ALL HÚNS 'n' TIMS ARE SCUM
Aug 18 2004, 19:47
45 mins gone, what a load of crap.
This is international football, always crap games and nobody bothering their arse.
Time to scrap the internationals, they only get in the way of the Champions League.
All you middle class types that follow Scotland abroad, go back to supporting the Rugby and Gie us all peace,
miketheheadlesschicken
Aug 18 2004, 19:55
If you think it's shite, don't watch it.
bluetooner
Aug 18 2004, 20:21
What i was gonna say Mike. How is it going? or shouldnt i of asked?
Before people say anything, remember, ITS JUST A FRIENDLY.
Cant say anything till proper qualifiers start.
Dysart
Aug 18 2004, 20:38
3-0 now, Vogts should ffuk off now and give someone else a shot at the WC qualifiers. We are just an embarassment in international terms.
ALL HÚNS 'n' TIMS ARE SCUM
Aug 18 2004, 20:41
I told you, International football sucks, Herr Vogts is doing you all a favour and making you see sense.
Club football is much better.
Bairns-r-us
Aug 18 2004, 21:02
| QUOTE (Olaf Thom @ Aug 18 2004, 09:41 PM) |
Club football is much better. |
A vote of confidence in Yogi from Olaf.
FFCinthearea
Aug 18 2004, 21:02
I sense another crap debate between that wee twat Euan Cameron and Roughy on Real Radio tomorrow
Euan: Vogts must go
Roughy: Judge him on the competetive matches
juan villa-lobos ramirez
Aug 18 2004, 21:05
Regardless wether or not it is the lack of talent we supposedly have ? Vogts should go.
We have guys who are good enough to play in premiership games week in and week out yet we seem to get nothing from them. That can only be down to management. they are the ineffective ones in the team.
Beaten by another team below us in rankings...should help us slip down that table too...no chance of qualifying with vogts in charge.
Sack him if he doesn't leave I say.
xbasslichtie_old
Aug 18 2004, 21:06
Here we go...Vogts heid called for by everyone! It wasnt that bad! We lost to a penalty that wasnt a penalty, an unstoppable wonder goal, and a crappy own goal. We could have won that game if the heids hadnt gone down after the second goal. Lots of positives to be gained.
Ill tell you what was shocking! That fecking sky english twat of a commentator!

Doom gloom, doom again, a bit more gloom, writing us off, saying that slovenia will beat us....its only a friendly! I turned it to mute because by about 70 mins, he didna even talk about the game, just wrote the entire team off for the qualifiers. Rob McLean, all is forgiven, I prefer your commentating!
That was a f'ckin disgrace tonight

F'ckin embarassing to watch
Vogts out NOW!
xbasslichtie_old
Aug 18 2004, 21:08
Now Vogts hasnt got everything right by any means, but I think he can get us to the world cup. If he doesnt, then by all means its time for a change, but not now. Keep the strength, we werent that bad tonight!
miketheheadlesschicken
Aug 18 2004, 21:08
| QUOTE (xbasslichtie @ Aug 18 2004, 10:06 PM) |
| Lots of positives to be gained. |
Such as it was only 3-0?
Who all thinks we're going to make the WC 2006?
Juninho
Aug 18 2004, 21:14
He starting to make Craig Brown look like Sir Alex Ferguson!
This is serious, it has gone beyond embarrasment!
We cant afford to pay him off, that stupid idiot Taylor is the guy who brought him in, he should resign immediately!
The is the latest in a row of absolutely dire results
Anyone, anyone but Vogts!!
He's like the John Hughes of international management
xbasslichtie_old
Aug 18 2004, 21:15
Okay
We had a settled team, until the second goal went in we were more than a match for Hungary, we could have scored goals, and if that penalty hadnt gone in, we would have won.
Its only a Friendly, Craig Brown won them as often as Vogts has. We have got some established internationals, in future there wont be too many debutants. Come the competitive games, there is a core of established players as well as players fighting for everyones places. No-one is simply in the side because we have no-one else.
We honestly didnt play that badly though, the sky commentary made it seem a LOT worse than it was!
xbasslichtie_old
Aug 18 2004, 21:16
| QUOTE (dmton @ Aug 18 2004, 10:11 PM) |
Who all thinks we're going to make the WC 2006? |
ME!
Whats Scotlands recent record in COMPETITIVE games?
miketheheadlesschicken
Aug 18 2004, 21:19
| QUOTE (dmton @ Aug 18 2004, 10:11 PM) |
Who all thinks we're going to make the WC 2006?  |
Nevermind the World Cup. We're going to lose by 5 or 6 in Spain in a couple of weeks.
David W
Aug 18 2004, 21:21
| QUOTE (xbasslichtie @ Aug 18 2004, 10:16 PM) |
ME!
Whats Scotlands recent record in COMPETITIVE games? |
They managed to beat the mighty Iceland twice, scramble a flukey win over Holland and draw with Germany. Oh, and they drew in the Faroe Islands
I agree with Olaf, club football is much better
miketheheadlesschicken
Aug 18 2004, 21:26
| Whats Scotlands recent record in COMPETITIVE games? |
Not brilliant. 5 wins, 2 draws and 3 defeats from 10 games. That record isn't good enough to qualify for a major tournament.
xbasslichtie_old
Aug 18 2004, 21:30
So, 1 defeat in 10 games in a country of 5 million (with 3.5 million too young, too old, unfit or foreign to play) and this is not good enough? I think people are getting delusions about the size of Scotland. No-one should get sacked because of friendly results! Get a grip!
Edited because of
4 defeats??

Name em!
I can think Germany and Holland.
David W
Aug 18 2004, 21:32
| QUOTE (xbasslichtie @ Aug 18 2004, 10:30 PM) |
| So, 1 defeat in 10 games in a country of 5 million (with 3.5 million too young, too old, unfit or foreign to play) and this is not good enough? I think people are getting delusions about the size of Scotland. No-one should get sacked because of friendly results! Get a grip! |
Funnily enough, I thought Scotland lost to Lithuania, Holland and Germany recently
xbasslichtie_old
Aug 18 2004, 21:33
| QUOTE (David W @ Aug 18 2004, 10:32 PM) |
Funnily enough, I thought Scotland lost to Lithuania, Holland and Germany recently |
Lithuania! thats a third, thanks

Whos the lucky fourth?
miketheheadlesschicken
Aug 18 2004, 21:39
| QUOTE (xbasslichtie @ Aug 18 2004, 10:33 PM) |
Lithuania! thats a third, thanks Whos the lucky fourth? |
Sorry. I originally miscounted and meant to put 5 wins, 1 draw and 4 defeats. I accidentally put only 1 defeat and tried to edit it. My browser then crashed and I had to restart my PC.
Anyway, 5 wins, 2 draws and 3 defeats isn't good enough. Vogts keeps changing formation and ends up playing players out of position. Hungary could've won by more and I don't see how there would've been any difference if this had been a competitive match.
| QUOTE (xbasslichtie @ Aug 18 2004, 10:33 PM) |
Lithuania! thats a third, thanks Whos the lucky fourth? |
You must like losing Xbass as we lost to a dire Hungary team at home comfortably, and I`m embarrassed to be Scottish right now.
Oh and the Faroe Islands game felt like a defeat.
xbasslichtie_old
Aug 18 2004, 21:43
I can understand the criticism he gets, but the mans never been given a chance from the start! Like I said, if he doesnt get us to the cup then we should ditch him, but if he makes it, there will be a lot of humble pie eaten all around Scotland!
xbasslichtie_old
Aug 18 2004, 21:46
| QUOTE (MTJ @ Aug 18 2004, 10:42 PM) |
You must like losing Xbass as we lost to a dire Hungary team at home comfortably, and I`m embarrassed to be Scottish right now.
Oh and the Faroe Islands game felt like a defeat. |
Well Im no! Scottish and proud! Whats the population of Hungary btw? No-one likes losing, but Ive seen some absolutely hapless matches with Scotland, remember Wales? France? We didnt play THAT badly!
Juninho
Aug 18 2004, 21:49
Vogts Must Go WebsiteA site i've found about Mr Vogts
Juninho
Aug 18 2004, 21:50
By the way xbasslichtie, if we didnt play badly tonight, can you give us any worse examples of a Scotland performance.
Wales, Faroes, France, Holland Away, Lituania, they've all been dire. Its not going to improve and thats why change is needed now.
onlycowdenfanhere
Aug 18 2004, 21:54
Ok, the performance was not great. The players just seemed to have no coheasion (sp?) about them. Passes, especially in the 2nd half, were not going to men in yellow shirts, it just wasn't a great game overall really. It deserved to be a 0-0. The penalty was unlucky, the boy who hit the 2nd will never hit another better and well the 3rd...I don't think that should be talked about.
Scotland were looking very comfortable and in control, without creating anything. We just gave up after going 2-0 down, which isn't acceptable. However, all will be forgotten, I'm sure, if we beat Slovenia. However, a defeat at Hampden on Septemeber 8th and then against Norway the next month then, yes, we can start thinking about replacements I think. If we lose both those games then our chances are over and then it will be time to start a fresh.
However, right now, we should try to get behind the team and try to just forget about the friendlies. Tonight was just a bad performance overall. I think I would only give a few people pass marks, and, we can't blame Berti for players underacheiving in tonight's game, can we?
miketheheadlesschicken
Aug 18 2004, 21:56
Humped 3-0 at home to Hungary and all Vogts can say is that they have to work harder and learn. What the fúck have they been doing for the last 2 years he's been in charge? Why was Gary Holt playing as a right back? I thought we'd seen the last of players playing out of position when Brown did the right thing and chucked it. Vogts should do the same.
| QUOTE (xbasslichtie @ Aug 18 2004, 10:43 PM) |
| I can understand the criticism he gets, but the mans never been given a chance from the start! Like I said, if he doesnt get us to the cup then we should ditch him, but if he makes it, there will be a lot of humble pie eaten all around Scotland! |
I'll gladly eat humble pie if he gets us to the WC, but no way will we beat Italy and Norway, fuxake we will be lucky if we beat Slovenia!
TeeMan
Aug 18 2004, 22:36
Thought that Ferguson looked class tonight but only him and McFadden(1st half) got pass marks.
Been a fan of Berti 'cause he's got a team with potential together but bad results in the next two games and he must go. He's an old skool international manager and I think there are a lot better technical coaches out there who could take Scotland forward.
xbasslichtie_old
Aug 18 2004, 22:45
| QUOTE (TeeMan @ Aug 18 2004, 11:36 PM) |
| He's an old skool international manager and I think there are a lot better technical coaches out there who could take Scotland forward. |
I have to be honest and agree with that! but Vogts can do the job IMO. Like I said earlier, if we hadnt "conceded" that "penalty", we would have won the game!
Raving On
Aug 18 2004, 23:10
| QUOTE (xbasslichtie @ Aug 18 2004, 10:30 PM) |
| I think people are getting delusions about the size of Scotland. No-one should get sacked because of friendly results! Get a grip! |
Yes we were pish tonight. That's probably the worst Scotland performance I have ever gone to see but I actually agree with Xbass. I'm not sure that with the players we have at the moment we should be doing any better, although having a "small-country mentality" won't sort things out. We have the potential to go on and become a really decent side but the fallout from such catastrophic FRIENDLY defeats is only hindering things. The Daily Ranger must have loved that game tonight even though we were on top for most of it. The first 15 minutes were outstanding and while we didn't create much in the rest of the half we created a lot more than the Hungarians while even in the 2nd half we still had a few chances but couldn't take them.
Give Betri till the end of the 2006 qualifiers, it's too late to change manager before the WC qualifiers get underway.
miketheheadlesschicken
Aug 18 2004, 23:36
It's not so much the results, it's some of Vogts' choices. I think playing Gary Holt is a bad decision anyway but to play him at right back is ridiculous. We were getting taken apart down the wings and Vogts did nothing about it. He decided halfway through the match to change the system that he seemed to have settled on. Why did Marshall play ahead of Craig Gordon?
You could say that it wasn't a penalty, the second was a peach and the third was unlucky. You could also say that Webster put in a stupid challenge, Huszti was allowed to run unchallenged for 30 yards and the third was just awful defending. Losing in friendlies is fine if you learn from your mistakes. We're making plenty of mistakes and we're learning nothing.
bluetooner
Aug 19 2004, 00:11
But you dont know if we have or havent learned from them untill proper games. I mean how many scottish people were trying their hardest tnite? they were probably only giving 50-70%. THat is the problem with friendlys, players dont want to over exert themselves incase they get an injury and miss the start of the season.
As i have said all along, if he struggles in world cup qualifiers then he should go, but if he gets there, i bet you will all change your mind about him.
Just home fom game so here goes ya bangers
Total pishflaps.
I thank you
Not Really John McVeigh
Aug 19 2004, 07:14
the John McVeigh translation service.
German:- Boo Boys won't make me quit
Scottish:- SFA can't afford to sack me.
The Poker King
Aug 19 2004, 07:59
Berti should go and he should go now. Gary Holt, a midfielder at right back, Caldwell, a defender in midfield? Says it all really.
Tomsk The Beano
Aug 19 2004, 08:37
| Whats Scotlands recent record in COMPETITIVE games? |
Last competitivie game, Netherlands 6 Scotland 0
Tomsk The Beano
Aug 19 2004, 08:41
| QUOTE (Raving On @ Aug 19 2004, 12:10 AM) |
| I'm not sure that with the players we have at the moment we should be doing any better, although having a "small-country mentality" won't sort things out. |
Bollocks! to put it mildly.
Greece won Euro 04 with a small country mentality and players who were not good enough for Leicester City.
Last night we had players who are not good enough for Everton and QPR and got humped.
Vogts must go, the man is an absolute joke.
What the feck are they doing in trianing? it certainly ain't getting a team spirit, tactics or passing.
xbasslichtie_old
Aug 19 2004, 08:49
Im agreeing with Raving on....the Daily Retard must be CREAMING themselves! It was a case of effort. Until half time I thought we looked quite good! We certaintly didnt deserve to be a goal down with that "penalty". The second goal was just awesome, and after that everyone bar Barry Ferguson, Quashie (who didnt really impress me), and Naysmith stopped making any effort. If it had been a competitive match, I feel we could have won.
Incidentally, it was good to see the wee ned back playing for Scotland (make the most of it, thats it for the season). Ive criticised him in the past, but at least he is a fighter. I was impressed when he grabbed the hungary player and told him in no uncertain terms that there was a man down.
Faraday
Aug 19 2004, 09:07
First didn't look too bad. Quashie seemed up for it with a few decent shots and we seemed the better team but without any cutting edge. Then the penalty when webster fell over and the guy tripped over his own feet (looked a penalty from behind though). Was the penalty not their first effort on target? Then the wondergoal (if dailly had been playing he wouldn't have got that space, three defenders just stood and watched). And the third was marshalls fault. He threw himself at the ball which he was never getting, if pressley wasnt there it was a tap into an empty net. A better keeper would have stayed or would have been in a better strating position to come for the cross.
I've already paid for my slovenia and norway tickets!!!
Neilly
Aug 19 2004, 11:28
Firstly, all friendlies should be played outside of Hampden at grounds like Easter Road, Tnecastle etc, the atmosphere was terrible last night, compare that to the T&T game where there was about the same size of crowd
Secondly, why the fcuk Holt was played at right back is beyond me. The guy has played a holding midfield role his whole career and doesn't have the pace for right back, must be a kick in the baws to the likes of McNamee. Quashie is the only one that wanted to pass and move, the rest just passed the ball and stood still, Fletcher in particular was shocking last night but he was getting some ott abuse from sections of the crowd. Also Gary Caldwell is utter bollocks why the fcuk is he continously picked in the squad?
The Poker King
Aug 19 2004, 11:28
I think that when you first see the penalty incident then it is a penalty. Only when you you see the slowed down replays does it look like he conned the ref. For the third goal most of the blame must lie with Naysmith. If you allow wingers to get to the byline and cross unchallenged then you're asking for trouble.
Lando Griffin
Aug 19 2004, 12:53
| QUOTE (xbasslichtie @ Aug 18 2004, 10:46 PM) |
| Well Im no! Scottish and proud! Whats the population of Hungary btw? No-one likes losing, but Ive seen some absolutely hapless matches with Scotland, remember Wales? France? We didnt play THAT badly! |
Population of a country means diddly squat I'm afraid. India has a population of 1billion and are p!sh at football, I'm confident we could beat them
Hungary has a population of 10million to answer your original question
Faraday
Aug 19 2004, 14:19
Yeah but could we take india at cricket?
BRFC Tartan Army
Aug 19 2004, 15:07
Berti has got to go, the guy doesn't have the fainest idea what to do
Living in England and us being so shit = disaster
The best thing that could happen to us, is to geat fucking humped by Spain then got shagged in the 1st qualifier, and get rid of this nob head. Lets start again! this time appoint a passionate SCOTTISH manager, Gordon Strachan, Neale Cooper of Hartlepool, somebody who actually gives a f**k about the sad state of our country!!
Sonny Therock
Aug 19 2004, 16:12
| QUOTE (xbasslichtie @ Aug 18 2004, 10:06 PM) |
Here we go...Vogts heid called for by everyone! It wasnt that bad! We lost to a penalty that wasnt a penalty, an unstoppable wonder goal, and a crappy own goal. We could have won that game if the heids hadnt gone down after the second goal. Lots of positives to be gained.
Ill tell you what was shocking! That fecking sky english twat of a commentator! Doom gloom, doom again, a bit more gloom, writing us off, saying that slovenia will beat us....its only a friendly! I turned it to mute because by about 70 mins, he didna even talk about the game, just wrote the entire team off for the qualifiers. Rob McLean, all is forgiven, I prefer your commentating! |
It wasn't that bad!! Whit!!
Typical Scottish mentality. We've been fed this medoicre line for years ;we now believe it.
Yoda McVogts is a discredited coach everywhere but here. David Taylor - another pen-pushing wee nyaff - sits at the head of a very corrupt organisation.
Pay the wee German off. Now.
The Poker King
Aug 19 2004, 16:58
F*ck paying him off. He's done nothing to deserve a pay off. He should do the decent thing and walk.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.