Full Version: F*** Scotland
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Cliche Guevara
A comment on another thread got me to thinking about a debate we had on the AUFC site a while back.

Who do you support first - Scotland or your club?

I say my club!
Mel Hutchwright
Club. Absolutely no question.
SimonLichtie
CLub everytime.

At club level im one of a few hundred, and I make a difference.

As a country, I obviously support Scotland but my support is insignificant compared to club level.

smile.gif
Shibuya
Club all the way.

However I have just joined the SSC so that might change so I can harvest some travelling points!
rw89
Club without a doubt. Don't even feel like i support the national team as i never go to the games.
Stainrod's Fedora
An old discussion is whether you'd prefer your club to win the European Cup or Scotland to win the World Cup. Tough call, but I'd have to go with my club. They are more a part of my life than the Scottish national team ever will be.
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (SimonLichtie @ Sep 5 2008, 20:37) *
CLub everytime.

At club level im one of a few hundred, and I make a difference.

As a country, I obviously support Scotland but my support is insignificant compared to club level.

smile.gif

Ditto! super Lichties all the way. But i would like Scotland to do well but if i had to choose, well you know cool.gif
Michael W
If I could only choose one, I'd go for club. I do enjoy international football, but It's too infrequent. Nothing could replace going to Starks, away grounds or even sitting with my feet up watching Soccer Saturday.
Cliche Guevara
That's maybe a slightly different take, it's probably more to do with who's results you prioritise. I'd certainly choose attending forty games a season over a few.
tizme
QUOTE (Michael W @ Sep 5 2008, 20:48) *
If I could only choose one, I'd go for club. I do enjoy international football, but It's too infrequent. Nothing could replace going to Starks, away grounds or even sitting with my feet up watching Soccer Saturday.

Club first, but allways Scotland
Cliche Guevara
hmm... I'm not sure if that's an answer
rw89
Watch out Folks...Haitch will be down in a minute blaming us for being the reason why Scotland are shit.
Convenor
Why do we have to choose? I wasn't aware they were in conflict with each other, they play on different days for a start

I support them both with equal passion. Only lack of funds stops me from going to more Scotland away games
St. Starko
1st Club
2nd Country

Your club is far more personal as there are less people on the same side and it's more frequent. Whereas you get huns supporting Scotland and if you went to away games some of the places would be worse than going to central fucking park (with respect to cooden fans tongue.gif ).
Michael W
QUOTE (rw89 @ Sep 5 2008, 20:54) *
Watch out Folks...Haitch will be down in a minute blaming us for being the reason why Scotland are shit.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I think Bluenose5 said something similar today as well.

Edit: No, he said we'd be better if we "believed in ourselves"
Paco
QUOTE (Convenor @ Sep 5 2008, 20:58) *
I support them both with equal passion.

Agree with that, I really can't pick between the two. Obviously I spend more time following Raith, but that doesn't mean I care more about them than Scotland. I've never felt as happy in football as I did when we were leading France 1-0 at Hampden, it was an incredible feeling I've never experienced with my club. And I've never felt as down about football as I did after our defeat to Italy. That said, I wouldn't be going to the Rovers 25 times a season if I didn't love it!

I'm a member of the Scotland Supporters Club and the Raith Rovers Supporters Club - and I really couldn't choose!
callum-ayr
Half and Half
Cliche Guevara
Why do we have to choose?

Eeehhhhh... I'm a bit pished now so I can't really remember.

It kind of f***s the topic up if you don't, though, I suppose.

Having said that, as a Queens Park fan I suppose you have a vested interest in the national team doing well. I sense Watty!
Andyboy
I really can't decide. The opinion changes all the time for me, mostly depending on which one of the two are playing on the next Saturday.
loyal-blue
Has to be club for me! wink.gif
I would much rather watch the Blues than Scotland, although I still enjoy watching Scotland games!
Shibuya
QUOTE (Paco @ Sep 5 2008, 21:02) *
Agree with that, I really can't pick between the two. Obviously I spend more time following Raith, but that doesn't mean I care more about them than Scotland. I've never felt as happy in football as I did when we were leading France 1-0 at Hampden, it was an incredible feeling I've never experienced with my club. And I've never felt as down about football as I did after our defeat to Italy. That said, I wouldn't be going to the Rovers 25 times a season if I didn't love it!

I'm a member of the Scotland Supporters Club and the Raith Rovers Supporters Club - and I really couldn't choose!

Too true, certainly theee most gutted i've ever been after watching a football game. I don't think any Ayr game has come close, and I say that as a club comes first guy.
Cliche Guevara
Interesting point!

Does it relate to the question? I'm not sure.

Perhaps the higher stakes, and infrequency of the games, contribute to a greater intensity of emotion in such a situation.
Shibuya
You're hammered aren't you?
Cliche Guevara
biggrin.gif

No - I thought it was a pertinent point!
Ayrgirl
Club.

Gutted that there is no game this weekend because of Scotland game.
Cliche Guevara
If Scotland and Ayr were playing, at the same time, I'd go and watch Ayr.
Severus Snape
Club.

I feel no real loyalty to the NT despite them being managed by my grandpa's cousin. Like to see them do well though.
Swampy
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Sep 5 2008, 19:46) *
An old discussion is whether you'd prefer your club to win the European Cup or Scotland to win the World Cup. Tough call, but I'd have to go with my club. They are more a part of my life than the Scottish national team ever will be.

That's exactly it. Maybe it's just because my club is a week-to-week thing but I feel far more of an affinity with them than I do the national team. That's not to say that I don't support Scotland - I do - but Morton, and even Getafe, are above them in the pecking order.
Mel Hutchwright
QUOTE (Ayrgirl @ Sep 5 2008, 22:09) *
Gutted that there is no game this weekend because of Scotland game.

Feel much the same.

QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Sep 5 2008, 22:14) *
If Scotland and Ayr were playing, at the same time, I'd go and watch Ayr.

Last season our game up in Elgin was, I think, the only fixture that went ahead on the Saturday of one of the Scotland internationals, and it never entered my mind not to head up Moray way.

I used to go relatively regularly to the Scotland games, but my interest has waned somewhat over the years and I struggle to muster too much enthusiasm for the National side now.
Blazes Boylan
QUOTE (Severus Snape @ Sep 5 2008, 22:16) *
Club.

I feel no real loyalty to the NT despite them being managed by my grandpa's cousin. Like to see them do well though.

Connected. Your rumour credibility points are enhanced.

Club for me. One reason: Stevie Crawford. A Scotland cap!?
Zanetti
I'd rather see Queen's win the 2nd division than Scotland win the World Cup.
pantene proV
What a stupid question!
Gordon EF
If it was a choice between East Fife winning the Scottish Cup and Scotland winning the World Cup, I'd take the World Cup.
*PeTeH-FiFeR*
f**k scotland ??? nah f**k you!!
Country all the way!!!!
Convenor
QUOTE (Valentinik1+8 @ Sep 6 2008, 00:53) *
I'd rather see Queen's win the 2nd division than Scotland win the World Cup.

Let's be honest, neither is going to happen in the future, is it?.

The best feeling I've ever had after a football match was when we won the championship at Cowdenbeath in 2000.
No Scotland victory has ever surpassed that.

To counter this, the lowest I've ever felt after any match was standing in the Scotland end at Wembley in 96 with 73,000 English fans gloating in our faces...and I say this after witnessing a QP relegation, followed by a bottom finish in the 3rd division
Cliche Guevara
What a stupid question!

Absolutely!

34 insightful and personal posts on the subject.

And then yours...
pantene proV
Anyone who prefers their country to win a match, rather than their team is a liar

Either that or they're not comparing like with like!

*Oh-I'd rather see Scotland win the World Cup than see us win 2-1 at Brechin*

f**k OFF!

(The soup's great at Brechin...)
Cliche Guevara
That's better

36!
Convenor
QUOTE (Andyboy @ Sep 5 2008, 21:10) *
I really can't decide. The opinion changes all the time for me, mostly depending on which one of the two are playing on the next Saturday.

When Queen's were having a shite season I always looked forward to the Scotland games as a wee break from it.
Then whenever Scotland got humped, I couldnae wait to get back to the real fitba on a Saturday to take my mind of that!
Cliche Guevara
You're skirting around the tension though!

I'm not suggesting it's mutually exclusive, but the point comes from a previous debate where people said they supported the national team first and their club side second.

You have to be drawn to make a meaningful contribution.

Unless it's drawn, of course.

Don't get hung up on the realistic prospects, though. If QP lost the Scottish Cup on penalties in the same week Scotland got knocked out of the World Cup qualifiers to a last minute goal - which do you think would hurt you more?
Cliche Guevara
If it was a choice between East Fife winning the Scottish Cup and Scotland winning the World Cup, I'd take the World Cup.

That's a First Division debate - we're maybe a bit more sophisticated than that...
bsd
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Sep 6 2008, 01:03) *

Me too.

However substitute Alloa for East Fife and we're talking a different game. I'm sure most success starved wee team fans would think the same. Scottish cup win for Alloa or World cup win for Scotland? No contest in my opinion.
Convenor
QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Sep 6 2008, 01:39) *
You're skirting around the tension though!

I'm not suggesting it's mutually exclusive, but the point comes from a previous debate where people said they supported the national team first and their club side second.

You have to be drawn to make a meaningful contribution.

Unless it's drawn, of course.

Don't get hung up on the realistic prospects, though. If QP lost the Scottish Cup on penalties in the same week Scotland got knocked out of the World Cup qualifiers to a last minute goal - which do you think would hurt you more?

OK I'm drawn - definitely QP. What a c*nt of a week that would be though! I'd probably end up throwing myself in front of a train laugh.gif
Cliche Guevara
Dumbass! Queens Park would have won the Scottish Cup!

(actually that's not what I proposed in the question, but I'll give you the choice of one winning to make it more palatable, as that's what I meant. I fell into the Scottish football fan trap of the lesser Hampden of two evils)
Cliche Guevara
Plus, if you are contemplating throwing yourself in front of a train at Mount Florida, do it after the Scotland game as you'll get nowhere near the track!
the_russian
Club, no contest.
keyser_soze
QUOTE (Convenor @ Sep 5 2008, 20:58) *
I support them both with equal passion. Only lack of funds stops me from going to more Scotland away games

Totally agree with that, also given the fact that I probably go to as many Scotland as Raith games these days. You can't beat the smaller teams for banter and an all round good laugh, even though the football may not be the highest quality,.......... however NOTHING has ever come close to the pure passion and emotion of Scotland v Italy last November.

Pround to be a Raith fan and pround to be a Scot biggrin.gif

Sitting on the fence for this thread but Meh!! tongue.gif
Iain
I would say that I enjoy Scotland games (not friendlies) a lot more than Ayr games, generally. Nice to occasionally see a player able to control the ball.
St. Starko
QUOTE (Iain @ Sep 6 2008, 08:34) *
I would say that I enjoy Scotland games (not friendlies) a lot more than Ayr games, generally. Nice to occasionally see a player able to control the ball.

Aye but you get to watch Rovers control a ball 4 times a season.
charlie king mvp
Scotland for me every time. And I have been to 35+ Brechin games every season for the last 15 or 16 years. Nothing beats the passion of a Scotland game. I have seen Brechin win the league four times and win promotion another three times but I would swap every one of those to see Scotland win the World Cup. No contest.