Full Version: Trap's Irish Revolution Gathers Pace
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Misc Other Fitba Chat
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Beyemystic
Ireland bagged an impressive 4-point haul from their opening two qualifiers last night, as they negotiated a tricky away game in Montenegro.

In snatching a hard fought draw with the Balkan cracks, Giovanni Trappatoni further extended his splendid unbeaten run and built upon last Wednesday's crushing victory over Georgia.

In a night of many heroic performances fom the men in green, it was the legendary Shay Given who repelled countless attacks from the dangerous Montenegrins and their celebrated playmaker Mirko Vucinic. While in defence John O'Shea and Richard Dunne also came to the fore, and the underrated Glenn Whelan had another superb game in the heart of midfield as the plucky Irishmen scrapped their way to a deserved point in the hostile environs of an Eastern European wasteland.

Ireland appear to be coming good at the right time and, with excellent players like Damien Duff and Stephen Ireland still to add to the mix, hopes are high that they can begin another fantastic world cup story in South Africa 2010.
Duracell Bunny
Well done the ROI!!!
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (Beyemystic @ Sep 11 2008, 00:59) *
the Balkan cracks

BOD Red
[quote name='Beyemystic' date='Sep 11 2008, 00:59' post='2765590']
Wednesday's crushing victory over Georgia.

the legendary Shay Given

wouldnt say 2-1 is a crushing victory.

Maybe i have missed something but has Given won the World Cup , Euro Champs , Champions League before?
H_B
Actually watched Ireland play last night and by fuck they were rancid.

Let's pray they get second palce in their group somehow as they could be the only runner up we'd beat.
Colin M
For a nation with a population of billions, a blank against Montenegro is a dreadful result.
calum_gers
Im sorry but 0-0 against montenegro is a truely woeful result. When Serbia and monetenegro split up, 10 were serbian 1 was montenegran. And between Serbia and Montenegro couldnty qualify for euro2008. Ireland should be beating this mob comfortably.
calum_gers

Taken from the BBC website

The Republic of Ireland remain unbeaten in their World Cup qualifying group after deservedly drawing in Montenegro.

Giovanni Trapattoni's Republic team had a strong penalty claim turned down in the first half after Radoslav Batak appeared to handle. Mirko Vucinic and Milan Jovanovic had Montenegro chances with Robbie Keane going close for the Republic and Aiden McGeady missing a great opportunity. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

BOD Red
I wonder if Trappatoni's "Celtic minded"
Jim Pansy
Yup, roi were brutal last night. Actually they did the job against Georgia pretty well, and played very similarly to Scotland last night. I'd say roi and Scotland are well matched teams. I'd fancy our chances though.
H_B
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Sep 11 2008, 09:59) *
I'd say roi and Scotland are well matched teams.

Yes, watching them last night was like every Scotland away performance. I think we are very evenly matched.

Aiden McGeady was actually really good last night, until their manager told the left back to annihilate him at every opportunity, which the ref appeared to have no problems with laugh.gif
calum_gers
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 11 2008, 10:02) *
Yes, watching them last night was like every Scotland away performance. I think we are very evenly matched.

Aiden McGeady was actually really good last night, until their manager told the left back to annihilate him at every opportunity, which the ref appeared to have no problems with laugh.gif

Dammit i knew my real profession would leak out one day biggrin.gif
Bloobell
Ireland bagged an impressive 4-point haul from their opening two qualifiers last night, as they negotiated a tricky away game in Montenegro.

In snatching a hard fought draw with the Balkan cracks, Giovanni Trappatoni further extended his splendid unbeaten run and built upon last Wednesday's crushing victory over Georgia.

In a night of many heroic performances fom the men in green, it was the legendary Shay Given who repelled countless attacks from the dangerous Montenegrins and their celebrated playmaker Mirko Vucinic. While in defence John O'Shea and Richard Dunne also came to the fore, and the underrated Glenn Whelan had another superb game in the heart of midfield as the plucky Irishmen scrapped their way to a deserved point in the hostile environs of an Eastern European wasteland.

Ireland appear to be coming good at the right time and, with excellent players like Damien Duff and Stephen Ireland still to add to the mix, hopes are high that they can begin another fantastic world cup story in South Africa 2010.

Haud the bus, it's 2 games in and they've still to play Italy twice and a Cyprus team who have them on the mantlepiece

The crunch games are likely to be those against Bulgaria
Bloobell
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 11 2008, 10:02) *

Hahahahaha, perhaps he watched old tapes of Hutton doing the wee lesbian fukker laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
SmellTheGlove

Exellent result well done the RA....oops I mean the ROI. wink.gif
Pink Freud
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 11 2008, 10:23) *
Exellent result well done the RA....oops I mean the ROI. wink.gif

Yes, well done the RoI.

You however, are a c**t. smile.gif
BOD Red

Does this tube think they were playing Brazil?
Shengus Khan
QUOTE (Bloobell @ Sep 11 2008, 10:13) *
Hahahahaha, perhaps he watched old tapes of Hutton doing the wee lesbian fukker laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I'm still shocked that the wee rodent-faced sand dancer was playing last night. When did King Kirk let him out of his back pocket?
calum_gers
QUOTE (Shengus Khan @ Sep 11 2008, 11:20) *
I'm still shocked that the wee rodent-faced sand dancer was playing last night. When did King Kirk let him out of his back pocket?

Aiden didnt want to get on the Scotland plane . Kirk had no choice... biggrin.gif
Bloobell
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 11 2008, 11:23) *
Aiden didnt want to get on the Scotland plane . Kirk had no choice... biggrin.gif

I find it funny that a guy described by the current Scotland Manager as of 'limited ability' managed to get the new Ronaldinho onto his mantlepiece laugh.gif
mcfc-par
QUOTE (BOD Red @ Sep 11 2008, 10:28) *
Does this tube think they were playing Brazil?

After watching Brazil last night, it might have been an easier game for the ROI.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 11 2008, 09:47) *
Actually watched Ireland play last night and by fuck they were rancid.

Let's pray they get second palce in their group somehow as they could be the only runner up we'd beat.

Presuming for the moment we do manage to get 2nd place AND it's one of the top eight second places at that, I'd quite fancy our chances against the runners up of groups 2, 3, 7 or 8.

Group 2 - Most likely to be Israel though I suppose Switzerland shouldn't be completely written off despite last night. Either way I'd fancy our chances.

Group 3 - Czech or Poles, whichever doesn't actually win it. Poland most likely.

Group 7 - French and Romanians both stuttering but they are still likely to eventually come through as 1st and 2nd I'd think. Neither are anything to be scared of though. If one of them doesn't make it the Lithuanians or Austrians sure as Hell are nothing to fear.

Group 8 - Runners up likely to be either Ireland or Bulgaria. No great fears there.

Even in Group 1 I wouldn't be especially fazed to meet Sweden or Denmark though the Portuguese would worry me if they finish 2nd.

You probably wouldn't want runners up in Group 4 (most likely Russia), 5 (Turkey) or 6 (one of England, Ukraine or Croatia) though.
H_B
Fair shout, particularly Group 2.
KnightswoodBear
I see that Mystic's line is heavy today.
djn
Yup, the roi result was a bigger cosmic shift than thon CERN fusion thingy...
craigkillie
In all fairness, drawing away to Montenegro is quite a good result for Ireland. Bulgaria are Ireland's main contenders for 2nd place, and they also drew out there at the weekend. Obviously Cyprus are in with a shout too, but I can't see them getting the better of Ireland again, now that Ireland have a proper manager in charge.

I actually quite enjoy watching Ireland play, and I'd be quite happy for them to qualify for the World Cup. I enjoyed watching them in Japan & Korea, and they were very unlucky against Spain in the last-16.
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (craigkillie @ Sep 11 2008, 15:00) *
In all fairness, drawing away to Montenegro is quite a good result for Ireland. Bulgaria are Ireland's main contenders for 2nd place, and they also drew out there at the weekend. Obviously Cyprus are in with a shout too, but I can't see them getting the better of Ireland again, now that Ireland have a proper manager in charge.

I actually quite enjoy watching Ireland play, and I'd be quite happy for them to qualify for the World Cup. I enjoyed watching them in Japan & Korea, and they were very unlucky against Spain in the last-16.

Last 16? Didn't think you Scots knew what the last 16 of a mojor tournament was. As a matter of fact I'm suprised you know what a major tournament is these days. 10 years and counting laugh.gif laugh.gif
BOD Red
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 11 2008, 16:03) *
Last 16? Didn't think you Scots knew what the last 16 of a mojor tournament was. As a matter of fact I'm suprised you know what a major tournament is these days. 10 years and counting laugh.gif laugh.gif

When Charlton and McCarthy were in charge i dont think the Irish FA knew what an Irishman was.
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (BOD Red @ Sep 11 2008, 16:08) *
When Charlton and McCarthy were in charge i dont think the Irish FA knew what an Irishman was.

I'm sure they did their national team that was representing them and getting to last 16 in major tournaments was made up with them wink.gif
BOD Red
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 11 2008, 16:12) *
I'm sure they did their national team that was representing them and getting to last 16 in major tournaments was made up with them wink.gif

Not really an Irish national team then is it?
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (BOD Red @ Sep 11 2008, 16:15) *

Roy Keane has been quite clear on this issue biggrin.gif
lzreid
QUOTE (calum_gers @ Sep 11 2008, 09:56) *
Im sorry but 0-0 against montenegro is a truely woeful result. When Serbia and monetenegro split up, 10 were serbian 1 was montenegran. And between Serbia and Montenegro couldnty qualify for euro2008. Ireland should be beating this mob comfortably.

Let us also remember that the 1 Montenegran was the 3rd choice Goalkeeper.
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (BOD Red @ Sep 11 2008, 16:15) *

So Scotland does not have a national team then? Intresting rolleyes.gif
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Sep 11 2008, 16:18) *
Roy Keane has been quite clear on this issue biggrin.gif

Pity Roy Keane does not make the rules up on this issue isn't it? dry.gif
BOD Red
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 11 2008, 16:23) *
So Scotland does not have a national team then? Intresting rolleyes.gif

Ireland had a group of players that represented ROI , they werent Irish nationals. Most of them were Cockneys FFS.
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (BOD Red @ Sep 11 2008, 16:26) *
Ireland had a group of players that represented ROI , they werent Irish nationals. Most of them were Cockneys FFS.

Not true. laugh.gif

Using your daft logic Scotland doesn't have a national team currently and have not had one since Craig Brown was in charge. Is this correct?
BOD Red
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 11 2008, 16:28) *
Not true. laugh.gif

Using your daft logic Scotland doesn't have a national team currently and have not had one since Craig Brown was in charge. Is this correct?

Incorrect , off hand i can think of only 2 (Commons and Alexander) who i would class as a non Scot , although i stand corrected on that.

If you have ever read the book of your most famous player even he complained about the "fake Irishmen" in the national team.

SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (BOD Red @ Sep 11 2008, 16:33) *
Incorrect , off hand i can think of only 2 (Commons and Alexander) who i would class as a non Scot , although i stand corrected on that.

If you have ever read the book of your most famous player even he complained about the "fake Irishmen" in the national team.

But you said it wasn't the Irish national team back then because we had some players who were not 100% Irish. Scotland have two English players in their current squad so that means using your original logic that Scotland doesn't have a national team. You should really think about what your saying before you open your mouth. Silly little boy. laugh.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 11 2008, 16:12) *

May as well have been supporting England...........

1 Bonner: Ireland

2 Irwin: Ireland

3 Phelan: England

4 Moran: Ireland

5 McGrath: England

6 Keane: Ireland

7 Townsend: England

8 Houghton: Scotland

9 Aldridge: England

10 Sheridan: England

11 Staunton: Ireland

12 G. Kelly: Ireland

13 Kernaghan: England

14 Babb: England

15 Coyne: Scotland

16 Cascarino; England

17 McGoldrick: England

18 Whelan: Ireland

19 McLoughlin: England

20 D. Kelly: England

21 McAteer: England

22 A. Kelly: England

Coach: Charlton

BOD Red
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 11 2008, 16:40) *
But you said it wasn't the Irish national team back then because we had some players who were not 100% Irish. Scotland have two English players in their current squad so that means using your original logic that Scotland doesn't have a national team. You should really think about what your saying before you open your mouth. Silly little boy. laugh.gif

Scotland have 2 , Ireland had about 12 (at least). And they were 100% English bar Ray Houghton who was 100% Scottish.

And why have Scotland not had a national team since Craig Brown left?

SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (BOD Red @ Sep 11 2008, 16:45) *
Scotland have 2 , Ireland had about 12 (at least). And they were 100% English bar Ray Houghton who was 100% Scottish.

And why have Scotland not had a national team since Craig Brown left?

Yeah but Scotland have had their fair few over the years, off the top of my head:

Jonathan Gould
Graham Commons
Matt Elliott
Neil Sullivain
Graham Alexander
Don Hutchison

Plus who can forget the great David Johnson debacle. laugh.gif

Using your silly logic then Scotland have not had a national team since Roxburghs era because you have used the Grandparent rule to your advantage over the years.

Word of advice BOD Red. Think before you talk. dry.gif

BOD Red
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 11 2008, 16:55) *
Yeah but Scotland have had their fair few over the years, off the top of my head:

Jonathan Gould
Graham Commons
Matt Elliott
Neil Sullivain
Graham Alexander
Don Hutchison

Plus who can forget the great David Johnson debacle. laugh.gif

Using your silly logic then Scotland have not had a national team since Roxburghs era because you have used the Grandparent rule to your advantage over the years.

Word of advice BOD Red. Think before you talk. dry.gif

A few posts up it was since the Craig Brown era, now its the Roxburgh era , make up your mind.

And its Kris Commons.

Word of advice.Think before you spout shite.
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 11 2008, 16:43) *
May as well have been supporting England...........

1 Bonner: Ireland

2 Irwin: Ireland

3 Phelan: England

4 Moran: Ireland

5 McGrath: England

6 Keane: Ireland

7 Townsend: England

8 Houghton: Scotland

9 Aldridge: England

10 Sheridan: England

11 Staunton: Ireland

12 G. Kelly: Ireland

13 Kernaghan: England

14 Babb: England

15 Coyne: Scotland

16 Cascarino; England

17 McGoldrick: England

18 Whelan: Ireland

19 McLoughlin: England

20 D. Kelly: England

21 McAteer: England

22 A. Kelly: England

Coach: Charlton

Yeah well if you want to use your idiotic logic then Scotland should have the result of one of their most famous victories in recent times, 0-1 against England at Wembley reversed due to the only goal of the game being scored by an Englishman. dry.gif
SmellTheGlove
Changing the subject. Intresting.

Learn to use the reply/quote function properly you thick c**t. laugh.gif
BOD Red
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 11 2008, 17:01) *
Yeah well if you want to use your idiotic logic then Scotland should have the result of one of their most famous victories in recent times, 0-1 against England at Wembley reversed due to the only goal of the game being scored by an Englishman. dry.gif

In a way you are correct cos there is no way Hutchison should have ever played for Scotland , same as Elliott , Sullivan , et al

However 14 or 15 non Irish out of a squad of 22 is taking the piss a bit.

SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (BOD Red @ Sep 11 2008, 17:05) *
In a way you are correct cos there is no way Hutchison should have ever played for Scotland , same as Elliott , Sullivan , et al

However 14 or 15 non Irish out of a squad of 22 is taking the piss a bit.

Most of them were just born in England to Irish parents/parent like Andy Goram, Richard Gough, Shaun Maloney etc.

The fact of the matter is ROI have been in the last 16 on a few occasions in major tournaments and Scotland have never. Get over it. dry.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 11 2008, 17:07) *
Most of them were just born in England to Irish parents/parent like Andy Goram, Richard Gough, Shaun Maloney etc.

The fact of the matter is England rejects wearing Irish strips have been in the last 16 on a few occasions in major tournaments and Scotland have never. Get over it. dry.gif

Fixed it for you!!! tongue.gif
SmellTheGlove
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 11 2008, 17:12) *
Fixed it for you!!! tongue.gif

Sure you weren't complaining when English reject Don Hutchison scored the winner at Wembley. wink.gif

One of my fondest memories is watching Ireland qualify for the last 16 of the World cup. Did you enjoy watching Scotland do the same......oops. laugh.gif
dilusionalsaint
can he not find a team in his country to support instead of supporting a scottish team, not calling him a hypocrite, but it seems a little so

in his logic Scottish teams must be shit, because national team has never reached last 16 of major championship
djn
QUOTE (SmellTheGlove @ Sep 11 2008, 17:07) *
Most of them were just born in England to Irish parents/parent like Andy Goram, Richard Gough, Shaun Maloney etc

...but Gough/ Goram/ Maloney etc have lived in Scotland. Whereas.... unsure.gif

QUOTE (dilusionalsaint @ Sep 11 2008, 17:31) *
can he not find a team in his country to support instead of supporting a scottish team, not calling him a hypocrite, but it seems a little so

in his logic Scottish teams must be shit, because national team has never reached last 16 of major championship

It's funny how many Irish people support a "foreign" sport isn't it...