Full Version: Next Five League Fixtures..
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Muggy
Ok, a pointless thread, but in theory, how do you think your team will fare in the next five league encounters?

Will Livingston continue to be the surprise team and hold onto their place at the summit of the league table?

Will St. Johnstone earn back some pride with a surge up the table?

Can Airdrie continue their impressive form, or will they fall to the foot of the table, as many led to believe?

What about, Morton. Can they put a few results together, and move away from the danger zone?

As for Dundee, can we get our title aspirations back on track after a lacklustre deafeat away to Q.O.S.?

It is very early, even for the next 5 league encounters to have any real effect on the final standings, but it may go a small way to deciding who will be in the running for what.

Dundee Fc

Next five league encounters:

Dundee v Dunfermline

A game in which I expect us to win, but which will ultimately be a very difficult game against a side who have recorded some very impressive results this season, namely the 3-0 demolition of St. Johnstone in Perth. Dundee have lacked the creative spark this season, but have still managed to show championship form (in the way of results). Colin Cameron looks set to make a much anticipated return for Dundee, with the weight of expectations on his shoulders. Dunfermline have been considerably inconsistent, but they will head to Dens Park, determined of taking all three points.

Prediction: 1-0

Dundee v Livingston

A top of the table clash? It remains to be seen, but this proves to be another difficult home game, against the surprise early season challengers. Personally, I don't think Livingston will last the pace, and a mid-table finish beckons for them, although, many said the same for Hamilton last season. I believe this will be another stuffy encounter, but one in which Dundee will again, scrape all three points.

Prediction 1-0

St. Johnstone v Dundee

Perhaps, the two teams everyone expected to be involved in a two-horse race for the title. St. Johnstone have failed to live upto their early season tag as favourites, not for the first time. But, surely it's too early to right them off? A few thrashings have left St. Johnstone demoralised and severely wounded, but they will be determined to come out on top against the team they failed to beat last season. It proves to be a very difficult game for both sides, but I still believe St. Johnstone will be back in the mix before too long.

Prediction: 1-1

Partick Thistle v Dundee

A very very difficult game awaits Dundee for the trip to Firhill. It's not a happy hunting ground for Dundee, but Thistle's inconsistency has sneaked through already this season, precisely in the 1-0 defeat at home against Ross County, after some great results against, Dunfermline, Dundee and St. Johnstone. Dundee will be looking to end their Firhill blues, by recording a rare victory, however, I can't see it.

Dundee v Ross County

A game where we are expected to win, and one we should if we are to have any aspirations of SPL football next season. Ross County will head to Dens Park knowing they are not expected to leave with any points, and that may just work in their favour. On the other hand, Dundee will see it as an opportunity to put pressure on their closest rivals, who have some tricky games this week. I can't see past a home win for this one.

Prediction 2-0

Outcome

These results should see us back at the top of the table, but there is such a fine margin between success and failure. We could lose any of these games, but the same can be said for any other side. I think the return of some key players will provide us with some renewed urgency and direction.

Hypothetical League Standing:

1st.
jags_mad
u really dont have muh of a life do you
vikingTON
Morton v QOS - Failure
Partick v Morton - Draw, if only to continue our Indian sign
Morton v Dunfermline - Draw
Ross County v Morton - Draw
Morton v Clyde - Home win.

8 points from 10 will likely see us bottom - there or thereabouts I'd imagine.
Muggy
QUOTE (jags_mad @ Sep 6 2008, 18:58) *
u really dont have muh of a life do you

It depends on what you regard as "much of a life".

wink.gif
EdinburghLivi
Partick Thistle (H) Challenge Cup - 1-0 win
Airdrie United (H) - 1-0 win
Dundee (A) - 1-0 defeat
Celtic (A) CIS Cup - 2-0 defeat
Partick Thistle (H) - another 1-0 win.

Basically; semi-finals of the Challenge Cup, 6 points in the league and knocked out of the CIS Cup. It's slightly optomistic but it is still possible. Will 18 points see us top? Most probably not. We'll still be up there though which is the main thing at this stage.

The Naitch
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Sep 6 2008, 18:58) *
Morton v QOS - Failure

Would like to think that we'd be able to sneak a draw against QOS, so long as we play as well as we can. Ross County away may be more difficult to get something from. Otherwise, I agree with everything you've said. tongue.gif
Juninho
I can't see past a home win for this one.

Well I can.
torpedo
since im bored
Super south
morton A 1-2
saints H 2-1
Clyde A 0-1
Livi H 0-1
Airdrie A 1-1
7/10 should see us in 2nd possy tongue.gif livi just 1 point in front of us.
Saints continuing to struggle until a new manager comes along at the turn of the year and transforms them,where by they race up the table to claim 3rd at the seasons end laugh.gif
Livi drop away and finish well of the pace in 6th partick and dundee scrap it out for 2nd and dundee are just pipped for third on the last day of the season by the resurgent saints.
Meanwhile Morton are so far behind Clyde that they are certain of Div 2 football by the end of January biggrin.gif
Queens meanwhile are in need of temp stands for their first jaunt into the spl tongue.gif

have i gone to far? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
David W
I reckon it's ridiculous to predict anything with regards to this league.
Skyline Drifter
Our next five league games are:

Morton (Away)
St Johnstone (Home)
Clyde (Away)
Livingston (Home)
Airdrie United (Away)

For all three are away that's potentially an easier run of fixtures than we've actually had to date. Hard to say but four of the five are in the bottom half. St Johnstone are bound to get things right sooner or later and Livi might well be more dangerous than I gave them credit for pre-season but we haven't lost a home match in 2008 so there's every reason to believe we can get at least 4 points from those two. I'd be reasonably happy with 4 - 6 points from the three away games however it may come.

If we can get 8 - 10 points from the five games we'll be well in touch and I'll be happy enough. Any better would be great, any worse disappointing.
Muggy
QUOTE (Juninho @ Sep 6 2008, 21:53) *
Well I can.

Touchy, touchy... huh.gif
clyde til we die
Defeats, lots of them sad.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (clyde til we die @ Sep 8 2008, 16:03) *
Defeats, lots of them sad.gif

Starting on Saturday. I'll be disappointed if McCall doesn't maintain his 100% record at Broadwood.
The ghost of Jim Morton
Go on then......

Ross County(A)... 3-1 Saints smile.gif
QoS (A) .............3-2 Saints. wink.gif
Dundee (H) .........2-1 Saints tongue.gif
Airdrie(H).............3-0 Saints smile.gif
Livingston(A)........3-1 Saints. wink.gif

That should leave us 2nd or 3rd and only a couple of points off the top.....

15 points...Crisis ???????? what fucking crisis. smile.gif
Muggy
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Sep 8 2008, 16:13) *
Go on then......

That's a very difficult set of fixtures. I predict St. Johnstone to go bottom after the Q.O.S. game, meaning it wil be a top v bottom clash the following week. St Johnstone v Dundee. tongue.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Muggy @ Sep 8 2008, 16:28) *
That's a very difficult set of fixtures. I predict St. Johnstone to go bottom after the Q.O.S. game, meaning it wil be a top v bottom clash the following week. St Johnstone v Dundee. tongue.gif

Mibbes aye.....................Mibbes naw.....
Web
Go on then......

You won't beat us, bookmark now for future banter reference.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Web @ Sep 8 2008, 16:44) *

Oh yes we will tongue.gif
Glesga Frm
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Sep 6 2008, 20:51) *
Partick Thistle (H) Challenge Cup - 1-0 win
Airdrie United (H) - 1-0 win
Dundee (A) - 1-0 defeat
Celtic (A) CIS Cup - 2-0 defeat
Partick Thistle (H) - another 1-0 win.

Basically; semi-finals of the Challenge Cup, 6 points in the league and knocked out of the CIS Cup. It's slightly optomistic but it is still possible. Will 18 points see us top? Most probably not. We'll still be up there though which is the main thing at this stage.

Good start to your predictions i see....
Juan Sara
We'll be lucky to get 9 points.
PTFC27
Go on then......

Swap the numbers about in the score perictions and you could be right.
GSXR750
Re the first post: Livi and Partick will beat Dundee no bother and I reckon Dunfermline will have the edge too and get all three points. Saints will probably choose this game to get their act together and I fancy Ross county for a draw. I think Dundee have scraped their points already this season and now they are going to get a bit of a doing over the next 5 games.

My prediction for Dundee in the next 5 games: 2-4 points and 5th-7th place.
GSXR750
Dundee v Dunfermline 1-2 Pars
Dunfermline v Ross County 2-2
Morton v Dunfermline 1-1
Clyde v Dunfermline 0-3 Pars
Dunfermline v Partick 0-2 Partick

8 points and 4th place.
Muggy
QUOTE (GSXR750 @ Sep 8 2008, 20:00) *
Re the first post: Livi and Partick will beat Dundee no bother and I reckon Dunfermline will have the edge too and get all three points. Saints will probably choose this game to get their act together and I fancy Ross county for a draw. I think Dundee have scraped their points already this season and now they are going to get a bit of a doing over the next 5 games.

My prediction for Dundee in the next 5 games: 2-4 points and 5th-7th place.

Calm down, man.

...and get off those drugs. cool.gif
HardingsHamstring
If Dundee are top and Saints are bottom when they meet, I predict that Saints will win about
27-0.
Muggy
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Sep 8 2008, 21:25) *
If Dundee are top and Saints are bottom when they meet, I predict that Saints will win about
27-0.

Probably. If it is a top v bottom scenario, it would be very surreal, but the banter would be unmissable.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Muggy @ Sep 8 2008, 16:28) *

I predict your talking pish smartass.gif . Only 5 points off the top after starting our season like a bunch of strangers biggrin.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
Go on then......

One down four more to go laugh.gif
vikingTON
Morton v QOS - Failure

Ooh who'd have thought it? A point will surely see us to 9 points from 10 now.
EdinburghLivi
I should have never participated in this thread...
Kirky_Clyde
Ah what the heck.

Airdrie Utd v Clyde

Despite Airdrie's good start, we always seem to be better on the road and have a decent record at New Broomfield. Airdrie are on a brilliant run, but it will have to end at some point. I'll push the boat out and go for an away win.

Prediction: 1-2

Clyde v Queen of the South

With the return of McLaren possible(even if he only makes the bench). He really gives us a different dimension on the left and has the ability to cause oppostion right backs big problems. Queens are also a good side who have strengthened well over the summer(despite signing Arbuckle) and will probably start favourites. I'll go for 4 home draws out of 4.

Clyde v Dunfermline

In Kirk and Bayne, Dunfermline have 1 of the best strike pairings in the league on paper. Not seen them play together but I assume they play good. Can't see much from this game tbh

Prediction: 0-2

Morton v Clyde

Morton have had a poor start. If they can rekindle their cup form to the league then they will survive no bother. Having already saw them against us in the season opener, they looked far better than bottom of the league material. But with their jaunt to Dingwall in the Challenge Cup semi the Sunday before and extra time possible. I reckon they'll be pretty tired and can see us picking up 3 vital points.

Prediction: 1-2

Clyde v Livingston

This one really all depends on whether Livi can keep of their good start of season form. With 2 home defeats in their last 2 home encounters, its a wonder if they'll bounce back. I see Griffiths is injured and knowing our luck he'll probably return to 100% fitness in this game. However if our defence play to the top of their game I know we can shut them down and maybe grab a goal on the break.

Prediction: 1-0

So that would leave us on 16 points from 11 games, which is probably around mid-table.

Radford
I was worried that we'd find just three points a struggle from the next five games (County, Queens, Dundee, Airdrie, Livi) before yesterday but we've already managed that and whilst it will no doubt irk the Diamonds faithful, I'd hope we can beat them at home. After yesterday, I'd also hope we can raise our game when Dundee coming calling and take a point and we've done ok against Livi this season. Without Griffiths, I'd say we have a chance of winning there, although their defence is very good. We'll get nothing at Palmerston. So in short, and including yesterday's three points, I can see us getting eight or ten from the fifteen available. That would leave us on twelve or fourteen in total which clearly isn't going to be very far up the table and probably eighth at best.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Sep 8 2008, 16:08) *
Starting on Saturday. I'll be disappointed if McCall doesn't maintain his 100% record at Broadwood.

biggrin.gif

With regards to the original post. I wouldn't care to mention. This is the only league that regularly blows my coupon out of the water. In fact, I don't think I will ever bet on a 1st Division game again.
Muggy
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Sep 13 2008, 21:33) *
I predict your talking pish smartass.gif . Only 5 points off the top after starting our season like a bunch of strangers biggrin.gif

Still closer to the bottom. wink.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Sep 14 2008, 12:11) *
biggrin.gif

Did I make some kind of remark during the week regarding a Livi slide now that Griffiths is out injured?

biggrin.gif
Web
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Sep 13 2008, 21:33) *

We will pump you lot.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Web @ Sep 14 2008, 17:05) *
We will pump you lot.

You may well do .Then again your hardly loking like your gonna pump anyone right now.Time will tell but I think I,m more confident than you are. tongue.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Muggy :) @ Sep 14 2008, 16:59) *
Still closer to the bottom. ;)

You are correct.Well done. Carry on now. whistling.gif
Muggy
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Sep 14 2008, 17:35) *
You are correct.Well done. Carry on now. wink.gif

We'll see in Perth in a few weeks! biggrin.gif

I recall a few people saying St. Johnstone can't deal with crosses into the box.

Well, if that's the case, playing against Dundee will be your worst nightmare. I predict Eric Paton to be MOM and his assist tally to increase exponentially.
Web
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Sep 14 2008, 17:34) *
You may well do .Then again your hardly loking like your gonna pump anyone right now.Time will tell but I think I,m more confident than you are. tongue.gif

Perhaps but we really are due you lot a pumping, this is going to be it I feel. 14-0 dees laugh.gif
Muggy
QUOTE (Web @ Sep 14 2008, 17:40) *
Perhaps but we really are due you lot a pumping, this is going to be it I feel. 14-0 dees laugh.gif

laugh.gif If we get a few early goals, then that prediction is not outwith the realms of possibility. I'm very confident just now. biggrin.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Web @ Sep 14 2008, 17:40) *

Thats a ridiculous prediction it,s as ridiculous as me saying we,ll pump your team ..say..mmm....

7-2 for instance.Which is just plain stu........wait a minute...Forget it. tongue.gif
Web
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Sep 14 2008, 18:00) *
Thats a ridiculous prediction it,s as ridiculous as me saying we,ll pump your team ..say..mmm....

7-2 for instance.Which is just plain stu........wait a minute...Forget it. tongue.gif

Like I say, we owe you.
AyrshireTon
Hadn't seen this thread.

Partick v Morton
Hard to see a win. Might, might just scrape a draw, but only if we don't concede first.

Morton v ICT
Home win - these cups are easy unsure.gif .

Morton v Dunfermline
Crap defeat.

Ross County v Morton
Draw.

Ross County v Morton
Another cup win and at last another final appearance.

Two points max.
The ghost of Jim Morton
Go on then......

7 out of 9 so far...I,m fucking delighted
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Web @ Sep 14 2008, 17:05) *
We will pump you lot.

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm tongue.gif
vikingTON
Morton v QOS - Failure

I'm basically brilliant at this. Swap Queens for Partick for wonder...
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Sep 8 2008, 18:53) *
We'll be lucky to get 9 points.

Your right laugh.gif . 2 points from your last 15. OUCH!!!!!
The ghost of Jim Morton
Go on then......

Thats now 10 out of 12 biggrin.gif .................only 4 points of the top now. wink.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Web @ Sep 8 2008, 16:44) *

I nearly forgot about this. laugh.gif

tongue.gif Is it time for future banter yet Webby..... biggrin.gif