Mon The Clyde
Sep 8 2008, 15:27
I'm bored so will start this thread. Clyde will be doing very well to get anything out of Saturday, hopefully Hutton will be back aswell as Wilson and Brown.
Cherrie/Hutton
Lowing Gibson Higgins/Brown Ohnesorge/Higgins
Trouten/McKay Kettlewell Wilson/Ruari Waddell
Clarke Gemmill
But knowing Brown's team selections he'll put Lowing on the right wing and Kettlewell at center back
David W
Sep 8 2008, 16:44
Can we not play this at Firhill? I'd go with a 352 for this one, don't really want to guess a team until later in the week.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
Sep 8 2008, 16:52
I wont go on about line ups and the like just yet. I will say that this could be a turning point in our season. Thistle have been playing really well and at home we havent. However I dont think a win is completely outwith the realms of possibility. If we do win that would make 2 league wins in a row and would fiinally get our confidennce up. Of course there is every chance that we will get hammered so we shall see.
Pride Of The Clyde
Sep 8 2008, 16:55
Hopefully we will have Clarke, Wilson and Brown all available for this one.
Scotchpie
Sep 8 2008, 17:01
QUOTE (Mr Kilsyth @ Sep 8 2008, 17:52)

I wont go on about line ups and the like just yet. I will say that this could be a turning point in our season. Thistle have been playing really well and at home we havent. However I dont think a win is completely outwith the realms of possibility. If we do win that would make 2 league wins in a row and would fiinally get our confidennce up. Of course there is every chance that we will get hammered so we shall see.
We need a consistent Team on the park, for what its worth I think that is:
Cherrie
Gibson Brown Higgins
Herman Elmslie Wilson Kettlewell Waddell
Clarke McKay
I think the trouble is we have too many options such as:
McLennan x 2
Gemmill
Lowing
Trouten
....all of whom have played well at some point so far.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
Sep 8 2008, 17:10
I agree with your team selection pretty much but I will say that Alan Trouten has not played well at any point.
I'd expect Thistle to line up with the following:
Tuffey
Robertson Storey Maxwell
Paton Rowson Turner Harkins Twaddle
Lennon Donnelly
However, I'd keep Gray in place of Lennon and consider starting Marko in front of Donnelly. Sid's looked the part recently, but Marko appeared hungry yesterday and chipped in with two assists.
I'm hoping we're able to overrun your midfield, which sounds pretty lightweight even with the inclusion of Wilson, and that the forward runs of Twaddle and Paton trouble your back three. However, despite last season's six goals, I'm mindful that trips to Broadwood are never easy and I'm wary of the threat posed by Clarke.
Storey looked a bit shaky yesterday, but I'm hoping Robbo's return will provide reassurance.
Scotchpie, your signature is laughably bad.
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 8 2008, 18:34)

I'd expect Thistle to line up with the following:
Tuffey
Robertson Storey Maxwell
Paton Rowson Turner Harkins Twaddle
Lennon Donnelly
However, I'd keep Gray in place of Lennon and consider starting Marko in front of Donnelly. Sid's looked the part recently, but Marko appeared hungry yesterday and chipped in with two assists.
I'm hoping we're able to overrun your midfield, which sounds pretty lightweight even with the inclusion of Wilson, and that the forward runs of Twaddle and Paton trouble your back three. However, despite last season's six goals, I'm mindful that trips to Broadwood are never easy and I'm wary of the threat posed by Clarke.
Storey looked a bit shaky yesterday, but I'm hoping Robbo's return will provide reassurance.
Scotchpie, your signature is laughably bad.
I agree with that.I think Gray might start because he played well yesterday, he is our joint top goalscorer and he and Sid play very well with each other.
I predict a two nil Jgas victory.
johnjag
Sep 8 2008, 19:25
We're expected to win.
I worry when we're expected to win
Exuberant
Sep 8 2008, 19:29
QUOTE (johnjag @ Sep 8 2008, 20:25)

We're expected to win.
I worry when we're expected to win

What he said.
Can we play Barcelona every week instead
Haven't seen the new guy Turner, but a promising start.
We'll probably line-up:
Tuffey
Robertson Storey Maxwell
Paton _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-Twaddle
Rowson
Harkins Turner
Donnelly/Roberts Gray/Lennon
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
Sep 8 2008, 19:48
Think I would start Damo and Sid up front.
Looking forward to this game already and its only Monday.
Mushroom
Sep 8 2008, 20:04
Its at home so we'll lose.
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Sep 8 2008, 20:48)

Looking forward to this game already and its only Monday.
Thistle / Clyde games usually come somewhere between washing under my foreskin and reading a Sao Paolo post on the excitementometer, but I'm looking forward to it, too.
Regular contributers to the forum will know I usually shy away from predictions, but I'll break from tradition to say there's as much chance of Clyde winning this game as there is of me pulling a six-foot plus blonde bombshell with the rack of Sophie Howard and the joints of an Olympic gymnast in the Smiddy following the match.
I'm typing that in the hope that if the unthinkable former does happens then the latter will soften the blow.
Dr Koop
Sep 8 2008, 20:54
I'm ever hopeful Thistle won't go tits up against one of the league's 'backmarkers' like the boys did against Ross County.

I don't expect 22 players to leave the pitch at full-time either. We'll see.
Can we expect the kind of puerile musical welcome from Broadwood as we were given in Airdrie?
Dr Koop
Sep 8 2008, 20:55
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 8 2008, 21:51)

Thistle / Clyde games usually come somewhere between washing under my foreskin and reading a Sao Paolo post on the excitementometer, but I'm looking forward to it, too.
Regular contributers to the forum will know I usually shy away from predictions, but I'll break from tradition to say there's as much chance of Clyde winning this game as there is of me pulling a six-foot plus blonde bombshell with the rack of Sophie Howard and the joints of an Olympic gymnast in the Smiddy following the match.
I'm typing that in the hope that if the unthinkable former does happens then the latter will soften the blow.
You have a foreskin, boychik?

Who was that blonde you were with at the weekend?
QUOTE (Dr Koop @ Sep 8 2008, 21:54)

Can we expect the kind of puerile musical welcome from Broadwood as we were given in Airdrie?
That's no way to talk about 'The Song of the Clyde', or whatever it is that jolly piece of aural pleasure's called.
Dr Koop
Sep 8 2008, 21:00
Hmm ... oral pleasure at Broadwood, eh? Well, I'll be blowed.

Oh babe ...
The Arch
Sep 8 2008, 21:01
Some big choices for McCall this week. Roberts will be champing at the bit, so I'd be tempted to put him in from the start. I think until Buchanan's fit it will be one from Roberts/Donnelly with one of Lennon/Gray. I think McCall feels as if Smith's doing us a favour in giving us Lennon, so will play him most weeks.
If Twaddle's on his game, he should have the beating of Lowing, who might be a bit nervy. I also think our midfield should overrun them as well.
Victory for the Jags I think. A lot of thinking from me in this post
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
Sep 9 2008, 00:10
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 8 2008, 20:51)

This bold statement will be bore in mind.
Dr Koop
Sep 9 2008, 09:48
'Borne', and yes it will.
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
Sep 9 2008, 10:42
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 8 2008, 21:51)

Well I'm 6 foot plus, have pert moobs and a dislocated knee so fill most of your criteria...now where is that blonde wig?
Clyde 0 - 3 Jags
I'd like to see:
Cherrie
Gibson Brown Higgins Ohnesorge
Lowing Wilson Ruari Roddy/Waddell
Clarke Gemmill
Doubt we'll line up like this though, can't see Brown dropping Kettlewell. If this is the case, I expect to lose by at least 3.
I'm really looking forward to Saturday's game, but i'm a little nervous that we will start the game as strong favourites like we did against Ross County and look what happened there. It will be a big test for our players to see if they can handle the tag of being favourites.
My prediction:
Clyde 1-1 Partick Thistle
Dr. Name
Sep 9 2008, 12:14
Probably the most optimistic ive ever been going to broadwood, but then again it was there against ross county and that went belly up. If we can keep 11 players on the pitch i can see us winning.
Clyde 1 - 3 Thistle
Maryhill Magyar
Sep 9 2008, 12:26
Not that confident about that game at all. Although McCall seems to have broken the curse of our ineptitude at Broadwood, it is still a place that will always be difficult for a Thistle team to win at.
Wasn't at Livingston so didn't see Turner but based on people's reports on him I would have him in the midfield with Harkins and Rowson, who appears to have put his awful performance last Saturday behind him.
Up front I would go for Donnelly and Gray who I think look the best partnership although I would not be disappointed to see Lennon or Roberts up there either.
The rest of the team picks itself at present.
Rangers will insist that Lowing and Emslie are played regularly or what is the point of taking them on loan.Lowing was OK on Saturday but Emslie was poor.Waddell looks lazy and should be dropped.Fancy Clyde for a win on Saturday.
jagtastic
Sep 9 2008, 14:52
QUOTE (wagner @ Sep 9 2008, 14:49)

Rangers will insist that Lowing and Emslie are played regularly or what is the point of taking them on loan.Lowing was OK on Saturday but Emslie was poor.Waddell looks lazy and should be dropped.Fancy Clyde for a win on Saturday.
To gain experience of a first team, including learning that if you don't perform you don't deserve to be in it. Rangers should have no say at all in Browns team selections other than getting the old boys a run out at Hunfest 08.
As for the game, after this season's reminder as to why I shouldn't bet on Thistle when they are "favourites" the other week, I'm taking nothing for granted and fully expect a dull draw.
Dr Koop
Sep 9 2008, 15:02
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Sep 9 2008, 11:42)

Well I'm 6 foot plus, have pert moobs and a dislocated knee so fill most of your criteria...now where is that blonde wig?
Clyde 0 - 3 Jags
Oh great! I've just logged on and have the chance to win an Audi. Bet that's never happened to anyone else today.
I didn't think blondes were Nizzy's type, actually. Mind you, anything with a limp seems to set him off.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Sep 9 2008, 16:17
QUOTE (Dr Koop @ Sep 9 2008, 16:02)

Oh great! I've just logged on and have the chance to win an Audi. Bet that's never happened to anyone else today.
I didn't think blondes were Nizzy's type, actually. Mind you, anything with a limp seems to set him off.
Worth £20k ?
yup i got that too
banjo player
Sep 9 2008, 16:54
Where's dublinjag? oh I forgot, he's a twat and he knows nothing about football.
Fuctifano
Sep 9 2008, 17:12
I would think 8 of our lineup are pretty nailed on barring late injuries
.....................................Tuffey
.............Robertson......Storey..............Maxwell
Paton..................................................Twadd
le
................Harkins.........Rowson...(Chaplain/ Turner)
....(Gray / Lennon)........(Roberts / Donnelly)
Turner looked good when he came on on Sunday but he's still short of match fitness plus there's Chaplain's goalscoring record against Clyde (things like that shouldn't matter, but they sometimes do) so I'd go with the intention of playing Chaplain for the first hour but obviously that might change.
Suppose the same deal goes with Gray and Lennon, Gray scored twice at Broadwood last season, but I suppose Lennon will get the nod. Roberts again did very well on Sunday and I'd pick him but I think Donnelly's form this season will see him start.
I'm not going anyway but I suspect our first draw of the season is on the cards. 1-1.
Clyde4life
Sep 9 2008, 17:38
QUOTE (CK @ Sep 9 2008, 12:47)

I'd like to see:
Cherrie
Gibson Brown Higgins Ohnesorge
Lowing Wilson Ruari Roddy/Waddell
Clarke Gemmill
Doubt we'll line up like this though, can't see Brown dropping Kettlewell. If this is the case, I expect to lose by at least 3.
So if Kettlewell plays we will lose by three?????
Get a fucking grip!
QUOTE (Clyde4life @ Sep 9 2008, 18:38)

So if Kettlewell plays we will lose by three?????
Get a fucking grip!
The general consensus among Clyde fans appears to be that Kettlewell has had a poor start to the season. On the other hand, I believe we have one of the better midfields in the league. While it's a bit OTT to suggest you'll lose by three purely due to his selection, I assume CK's suggesting that your midfield will be overrun should he feature.
David W
Sep 9 2008, 18:07
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 9 2008, 18:51)

The general consensus among Clyde fans appears to be that Kettlewell has had a poor start to the season. On the other hand, I believe we have one of the better midfields in the league. While it's a bit OTT to suggest you'll lose by three purely due to his selection, I assume CK's suggesting that your midfield will be overrun should he feature.
And yet he's included McLennan who has had a worse start to the season? I don't think anyone will pick Kettlewell out as a particularly good performer thus far but I think the criticism directed towards him has been more than partly down to him being made captain.
As for the point about Thistle having a strong midfield, that's exactly why we need to put an extra man in the middle. Hopefully Wilson will be fit to play, if not, it'll be McGregor alongside Kettlewell and Emslie.
Liam Buchanan played the full second half of a closed-door match against St MIrren this afternoon, although I'd imagine he's unlikely to make Saturday's bench given the length of his lay off.
Mark Roberts scored, and must now be in serious contention for a start at the weekend.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Sep 9 2008, 19:17
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 9 2008, 19:20)

Liam Buchanan played the full second half of a closed-door match against St MIrren this afternoon, although I'd imagine he's unlikely to make Saturday's bench given the length of his lay off.
Mark Roberts scored, and must now be in serious contention for a start at the weekend.
any idea what the score was ?
Maryhill Magyar
Sep 9 2008, 19:19
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Sep 9 2008, 20:17)

any idea what the score was ?
4-2 to St Mirren
Went 2 up with goals from Roberts and Eaglesham according to official site
Great news about Buchanan that is, hopefully we will have him back in the first 11 by next month
FTOF_PTFC_1
Sep 9 2008, 19:25
QUOTE (Maryhill Magyar @ Sep 9 2008, 20:19)

4-2 to St Mirren
Went 2 up with goals from Roberts and Eaglesham according to official site
Great news about Buchanan that is, hopefully we will have him back in the first 11 by next month
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH
FUCKIN PAUL MATHERS WAS PLAYIN
Mon The Clyde
Sep 9 2008, 20:02
Fun times ahead regards to parking at the ground with half of the Clyde fans now parking in the away car park as both 'overflow' parking have now gone.
I was reading The Herald's Under-21 match report this morning and picked out the following line:
"Lennon wasted a golden chance to level when he mishit his finish from six yards straight at Schmeichal."
St Johnstone and County fans will back me up when I say that this is nothing unusual. Gray to start on Saturday please.
Dr. Name
Sep 10 2008, 10:46
Start with Lennon, Gray as a sub
QUOTE (Dr. Name @ Sep 10 2008, 11:46)

Start with Lennon, Gray as a sub
Why?
Add the fact Clyde now have a couple of players from Rangers who are accustomed to the way Lennon plays and I'd say everything points to Gray.
Dr. Name
Sep 10 2008, 10:54
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 10 2008, 11:50)

Why?
Add the fact Clyde now have a couple of players from Rangers who are accustomed to the way Lennon plays and I'd say everything points to Gray.
Its Gray im thinking about, not Lennon. Grays scored the majority of goals this season in the second half so id keep him fresh and bring him on later rather than let him start and tire himself out.
The Arch
Sep 10 2008, 10:54
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 10 2008, 11:50)

Why?
Clyde's defence probably still haven't recovered from the roasting Gray gave them, in the last match between the sides. Everything points towards Gray
Neil McGregor's rubbish, so I really hope he's playing.
QUOTE (Dr. Name @ Sep 10 2008, 11:54)

Its Gray im thinking about, not Lennon. Grays scored the majority of goals this season in the second half so id keep him fresh and bring him on later rather than let him start and tire himself out.
But everyone goes on about the amazing pace of Lennon. Surely it's him you'd want to see coming off the bench when the opposition are tiring?
Dr Koop
Sep 10 2008, 10:59
Given that the antiques roadshow (Ian Maxwell) is scoring more than Grey and Lennon, I'd much prefer him up front for Thistle on Saturday. Da yoots have to start finding the net. I think Gray will start ahead of Lennon.
Dublinjag
Sep 10 2008, 11:22
QUOTE (banjo player @ Sep 9 2008, 17:54)

Where's dublinjag? oh I forgot, he's a twat and he knows nothing about football.
Here I am, smiler. Ye'lluv hud yer tea, then?
How's things over on the Ma Broon and the Bairns forum ... ?
Suitably cleaned up and maintaining that sublime level of banter and discussion on a' things fitba', aye ... ?
Now free of all anger, resentment and begrudgery, to be sure ...
Red "censored" smiley always at the ready, just incase the urge to indulge in some gratuitous profanity might take yer feckin' fancy, aye ... ?
Still, at least there's no such thing as bad publicity ...
ClydeNewcomer
Sep 10 2008, 11:35
Anything other than a win against these tramps is absolutely unacceptable
Dr. Name
Sep 10 2008, 11:44
QUOTE (ClydeNewcomer @ Sep 10 2008, 12:35)

Anything other than a win against these tramps is absolutely unacceptable
Ive never heard such profanity
clyde til we die
Sep 10 2008, 11:45
Clyde 0 Thistle 3, that is all.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.