Full Version: Local Derbies
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Junior Football
Auld Heid
Was speaking to a work colleague about the derby game tomorrow between Linlithgow and Bo'ness. Not sure if he was winding me up or not but he was saying that the game last year was all ticket, early kick off and segregation. Is this game as bad as he makes out that there is a large police presence etc. Surely things aren't that bad, I know the Bo'ness fans have a bad reputation etc. This got me thinking what are the other derby games/stories out there and are they as intense both on and off the park as this game seems to be.
FuzzyBear
QUOTE (Auld Heid @ Sep 12 2008, 07:53) *
Was speaking to a work colleague about the derby game tomorrow between Linlithgow and Bo'ness. Not sure if he was winding me up or not but he was saying that the game last year was all ticket, early kick off and segregation. Is this game as bad as he makes out that there is a large police presence etc. Surely things aren't that bad, I know the Bo'ness fans have a bad reputation etc. This got me thinking what are the other derby games/stories out there and are they as intense both on and off the park as this game seems to be.

That was the case last season but the police have seen sense and gone back to normal this year. To be honest it has never been too bad. We have had a few bottles thrown and a few nazi salutes but nothing a semi decent police force could not sort in 2 minutes flat. Therein lies the problem. If recent years are anything to go by the police will stand at the opposite end of the ground from the Bo'ness travelling support and do hee haw.
HTG
The all-ticket, early kick off affair was the result of an over-reaction on the part of L&B's finest the season before.

Last year, the teams met at Bo'ness in the Scottish Cup - a much more intense affair than your run-of-the-mill league match. There was segregation but no tickets and a normal kick off time.

There was no bother, the game was well policed by Central Scotland although as Fuzz points out, the nazi salute stuff was never stamped on at all.

Bo'ness have banned unaccompanied young people from their home games and I suspect that unaccompanied youths will not be permitted into Linlithgow never mind into the ground.

From what I see on here and elsewhere, it's no different to many other games in Scotland where some of our young people suffer from small-town-wha's-like-us syndrome.
sponsorsladdie
QUOTE (HTG @ Sep 12 2008, 11:43) *
The all-ticket, early kick off affair was the result of an over-reaction on the part of L&B's finest the season before.

Last year, the teams met at Bo'ness in the Scottish Cup - a much more intense affair than your run-of-the-mill league match. There was segregation but no tickets and a normal kick off time.

There was no bother, the game was well policed by Central Scotland although as Fuzz points out, the nazi salute stuff was never stamped on at all.

Bo'ness have banned unaccompanied young people from their home games and I suspect that unaccompanied youths will not be permitted into Linlithgow never mind into the ground.

From what I see on here and elsewhere, it's no different to many other games in Scotland where some of our young people suffer from small-town-wha's-like-us syndrome.

The most hassle the Bo'ness fans have caused in the last few years was when they trashed their bus on the way back from a cup game (i think Sauchie) and got dumped in Lithgae High Street. They then tried to battle their way into a pub on the high street and had a bit of a running battle for 10 mins or so before the police turned up and escorted them home, they did manage to smash some windows on the high street on their way.
sponsorsladdie
The erse holes did also turn up at the Renfrew v Rose in the scottish a few years ago. (boy from Bo'ness was playing darts at scottish open) They had robbed some fruit from outside a shop and started flinging that and stones at the Rose fans before a poster on here got punched while taking his pics.
juniornews
L&B finest say they have no right to turn them back before getting to Linlithgow
its against there human rights and they are free to go where they wish
this was the reason for the tickets as when an event is made all ticket they
can then turn them away of they have no ticket and are allowed to do so within a decent
zone around the ground to keep them away

Amazingly there is to be NO segregation tomorrow with the police stating they will deal with
whoever when and if they turn up !!!!!!!

but if they think they will just pick on all the wee 12 to 16 year old neds they will make a big mistake as the ringleaders of the Boness trouble makers are blokes well into their 30's and 40's
also a few of you are forgetting the game at Boness when they all charged round to stand among the Rose support issuing threats. Or the pitch invasion at the George Simpson memorial game.
Bottles on park at Boness or the running battle with Police behind the shed when one was lifted

lyt
QUOTE (juniornews @ Sep 12 2008, 13:05) *
L&B finest say they have no right to turn them back before getting to Linlithgow
its against there human rights and they are free to go where they wish
this was the reason for the tickets as when an event is made all ticket they
can then turn them away of they have no ticket and are allowed to do so within a decent
zone around the ground to keep them away

Amazingly there is to be NO segregation tomorrow with the police stating they will deal with
whoever when and if they turn up !!!!!!!

but if they think they will just pick on all the wee 12 to 16 year old neds they will make a big mistake as the ringleaders of the Boness trouble makers are blokes well into their 30's and 40's
also a few of you are forgetting the game at Boness when they all charged round to stand among the Rose support issuing threats. Or the pitch invasion at the George Simpson memorial game.
Bottles on park at Boness or the running battle with Police behind the shed when one was lifted

pretty sure that (well in my day)that if there were more than three neds walking together that the police could see this as being a gang and ordering them homeward. or lift them.but in these times the police are tied with paper work.my arse still hurts after being lippy to mr plod.
lyt
before a poster on here got punched while taking his pics.

huh.gif ohmy.gif wink.gif tongue.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif ph34r.gif line up

roseyposey
QUOTE (lyt @ Sep 12 2008, 13:24) *
before a poster on here got punched while taking his pics.
huh.gif ohmy.gif wink.gif tongue.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif ph34r.gif line up

Aye you laugh

but I had the last laugh on the assailant didnt I
vroom vroom or not as the case may be........................

more like Bring Bring is that the AA !!!!!!!
lyt
QUOTE (roseyposey @ Sep 12 2008, 13:38) *
Aye you laugh

but I had the last laugh on the assailant didnt I
vroom vroom or not as the case may be........................

more like Bring Bring is that the AA !!!!!!!

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (lyt @ Sep 12 2008, 13:21) *
my arse still hurts after being lippy to mr plod.

We don't want to know about your sex life, thank you.
Jambo'ness
Quite looking forward to my first BU-lithgae' derby tomorrow.

Not sure whether to join the 'guided stroll' from Bo'ness or get there early for a swally.

I have heard all the stories about trouble but can only add that this season it was a busload of Camelon 'fans' who tried to get into Newtown Park that caused the only bother.

The club stewards did a good job keeping them out and the police escorted the bus home.
lyt
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Sep 12 2008, 14:37) *
We don't want to know about your sex life, thank you.

HaHA rofl, whit the fvck is that wi the tat on your avatar by the way.sure a shagged a thing oot the back of the cave wi one like that.
lyt
QUOTE (Jambo'ness @ Sep 12 2008, 15:29) *

Not sure whether to join the 'guided stroll' from Bo'ness or get there early for a swally.

I have heard all the stories about trouble but can only add that this season it was a busload of Camelon 'fans' who tried to get into Newtown Park that caused the only bother.

The club stewards did a good job keeping them out and the police escorted the bus home.

better get there early or better still if you go to the black bitch there is always sure to be another beggar in there. wink.gif
roseyposey
QUOTE (Jambo'ness @ Sep 12 2008, 15:29) *

Camelon have certainly got troubles on that front as well
they caused bother at a cup final last year that saw one drunken clown challenge the opposition keeper to a fight
and then invade the park about three times to run round the goals
luckily the police arrived before any serious aggro happend
BANKIEBILL
QUOTE (roseyposey @ Sep 12 2008, 17:02) *
Camelon have certainly got troubles on that front as well
they caused bother at a cup final last year that saw one drunken clown challenge the opposition keeper to a fight
and then invade the park about three times to run round the goals
luckily the police arrived before any serious aggro happend

Hmmm sounds remarkably like the clown that came on to the park at the Shettleston tournament ; tried to get in the Clydebank team foto and then went onto the park to challenge the Bankies keeper to a fight ...
tamthebam
A chap I know went to Tranent v Dunbar back in the 1970s, there was a large crowd and a riot broke out. Apparently there were more arrests at that game than at the Hibs/Hearts games on the same day!
While the crowd at Dunbar v Haddington League cup games in August tended to behave themselves I have seen a few sendings off and pagars among the players in my time...
Jambo'ness
QUOTE (lyt @ Sep 12 2008, 15:33) *
better get there early or better still if you go to the black bitch there is always sure to be another beggar in there. wink.gif

Aye well there are plenty of black bitches in Lithgae. wink.gif
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (lyt @ Sep 12 2008, 15:31) *
HaHA rofl, whit the fvck is that wi the tat on your avatar by the way.sure a shagged a thing oot the back of the cave wi one like that.

I'll admit the avatar isn't actually me but then your avatar isn't you (I hope).
lyt
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Sep 16 2008, 12:45) *
I'll admit the avatar isn't actually me but then your avatar isn't you (I hope).

your avatar is most defo a pair of top bollocks where as mine is,if you look more closely a standard lamp with orange coloured walls in back ground. catches a few folk to be fair laugh.gif laugh.gif
th1stleandr0se
QUOTE (lyt @ Sep 16 2008, 12:49) *
your avatar is most defo a pair of top bollocks where as mine is,if you look more closely a standard lamp with orange coloured walls in back ground. catches a few folk to be fair laugh.gif laugh.gif

Certainly caught me. Maybe it's just the way my mind works.

I was away at the weekend and missed the Bo'ness game. I had been speaking to Herdy a few weeks back and he said he wanted to be back for that one especially. I see he got brought down for the penalty. How did he play otherwise?
lyt
QUOTE (th1stleandr0se @ Sep 16 2008, 14:52) *
Certainly caught me. Maybe it's just the way my mind works.

I was away at the weekend and missed the Bo'ness game. I had been speaking to Herdy a few weeks back and he said he wanted to be back for that one especially. I see he got brought down for the penalty. How did he play otherwise?

came on for the last 30 or so minutes,and must have ran for at least 29 of them and indeed get floored for the penalty.all we need now is hoggy and big kev back and the rose wont be far away IMO anyway.we have signed a defender.Graeme king from bannockburn ams HTG
AlanCamelonfan
Kingy played for us in the two cup finals played excellent on both occasions.

QUOTE (lyt @ Sep 16 2008, 16:27) *
came on for the last 30 or so minutes,and must have ran for at least 29 of them and indeed get floored for the penalty.all we need now is hoggy and big kev back and the rose wont be far away IMO anyway.we have signed a defender.Graeme king from bannockburn ams HTG
Ronson
Alan, can you give a bit more detail. He looks a bit on the wee side. What would you say was his best position, ta.