Full Version: Fao Dundee Fans
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Mustafa Sheet
Just read a recent update from Palmerston on the injury front and it made me think how seriously injured a player would have to be before Dundee "fans" would refrain from shouting abuse at a player clearly in distress ?

Here is an extract from the official Queens site -

Posted in Latest News, by Colin Johnstone, on 11/09/2008 20:31:44

Injury updates from Bill Goldie.

"Jamie's been to see a specialist! It's the same knee he injured last year and that's bad news as he was out a year with that. If it's only a part tear we're looking at four months at the best, but if it's another full tear then--who knows?

Bill Goldie
fabcab
QUOTE (Mustafa Sheet @ Sep 12 2008, 10:06) *
Just read a recent update from Palmerston on the injury front and it made me think how seriously injured a player would have to be before Dundee "fans" would refrain from shouting abuse at a player clearly in distress ?

Here is an extract from the official Queens site -

Posted in Latest News, by Colin Johnstone, on 11/09/2008 20:31:44

Injury updates from Bill Goldie.

"Jamie's been to see a specialist! It's the same knee he injured last year and that's bad news as he was out a year with that. If it's only a part tear we're looking at four months at the best, but if it's another full tear then--who knows?

Bill Goldie

Get a grip of yourself here do you think Dundee fans are the only ones who do this, I am not condoning the practice but i know for a fact that every game i have been at where a Dundee player has been injured the player has been met by boos and cheers of derision. Yet another cheap shot at Dundee fans!!!! dry.gif
David W
Yeah, I think it's pretty off to have a pop at Dundee fans when every side's supporters does the same.
LIVIFOREVER
QUOTE (David W @ Sep 12 2008, 10:20) *
Yeah, I think it's pretty off to have a pop at Dundee fans when every side's supporters does the same.

I'd say we're that used to players going down pretending to be injured to get a player booked, or just waste time, that when one is genuinely injured he unfortunately gets the same treatment from the oppositions fans, how many times has a player been in agony writhing away on the ground, gets some water poured on his leg and then 5 seconds after getting back up, sprints up the park dribbling the ball. When it's clear that a player is injured and is getting either carried off the park, or helped off, then i don't understand fans that continue to boo.

I do love the dig a hole chants though, when a player is a faker. laugh.gif
JRS LEFT PEG
QUOTE (fabcab @ Sep 12 2008, 10:14) *
Get a grip of yourself here do you think Dundee fans are the only ones who do this, I am not condoning the practice but i know for a fact that every game i have been at where a Dundee player has been injured the player has been met by boos and cheers of derision. Yet another cheap shot at Dundee fans!!!! dry.gif
I know fans boo opposing players and do not expect scottish first division matches to have the atmosphere of a sunday school picnic.This however, was vicious abuse and it looked like the nutters were going to go on the park such was there histrionics.Coupled up with their behaviour in the SC quarter final ,I would say that there is a sizeable minority of dees that do not know how to behave themselves.
nelsjfc
As liviforever points out there is a complete difference between booing someone when you think he is time wasting and then booing someone when they are being taken off on a strecher.
I remember the scott paterson incident at dens, wasnt nice to see him get jeered as he was carried off with what was effectively a career ending injury.

I remember clapping wilkie off when he was strechered off at dens, think it takes a certain sort of person to laugh at someone's having what could be a career threatening injury.

dee4life
Have stayed off this site for a few weeks cause it was mundane and alas nothing has changed,people having petty digs at dundee fans,for the record at the dundee st johnstone game last season saints fans were jeering and singing when scott robertson was stretchered off.
Accies1
They boo'd Tomas Cerny on the last game of the season. Dundee cannae take it rolleyes.gif
Bigmouth Strikes Again
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Sep 12 2008, 11:30) *
They boo'd Tomas Cerny on the last game of the season. Dundee cannae take it rolleyes.gif

Thats because he is a rolling around on the deck chancer who fakes injury.
Radford
QUOTE (David W @ Sep 12 2008, 10:20) *

Including fans of Queens, who booed Kevin Rutkiewicz as he hobbled round the side of the pitch at Palmerston during the second game of the 2006/07 season. He didn't kick another ball that campaign.

I have to honestly say I don't remember Scott Robertston getting any abuse at Dens last season but I do remember Lee Wilkie getting a standing ovation from the vast majority of the St Johnstone support whilst he was being stretchered off during a game in 2005/06, the same season during which Dundee fans failed to show the same courtesy to Scott Paterson in what was his final game at this level. One prominent Dundee poster in fact gloated about Paterson's injury following the match.
Stoo61
I cheered Lee Wilkies injury a few seasons ago at the moment it happened.....most of us do it but he was proper f*cked so it didnt continue.
Bigmouth Strikes Again
QUOTE (Radford @ Sep 12 2008, 11:41) *
Including fans of Queens, who booed Kevin Rutkiewicz as he hobbled round the side of the pitch at Palmerston during the second game of the 2006/07 season. He didn't kick another ball that campaign.

I have to honestly say I don't remember Scott Robertston getting any abuse at Dens last season but I do remember Lee Wilkie getting a standing ovation from the vast majority of the St Johnstone support whilst he was being stretchered off during a game in 2005/06, the same season during which Dundee fans failed to show the same courtesy to Scott Paterson in what was his final game at this level. One prominent Dundee poster in fact gloated about Paterson's injury following the match.

The whiter than white Saintees. Robertson took a power of abuse in that game as he was being carried off. Fact.
Accies1
QUOTE (Bigmouth Strikes Again @ Sep 12 2008, 11:37) *
Thats because he is a rolling around on the deck chancer who fakes injury.

Is that why he had to get an oxygen mask and then taken to hospital blink.gif
Jamie_Beatson
I did actually hear some knobs giving Robertson abuse to be fair. But they (at least the ones around me) were quickly told to shut the f**k up by the more level headed around us.

The booing that Patterson took was bang out of order though.
The Rabbid dog
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Sep 12 2008, 12:51) *
Is that why he had to get an oxygen mask and then taken to hospital blink.gif

Cos he's a fechin drama queen laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
jupe1407
This happens in every ground. I remember United fans giving Billy Kirkwood dog's abuse when he was stretchered off at Dens at the end of his career with us. It happens across the board, and singling out Dundee fans is a somewhat petty dig.
Mustafa Sheet
Like JRS Left Peg said, it was more than just booing. Grown men were frothing at the mouth and a good few were just about over the advertising hoardings and had to be shown back to their seats by the polis.

Yes, ever team inc Queens fans boo players who seem to fake injury but it was quickly obvious that Jamie was in serious trouble. Any footy fan who has some knowledge of the 1st division would have know that he was just back from a major knee injury.

Maybe it was down to alcohol consumption on the day which clouded the judgement of the Dundee fans turning them from mild mannered, well balanced individuals into raving lunatics !!!!
Miles Brookeson
is anybody actuallly surprised??

DUNDEE ARE A BUNCH OF BIGOTED FUCKS!

THEIR TEAM DESERVES TO DIE!!!

F*CK THEM AND THE HORSE THEY RODE IN ON!!!!
gp1893
QUOTE (dee4life @ Sep 12 2008, 11:21) *
Have stayed off this site for a few weeks cause it was mundane and alas nothing has changed,people having petty digs at dundee fans,for the record at the dundee st johnstone game last season saints fans were jeering and singing when scott robertson was stretchered off.

Me too, i actually have emailed P&B to see how i can get my login and profile deleted but have had no reply, any ideas?

Honestly, this topic says it all. This forum is a complete waste of everybodys time and is full of mindless, tedious p***ks who can't actually be bothered about discussing football but would rather at the first opportunity sidetrack the topic by taking a cheap shot to to try and shit stir.
gp1893
QUOTE (Miles Brookeson @ Sep 12 2008, 14:06) *
is anybody actuallly surprised??

DUNDEE ARE A BUNCH OF BIGOTED FUCKS!

THEIR TEAM DESERVES TO DIE!!!

F*CK THEM AND THE HORSE THEY RODE IN ON!!!!

enough said.

this is a complete joke, how is this arsehole still on here posting and more to the point did primary school not start back a couple of weeks ago? I bet this guy is the sort of w****r who sits in the house all day by himself thinking how he can piss people of and make them have some sort of communication with him on this forum because he is a loner and sits all day in his house playing with him self.
Miles Brookeson
QUOTE (gp1893 @ Sep 12 2008, 14:13) *
enough said.

I'm glad you agree with me.

x
Nizzy
QUOTE (gp1893 @ Sep 12 2008, 14:07) *
Me too, i actually have emailed P&B to see how i can get my login and profile deleted but have had no reply, any ideas?

Whatever happened to self control or will power? You don't like the site? Simple solution. Get tae...
QOS 1970
QUOTE (gp1893 @ Sep 12 2008, 13:07) *

Honestly, this topic says it all. This forum is a complete waste of everybodys time and is full of mindless, tedious p***ks who can't actually be bothered about discussing football but would rather at the first opportunity sidetrack the topic by taking a cheap shot to to try and shit stir.
You dont have to be deleted.Just dont come back on .There will be nae tears.
SavotheGreat
I have to honestly say I don't remember Scott Robertston getting any abuse at Dens last season but I do remember Lee Wilkie getting a standing ovation from the vast majority of the St Johnstone support whilst he was being stretchered off during a game in 2005/06, the same season during which Dundee fans failed to show the same courtesy to Scott Paterson in what was his final game at this level.

We are a superior breed.

QUOTE (gp1893 @ Sep 12 2008, 14:13) *
enough said.

this is a complete joke, how is this arsehole still on here posting and more to the point did primary school not start back a couple of weeks ago? I bet this guy is the sort of w****r who sits in the house all day by himself thinking how he can piss people of and make them have some sort of communication with him on this forum because he is a loner and sits all day in his house playing with him self.

Stop reacting, you plank! laugh.gif
vikingTON
They also booed Kevin Finlayson for having the cheek to pick up a match-ending injury in front of the Derry End.
Cold black shame upon you all. rolleyes.gif
19QOS19
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 12 2008, 16:26) *
They also booed Kevin Finlayson for having the cheek to pick up a match-ending injury in front of the Derry End.

Talking of him - was he not the number 11 for you on sunday? I said I thought Finlayson was a good player but I think I've got him mixed up with someone else, yoyur number 11 on sunday is the one I think is quite a good player, played left mid.
Juan Sara
You all hate Dundee boohoo, NEXT.
Miles Brookeson
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Sep 12 2008, 16:45) *
You all hate Dundee boohoo, NEXT.

no, we all pity Dundee because their small-minded knuckle-dragging support let them down at every opportunity.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (Miles Brookeson @ Sep 12 2008, 17:05) *
no, we all pity Dundee because their small-minded knuckle-dragging support let them down at every opportunity.

I pity you, you seem to have Dundee on your mind quite alot.
vikingTON
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Sep 12 2008, 16:43) *
Talking of him - was he not the number 11 for you on sunday? I said I thought Finlayson was a good player but I think I've got him mixed up with someone else, yoyur number 11 on sunday is the one I think is quite a good player, played left mid.

That's Jim McAllister.
Miles Brookeson
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Sep 12 2008, 17:21) *
I pity you, you seem to have Dundee on your mind quite alot.

yes, I agree. Thinking about Dundee FC is terribly depressing.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (Miles Brookeson @ Sep 12 2008, 17:27) *
yes, I agree. Thinking about Dundee FC is terribly depressing.

Get yourself some happy pills then.
Bigmouth Strikes Again
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 12 2008, 16:26) *

The 'Derry' is not an 'end' its runs along the side of the pitch,so, before spouting this pish get your facts right, are you sure you're not getting confused with another game?
EdinburghLivi
Could you have swerved that any more than you did?
Toby Fair
QUOTE (nelsjfc @ Sep 12 2008, 11:18) *
As liviforever points out there is a complete difference between booing someone when you think he is time wasting and then booing someone when they are being taken off on a strecher.
I remember the scott paterson incident at dens, wasnt nice to see him get jeered as he was carried off with what was effectively a career ending injury.

I remember clapping wilkie off when he was strechered off at dens, think it takes a certain sort of person to laugh at someone's having what could be a career threatening injury.

I suppose that's the point though. When Wilkie got that injury, he was already a Scotland international and his injury woes were well known.
What happened with Adams was less high profile, but at the same time, the abuse was of an unusually vicious nature.
I like to think it's not specific to Dundee,but it was nasty and the subsequent outcome doesn't help.
kristov
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Sep 12 2008, 11:30) *

Are you STILL under the misplaced assumption there is some sort of rivalry between our clubs due to last season?

I'd be very surprised if that poster wasn't Insight, in which case, it doesn't count. If it is though, it's funny how you didn't name him- probably as it would water down another piss poor dig at Dundee from our esteemed mod. If it wasn't Insight then I prepare to stand corrected. dry.gif Although Saints fans really can't get too high and mighty about this given the neanderthals trawling WAP - cringe at the loonies on that site.

Really, I thought the P & B collective were more creative than swapping tenious examples of Dundee fans booing career threating rolleyes.gif injuries in their attempts to have a dig at the largest team in the SFL...
vikingTON
QUOTE (Bigmouth Strikes Again @ Sep 12 2008, 18:49) *
The 'Derry' is not an 'end' its runs along the side of the pitch,so, before spouting this pish get your facts right, are you sure you're not getting confused with another game?

O dear, that's the poorest attempt at deflection I've seen. laugh.gif
More's the pity, although credit for the creativity.
3/10.