until their equaliser was finally gotten. A good bit of play coming from the middle resulted in Dave MacKay being sent down the right hand side from where the standout wing man managed to get himself into the box before being sandwiched and eventually bundled over by Thistle's Marc Twaddle. A penalty was awarded and Pat Clarke stuck away under Tuffy to level the scores. Clyde, now smelling blood, pressed for a winner. And it was they who came closest to grabbing one when Gary McSwegan slid Scott Gemmill through, only for the industrious striker to be denied courtesy of some top drawer goalkeeping. It finished one all which was probably a fair reflection on the game as a whole.

The engine-room pairing of Kettlewell and Emslie didn't inspire much confidence when declared over tannoy prior to kick-off however it worked out a lot better than expected, if not quite ideal*. Emslie enjoyed a very good game whereas Kettlewell came onto a better one in the second half. Emslie's assertion in the middle, his competition in the air and generally good use of the ball played feature to a lot of the better football which we played today. I anticipated we would be overran in this area of the park but was pleasantly surprised as we competed fairly well.

I felt defensively both teams were solid. Clyde's concession came from somewhere between an individual error and a near enough indefensible piece of quality. On the other hand Thistle's concession was probably down to their defence being worked to exhaustion. They dealt with so many dangerous cross balls, cut backs et al. (which really should have been pounced on) it just seemed inevitable that something would give. Law of averages if you will.

Up top Gemmill & Clarke put in good, solid shifts if not quite dazzling. MOTM though goes to Billy Gibson whom enjoyed an assured and sturdy performance at the heart of defence. Mentions to McGregor & MacKay especially and Lowing & Waddell as well for their performances. Sub. Gary McSwegan threw his weight about well in what time he had on the field. His touch and intelligence opened things up towards the end. (NB; Ohnesorge could really take more time with his distribution!)

Bring on Airdrie.

*A player like Thistle's Harkins would be absolutely ideal in our midfield. Can carry from back to front, bit of physique, capable of creating and opening things up. Comes with goal threat too.
++Ammo - Airdrie++
QUOTE (MTJ @ Sep 13 2008, 17:33) *
Very unhappy after watching that. Very pedestrian like stuff, second to every ball.

I'm really at the end of my tether with Paton and Lennon. Paton is the First Division's answer to Graham Alexander. One footed, slow, predictable and the first touch of a rapist. Lennon heidless chicken hes never going to score and was in McGregor's pocket all day long. Its clear McCall values workrate over performance considering how he continues to give him the nod over Gray.

unbelieveable, i've seen both of them and its Damon Gray everytime IMO
marty the bullwee man
]Decent game I thought. Thistle's opener was a screamer from Chaplain. Penalty was a soft one but ref had no option but to give it. Unlucky not to get a goal near the end gemmil running clear only to be denied by some good keeping by Tuffy. Incidentally, who was all applauding that old guy at half time come on OWN UP laugh.gif
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (Sao Paulo @ Sep 13 2008, 21:30) *
I'm a touch disappointed that we didn't go on to win today though the side certainly deserve a lot of credit for the way they performed in the latter forty-five.

There wasn't a lot in the game first half despite the scoreline come its' end. The deficit was established following a bit of individual quality on the part of Jags' Scott Chaplain. His stunning volley, on the turn, from the edge of the area left Cherrie completely rooted. Kettlewell must receive a portion of the blame for his mistimed leap come pathetic clearing-header that allowed Chaplain time enough to dispatch his shot. This was the only notable incidence of particularly poor defending on Clyde's part for the entire match. Throughout this half I thought Thistle had moved the ball about somewhat better than ourselves (such is their quality in midfield) although without forging any more opportunities than we ourselves did as such.

The second half saw some excellent football played by Clyde whom largely dominated proceedings; coming closer and closer until their equaliser was finally gotten. A good bit of play coming from the middle resulted in Dave MacKay being sent down the right hand side from where the standout wing man managed to get himself into the box before being sandwiched and eventually bundled over by Thistle's Marc Twaddle. A penalty was awarded and Pat Clarke stuck away under Tuffy to level the scores. Clyde, now smelling blood, pressed for a winner. And it was they who came closest to grabbing one when Gary McSwegan slid Scott Gemmill through, only for the industrious striker to be denied courtesy of some top drawer goalkeeping. It finished one all which was probably a fair reflection on the game as a whole.

The engine-room pairing of Kettlewell and Emslie didn't inspire much confidence when declared over tannoy prior to kick-off however it worked out a lot better than expected, if not quite ideal*. Emslie enjoyed a very good game whereas Kettlewell came onto a better one in the second half. Emslie's assertion in the middle, his competition in the air and generally good use of the ball played feature to a lot of the better football which we played today. I anticipated we would be overran in this area of the park but was pleasantly surprised as we competed fairly well.

I felt defensively both teams were solid. Clyde's concession came from somewhere between an individual error and a near enough indefensible piece of quality. On the other hand Thistle's concession was probably down to their defence being worked to exhaustion. They dealt with so many dangerous cross balls, cut backs et al. (which really should have been pounced on) it just seemed inevitable that something would give. Law of averages if you will.

Up top Gemmill & Clarke put in good, solid shifts if not quite dazzling. MOTM though goes to Billy Gibson whom enjoyed an assured and sturdy performance at the heart of defence. Mentions to McGregor & MacKay especially and Lowing & Waddell as well for their performances. Sub. Gary McSwegan threw his weight about well in what time he had on the field. His touch and intelligence opened things up towards the end. (NB; Ohnesorge could really take more time with his distribution!)

Bring on Airdrie.

*A player like Thistle's Harkins would be absolutely ideal in our midfield. Can carry from back to front, bit of physique, capable of creating and opening things up. Comes with goal threat too.

You managed such a coherent post after 5 cans of Cola the night - unbelievable! tongue.gif
Virtual Insanity
QUOTE (Sao Paulo @ Sep 13 2008, 22:30) *
from where the standout wing man managed to get himself into the box before being sandwiched and eventually bundled over by Thistle's Marc Twaddle.

One player cannot 'sandwich' another.

Isn't there a match report section of a website somewhere where you could put these match reports? I'm really more interested in peoples opinions of the game. Here's mine: We can feel a bit miffed at the manner in which the result came about, but not at all about the result itself. I thought we edged a drab first half without creating anything clear cut, Chaplain struck his shot well but it really looked like Cherrie could have had it. Second half was all Clyde until the last 10 minutes, although you didn't create that many chances, a lot of balls coming in from the right which I was expecting Clarke to get on the end of. Penalty looked soft to me, but Twaddle got the wrong side of his man and you're always giving him an opportunity to go down from there, and with Dougie McDonald as referee you have to expect these ones sometimes.

Overall a fair result, couple chances either way at the death although I wouldn't describe that one off the bar as crashing or Yeboah like, more seemed to drift over a seemingly stranded Tuffey. Other individual thoughts are that Gary McSwegan is an arse, McGregor should have been booked at some point for something and that Turners tackle on number 6 (?) was a pretty nasty looking one.
CompanyFlow
Lennon's simply too lightweight for this division, whenever he feels a challenge is about to come in he wimps out of it and goes to ground since a freekick would be the best outcome for the team.

He did start to show a glimmer of hope towards the end latching onto long through balls off to the right, and, while he was able to hold them up, in the first 75 minutes he would've been steamrollered.

I mind him saying in the record a couple of weeks back that in January he was hoping to get a loan move down to an English lower league club, but on his showings for Thistle, I severely doubt he could hack it.

Gray > Lennon every time; bring Lennon off the bench if Gray's tiring, but that's all he is at this stage in his career, an impact sub.

Agree with all who say that Paton's been gash, but the style McCall has Thistle playing, we don't have a rightback to replace him.

Btw, did anyone get what subbing Twaddle was all about? Completely shuffled the defence, and after that we were exposed a lot more. Can only think that it's an injury, which would be pish, and in which case McCall would revert to sticking on McKinlay.

Exuberant
QUOTE (CompanyFlow @ Sep 14 2008, 00:58) *
Btw, did anyone get what subbing Twaddle was all about? Completely shuffled the defence, and after that we were exposed a lot more. Can only think that it's an injury, which would be pish, and in which case McCall would revert to sticking on McKinlay.

I'm guessing an injury. McKinlay wasn't on the bench today.
CompanyFlow
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Sep 14 2008, 01:03) *
I'm guessing an injury. McKinlay wasn't on the bench today.

Aye, i mean if it is an injury he'll just switch Twaddle with McKinlay, which he seemed to do a lot at the start of last season.
Exuberant
QUOTE (CompanyFlow @ Sep 14 2008, 01:04) *
Aye, i mean if it is an injury he'll just switch Twaddle with McKinlay, which he seemed to do a lot at the start of last season.

And he usually proves to be an able make-shift stand-in. The only reason he'd have had to muck about with it today is because he couldn't have that straight man swap.

Twaddle fills a position we really don't want to have to be covering for though. McKinlay can do the job when an hour's gone of the 90 and we need to close it out, but he couldn't hold his own for a whole game there. The only other option is to move Maxwell, either exposing us in the middle or re-shuffling to a back 4, neither of which have seemed to work.
The Arch
QUOTE (Virtual Insanity @ Sep 14 2008, 00:50) *
Overall a fair result, couple chances either way at the death although I wouldn't describe that one off the bar as crashing or Yeboah like, more seemed to drift over a seemingly stranded Tuffey.

It wasn't really Yeboah-esque, but the more Yeboah references the better I'd say. Rowson's strike off the bar at Broadwood last season would come under the Tony Yeboah category.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (marty the bullwee man @ Sep 13 2008, 21:50) *
]Decent game I thought. Thistle's opener was a screamer from Chaplain. Penalty was a soft one but ref had no option but to give it. Unlucky not to get a goal near the end gemmil running clear only to be denied by some good keeping by Tuffy. Incidentally, who was all applauding that old guy at half time come on OWN UP laugh.gif

No me anyway - he looked like a right fud.
Nizzy
And if that was your bird that you were walking down to the ground with nizzy, then dont buy her boots for christmas - she doesnt suit them......

QUOTE (Garrowhillclyde @ Sep 13 2008, 21:19) *
Harsh.

Just a tad, and it's unfortunate the lass was sitting next to me when I opened this thread.

Tip for you - I'd hold out on dishing out the fashion tips until you decide to stop dressing like an extra from Green Street.

Stone Island is soooo ten years ago darling. wink.gif
ClydeSI
stone island? Must have been looking at someone else.
Nizzy
QUOTE (ClydeSI @ Sep 14 2008, 10:53) *
stone island? Must have been looking at someone else.

Must've been.

The things that puzzles me about you lads is that you're supposed to be ahead of the rest of us when it comes to terrace fashion, but you seem to have been wearing the same thing for the past decade. The only thing that appears to have changed is the addition of the Prada monkey boots.

Anyway Jeff Banks, you've had your say and you've upset the lass. What say we get back to talking about the football.
shawfield shed boy
So Was harkins Number 11 for fisle ?
Nizzy
QUOTE (shawfield shed boy @ Sep 14 2008, 11:06) *

Yes.

Disappointing from Thistle yesterday, both on and off the park. The only consolation I take from the game was that a number of Clyde fans told me after it that their second half performance was their best this season.

I really wish we'd dispense with the long ball pish as we look much better and much more dangerous when we move the ball along the ground. We were on the ascendancy towards the end of the first half and it was no coincidence that we were playing on the deck.
The Arch
QUOTE (shawfield shed boy @ Sep 14 2008, 11:06) *

Yes. Who was Clyde's number three out of interest? He looked like a taller, greasier version of Stephane Bonnes.
shawfield shed boy
Liked the look of Harkins - Decent player

Our no 3 was german lad.. Oberslonge or something
Nizzy
QUOTE (The Arch @ Sep 14 2008, 11:14) *
Yes. Who was Clyde's number three out of interest? He looked like a taller, greasier version of Stephane Bonnes.

The Gerry.

Billy Gibson strolled through the game yesterday, as did McGregor - that must have been one of his better performances in a while.

Lennon's eagerness to go to ground infuriated me yesterday. There was one point in the first half where he had superbly turned Ohnesorge and would've been bearing down on goal, but decided to go down in the hope of earning the Clyde man a booking. Poor. Gray should be back in the starting line up next week.

In saying that, it wasn't the only instance of cheating yesterday. McSwegan told one of the ball boys to throw the ball away when we were pressing for a winner - which the daft lad did - while Kettlewell made a meal of Turner's challenge. There's no doubt in my mind that Chris deserved his card for intent, but he missed Kettlewell and it looked to me as if he was trying his best to convince the ref to send him off.
BullyWee1878
Wait a minute that wasnt supposed to happen was it, all week we were getting told we were going to get humped 3-0 by this wonderful fissal side laugh.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (BullyWee1878 @ Sep 14 2008, 11:19) *
Wait a minute that wasnt supposed to happen was it, all week we were getting told we were going to get humped 3-0 by this wonderful fissal side laugh.gif

Aye, by your own fans.
shawfield shed boy
Also to add ref and home stand linesman was fucking joke (dont normally bother bout them)
Thistle players went down countless times inside and outside the box trying & getting our players booked-One in particualr few yards from home stand linesman in the first half never foul or booking in a million years..
Surely yellow cards got to be given out to Messers Donnelly and co for going down without little or no contact inside the box and correctly no penalty given or does that rule not exist anymore ?!
Sao Paulo
QUOTE (Virtual Insanity @ Sep 14 2008, 00:50) *
One player cannot 'sandwich' another.

Aye, I know. Two Thistle players were in pursuit but it was Twaddle who knocked MacKay over.

I must admit I thought we would have been beaten comfortably. I don't think I over estimated Thistle as they're a quality side but we done well on the day with guys like Emslie who you might not picked out before the match as being important or influential put in good shifts. Clarke's return from suspension gave us a bit more up top that e.g. MacKay would have alongside Gemmill and what have you. And clearly we were up for the game as a derby too.
The Arch
QUOTE (shawfield shed boy @ Sep 14 2008, 11:27) *
Also to add ref and home stand linesman was fucking joke (dont normally bother bout them)
Thistle players went down countless times inside and outside the box trying & getting our players booked-One in particualr few yards from home stand linesman in the first half never foul or booking in a million years..
Surely yellow cards got to be given out to Messers Donnelly and co for going down without little or no contact inside the box and correctly no penalty given or does that rule not exist anymore ?!

Lennon does go down easily and it annoyed me. McSwegan's cheating with the ballboy situation was equally as blatant, and should have been a booking.

The ref didn't favour us at all, and some might say you were lucky to get the penalty. I think McKay was looking for it, and was going to head down on any touch from Twaddle, but Twaddle fell for it again.
ClydeSI
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 14 2008, 11:01) *
Must've been.

The things that puzzles me about you lads is that you're supposed to be ahead of the rest of us when it comes to terrace fashion, but you seem to have been wearing the same thing for the past decade. The only thing that appears to have changed is the addition of the Prada monkey boots.

Anyway Jeff Banks, you've had your say and you've upset the lass. What say we get back to talking about the football.

Apologies.

Anyway, I have mouths to feed - I am more "man at matalan" nowadays - thats progress.
Nizzy
QUOTE (shawfield shed boy @ Sep 14 2008, 11:27) *

Make no mistake, the ref was poor overall. I've already made note of Lennon's diving, but McGregor either held on, climbed on or pulled back Thistle players on a number of occasions and wasn't penalised while a good few incredibly soft fouls went Clyde's way, especially in the middle of the park.

I thought your number 8 was lucky to escape censure for persistant fouling.
Nizzy
QUOTE (ClydeSI @ Sep 14 2008, 11:35) *
Apologies.

Accepted.