Full Version: Scotland V Iceland
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
buddies1877
----------------------Gordon----------------
broadfoot---caldwell----mcmanus--- naysmith
-------commons----brown---robson-------
maloney--------------------------mcfadden
-------------------boyd--------------------

after watching the macedonia game i think burley should be making some changes and going for the 3 points.

if that wee hobit hartley is playing defensive midfielder again i will be raging he is the worst player in that position i think i have ever seen.
DJP
I'd start Commons, Boyd and Maloney (not usually a Maloney fan)

Naysmith who I am not normally fan of either at least came out today's match with some credibilty. Another goal from him v Iceland away would go down nice.

DJP
QUOTE (buddies1877 @ Sep 6 2008, 16:11) *
Gordon
broadfoot caldwell mcmanus naismith
commons brown robson
maloney mcfadden
boyd

Thought he was injured and he is no left back, Up front or on the wing maybe laugh.gif

MTJ
---------------------Gordon------------------

Broadfoot----McManus----Caldwell----Naysmith

Maloney----Hartley----Robson----Commons

-----------Boyd-------McFadden---------
DJP
QUOTE (MTJ @ Sep 6 2008, 16:16) *
---------------------Gordon------------------

Broadfoot----McManus----Caldwell---Naysmith

Maloney----Hartley----Robson----Commons

-----------Boyd-------McFadden---------

I'd go with that
zander
Is it too late to call up a player ?

If not bring in Mulgrew.
GeeJay
Fletcher has to be dropped - it will send out the wrong message if he retains his place after such an awful performance - and we have to go with two up top.
DJP
QUOTE (zander @ Sep 6 2008, 16:18) *
Is it too late to call up a player ?

If not bring in Mulgrew.

Out of a favour at Wolves for over a year. Handful of games out Southend last season. Nearly joined Swindon a week before joining Aberdeen due to wages offered.

I like the guy, but let him get a full season under his belt at Aberdeen before of any talk of a call up for Charlie.

RedWeb
Hutton is our No 1 right back but in his absence we must play Broadfoot. Graham Alexander is utterly atrocious and if Broadfoot is good enough for Old Firm games and UEFA Cup finals he should be ahead of a veteran dud like Alexander.
IXI THE ONE IXI
Dear God it has finally happened, people are clambering for Broadfoot in a Scotland shirt.

Last person out turn the lights off.
HOMBRE
Sums up the state of Scottish football when people are wanting Broadfoot included!!! Shocking stuff!!
RedWeb
QUOTE (HOMBRE @ Sep 6 2008, 16:24) *
Sums up the state of Scottish football when people are wanting Broadfoot included!!!

If you think he's worse than Alexander then I'd suggest you need to stop drinking floor polish.
RedWeb
QUOTE (buddies1877 @ Sep 6 2008, 16:11) *
if that wee hobit hartley is playing defensive midfielder again i will be raging he is the worst player in that position i think i have ever seen.

Can't disagree with that. Hartley is a failed winger who had half a dozen good games in central midfield for Hearts and suddenly he was the white Dunga. He's shit and has to be the most overrated player in the SPL. I wouldn't have him within a million miles of a Scotland squad...garbage.
buddies1877
QUOTE (HOMBRE @ Sep 6 2008, 16:24) *
Sums up the state of Scottish football when people are wanting Broadfoot included!!! Shocking stuff!!

its only because hutton is out injured and are you trying to say that alexander is a better player than broadfoot.

is mark wilson fit why is he not in the squad.
Kenny_Jnr
Burley has a big decision to make, either play with flare on the wings, with players like Maloney or McFadden or don't play 4-4-2. Robson and Brown are both best in the middle of the park and Alexander is too old to get up and down the park, Naysmith has been a great servant to Scotland but only because we haven't had a decent left back in the last ten years. Without Hutton we have no natural width up the sides.

Against Iceland I'd go for:

------------------Gordon

Broadfoot----McManus-Caldwell----Naysmith

----------Brown---Fletcher--Robson

---McFadden--------------------Maloney

-------------------Boyd

A much stonger central midfield, with three instead of two and Robson and Brown playing in the centre where they are best. McFadden and Maloney can cut in too support Boyd and also offer us some flare in wide areas, Boyd upfront, a proven goalscorer with Rangers, Kilmarnock and Scotland who has had 6 goals in six starts for the national side. I know many good managers don't like to play Boyd in the big games but given the right support he will get goals and he is best against the diddy wee teams like Iceland.
Enigma
What channel will this be on?
H Wragg
QUOTE (Enigma @ Sep 6 2008, 23:02) *
What channel will this be on?

All the away qualifiers are on Setanta. I'm not sure if it's the same with the home games.
zander
Looking for good odds on a 2-1 win for the Iceland.
Supras
What about Broadfoot in central defence and Caldwell at right back?
Kenny_Jnr
QUOTE (H Wragg @ Sep 6 2008, 23:10) *
All the away qualifiers are on Setanta. I'm not sure if it's the same with the home games.

I'm pretty sure sky have exclusive live rights to all the home games with the BBC having the rights to the highlights. Setanta i think have exclusive rights to the away games and highlights.
Andyboy
We desperately need a bit of physical presence in the team and that is one of two reasons i'd include Kris Boyd from the start. He's got a brilliant record in the games he has started for Scotland also, and I feel he should be given a proper chance to show his stuff.

Iceland are no great shakes, (didn't Liechenstein beat them recently?) and I think we need to really attack them from the start. I'd go for:

Gordon

Alexander --- McManus --- Caldwell --- Naysmith

Maloney --- Robson --- Fletcher --- Commons

McFadden --- Boyd
Enigma
QUOTE (Kenny_Jnr @ Sep 6 2008, 23:24) *
I'm pretty sure sky have exclusive live rights to all the home games with the BBC having the rights to the highlights. Setanta i think have exclusive rights to the away games and highlights.

Great rolleyes.gif . Bastard Rupert Murdoch!

Anybody recomend a free steaming website!?
dogma
QUOTE (Andyboy @ Sep 6 2008, 23:37) *
We desperately need a bit of physical presence in the team and that is one of two reasons i'd include Kris Boyd from the start. He's got a brilliant record in the games he has started for Scotland also, and I feel he should be given a proper chance to show his stuff.

Iceland are no great shakes, (didn't Liechenstein beat them recently?) and I think we need to really attack them from the start. I'd go for:

Gordon

Alexander --- McManus --- Caldwell --- Naysmith

Maloney --- Robson --- Fletcher --- Commons

McFadden --- Boyd

Pretty much agree. we certainly cant afford to be shy on this game and their drawing with Norway is more a reflecton on how pish Norway are right now than Icelands talent. the Welsh reserves have recently beaten both of them so we should be going for the jugular here ( that said odds on us playing 4-5-1 on wed when we should have done it today ???? )
IXI THE ONE IXI
How I'd line up the team:

Click to view attachment

The team needs width, and more attacking prowess against Macedonia that team would almost certainly have scored.
still_game
so the concensus is that we still play that useless git Fletcher in the middle, when its well known hes better on the right?? ive picked him for the right, but if he shows the same commitment on wednesday again, id drag him off for Commons, and ive picked Broadfoot over Alexander, lesser of two evils

------------------Gordon----------------
broadfoot---caldwell----mcmanus--- naysmith
------------brown---robson-------
fletcher--------------------------maloney
------------mcfadden-------boyd---------------
IXI THE ONE IXI
I'd rather see Fletcher making late, deep runs from centre midfield like he is doing at Man Utd. Dedicated wide men like Commons, and letting Maloney use his tricks out wide to whip crosses in for Boyd/McFadden would be beneficial to the team.

I'd rather Brown wins the ball (fairly for once) and gives it to players who can play, and tries to get forward when possible, but being disciplined to remember his whole game is to break up attacks and get other players on the ball. Fletcher isn't as good as Ferguson as getting his foot on the ball, and calming play down, but he will have to do right now.

McFadden and Boyd up front would work better than Miller/McFadden, if it came to it I'd have McFadden wide left, and Miller/Boyd up front. Scotland need to come out and take the game to Iceland though.
Jim Pansy
I like the 4-5-1/4-3-3 formation.

Play McFadden and Commons or Maloney either side of Boyd. Gives us a stronger base in midfield, with Brown, Fletcher and Hartley sitting. I'd rather have anyone other than Broadfoot play right back.

Something along the lines of;
Gordon
Alexander McManus Caldwell (yikes!) Naysmith
Maloney Fletcher Hartley Brown McFadden
Boyd
twisteH
----------------Gordon
Broadfoot----- McManus----- Caldwell ------Naysmith

Maloney------- Fletcher---------- Brown----- McFadden

---------------Boyd-------Miller------------

I never thought I would have Broadfoot in a Scotland team, but in the absence of Hutton, he is our best option. Alexander is too slow, old and pish. Hartley has to come out the team, he didn't look interested against Macedonia and we need to go more attacking or it'll just be the same story, so Maloney and McFadden running up wings, crossing to Boyd and Miller. Straight 4-4-2, if we can't beat this pish we might as well just forfeit from the qualifiers.
Michael W
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Sep 7 2008, 14:51) *

Play McFadden and Commons or Maloney either side of Boyd. Gives us a stronger base in midfield, with Brown, Fletcher and Hartley sitting. I'd rather have anyone other than Broadfoot play right back.

Gordon
Boyd

I agree with this. Maloney and McFadden could get forward and support Boyd at any opportunity.
dogma

Gordon
Boyd

Tend to agree with that but suspect it wont happen sadly
TheScarf
QUOTE (H Wragg @ Sep 6 2008, 23:10) *

Home games - Sky Sports
Away game - Setanta Sports

You have to pay extra to watch shite these days..........
Shengus Khan
It's time to unleash the Clubfoot cool.gif
1320Lichtie
Like most people id go for

Gordon ( Quality Keeper)

Alexander
Mcmanus
Caldwell ( Very good player who gets stik for fuk all)
Naysmith

Brown
Fletcher
Robson

Maloney
Mcfadden

Boyd
H_B
QUOTE (Shengus Khan @ Sep 8 2008, 11:56) *
It's time to unleash the Clubfoot cool.gif

Incredibly enough, I think you are right laugh.gif
craigkillie
I don't see McFadden or Maloney as wide players for Scotland, except in games against complete diddies like the Faroe Islands. I don't think Iceland fall in to that category.

Maloney doesn't get involved in the game enough out wide, and doesn't track back and protect his full-back when we don't have the ball. I'd leave him on the bench because I think he always has a better impact as a sub for Scotland.

McFadden needs to be in the middle and has to be given license to drift in order to influence the game. I'd partner him with Boyd in attack, and try to create as many chances as possible for Boyd.

I would consider starting Commons wide-left, even though I'm not convinced he's actually very good. He's the only natural left winger in the squad, and hopefully he could provide lots of crosses for Boyd. I have doubts over his work rate though.

Brown and Hartley should probably start in the middle of midfield. Even though Hartley has been dreadful recently, I still think he's the best option available. What we need is a big imposing ball winner in the middle of the park, but we don't really have anyone like that at the moment.

I would play Fletcher wide-right in the same role he's played for Man United so far this season and tell him to make the same sort of late runs in to the box, because I think he can get goals.

I would stick with the same back four, but I would tell McManus to think a bit more and not dive in to rash tackles. His performance on Saturday was poor, and more worringly I didn't see him inspiring others as the captain should.
False Light
We have to go 451. Our midfielders aren't good enough to dominate a game when there's only 4 of them. I'd drop Fletcher for this game because his last three performances for us have been pish and I think he needs dropped to show him that he can't turn up and expect to be picked no matter how he plays. Commons looked decent when he came on and I considered dropping McFadden for him but I don't think he showed enough to get in the first team. My team would be:

--------------Gordon

Alexander Caldwell McManus Naysmith

----------Brown Hartley Robson
Maloney---------------------------McFadden

-----------------Miller

Toma_BullyWee
I don't know if i actually believe this would work, or if i just want to see it just incase.

But i'd move McFadden over to the right wing, and stick Boyd and Miller up front together. It could either work out brilliantly, or it could be the most hilarious display of attacking football ever seen.

I'm going to stick my neck out here and say we'll win 2-0. Blind optimism on my part - I've not seen Iceland play.

But it's just a wee feeling i have.
DJP
I take it Gudjohnson will be playing or is he injured? Iceland definatly no mugs

Virtual Insanity

Gordon
Boyd

That's probably the team I would go for too, possibly Broadfoot in for Alexander, though since I've seen very little of Broadfoot this is based more on Alexander's general uselessness than anything Broadfoot has done. I think that formation best utilises the limited ability we have in the squad, though I have no doubt it is not the way we will line up in Iceland.
H_B
I think we are fast realising that Scott Brown is shite. Although it won't happen, I would drop him.
1320Lichtie
Lots of negativity and no wonder but as it is one of my days of college today i have been bathing in the Arbroath sunshine listening to my ipod , lying there i decided to turn on my Scottish songs Well be coming and Caledonia got me right in the mood for wednesdays night again so as from now everyone should stop the negativity and be positive biggrin.gif

CMON SCOTLAND , ALBA GU BRATH !!!
Jim Pansy
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Sep 8 2008, 12:00) *
Like most people id go for

Gordon ( Quality Keeper)

Caldwell ( Very good player who gets stik for fuk all)

You aren't really going out on a limb with Gordon, but jeezo, Caldwell is absolutely brutal.
TheScarf
QUOTE (craigkillie @ Sep 8 2008, 12:26) *
Brown and Hartley should probably start in the middle of midfield. Even though Hartley has been dreadful recently, I still think he's the best option available. What we need is a big imposing ball winner in the middle of the park, but we don't really have anyone like that at the moment.

There's currently about 37 professional full-time Scottish central midfielders who are better than Paul Hartley, however none of them play for either Rangers or Celtic therefore don't get picked to play for Scotland.
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Sep 8 2008, 14:29) *
You aren't really going out on a limb with Gordon, but jeezo, Caldwell is absolutely brutal.

Nah Caldwell is a good passer of the ball and a good footballer , he looks to make moves from the back which is good , although sometime he does muck up he is more inventive than some of our midfielders , also defensively very good at marking , strong and good pace , and some of his tackles (see saturday and croatia game) are brilliant , not the finished player but cut out the errors and hes a top class center half IMO.
HibeeJibee
On the presumption that Alexander + Miller are injured (although I wouldn't start them anyway):

GORDON
CALDWELL McMANUS BERRA
MORRISON BROWN HARTLEY ROBSON NAYSMITH
McFADDEN BOYD/MALONEY

Subs: McGregor; Barr; D.Fletcher, Commons, Stewart; Boyd/Maloney, S.Fletcher

Unusued: Langfield, Clarkson
Left in Skopje: Broadfoot
Jim Pansy
QUOTE (HibeeJibee @ Sep 8 2008, 14:38) *
On the presumption that Alexander + Miller are injured (although I wouldn't start them anyway):

GORDON
CALDWELL McMANUS BERRA
McFADDEN BOYD/MALONEY

I personally guarantee you that isn't the team.
HibeeJibee
QUOTE (DJP @ Sep 8 2008, 12:37) *
I take it Gudjohnson will be playing or is he injured? Iceland definatly no mugs

The current Iceland squad includes players at clubs like Portsmouth, Coventry and Bolton (ENG); Lyn, Brann Bergen and Stabaek (NOR); Goteborg and Helsingborg (SWE); Brondby and Esbjerg (DEN); Reggina (ITA); and Barcelona (ESP). They are a decent side with many technically gifted players (something we seem to lack, again...) - and drawing 2-2 in Norway, then hitting the bar with 2 minutes left, shows they are no walkovers. We struggled past them in 2004, remember...

The change in environment, from the searing heat of Skokje to the much cooler autumn wind of Reykjavik, could also impair the team. One hopes we don't fly straight in the evening beforehand.
HibeeJibee
QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Sep 8 2008, 14:40) *
I personally guarantee you that isn't the team.

Of course it won't be the team - but that doesn't necessarily mean that it shouldn't be the team.
TheScarf

GORDON
CALDWELL McMANUS BERRA
McFADDEN BOYD/MALONEY

Not a bad selection there.
Dunning1874

GORDON
CALDWELL McMANUS BERRA
McFADDEN BOYD/MALONEY

f**k that for a game of soldiers.

Is Morrison not injured?