Full Version: Best Home Kit In Div 1
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
el bawbag
as it says personally id go with thistle(the no sponsor bit swings it)...

im bored
Deestruction
Without logo, I like Particks top. With logo, I don't mind any team with basic colour and sponsors name in Arial font. wink.gif
Stevie Aitken's Love Child
Dunfermline's looks good, despite it being black and white stripes, and with it being puma will probably be good quality.
Günther
DAFC by a country mile
PTFC27
Dunfermline.
Muggy
Clyde. ph34r.gif
Juan Sara
Partick.
PTFC27
Who the hell voted Airdrie? Own up!
Juan Sara
QUOTE (PTFC27 @ Sep 12 2008, 23:12) *
Who the hell voted Airdrie? Own up!

...and Saints huh.gif Surridge tops are god awful!
true blue
Cant believe people are voting for particks its truly disgusting, dundee top looks like a poor Sunday league teams but i do like mortons.
Diamonds are Forever
I like our strip. One of few instantly recognisable shirt designs.
port-ton
QUOTE (Diamonds are Forever @ Sep 13 2008, 01:35) *
I like our strip. One of few instantly recognisable shirt designs.

Recognisable doesn't always mean good. I have the most recognisable face in my bedroom right now, doesn't mean it looks any good.
Grant228
Although in recent years ive always thought that the Partick one looks god awful this years one looks smart and I would say that with our one i think it is one of the best.
Darkblueyonder
Ross County's new adidas home kit by a country mile, much better than ours anyway...
Nizzy
I think the County strip looks like training gear. I'm happy with ours, but Dunfermline's is nice, too. The Puma gear is quality.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
I'm an old school kind of guy and srtipes and hoops do it for me. For me, they are the strips you always remember.

So it's a toss up between Dunfermline and Thistle. I don't like the fact that Puma took the cheap option and didn't continue the hoops round the back of Thistle's top. From the back, Thistle's strip could be mistaken for, dare I say it, Livingston's!

Dunfermline edge it.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Sep 13 2008, 11:41) *
I'm an old school kind of guy and srtipes and hoops do it for me. For me, they are the strips you always remember.

So it's a toss up between Dunfermline and Thistle. I don't like the fact that Puma took the cheap option and didn't continue the hoops round the back of Thistle's top. From the back, Thistle's strip could be mistaken for, dare I say it, Livingston's!

Dunfermline edge it.

Please, please, don't start an away strip equivalent here.  Please.  Every women in the world will be on voting for you-know-what.   Cringe.    I'd go for Clyde's away jersey. Red and black. It has a certain something ...  nologo.gif   Buit to get back to the point, Morton's tartan jersey from a while back has to be the all-time winner ... ?   
Nizzy
The quality of Clyde's tops - home and away - is terrible. We have the most talked about away kit in Scotland, sales are up 400%, stockists in England are ordering batches and we've never lost while wearing it.

See me, see happy.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 13 2008, 12:55) *
The quality of Clyde's tops - home and away - is terrible. We have the most talked about away kit in Scotland, sales are up 400%, stockists in England are ordering batches and we've never lost while wearing it.

See me, see happy.

Never lost?   How many times have we worn it?   Twice?   Jaysus ... nologo.gif
Fife Saint

See me, see happy.

If only Clyde had come up with that concept first. Oh...
Nizzy
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 13 2008, 12:57) *
Never lost?   How many times have we worn it?   Twice?   Jaysus ... nologo.gif

And? It doesn't negate the fact we're unbeaten while wearing it. I see you've chosen to ignore the rest of the positives.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 13 2008, 13:01) *
And? It doesn't negate the fact we're unbeaten while wearing it. I see you've chosen to ignore the rest of the positives.

If the sales of that away top help us to attract players by paying them better wages to the extent that it'll get us back into the SPL, then I'll take it all back.   nologo.gif  Every single word of it ...
Exuberant
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Sep 13 2008, 11:41) *

Dunfermline edge it.

The reason we can't have stripes around the back is for UEFA regulations. They require kits to have the number clearly visible at the back, which also explains Benfica's lack of stripes at the back.

Forward thinking and all that wink.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 13 2008, 13:06) *
If the sales of that away top help us to attract players by paying them better wages to the extent that it'll get us back into the SPL, then I'll take it all back.   nologo.gif  Every single word of it ...

Maybe we currently have a playing pool that's good enough to take us there. I doubt we'll be relying on the sales of the away top for that.

I really don't see the problem. The colours used in away kits are completely arbitrary. However, we and Greaves have knocked our heads together and decided to go for something that will maximise sales, if not exceed what we could have ever hoped for, while generating welcome positive media coverage.

Everyone's a winner.
Exuberant
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 13 2008, 13:09) *
Everyone's a winner.

Except for the homophobes. wink.gif
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 13 2008, 10:12) *
I think the County strip looks like training gear. I'm happy with ours, but Dunfermline's is nice, too. The Puma gear is quality.

I agree that the Puma gear looks good. Wish we'd get a decent kit manufacturer. Xara's been our best in recent years. I like the Thistle top, but it's ruined slightly by the all yellow back.
Nizzy
Dublinjag better pack the sick bag ahead of the Rangers tie, the number of 'Jags fans for 40 years' who I've spotted wearing the new away top is nothing short of astounding.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 13 2008, 13:09) *
Maybe we currently have a playing pool that's good enough to take us there. I doubt we'll be relying on the sales of the away top for that.

I really don't see the problem. The colours used in away kits are completely arbitrary. However, we and Greaves have knocked our heads together and decided to go for something that will maximise sales, if not exceed what we could have ever hoped for, while generating welcome positive media coverage.

Everyone's a winner.

The main reason it's selling well, especially to women, is because there's no logo on it. Accidental coincidence.  It's made it a fashion item.   nologo.gif  Like a lot of retail successes, it came about by pure chance ... 
Nizzy
QUOTE (Dublinjag @ Sep 13 2008, 13:17) *
Like a lot of retail successes, it came about by pure chance ... 

I'd like to see you tell Sandy Greaves that. This has nothing to do with chance and everything to do with retail experience.

The success of the kit may have come as something of a slight surprise, but the guys at Greaves knew exactly what they were doing when they advised the club on the colour scheme.
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 13 2008, 13:23) *
I'd like to see you tell Sandy Greaves that. This has nothing to do with chance and everything to do with retail experience.

The success of the kit may have come as something of a slight surprise, but the guys at Greaves knew exactly what they were doing when they advised the club on the colour scheme.

My daughter loves it.  I'll buy her one for her 12th birthday later this month ... before the sponsor's logo gets slapped onto it ... 
RCR
Not had a chance to check out other teams kits (apart from particks pink number), but I really like our adidas top. I bought it online as soon as I could afford it!
Stadio Delle Almondvale
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Sep 13 2008, 13:09) *
The reason we can't have stripes around the back is for UEFA regulations. They require kits to have the number clearly visible at the back, which also explains Benfica's lack of stripes at the back.

Forward thinking and all that wink.gif

Hysterical wink.gif

Oh and Benfica don't have stripes on the front either tongue.gif
Grant228
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 13 2008, 10:12) *

cool.gif
Dublinjag
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 13 2008, 13:23) *

I though Puma was responsible for design/colour?   And Spurs tried to get it but Puma stuck with Thistle, even altho' we're a much smaller club, because we were in just ahead of them?   It's made in Turkey, by the way, where they still cut a peasant's hand off if he's convicted of stealing for a third time thumbdown.gif  ...  And who knows, some of those unfortunate amputees might work in the Puma factory there?
man on a mission
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 13 2008, 11:55) *

See me, see happy.

I think your talking about last years strips from Lotto.
The quality in the new Surridge strips both home and away is excellent.

Sales up 400%, aye right mate.......surely there aren't that many poofs in Maryhill...but then again

You have a cheek to talk about anyones strips, your home strip, and the colours of it are puke inducing, even Tony the Tiger looks a fanny in it....maybe thats why I hate Frosties as well, and we won't even go near the away one, other than to say that........SUITS YOU SIR, SUITS YOU.
sydney
Partick's strip is clearly ahead in the poll. Why ? It's a shocker !! It should come with a built in volume button. I suppose at least their players shouldn't have an excuse to misplace passes to their team -mates. There's no accounting for taste............................that's why I support Clyde I suppose cool.gif
Steve McQueen
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Sep 13 2008, 15:31) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I think our strip is fine but let down by the sponsors logo, same with Airdrie & Dundee
Exuberant
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Sep 13 2008, 15:31) *

Who am I thinking of then? They wore a top with stripes only at the front and one of the colours was green?

It could have been an away top, but can't honestly remember, though they were definitely a Champions League Team.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Sep 14 2008, 12:31) *
Who am I thinking of then? They wore a top with stripes only at the front and one of the colours was green?

It could have been an away top, but can't honestly remember, though they were definitely a Champions League Team.

Stripes or hoops?

Sporting Lisbon in Champion's League or the UEFA Cup? Their shirt is blocked at the back in green with a few hoops at the bottom.
Exuberant
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Sep 14 2008, 12:54) *
Stripes or hoops?

Sporting Lisbon in Champion's League or the UEFA Cup? Their shirt is blocked at the back in green with a few hoops at the bottom.

Aye I meant hoops.

That's who it was wink.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (man on a mission @ Sep 13 2008, 21:02) *
Sales up 400%, aye right mate.......surely there aren't that many poofs in Maryhill...but then again

You have a cheek to talk about anyones strips, your home strip, and the colours of it are puke inducing, even Tony the Tiger looks a fanny in it....maybe thats why I hate Frosties as well, and we won't even go near the away one, other than to say that........SUITS YOU SIR, SUITS YOU.

Breathtaking.

I can't wait to read your next contribution.
Dr Koop
QUOTE (man on a mission @ Sep 13 2008, 21:02) *

Does anyone know this ignorant cocksucker? huh.gif
port-ton
QUOTE (Dr Koop @ Sep 14 2008, 17:30) *
Does anyone know this ignorant cocksucker? huh.gif

No, but i want to. If ever im getting my cock sucked i want it to be done ignorantly!
Steve McQueen
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Sep 14 2008, 12:54) *
Stripes or hoops?

You do know they are not Sporting Lisbon? Thats like saying Glasgow Rangers or London Chelsea

Sporting Club of Portugal tongue.gif
Santini
Ross Countys is by far the coolest strip in the division. I like addidas strips. How does that happen anyway? County & Dunfermline have addidas, Queens had Nike and Thistle Puma, yet we always get stuck with pishy makes like Surridge, Matchwinner etc. Even when we had Lotto the quality was pish. Surely a decent make of strip with a decent design is gonnae result in more sales?

I think Thistles home top is probably about the best I have seen from them, theres no really much you can do with a red & yellow strip to make it look decent but the lack of sponsor and the fact the back is all the one colour makes it almost acceptable. Almost.
GDee

See me, see happy.

The most talked about away kit in Scotland???! Now that's a claim...!

Sales up 400%? From what base? Has this increase cannibalised sales of the home top? What is the total benefit to the club?

PR is a wonderful thing...
The Arch
QUOTE (GDee @ Sep 15 2008, 10:36) *
The most talked about away kit in Scotland???! Now that's a claim...!

Name an away top in Scotland that has received more publicity. I can't think of any. It's probably received more column inches than any away top since Rangers' Orange number.
GDee
QUOTE (Santini @ Sep 15 2008, 10:29) *
Ross Countys is by far the coolest strip in the division. I like addidas strips. How does that happen anyway? County & Dunfermline have addidas, Queens had Nike and Thistle Puma, yet we always get stuck with pishy makes like Surridge, Matchwinner etc. Even when we had Lotto the quality was pish. Surely a decent make of strip with a decent design is gonnae result in more sales?

I was thinking about this the other day. I think the clubs must have the option of going with any shirt supplier and make a decision based on a number of factors.

Nike / Adidas / Puma etc would be more than happy for every club to be wearing their strips as it would improve perception of their brand by thousands/millions of football fans and their brands would be synonymous with the sport. However, key questions for the clubs would be:

- What is the profit margin on every shirt? i.e. how much can the club bank from every shirt sold? (I assume this would vary by manufacturer based on the cost per strip, with the well-known brands offering less profit per strip - based on retail price being set at £40 regardless of manufacturer and established brand name strips costing more for the club to buy)
- If we get an established brand name e.g. Nike / Puma / Adidas, what additional sales would be generated? (assuming more people would buy the strips/merchandise with a 'higher quality' brand)
- Does this increase in sales offset the lower profit per item?
- I also assume other contributing factors e.g. What additional support are the club being offered from the supplier? (I would think the terms and benefits would be somewhat different for a major club e.g. the OF, versus that of a lower league side.) Are the strips used by the club free? Will they offer discounts for certain quantities purchased etc etc...
GDee
QUOTE (The Arch @ Sep 15 2008, 10:42) *
Name an away top in Scotland that has received more publicity. I can't think of any. It's probably received more column inches than any away top since Rangers' Orange number.

Tell me what this publicity has achieved.

The Arch
QUOTE (GDee @ Sep 15 2008, 10:50) *
Tell me what this publicity has achieved

A sales increase of 400%.