Stevo Fife
Sep 4 2008, 22:34
Bit cold on the old forum front, so thought i'd start a fire.
The long awaited "real Fife Derby" is back with a bang and hard to believe its a mere week away.
Will the Rovers defend the keep and contain the lackluster Fifers, or will the Bayview millionaires finally get out of the hurdles at last and romp to victory at San Starko?
Stevo prediction...
Raith Rovers 2-2 East Fife
King Kebab
Sep 4 2008, 22:42
Fife Thread for this pish!!!
Stevo Fife
Sep 4 2008, 22:44
QUOTE (King Kebab @ Sep 4 2008, 23:42)

Cock
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Sep 5 2008, 00:36
QUOTE (King Kebab @ Sep 4 2008, 23:42)

I reckon this game can go either way. Ive been encouraged by improvements in Rovers style and commitment while the Fife seem to be starting to show some form at last. Will the Rovers youthful speed and flare prevail or will the Fife old dogs have too much higher league experience for them?
Its going to be a really interesting game for evaluating the contrast in styles, not just for the fact that its a derby with winners bragging rights and of course the promotion rivalry.
Gordon EF
Sep 5 2008, 00:54
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Sep 5 2008, 01:36)

I reckon this game can go either way. Ive been encouraged by improvements in Rovers style and commitment while the Fife seem to be starting to show some form at last. Will the Rovers youthful speed and flare prevail or will the Fife old dogs have too much higher league experience for them?
Its going to be a really interesting game for evaluating the contrast in styles, not just for the fact that its a derby with winners bragging rights and of course the promotion rivalry.
Fuckin hell. Don't stick your neck out too much!
Serioulsy, can't wait though. I was even ready to ditch a trip to Sweden to catch this one.
We're more than capable of taking something here, Raith are not a great team. Whether we will take something is another question.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Sep 5 2008, 01:19
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Sep 5 2008, 01:54)

Fuckin hell. Don't stick your neck out too much!
Serioulsy, can't wait though. I was even ready to ditch a trip to Sweden to catch this one.
We're more than capable of taking something here, Raith are not a great team. Whether we will take something is another question.
Its too hard to predict. Besides, your form on the road has been pretty good this season while we're liable to struggle at home. On the other hand, its teams that sit in and hit us on the break that cause most problems for us at Stark's and I dont think the Fife will come to defend.
Big_Andy
Sep 5 2008, 06:34
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Sep 4 2008, 23:34)

Bit cold on the old forum front, so thought i'd start a fire.
The long awaited "real Fife Derby" is back with a bang and hard to believe its a mere week away.
Will the Rovers defend the keep and contain the lackluster Fifers, or will the Bayview millionaires finally get out of the hurdles at last and romp to victory at San Starko?
Stevo prediction...
Raith Rovers 2-2 East Fife
Probably develop into a fucking inferno..............
Anyhow, I sees a draw. We are pish but lucky, whereas EF are starting to pick up points.
6-1 Rovers.
McManus gets sarcastic applause for 92nd minute consolation. Gray spontaneously combusts shortly after telling Baikie to "dae wan".
Baikie's tactics may be the difference here. On paper, East Fife have the best squad in the league and should be walking away with it with the money they have spent. However, they aren't and the reason for that might be problems behind the scenes or more likely Baikies tactics. Every player will know what is up for grabs here and anything can happen. If we win i think Baikie will be gone by the following monday. Hopefully we'll have McGurn, Sloan and Dunbar back. Hope the fans berate the ex-players instead of our own. Would love it if we win, which i thik we can.
2-0 Rovers- Cook and Smith
the_russian
Sep 5 2008, 08:09
Are we playing them? I had no idea.
CALDERON
Sep 5 2008, 08:42
Should be a good game. We have made a really good start to the season and I think that we are a better team that people are giving us credit for. Our defence especially has been really solid.
East Fife have had a poor start to the season, but you only need to take a look through their squad to see some of the quality players that they possess. They are obviously going to be really fired up for this one, so we have to be at our best.
Having said that, the pressure is all on them. I said last week that I would take 4 points from the Peterhead and East Fife matches, that still stands. A point wont do them any good at all. Will East Fife also feel the pressure after Grays ridiculous pre season comments?
Should be a good un. Ill go for Rovers 1-1 East Fife. Would do me nicely. Would fucking love to win tho!
QUOTE (rw89 @ Sep 5 2008, 07:53)

Baikie's tactics may be the difference here. On paper, East Fife have the best squad in the league and should be walking away with it with the money they have spent. However, they aren't and the reason for that might be problems behind the scenes or more likely Baikies tactics. Every player will know what is up for grabs here and anything can happen. If we win i think Baikie will be gone by the following monday. Hopefully we'll have McGurn, Sloan and Dunbar back. Hope the fans berate the ex-players instead of our own. Would love it if we win, which i thik we can.
2-0 Rovers- Cook and Smith

agree there. seems to be a bit of confusion over recent signings by the fife as well, saying that we cant underestimate them. Should be a good game and hope the rumour about trouble at the game will be unfounded as there is no need for it in football.
i will go for a 2-1 Rovers win Smith and Walker for the Rovers with Crawford scoring for the Fife
CALDERON
Sep 5 2008, 09:50
QUOTE (P.C @ Sep 5 2008, 10:45)

agree there. seems to be a bit of confusion over recent signings by the fife as well, saying that we cant underestimate them. Should be a good game and hope the rumour about trouble at the game will be unfounded as there is no need for it in football.
i will go for a 2-1 Rovers win Smith and Walker for the Rovers with Crawford scoring for the Fife
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Sep 5 2008, 10:50)

there was something getting said in the last few weeks saying that the police were expecting trouble at the game
CALDERON
Sep 5 2008, 09:59
Ah ok.
AllanJM
Sep 5 2008, 10:09
I'm confident for this one. We seem to be a different team at home this season and the derby atmosphere should help. We should have some first team players back too so I'll go for a 3-1 win for Rovers. I'll stick my neck out and say an ex-Rovers player will score the EF goal.
The American
Sep 5 2008, 10:11
CAN'T F*CKING WAIT!!!!!!!!!!111111
Close game, 1-0 to the fife with a templeman header.
Michael W
Sep 5 2008, 11:21
Hopefully we can come through this game with the 3 points. Last season at this point, we went and lost to Cowdenbeath

no repeat this year please!
Hopefully we'll have McGurn, Sloan and Dunbar all back for this, it would be nice for McGlynn to be able to pick the side he wants, rather than have his decisions forced upon him by injury and suspension.
I'm not making predictions for this one. I don't want to jinx us.
St. Starko
Sep 5 2008, 13:38
3 - 0 to the Fife. McGlynn's downfall starts here.
It'd be a tough enough match without the East Fife squad coming back to their old club and being on bonuses to win... I'm sure the figure isn't exactly miniscule either!
Anyway, I don't think it'll be pretty. East Fife may have the edge in strength, but I'm fairly confident our players have more ability. Whether we show up is another story. If they go long ball all game, Campbell will be able to mop it up fairly easily I'd think.
Hoping for a good crowd in for this, at least 3000. I'll hold off any predictions until I know the injury situation with us, I'll be very worried if McGurn isn't fit. Nothing against Gary O, McGurn just looks like a better keeper. I think Sloan is a big part of our team as well, although I'm sure some will disagree!
Looking forward tp this moe than the Scotland games tbh, which is unusual for me. Mon the Rovers!
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Sep 5 2008, 14:38)

3 - 0 to the Fife. McGlynn's downfall starts here.
I think that you are pessimistic as some kind of pre-match ritual.
That or John McGlynn shagged your wife.
Big_Andy
Sep 5 2008, 16:15
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 5 2008, 16:36
We'll win, but i'm not that interested in it just now, maybe this time next week i will be.
St Pauli Fifer
Sep 5 2008, 17:22
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Sep 5 2008, 17:36)

We'll win, but i'm not that interested in it just now, maybe this time next week i will be.
I think we've got a team more than capable or sorting Rovers out. BUT I've seen enough of us this season to realise that I don't think that we'll play to our real strengths and sort you lot out though. Got a bad feeling to be honest at this stage. If we play the long ball, as we always seem to, and keep it tight at the back with Tweed and Smart a gritty 1-0 win is all we can realistically hope for IMO.
HOWEVER, if we've signed this Sean Fagan and are playing him as an attacking midfielder and give the ball to feet to the front two (or even give decent service from the wing) - ooooooooh baby, different story.
BUT for now, I'm all about Scotland getting 3 points tomorrow....
King Kebab
Sep 5 2008, 18:21
QUOTE (St Pauli Fifer @ Sep 5 2008, 18:22)

HOWEVER, if we've signed this Sean Fagan and are playing him as an attacking midfielder and give the ball to feet to the front two (or even give decent service from the wing) - ooooooooh baby, different story.
You know this isn't an affectation, he actually speaks like this in real life!!!
The Austin Powers of Harbour View!!!
St Pauli Fifer
Sep 5 2008, 18:34
QUOTE (King Kebab @ Sep 5 2008, 19:21)

You know this isn't an affectation, he actually speaks like this in real life!!!
The Austin Powers of Harbour View!!!

Oooooooh beeehave KK.
the_russian
Sep 5 2008, 19:01
f**k Scotland, this is the big game.
St. Starko
Sep 5 2008, 19:53
QUOTE (Andy.C @ Sep 5 2008, 17:00)

I think that you are pessimistic as some kind of pre-match ritual.
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Sep 5 2008, 20:53)

I knew it. Your posts dont peg you as one of the irrational dafties that dislike McGlynn.
i think te rovers will win as thay are the good team better than last seeson and miglin is done a deecent job in making them tight at the back and that is why i think thay will beet east fife as yoo have a tratir in wullie gray and he diserves to be on the beeten side as hes a c**t and we all hate him becase hes a c**t and all that
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 6 2008, 22:09
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Sep 6 2008, 23:09)

stop what mate
Duracell Bunny
Sep 6 2008, 22:15
QUOTE (Cyril @ Sep 6 2008, 23:11)

stop what mate
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 6 2008, 23:15)

you think you are so grate with a name like hitler you should be ashamed of yourself mate and go watch east fife dirty methil huns
MonTheRovers!!
Sep 6 2008, 22:38
Big_Andy
Sep 7 2008, 07:46
Go away Russian.
raithfortheleague
Sep 7 2008, 10:46
whatever fanny is making these accounts please stop it
St. Starko
Sep 7 2008, 11:32
QUOTE (Cyril @ Sep 6 2008, 23:06)

i think te rovers will win as thay are the good team better than last seeson and miglin is done a deecent job in making them tight at the back and that is why i think thay will beet east fife as yoo have a tratir in wullie gray and he diserves to be on the beeten side as hes a c**t and we all hate him becase hes a c**t and all that
Ken laud.
CALDERON
Sep 7 2008, 18:31
Booooooring
cant wait for sat the 13th against those methil minks
and i hope they give us a good game
QUOTE (mike @ Sep 7 2008, 20:48)

cant wait for sat the 13th against those methil minks
and i hope they give us a good game
aye me to mate cant wait to get stuck in about the methil tinks were gona tank them big style i think at least by 3 goals clear
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Sep 8 2008, 02:35
QUOTE (Cyril @ Sep 7 2008, 21:01)

aye me to mate cant wait to get stuck in about the methil tinks were gona tank them big style i think at least by 3 goals clear
Fukk.
I hope the forum isnt going to descend into this kind of piss take. Its getting tedious.
With all these aliases and aliases of aliases hanging around the place, I wonder if some people are starting to develop personality disorders, does the Russian wake up with large blank spots in his memory, only to find that someone called HUGH CLOTHY has emptied his bank account? can he no longer use his left hand since this now technically belongs to tehflag111? Does Igor sit in the back of this fractured psyche, whispering to the Russian about his failure to be a 'true' socialist?
It could be that a once proud man has been reduced to a banal collection of bad one liner aliases, constantly cycling through them when someone bumps into him in the pub....
MarvMarvSuperMarv
Sep 8 2008, 15:36
Can't wait till Saturday!!!
Going camping with an East Fife fan at night so hopefully we win! I don't think I could put up with him if we lost.
the_russian
Sep 8 2008, 17:20
I'll be on my way to the kingdom from 6am on Friday morning, I might even have a pint or two.
Duracell Bunny
Sep 8 2008, 17:22
QUOTE (the_russian @ Sep 8 2008, 18:20)

I'll be on my way to the kingdom from 6am on Friday morning, I might even have a pint or two.
All five of you!!!
the_russian
Sep 8 2008, 18:17
QUOTE (Eddie Hitler @ Sep 8 2008, 18:22)

All five of you!!!

Maybe my supposed aliai will be posting when i'm actually on a flight, and it'll still be my doing. I must have superpowers.
I'm taking all my shit to Stirling first thing in the morning, dumping it in Halls, going to a Welcome talk, then piling back to Kirkcaldy for the match, then its back off to Uni to drown my sorrows for a week.
QUOTE (Dunc @ Sep 8 2008, 22:30)

I'm taking all my shit to Stirling first thing in the morning, dumping it in Halls, going to a Welcome talk, then piling back to Kirkcaldy for the match, then its back off to Uni to drown my sorrows for a week.
i cant wait not long till we go now going to have a few pints before the game and a few more after to celibrate beeting the methil huns by at least 3 goals clear mate mon the roversd
Can't wait for this. Should be brilliant. If they fire long balls up the pitch then i believe Campbell and Ellis have the ability to deal with anything sent their way. On the deck, i think we are a match for them with Walker and Davo. Will be interesting to see how good players like Johnny Smart actually are.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.