Full Version: Where To Watch Macedonia Game
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
SaintPaul
Because I go to the home games, and last years away qualifiers were midweek (when I was working) I just realised that i've not watched a Scotland game in a pub for ages.

My mate and I are undecided about staying Paisley or watching it in Glasgow. Any suggestions?

BTW, anyone who suggests the Sports Cafe will immediately be put on ignore tongue.gif
Toma_BullyWee
The Hall bar on Sauchiehall street. Cheap booze and good atmosphere.

Watched pretty much every Scotland game for the last year and a bit in there. Good place for it.
lazarus814
We always head to the crystal palace in Glasgow for any games I'm not at. Good screens and normally a really good atmosphere for a weatherspoons!
ta elite
sports cafe
sockyhall street
great atmosphere
Rovers_Lad
Aye,if you want a fight.
freedomwriter
head down to the black bull at ayton, ma pal takin it over this weekend. always good crack for scotland games. And pile ons....
utdtillidie
Hubbards on Great Western Road.
dogma
Given the way the squad is starting to look I may watch it in a pub with no telly. sad.gif
Don Diego De la Vega
PJ Champs on Byres Rd

decent priced beer, loads of screens so you can't fail to see the game even if a giant stands in front of you and they go round with hot dogs at half time, barmaids are quite hot too
TheDoctor
QUOTE (dogma @ Sep 2 2008, 17:01) *
Given the way the squad is starting to look I may watch it in a pub with no telly. sad.gif

Away and watch the three-day eventing or some other pish sport the BBC thinks we want to see!!

What's that all about?!
TheDoctor
QUOTE (Don Diego De la Vega @ Sep 4 2008, 23:27) *
PJ Champs on Byres Rd

decent priced beer, loads of screens so you can't fail to see the game even if a giant stands in front of you and they go round with hot dogs at half time, barmaids are quite hot too

Ma hoose! Plenty of beer in the fridge and snacks galore laugh.gif
Aufc
I hate watching scotland games in the pub. I go to every home game but i always watch the away games i miss in my hoose. The pub is always full of arseholes who claim they support scotland but

A) Never go to games unless its a big game like italy then they will sell their granny to get a ticket and proclaim they are the buiggest scotland fan ever. Then when we lose they shout abuse at the team and vow never to go back (until the next big game)

B ) Dont have a clue about football and think that if we play the ball backwards thus keeping possession then we are 'shite'. So they shout at the defence to hit a high ball which the oppostiion defence mop up easily so they claim we are again 'shite'

C) Full of old firm fans who abuse players from the opposite site of the filth simply because of who they play for.

D) Full of arseholes who think its great banter to get absolutely steaming and wither start a fight or when scotland score, throw their drinks over everyone.

E) Full of whiny birds with their ridiculous saltire hats and saltires draped over their back specially bought for the one occasion where they give annoyinngly loud shouts of 'come on scotland' every five minutes.

F) Full of old men who think i want to hear about the good old days of scottish footballl and how todays football just does not compare to back then.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE (Aufc @ Sep 5 2008, 10:10) *
I hate watching scotland games in the pub. I go to every home game but i always watch the away games i miss in my hoose. The pub is always full of arseholes who claim they support scotland but

A) Never go to games unless its a big game like italy then they will sell their granny to get a ticket and proclaim they are the buiggest scotland fan ever. Then when we lose they shout abuse at the team and vow never to go back (until the next big game)

B ) Dont have a clue about football and think that if we play the ball backwards thus keeping possession then we are 'shite'. So they shout at the defence to hit a high ball which the oppostiion defence mop up easily so they claim we are again 'shite'

C) Full of old firm fans who abuse players from the opposite site of the filth simply because of who they play for.

D) Full of arseholes who think its great banter to get absolutely steaming and wither start a fight or when scotland score, throw their drinks over everyone.

E) Full of whiny birds with their ridiculous saltire hats and saltires draped over their back specially bought for the one occasion where they give annoyinngly loud shouts of 'come on scotland' every five minutes.

F) Full of old men who think i want to hear about the good old days of scottish footballl and how todays football just does not compare to back then.

lol That is every single pub in Scotland mate.

Well said

good anaylsis
TheDoctor

Well summed up, especially the point about the hangers-on laugh.gif
Aufc
I also forgot about-

the fake blond birds who have been dressed in the tartiest scotland attire i.e. short tartan skirt and horrible knee lengths boots by their ned boyfriends who have the customary short back and sides and timberland boots. They sit in the corner drinking wkd with a straw with a face like a melted welly as they get ogled by all the dirty old men in the pub. They would rather be anywhere else but here but their boyfriend insisted he wanted to watch the game so they come along and fake interest but all they really care about is watching the hot footballers run around the pitch.
TheDoctor
QUOTE (Aufc @ Sep 5 2008, 10:46) *
I also forgot about-

the fake blond birds who have been dressed in the tartiest scotland attire i.e. short tartan skirt and horrible knee lengths boots by their ned boyfriends who have the customary short back and sides and timberland boots. They sit in the corner drinking wkd with a straw with a face like a melted welly as they get ogled by all the dirty old men in the pub. They would rather be anywhere else but here but their boyfriend insisted he wanted to watch the game so they come along and fake interest but all they really care about is watching the hot footballers run around the pitch.

But sometimes in amongst the sea of well-skelped arses, you get a wee beauty every now and again laugh.gif
qos_75
Sadly I will be watching it at work. sad.gif
Aufc
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Sep 5 2008, 10:54) *
But sometimes in amongst the sea of well-skelped arses, you get a wee beauty every now and again laugh.gif

ha ha Aye you do. It always makes her look even better amongst all the rotters.

Another i notice when i go to away games is....all the socttish birds are rotters. The locals must think we are a bunch of ugly bassas if the standard of away travellers is anything to go by. They are all fat but still wear the ridiculous short tartan skirts and drink cans of super lager while proclaiming 'we love faddy'...strange
Rab Solo

I'd have to say the same about the majority of women who attend Scotland games home or away.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
I know it isnt the most popular of venues but Campus up Sauchiehall Street are doing pitchers of Tennents for £7.50 all day.

For atmosphere maybe the Toby Jug round from Central Station?
diamonds2002
QUOTE (Aufc @ Sep 5 2008, 12:00) *
ha ha Aye you do. It always makes her look even better amongst all the rotters.

Another i notice when i go to away games is....all the socttish birds are rotters. The locals must think we are a bunch of ugly bassas if the standard of away travellers is anything to go by. They are all fat but still wear the ridiculous short tartan skirts and drink cans of super lager while proclaiming 'we love faddy'...strange

the same could be said of the majority of guys that go! wink.gif
dogma
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Sep 5 2008, 08:30) *
Away and watch the three-day eventing or some other pish sport the BBC thinks we want to see!!

What's that all about?!

laugh.gif Just the usual rank pessimism. Sadly my youngest kid's birthday party is going to clash so I will have to try to wangle a good exuse to get down the pub to watch it. Any suggestions welcome.
Fudge
QUOTE (utdtillidie @ Sep 2 2008, 15:54) *
Hubbards on Great Western Road.

That's where i'll be watching it as well. Do you live close?
Trenchie

Spot on, although i have to admit i once fell into the throwing drink in air brigade, but i had just bought a pint when faddy scored in paris...it was inevitable...yet unintentional...lol

I am unsure of where to watch this one.

Toma_BullyWee
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Sep 5 2008, 11:33) *
Sadly I will be watching it at work. sad.gif

That sounds like a good job to me...

QUOTE (dogma @ Sep 5 2008, 17:27) *
laugh.gif Just the usual rank pessimism. Sadly my youngest kid's birthday party is going to clash so I will have to try to wangle a good exuse to get down the pub to watch it. Any suggestions welcome.

What age is it? If it's one then you're sorted, it won't know what's happening anyway.

Disclaimer - The missus will not approve. If for some reason she does, then marry her. If already married, divorce her then marry her again.
GregorW
I am looking for somewhere to watch the Scotland game and wondered if anyone had any advice. It would be good if the place had TV screens (quite important), a good chance of a seat, decent beer, and preferably some food as well. I'm looking for somewhere either in the West End or the City Centre. Any ideas?

Cheers, Gregor