Full Version: Mcculloch Retires
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Fifes Elite Force
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/footbal...86908-20728747/

Now along with the rumours of Davie Weir. What is going on in the squad that stops players wanting to play for their country?
Jeff Venom
Beat me by 3 minutes to the same topic.....merge??

qos_75
And me by 4 minutes. laugh.gif
DB Cooper
15 caps, 1 goal, aye he's a big loss.

Jeff Venom
It just bewilders me how these guys think they've the divine right to just get picked and then give it the petted lip when they don't

UNLESS Burley has some kind of personal grudge against him and has told him so, and if he has maybe he should come out and say it (McCulloch that is)....otherwise, pull up the socks, dry your eyes and get on with it, im sure everyone of us on here would give our baws to play for Scotland
IXI THE ONE IXI
McCulloch has woken up, and smelled the (irish) coffee with Burley biggrin.gif

Swampy
"Bye, then."
Jim Pansy
i'd like to announce my international retirment too. So many precious memories...
Millfield Marksman
Is quitting under Burley worse than quitting under Vogts?
H_B
Spread betting on the date of Barry Ferguson's retirement announcement?
bobbykdy
Was McCulloch injured for Saturday or just not picked?

Either way if he has jacked it he should NEVER be allowed back under any other manager in the future, same goes for any other player who does this. We may all be wondering whats going on with Burley and his tactics etc but players cant just pick and choose who they want as boss.
davidkennedyshand
No great surprise after the alleged off the record comments he made to some journalists before last seasons Georgia game.

F**k him.No great loss .
TheScarf
QUOTE (bobbykdy @ Sep 8 2008, 09:51) *

Either way if he has jacked it he should NEVER be allowed back under any other manager in the future, same goes for any other player who does this.

He should NEVER have been picked in the first place. He's fucking murder.
bobbykdy
QUOTE (davidkennedyshand @ Sep 8 2008, 10:07) *
No great surprise after the alleged off the record comments he made to some journalists before last seasons Georgia game.
F**k him.No great loss .

Which were? McLeish was still boss then so I assume it was something to do with not really being fussed about playing for Scotland in general?
IXI THE ONE IXI
So no wins in 4 games, an embarrassing defeat to a minnow, amateur organisation in getting to Skopje, and now 2 players chucking it?

If Burley loses in Iceland it could be over for him before it has even begins.
Shengus Khan
Thanks for that Mr McCulloch. That's the best Scotland news i've heard in ages biggrin.gif

MC Pee Pants
hooray, one less donkey!
The Arch
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Sep 8 2008, 10:34) *
So no wins in 4 games, an embarrassing defeat to a minnow, amateur organisation in getting to Skopje, and now 2 players chucking it?

If Burley loses in Iceland it could be over for him before it has even begins.

Are we supposed to be unhappy that an injury prone carthorse has retired? This is a day of celebration. Now all we need is Murray to win, and it will be an excellent day for Scotland.
youroldda
QUOTE (Fifes Elite Force @ Sep 8 2008, 09:00) *
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/footbal...86908-20728747/

Now along with the rumours of Davie Weir. What is going on in the squad that stops players wanting to play for their country?

the Dutch breathe a sigh of relief!...... who gives a f**k anyway ,get tae f**k mcculloch ya big fanny what a ride ,cos he's no getting picked ?he ripped his tights . he knows that he'll no get picked ahead of,Fletcher,brown,robson,ferguson,hartley, maloney or even that new winger guy. no doubt his hun boyfriends in the media will back him up, just like the Daily Rangers did today..."he's one of a number of leading ohmy.gif international players who has lost faith in the manager"!!!!!! after one fuckin game!! maybe if he didn't fake injury's in the past he might have had a chance , he fuckin struggles to get in the rangers squad, is he gony refuse to play for them next?
Gordon EF
Goodbye Lee. You'll be missed.

MC Pee Pants
just chairman barry required now and burley's task will be complete.
Johnny van Axeldongen
On Saturday, Traynor said that 3 players might quit.
kiddy

Either way if he has jacked it he should NEVER be allowed back under any other manager in the future, same goes for any other player who does this. We may all be wondering whats going on with Burley and his tactics etc but players cant just pick and choose who they want as boss.

the player will hand in a written resignation should Burley try to bring him back into the fold

He's not even in the squad! :shock:

Hang on the now, I'll have to e-mail my resignation in too. rolleyes.gif

What a fanny. laugh.gif
yogisbairns
Oh dear, how sad, and mind no bang the door on the way oot! He was about as much use to Scotland as Alan McKinaly and Graeme Sharpe combined. How he ever graced the Scotland jersey was a mystery to me (never mind the Rangers jersey). The only time you noticed him was when he was getting his manditory booking. Add that to the timing of the whole thing and it just makes him look as if he's spat the dummy big time. Grade "A" a*sehole.
Shengus Khan
We're all laughing but I can't think of a ready made replacement for him. Who's going to step up to the plate and continously give away needless fouls now eh?
H_B
QUOTE (Shengus Khan @ Sep 8 2008, 11:29) *
Who's going to step up to the plate and continously give away needless fouls now eh?

Kevin Thomson?
sonofjenova
Made my morning. f**k off McCulloch, I'm better than you.

QUOTE (davidkennedyshand @ Sep 8 2008, 10:07) *

F**k him.No great loss .

What did he say?

QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 8 2008, 11:30) *
Kevin Thomson?

qpsnapper
How many players have their head up their arse these days and a huge over-estimate of their own worth?

Some Welsh non-entity is at it as well, and according to a piece in the Sunday Times yesterday, one of the reasons that Alan Pardew quit as West Ham manager last week was that after their win over Blackburn, Lucas Neill told Pardew (in front of the rest of the team) that the West Ham players had kept him in a job.
1320Lichtie
IF he said that he is an absolute tosspot acting like a spoiled kiddy cause he never got picked , and why say it now before we go into a huge game against Iceland aswell , the players will have heard of this and it doesnt get George Burley alot of respect either , If he said it after we had went to Iceland then fine but to say it know just makes him out to be an arsehole.
Deeboy
We, the Scottish public are forced to watch long ball football. Without Lee McCulloch to at least aim towards McManus and Caldwell simply lump it out the park as was seen on numerous occassions on Saturday. As bad as he is on the floor in around the box and even in our own box, he was an effective part of our hoof and chase tactics..
Owsley
QUOTE (The Arch @ Sep 8 2008, 11:15) *
Are we supposed to be unhappy that an injury prone carthorse has retired? This is a day of celebration. Now all we need is Murray to win, and it will be an excellent day for Scotland.

Beat me to it. I was worried it was going to be someone integral to our hopes but McCulloch! Ha! Ha! He can f**k off back to the subs bench at Rangers, a total donkey.
The Arch
QUOTE (qpsnapper @ Sep 8 2008, 11:41) *
How many players have their head up their arse these days and a huge over-estimate of their own worth?

Some Welsh non-entity is at it as well, and according to a piece in the Sunday Times yesterday, one of the reasons that Alan Pardew quit as West Ham manager last week was that after their win over Blackburn, Lucas Neill told Pardew (in front of the rest of the team) that the West Ham players had kept him in a job.

Paul Parry retired from international football for over a year, because he was going through a "tricky divorce" but said to Toshack that he wouldn't let him down if he got back in.

Now he retires after his first game back. What a child.

Also, I assume you're talking about Curbishley rather than Pardew.
ChampionsElect
No loss to the team. Goodbye.
IXI THE ONE IXI
He'll be back when Burley gets the sack at the end of this qualification group.
Deeboy
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Sep 8 2008, 11:57) *
He'll be back when Burley gets the sack after the Iceland game.

smile.gif
H_B
QUOTE (The Arch @ Sep 8 2008, 11:56) *
Paul Parry retired from international football for over a year, because he was going through a "tricky divorce" but said to Toshack that he wouldn't let him down if he got back in.

Now he retires after his first game back. What a child.

Total cock.

Likewise the Roi player who invented a bullshit reason for him withdrawing from a squad last season and was caught.
Booker_d
Im pretty shocked at the mocking reaction to McCulloch chucking it. Looking past what you think of him as a player, I think its the start of someting bigger.

This is more to do with Burley and the truth will out, hopefully sooner rather than laster.
The Arch
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 8 2008, 11:59) *
Total cock.

Likewise the Roi player who invented a bullshit reason for him withdrawing from a squad last season and was caught.

Stephen Ireland said his gran had died, so roi looked into it to send their condolences, and found that both his grans were still alive.

Ireland's girlfriend had had a miscarriage, but tried to hide it for some odd reason. He might have got sympathy if he'd told the truth. Trappatoni wanted to call him up, but Ireland said he's not mentally ready yet.
H_B
QUOTE (Booker_d @ Sep 8 2008, 12:03) *
This is more to do with Burley and the truth will out, hopefully sooner rather than laster.

Yes, I suspect you may be right. It is clear that all is not well.

A good part of the problem is that we overachieved last time out, quite clearly.
craigkillie
QUOTE (Booker_d @ Sep 8 2008, 12:03) *
Im pretty shocked at the mocking reaction to McCulloch chucking it. Looking past what you think of him as a player, I think its the start of someting bigger.

I don't think McCulloch has been in a single one of Burley's squads. That is more likely to be the reason why McCulloch has quit.

Burley is trying to get us playing football, and McCulloch is no use if we're doing that. Whether the footballing tactics will work or not remains to be seen, but the initial signs aren't great.

glasnost
If only Celtic players did the same and waved goodbye to international football.
IXI THE ONE IXI
And some people were aghast that Smith packed in Scotland for Rangers, or McLeish for Birmingham biggrin.gif

The team was always flattering to deceive. Wins against a poor France team, two defeats against an average Italian team, and beaten off a Georgian outfit playing 3 teenagers shows that any manager would be stupid to refuse a club job for Scotland.

Things must be really bad if players like McCulloch are telling Burley to stick it.
qpsnapper
QUOTE (The Arch @ Sep 8 2008, 11:56) *
Also, I assume you're talking about Curbishley rather than Pardew.

Yes, I meant Curbishley. D'oh!
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (craigkillie @ Sep 8 2008, 12:09) *
I don't think McCulloch has been in a single one of Burley's squads. That is more likely to be the reason why McCulloch has quit.

Burley is trying to get us playing football, and McCulloch is no use if we're doing that. Whether the footballing tactics will work or not remains to be seen, but the initial signs aren't great.

They were 'outstanding' according to Burley though!

Let's face it, he doesn't have the players to play football, he should stick to what Scotland excel at, smashing players out the road at set pieces, committment, dig, and passion.
DJP
QUOTE (qpsnapper @ Sep 8 2008, 11:41) *

Whilst I don't believe McCulloch is a massive loss, Paul Parry was half decent, what an utter p***k, throwing his toys out his pram over being left on the bench. Hope Wales go on to qualify to the world cup without him.
DJP

QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 8 2008, 12:11) *
If only Celtic players did the same and waved goodbye to international football.

Yes because the Celtic players who have played for Scotland over the last 3 years have stopped Celtic from winning the league 3 times in a row and progressing well in the Champions league rolleyes.gif

glasnost
QUOTE (DJP @ Sep 8 2008, 12:22) *
Yes because the Celtic players who have played for Scotland over the last 3 years have stopped Celtic from winning the league 3 times in a row and progressing well in the Champions league rolleyes.gif

I am not talking about Scotland only.
Toma_BullyWee
QUOTE (glasnost @ Sep 8 2008, 12:23) *
I am not talking about Scotland only.

You are absolutely correct.

It's clear that Celtic are the world force in football. Why these people think it's acceptable to play for their country whilst contracted to Celtic is beyond me.
Michael W
With an attitude like that - good riddance.

I'd quite like McCulloch to come out and explain this, although I can't see it happening. Shitebag.
Butterfield

Totally agree with that.