Full Version: Broadfoot Apparently Called Into Squad.
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Pages: 1, 2
port-ton
Bill Leckie just said it on the radio he's been told Kirk is in the squad, although its not confirmed.

If it is then we might aswell just give up now.
buttons22
QUOTE (port-ton @ Sep 1 2008, 22:48) *
Bill Leckie just said it on the radio he's been told Kirk is in the squad, although its not confirmed.

If it is then we might aswell just give up now.

Give the guy a chance.
Fudge
crying.gif

Oh dear

Pandev v Broadfoot - El oh El
Frank Booth
Who has dropped out?
Butterfield
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Sep 1 2008, 22:51) *
Who has dropped out?

The entire squad of defenders. tongue.gif
BadgersNadgers
Callum Davidson was doubtful, I can't remember who else. Might see Elvis putting himself on the bench at this rate!
razor89
Disgraceful, blatant Old Firm bias. If Clubfoot had been playing the way he has at any other SPL team, he wouldn't be close to the squad.
Doonhamebear
Don't be so quick to condemn, he's improved a lot since last season. Just ask Aiden McGeady.
Michael W
sad.gif
Div
Anyone who watched the Old Firm game yesterday would have seen a young player who is more than ready to help out Scotland on the international stage.

Alan Hutton was ridiculed for a couple of seasons as well until suddenly everyone realised he was actually excellent.

Some people just can't appreciate a good player.

Thankfully George Burley can.
vikingTON
There's more chance of a rocking horse doing a shite than me wanting a side with him in it to do well...
Not that they would do well if he were to play...
dogma
QUOTE (Div @ Sep 1 2008, 23:34) *
Anyone who watched the Old Firm game yesterday would have seen a young player who is more than ready to help out Scotland on the international stage.

Alan Hutton was ridiculed for a couple of seasons as well until suddenly everyone realised he was actually excellent.

A manager talking bout clubfoot and Calum Davidson in an international squad is the exact opposite of someone who appreciates a good player...at least at football anyway. Broadfoot is dire and was massively shown up in UEFA games last season. I would go as far as to say he is worse even than matt elliott.
Diamonds are Forever

Alan Hutton was shite a couple of years ago. I remember his performance against Villareal away for Rangers and thinking he was one of the worst players I've ever seen. He then improved a lot. Broadfoot is hopeless and always has been. I remember St Mirren fans used to talk him up and I was never impressed by him, and I still am never impressed by him.
Dunning1874
If Broadfoot does a Hutton and goes from being a poor player to a great player in 6 months then I'll be delighted to see him in the squad, but there's no sign that he's anything other than a poor player at the moment.
bobbykdy
This fills me with great sadness. If he gets anywhere near the pitch on Staurday I will be watching through the cracks of my fingers as he no doubt trips over the ball as usual. sad.gif
Jim Pansy
QUOTE (dogma @ Sep 2 2008, 00:30) *
A manager talking bout clubfoot and Calum Davidson in an international squad is the exact opposite of someone who appreciates a good player...at least at football anyway. Broadfoot is dire and was massively shown up in UEFA games last season. I would go as far as to say he is worse even than matt elliott.

There have been far, far worse players than Matt Elliott selected for Scotland's defence in recent years.
Thundermonkey
What's Steven Caldwell doing at the moment? Can Elvis pick himself ahead of Broadfoot? Surely this enhances Barr or Berra's chances of a game.
Colin M
I can't belieeeeeeeeeve he's in there ahead of Neil McGregor mad.gif
Gin and Juice
I hope this isnt true. Broadfoot is rank. All the rangers fans I know who go to games dont even think hes good enough for them. The only good thing is that its not in the bbc or sky
Disraeli
QUOTE (Diamonds are Forever @ Sep 2 2008, 01:05) *

Alan Hutton was shite a couple of years ago. I remember his performance against Villareal away for Rangers and thinking he was one of the worst players I've ever seen. He then improved a lot. Broadfoot is hopeless and always has been. I remember St Mirren fans used to talk him up and I was never impressed by him, and I still am never impressed by him.

"Alan Hutton was shite a couple of years ago" - Not really.This is a fable perpetuated by boo boys and 'diddy fans' (for lack of a better term) who are all too willing to believe that it's true.
He was good before his leg break, he wasn't as good in the six month period while he was recovering from his leg break (during a troubled time for Rangers), but he was never 'shite'.
He was never even mediocre, he was always a talented young player.
washsacks

You honestly believe that Broadfoot will be subject to a near £10 million transfer in a years time?f**k me. Broadfoot is fucking awful.Awful. I cannot believe you are comparing Hutton and Broadfoot. There is no comparison.

Hutton at least had pace when he was shite. Broadfoot has nothing.

Being a Dunfermline fan, i am used to seeing donkeys and i can assure you that Broadfoot is a donkey.

QUOTE (Jim Pansy @ Sep 2 2008, 08:56) *
There have been far, far worse players than Matt Elliott selected for Scotland's defence in recent years.

No. There hasn't. Broadfoot will be the worst player to "grace" a Scotland jersey if selected. Just as he was the worst player to play in a Uefa cup final.
BRAVELANEY
i dont think anyone really thinks broadfoot is a world beater by any means but we clearly dont have cover for Hutton so i dont know why people would complain about his selection, he is not an ideal starter but if you take into account some of his performances this season (he was good on sunday, you have to admit), also the fact that he has gained valuable experience playing in high octane european games, its not that surprising a pick, the guy will try his guts out for the jersey thats for sure, and although thats not everything, we surely should give him a chance and see how it pans out.
Shengus Khan
laugh.gif Burley must have done this for a bet. There is no other possible explanation for choosing a player as inept as Clubfoot.
David W
Never mind, with Jamie Langfield in goals Kirk will look like a world beater.
dirk
broadfoot and langfield into the squad, here's hoping none of the 2 of them get near to a game, feck me langfield could not keep his place in a mediocre aberdeen team last season,
ive got a bad feeling about burley, i don't think he knows a player from a donkey.
tartanalan1979
QUOTE (Shengus Khan @ Sep 2 2008, 12:48) *
laugh.gif Burley must have done this for a bet. There is no other possible explanation for choosing a player as inept as Clubfoot.

Couldn't agree more!! He is absolute garbage!!
H_B
QUOTE (David W @ Sep 2 2008, 13:33) *

Holy fuck.

Tell me he isn't in the squad!
diamonds2002
OMG - Clicky
Dunning1874
Come back Robbie Stockdale, all is forgiven.
munro7
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Sep 2 2008, 14:38) *
Come back Robbie Stockdale, all is forgiven.

You've taken that too far! mad.gif mad.gif

Sadly it smacks of the Stephen Crainey/Maurice Ross debacle in the Faroes - hopeless diddies getting call-ups purely on the strength of playing for the Old Firm. Here's hoping Graham Alexander stays fit for rthe next week or so!
calum_gers
QUOTE (munro7 @ Sep 2 2008, 14:58) *

Sadly it smacks of the Stephen Crainey/Maurice Ross debacle in the Faroes - hopeless diddies getting call-ups purely on the strength of playing for the Old Firm. Here's hoping Graham Alexander stays fit for rthe next week or so!

I might go over to macedonia after all, now theres a chance of a game! sad.gif laugh.gif
ClydeNewcomer

Jamie Langfield just says "partick Thistle" to me. He looks like a jag so much.

One of they faces you never tire of slappin
H_B
Sadly it smacks of the Stephen Crainey/Maurice Ross debacle in the Faroes - hopeless diddies getting call-ups purely on the strength of playing for the Old Firm.

It does indeed. That was the last time we fell into the "well, he plays for..." trap.

It was after that debacle that we started picking reasonable players playing for the likes of Hearts, instead of woeful OF diddy players.
twisteH
Couldn't believe this when I read it in the paper this morning... my worst nightmare has become true! sad.gif Now the only thing we need is Dailly playing left back, and I can't possibly see how we can lose. Against Iceland at home anyway.

huh.gif
peteqos
QUOTE (Colin M @ Sep 2 2008, 09:22) *
I can't belieeeeeeeeeve he's in there ahead of Neil McGregor mad.gif

Can't believe he's in ahead of Jim Thomson! ph34r.gif whistling.gif
Scary Bear

Scary Bear
QUOTE (Thundermonkey @ Sep 2 2008, 09:15) *
What's Steven Caldwell doing at the moment? Can Elvis pick himself ahead of Broadfoot? Surely this enhances Barr or Berra's chances of a game.

Playing for Burnley. Badly.

If him and Broadfoot were in the team, Macedonia would have to start as healthy favourites.
chris123
Oh dear...
Mozzamozza
Lets hope we all wake up tomorrow and its been one big April fool joke.

This is 1st April today isnt it?

ISNT IT?
craigkillie
Calm down.

Just because he's been added to the squad, doesn't mean he's going to play. He has 4 players ahead of him for centre-back, and 2 for right-back.

And even if he does, he has a lot of experience at a high level - certainly more than Barr or Berra. He might not be very good, but he seems to me to be a very committed player who will give his all when he puts on the Scotland top.
rw89
Robert Sloan ripped Broadfoot silly in our pre-season game. Yes, it was a friendly, but dear god, nobody gets ripped by Robert Sloan! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif In all honesty, Mark and Martyn Campbell should have made the squad.
Javier Mascherano
Fucks sake Burley, I'm available. Pick me before this shit cunt!
Northern_Lights03
A manager talking bout clubfoot and Calum Davidson in an international squad is the exact opposite of someone who appreciates a good player...at least at football anyway. Broadfoot is dire and was massively shown up in UEFA games last season.

Yeah, I mean you as well bring Ricardo Fozzaldinho (Ricky Foster) into the international setup if you're gonna take Broadfoot in!

On his day Langfield is in my opinion the best outwith the OF keepers. Watch the Dnipro game away last season! Unfortunately his day doesn't come round often enough. And his kicking is atrocious.

Graham Alexander of Kirk Broadfoot? We're so spoiled for choice. Seriously Ricky Foster!

Not really got much faith in Burley to be honest. Not really agreeing with his squads so far and the players who are getting most playing time. Hope I'm proved wrong!
Betterthanfifers
Pretty gutted about this myself but when I thought about it more can anybody tell me who we have after Hutton and Alexander who is worthy of a call up? sad.gif
Owsley
I was a bit stunned by this too, but in fairness Burley has been hit badly by call offs and he can't all of a sudden make our players better. Broadfoot did well on Sunday and has big game experience and who else was there? Burley has also given Darren Barr a chance and he looked pretty awful on the brief highlights I saw of Falikirk's match on saturday. Incidentally, Stephen Crainey swept the board at the Blackpool POTY awards(please don't anybody correct that for me to say "swept the floor"! laugh.gif ) and Calum Davidson is a fans favourite at Preston. As is McNaughton at Cardiff but he's always flamin injured when he gets called up.

Still think it'll be Alexander at right back anyway and he puts in a good shift and is better than folk give him credit for.
Supras
Wow, talk about jumping on the bandwangon.

This thread is total shite.
craigkillie
Did anyone see Burley's quotes about Broadfoot. He just about sums up what I think of him. Broadfoot is by no means a great player, but I think he's reasonable back up and I don't think he'll let us down.

QUOTE (George Burley)
"It's great to see somebody, you've got to say maybe with limited ability, who has really worked hard at his game and progressed and held his own in Europe,"

Not exactly a confidence booster for Kirk though, is it.
Dunning1874

How about Warren Cummings? David McNamee? Richard Hughes?

Okay, I'll stop.
H_B
Robbie Neilson must be praying Broadfoot gets a run out to take the heat off him as our worst ever right back.
Shengus Khan
QUOTE (H_B @ Sep 4 2008, 12:23) *
Robbie Neilson must be praying Broadfoot gets a run out to take the heat off him as our worst ever right back.

Deary me. Was it away to Ukraine that he played? It was embarassing watching him in that game. At least he can take a throw in though.