Full Version: Scotland V Slovenia
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
latapythelegend
just thought i would start the build up to this match.
hoping for a good crowd as it is quite an important match.
cheap prices (£5 & £2) competitions in paper for free tickets and quite alot of advertising on the radio means that people might be temted to come along.
hopefully itll be a good entertaining game!
Haitch
When & Where?
latapythelegend
QUOTE (Haitch @ Sep 3 2008, 17:12) *
When & Where?

thursday night 7.45 ko
falkirk stadium.
False Light
I'd like to go to this but I can't really be bothered travelling to Falkirk for it. Should be three points for us really seeing as Slovenia have only taken points of Lithuania in the group so far and we won 4-0 in the away match against them.
chris123
Can we still qualify?
diamonds2002
QUOTE (chris123 @ Sep 4 2008, 09:35) *
Can we still qualify?

yes - alot depends on how Finland do
False Light
QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Sep 4 2008, 09:38) *
yes - alot depends on how Finland do

Not entirely true. The 10 group winners plus the four best runners up proceed to the play offs for the 7 remaining places at the finals so it could well be irrelevant how Finland do provided we stay in the top 4 best runners up. Currently we're the fourth best runner up and we have a game in hand on two of the teams above us so we still have a good chance of making the play offs even if we finish second. 

All the information about the qualification can be found here.

DJP
Hopefully over 5,000 turn up and good luck to the u21's

gav-ffc
1,500- 2,000 odd by the looks of it
*PeTeH-FiFeR*
here latapythelegend ... why would you be luaghing at Dunfermline since 1876 ?????? luaghings not even a word is it ?? ....... anyway cmon Scotland!
The Minertaur
1 minute gone and Scotland 1 up. Fletcher with a great left foot shot when played through one on one
gav-ffc
1-0 Fletcher

4,000 odd thier by the looks of it now.

Edit to say looks like 4,000 asfter seeing the away stand,
The Minertaur
2-0 Garry Kenneth with a tap in after his header hit the post biggrin.gif
marf-1870
Doing not to bad. Think thats the three points now. Should go on to score at least 2 more.

Anyone know if Tuesdays game is on tele could be a big game depending on other results.
The Minertaur
2-1 after a mistake from Kenneth
RussellV1
3-1 fletcher

NorthernLights
Mulgrew is having a great game, some cracking balls into the box from him thumbup2.gif
Gaz
Been a good game to watch. McCormack's just cracked the crossbar.
Gaz
What a shite penalty!
NorthernLights
Do Falkirk have ballboys outside the ground? Lost count of the number of balls that have gone flying over the perimeter wall behind one of the goals..
keithgy
Who missed the penalty?
Fuctifano
Decent performance although from a Thistle POV that was the first time I'd had a look at Lennon and he was pretty gash.

Mulgrew missed the penalty- it always looks horribe when someone tries one of those stop-start run ups and then sclaffs it the way the goalie's already dived.
sandyfalkirk
Very enjoyable match and the best atmosphere at TFS for a long time....

Anyway, what made it for me was the old kant whos breath smelt like he'd brushed his teeth with jobbies would have won £70 if Mulgrew scored.

He was raging and I was chuckling.

T_S_A_R
scotland played well tonight, particularly fletcher, mmcormack, mulgrew and arfield.

i was was suprised mccormack let mulgrew hit the pen, he's taking them for cardiff in his first season down there so i would have thought he'd have wanted it. rossco looked good and if he continues to imprve and finds consistency he'll be an asste for the full side soon enough.

jamie hammill is a dirty wee b*****d and should have been off. two stamps on a slovenian with a minute to go, just typical of killie recently. considine's suspended for the next game but reynolds should hopefully come in and add a bit of balance and pace to the defence.
DJP
QUOTE (NorthernLights @ Sep 4 2008, 21:15) *
Mulgrew is having a great game, some cracking balls into the box from him thumbup2.gif

You had to jinx Mulgrew laugh.gif. Only saw last 10mins due to not getting home from work till 9:20. Looked pretty good from the final few mins I saw
marf-1870
Enjoyible game to watch. Would agree about Fletcher, McCormack, Mulgrew and Arfield they all looked pritty good. Was a pish penalty though the boy would of smashed had been hitting the ball well all night. Was a terrible goal Scotland gave away still got5 what we needed.
North Stand Bairn
Thought Scotland looked pretty comfortable tonight. Great turn out and good atmosphere. Some good performances from Fletcher, McCormack, Arfield and McDonald.

Funniest way I've seen an argument settled over who takes a penalty - best of 3 at Paper, Scissors, Stone laugh.gif Shite penalty though sad.gif
Dunning1874
QUOTE (North Stand Bairn @ Sep 4 2008, 23:30) *
Thought Scotland looked pretty comfortable tonight. Great turn out and good atmosphere. Some good performances from Fletcher, McCormack, Arfield and McDonald.

Funniest way I've seen an argument settled over who takes a penalty - best of 3 at Paper, Scissors, Stone laugh.gif Shite penalty though sad.gif

Eh? laugh.gif

Firstly, how the hell does that work?

Secondly, doesn't everyone call it Rock, Paper, Scissors? ph34r.gif
FuzzyBear
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Sep 5 2008, 00:12) *
Eh? laugh.gif

Firstly, how the hell does that work?

Secondly, doesn't everyone call it Rock, Paper, Scissors? ph34r.gif

Enjoyed the game tonight and it was a great crowd. Shame for the few hundred that missed the first goal.

Disagree with most about Mulgrew. He put in 2 great crosses for the goals but I thought his general play was poor and he bottled a couple of challenges. Defence was solid but Cuthbert's distribution was awful. Kenneth played well until giving the goal away.

Arfield was excellent in the holding roll. Lennon, McCormack and McDonald had some decent touches bur the final ball was poor at times. Fletcher had a decent game holding the ball up and scored 2 nice goals.

What was the ref all about. He missed the challenge on Fletcher at the edge of the box as well as Lennon's dreadful challenge on the sand dancing number 10 but he seemed to get over excited at decisions about throw ins.

1320Lichtie
promising to see how many goals the under 21s have wscored
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
Was a good game with about 4500 there. I quite enjoyed it,first time ive been sober at a fitba match for I dunno how long.

The one annoyance was wee wains that got free tickets off the school being loud and obnoxious and singing stupid songs.
yogisbairns
QUOTE (NorthernLights @ Sep 4 2008, 21:40) *
Do Falkirk have ballboys outside the ground? Lost count of the number of balls that have gone flying over the perimeter wall behind one of the goals..

Ball boys! the lazy wee feckers are about as much use as Ann Frank's drum kit (and that's the ones allegedly working inside the stadium. I use that term loosly). They all stand there texting on their mobiles, when some footballer has the cheek to ask them to throw them a ball when it goes out. As regards the balls that went into the darkness, they'll be dug up in about 500 years by archeologists wondering what they are.
latapythelegend
QUOTE (*PeTeH-FiFeR* @ Sep 4 2008, 19:39) *
here latapythelegend ... why would you be luaghing at Dunfermline since 1876 ?????? luaghings not even a word is it ?? ....... anyway cmon Scotland!

how can laughing not be a word?
any way just a signature...........
although fifers still give us a good chuckle biggrin.gif tongue.gif
Fudge
FALKIRK FOOTBALL CLUB
LUAGHING AT DUNFERMLINE SINCE 1876.
DJP
Good spot Fudge laugh.gif
bobbykdy
QUOTE (T_S_A_R @ Sep 4 2008, 22:55) *
jamie hammill is a dirty wee b*****d and should have been off. two stamps on a slovenian with a minute to go, just typical of killie recently. considine's suspended for the next game but reynolds should hopefully come in and add a bit of balance and pace to the defence.

Agreed, there was no need for him to stand on the Slovenian as he lay in the ground. He then smirked and acted innocent when challenged abou it and it kicked off a 12 man pushin match. Hope something is done by our coaching staff about it. dry.gif
GunnerBairn
didnt scotland look fantastic in our even more fantastic half built stadium. laugh.gif