Full Version: If You Had To Support A Side In This Division Other Than Your Own...
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
SavotheGreat
...which would it be?

Stainrod's Fedora
Ross County - beautiful Highland location, well run, play nice football (relatively) and they wear dark blue.
GSXR750
Sorry, next question?
Toby Fair
Remarkably enough, Dundee.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (GSXR750 @ Sep 7 2008, 12:45) *
Sorry, next question?

Problem?
Juan Sara
Is death a choice?
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Sep 7 2008, 12:50) *
Is death a choice?

Em, no.

Well, suppose with you being a Dundee fan and all, we can make an exception.

GSXR750
Of course I've got a problem, I have absolutely no personal affiliation to any team in the 1st division other than the Pars. I like Saints, not a fan of Livi but that didn't stop me going to watch them in Europe at Almondvale, Dundee games are always good. Nothing against any of the teams I just couldn't possibly support any of them.

The only other team in Scotland I think I would support is Hibs.
Queensthroughandthrough

There is a guy in Dumfries who is a Greenock Morton die-hard, but a season ticket holder for Queens.

He is an accountant or something like that and is well known and called Alibi/
HardingsHamstring
I would support Partick Thistle because they have the best selling away top in the division.
Günther
Used to be Morton. But I'd probably say Queens. Crackin' town with shitloads of boozers. Decent football team and a good traditional stadium. Plus I've got a bunch of mates who support them.
Stoo61
Airdrie
Mr.Blue
queens
Grant228
None...
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
What a stupid question, naff off Savo
sonofjenova
Queen of the South, I reckon. So many ex-Clyde players now I probably wouldn't find it too difficult to make the transition wink.gif
thejailender
Without taking any stupid things into travel etc, I'd probably follw Queen of the South.
The fact they play decent football,
Their support always seem to back their team with passion
The support is up for a good time at away games
And their doesn't seem to be any sectarian issues surrounding the support

I think the only team in the division that can fill all those categories.

Mind you I wouldn't fancy making that trip every second week for a home game !
sainteesean
plastic whistle i guess rip.gif
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Sep 7 2008, 14:32) *
What a stupid question, naff off Savo

crying.gif crying.gif
Fife Saint
I would support Dundee. They will need all the gate money they can get to stave off the looming spectre of financial ruin that hangs over the club.
uberman
Partick Thistle for me, they're everyone's second club aren't they huh.gif
G_Man1985
Queens
The ghost of Jim Morton
It would have to be Ross County.
blairgowriedee
Saints, cause i suffer from claustraphobia dry.gif
RCR
Probably St Johnstone, with queens coming a close 2nd.

What about you, savo?
Dunning1874
As I lived in Dingwall for a few years, it'd be Ross County.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (blairgowriedee @ Sep 7 2008, 17:06) *
Saints, cause i suffer from claustraphobia dry.gif

You are soooooooooooo funny Blair....
MIFTHEBINO
Its a hard one for me. QOS for their stadium, Morton for their fans. Overall I think Morton just edge it (As long as I got to stand lol)
PTFC-DAZZ-FTOF
Partick Thistle reserves
DeeJay35
I think it would have to be St johnstone..... I lurve getting pumped every week! laugh.gif
el bawbag
Either Thistle(mainly because of the Glasgow but not old firm stuff) or Queens(love the stadium/general atmosphere around the place)
coyletonfan
QOTS good stadium, total joke uefa cup game couldnt be played there...you clock the nick of the stadium in skopje yesterday?.....
good fans, special mention to the ones in the mini bus that gave me a lift and a beer frrom the scottish cup game in february. I walked out the norseman at about 6oclock and they were getting chippys from the takeaway downstairs. They were all well oiled, as was I. Some old bloke on the bus rubbed his scarf in my face and I jokingly asked for a run along the road, from cappie to port glasgow.... they told me to hop in, planted a beer in my hand and gave me some abuse for about 5 mins til I got off and gave the half finished can to a jakey at the bus stop. The guys waved etc..

One of them times you are thinking, wathafoook just happened there??!!!!

Was thinking of them guys when I was sitting watching the cup final with my gers supporting bro in law and his mate. Near knocked a hole in the wall when Thomson equalised..!!!!!
Hope you guys enjoyed the cup run and foray into europe. Envious as fleek!!!
and the Thistle......aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwww the baaahhhnter!!!
LIVIFOREVER
When we went into admin and looked like we were going to do a Gretna i had a think about this, couldn't think of going back to supporting Rangers and thought that was the end of supporting any team, possibly i'd have went to see Whitburn Juniors me ex home town but really couldn't support any team other than Livi now.
Real Rae of Sunshine
Morton.

BullyWeeBoy
Dundee dont kno why laugh.gif
GypsyTillIDie
Livingston.
Exuberant
I'd stop going to football or go to watch Cove Rangers.

Failing that, I'd probably get dragged along to a couple of St Johnstone games by my mate.
banjo player
QUOTE (LIVIFOREVER @ Sep 8 2008, 08:16) *
When we went into admin and looked like we were going to do a Gretna i had a think about this, couldn't think of going back to supporting Rangers and thought that was the end of supporting any team, possibly i'd have went to see Whitburn Juniors me ex home town but really couldn't support any team other than Livi now.

I like your way of thinking.

Queens for me, good wee ground, good wee town, good banter.
parsville
None in this league, i'd probaly support Cowdenbeath or Hibs.
Dream Oak Tree
I really like QOS, cracking ground, good support, play good football. Epitomise what football's all about for me.

I used to greatly admire Dundee starting with the days of Gilzean, Ure, Cousin etc. and their great European runs, then later when they were known for their silky football. I still have a bit of a soft spot for them because of this tradition, albiet I'm not a great lover of their current style of play.

Controversially I'd imagine, I quite like Livingston. They always seem to try to play good football yet always seem to be critisised because they're a relatively new club. They're critisised in the same way as Gretna which I think is unfair as they've a good stadium and a decent fan base and I think deserve a fair crack of the whip, so there.

I also think Ross County are a well run club with a good stadium and fan base, which I admire, though I especially admire their youth policy.

The above teams are all too far away for me to support, though hypothetically it would probably be Queens. There are no teams within travelling distance who take my fancy, for various reasons I won't go into.

clyde4ever
QOS are the only other team in the league I would consider supporting.
EdinburghLivi
Hmm... From this league, I'd probably go back to a Saints supporter again. However, I'd more likely become a Jambo if I could pick any team.
port-ton
Normally i'd say the best team in the league to counter Morton being so shit, but this must be the only league in the world where even the top teams are as shit as the ones at the bottom. This league is only competetive because we're all as shit as each other.
jupe1407
Morton probably. I used to go along to Forfar games when they were in the First years ago, and always looked forward to Morton coming up as they were a cracking side to watch under McGraw. I'm sure one season they annihilated Forfar by 4 or 5 twice at Station Park, then somehow lost 1-3 at home, which wrecked one of my first ever football coupons. Nothing much has changed in the many years since mad.gif
QosLoyal
clyde. i am in luv with one of the female stewards up there wub.gif

btw if anyones wondering why i needed to edit this post its because i put that i was in love with one of the stewards up there, which could have implied that i meant
one of the male stewards. That is not the case however
SavotheGreat
What a pish topic. I'm closing this.