here.Mon The Soviets...
MattBairn
Aug 31 2008, 20:42
downloading now.
Nice
Ned Nederlander
Aug 31 2008, 20:46
Great game
We used to link up at play that at work - got to the point two folk actually went to the bother of signing a nuclear treaty .... then both built nuclear trucks
Ned Nederlander
Aug 31 2008, 20:49
QUOTE (Mackie The Staggie @ Aug 31 2008, 21:22)

download of C&C Red Alert from thier website
here.There's some well-kent faces in that C&C3
Exuberant
Aug 31 2008, 20:58
Downloading both Allies and Communist versions to see what the fuss is all about.
Bare in mind I was about 4 when the franchise began...
Mackie The Staggie
Aug 31 2008, 21:13
QUOTE (Ned Nederlander @ Aug 31 2008, 21:49)

There's some well-kent faces in that C&C3

yeah just watched it, more and more big names are now willing to do bits for video games now so it's not that much of a surprise....the biggest surprise is that I was able to name most of them.
cityfan
Aug 31 2008, 21:15
QUOTE (Ned Nederlander @ Aug 31 2008, 21:49)

There's some well-kent faces in that C&C3

Gemma Atkinson in C&C?
Dee4Life1893
Aug 31 2008, 21:20
Used to play this with link cable on the PSone. Two playstations, Two games, Two tellys. Me sitting in my mates hall playing head to head.
Fucking brilliant.
Never really got into RTS games. Never liked C&C, Dune 2 was better but C&C got all the plaudits
Xbass Threepwood
Aug 31 2008, 22:13
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 31 2008, 22:22)

Never really got into RTS games. Never liked C&C, Dune 2 was better but C&C got all the plaudits

Dune 2 was good, although not as good as the supremely good Dune! And yes, I know they are totally different games, I just loved dune.
QUOTE (The Gray Ghost @ Aug 31 2008, 23:13)

Dune 2 was good, although not as good as the supremely good Dune! And yes, I know they are totally different games, I just loved dune.

Totally agree. I only mentioned Dune 2 cause the thread was about C&C.
I must dig out my Dune saved game on UAE
Xbass Threepwood
Aug 31 2008, 22:26
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 31 2008, 23:20)

Totally agree. I only mentioned Dune 2 cause the thread was about C&C.
I must dig out my Dune saved game on UAE

I know, but Dune Rocks! Last time it was mentioned on here, I sat and played it solidly for a couple days till I completed it again on WinUAE. Who's the daddy?
Man, C&C Red Alert takes me back. None of the sequels have ever come close to it, IMO.
Mon The Clyde
Sep 1 2008, 08:26
Still got the origional disk for the PS1. Brilliant game
I have to hold my hands up here, I am f*cking hopeless at strategy games. While I can maybe dick about with Sim City for a while, the rest of them just leave me cold. It's not that they are bad games, I just can't be bothered with all the management of resources. In fact the only strategy game I do enjoy is Settlers, but that's only because it's blindingly simple.
I doubt I'll download this, even though it's free!
QUOTE (Ric @ Sep 1 2008, 13:43)

I have to hold my hands up here, I am f*cking hopeless at strategy games. While I can maybe dick about with Sim City for a while, the rest of them just leave me cold. It's not that they are bad games, I just can't be bothered with all the management of resources. In fact the only strategy game I do enjoy is Settlers, but that's only because it's blindingly simple.
I doubt I'll download this, even though it's free!
C&C is pretty simple as well. You only have one resource to manage (ore, which is mined into $) and then it's just a case of building more tanks and troops.
I prefer turn-based games by and large as I think they require more strategy.
QUOTE (Gaz @ Sep 1 2008, 14:23)

C&C is pretty simple as well. You only have one resource to manage (ore, which is mined into $) and then it's just a case of building more tanks and troops.
Same here. I much prefer Advance Wars, for example, to any C&C-esque game.
QUOTE (Gaz @ Sep 1 2008, 14:23)

But with Settlers it's just so simple. tree > tree-cutter > log > sawmill > plank > builder > new building. And you get to watch it as it happens. In fact the 10th anniversary game is brilliant (although easy). It has the modern 3D graphics engine but with the Settlers 2 game engine.

Lovely wee game.
Haven't played a Settlers game since III but it was indeed a cracker.
QUOTE (Ric @ Sep 1 2008, 14:28)

But with Settlers it's just so simple. tree > tree-cutter > log > sawmill > plank > builder > new building. And you get to watch it as it happens. In fact the 10th anniversary game is brilliant (although easy). It has the modern 3D graphics engine but with the Settlers 2 game engine.

Lovely wee game.
In a Settlers-stylee, I actually enjoyed playing the Rome version of CivCity. Although my lack of forward planning meant I had nowhere to put the aqueducts and people screaming out for a bath ... bloody Romans
QUOTE (Mr X @ Sep 1 2008, 15:00)

In a Settlers-stylee, I actually enjoyed playing the Rome version of CivCity. Although my lack of forward planning meant I had nowhere to put the aqueducts and people screaming out for a bath ... bloody Romans

I played
Caesar for a while..
..my God (or is that God
s) it was dull.
I had a demo of Ceaser III back in the day.
It was reasonable enough.
QUOTE (Gaz @ Sep 1 2008, 15:09)

I had a demo of Ceaser III back in the day.
You didn't buy the game though after seeing the game though, did you?
And that tells a story all of it's own..
Does this download include the videos from the original RA?
QUOTE (RiG @ Sep 3 2008, 13:34)

Does this download include the videos from the original RA?
If you mean cut-scenes then aye it does.I started playing this last night, one look up at the clock and it was 4am !
dumbarton Fc
Sep 3 2008, 16:13
Can't get it working on vista
QUOTE (TWS @ Sep 3 2008, 17:01)

If you mean cut-scenes then aye it does.I started playing this last night, one look up at the clock and it was 4am !

Superb stuff! Does it include Counterstrike and Aftermath add ons?
QUOTE (dumbarton Fc @ Sep 3 2008, 17:13)

Isnt there a compatibility setting in the shortcut, so that you can run it as XP?
QUOTE (RiG @ Sep 3 2008, 17:29)

Superb stuff! Does it include Counterstrike and Aftermath add ons?
Nah it doesn't.
gav-ffc
Sep 4 2008, 17:27
C&C Red Alert took over one of my summers years ago.
QUOTE (dumbarton Fc @ Sep 3 2008, 17:13)

My flat mate got it working on Vista no problem. Just follow their instructions exactly and you will be fine.
QUOTE (Mr X @ Sep 3 2008, 17:29)

Isnt there a compatibility setting in the shortcut, so that you can run it as XP?
Yup but he will need to use it under Windows 95.
Ludo *1
Sep 8 2008, 16:19
The only strategy game i've ever really got into on the Laptop was Age of Empires, best there is.
I have the all in one boxset of the C&C series, the original and RA run perfectly under Vista with no need to tweak compatibilty settings.
QUOTE (Gaz @ Sep 1 2008, 08:23)

Man, C&C Red Alert takes me back. None of the sequels have ever come close to it, IMO.
I agree totally. I used to play the hell out of this, but the sequels just were nowhere near it.
I've been playing it since I saw this thread. I've got the First Decade boxset thing, so I've also got the two add-ons to play once I get to them.
Red Alert 2 was quite enjoyable, but nowhere near as playable. You can't lose yourself in hours of warfare like RA1. The Yuri's Revenge expansion pack also completely ruined that game.
I have to say, that the Generals, with the Zero Hour pack, is one that I really enjoy. It's excellent if you can get a few friends together for multiplayer.
Red Alert's campaign is by far the best though, the rest are better for Skirmishes.
Tiberian Sun is shit, and the less said about Renegade, the better.
QUOTE (Dunc @ Sep 9 2008, 15:21)

I've been playing it since I saw this thread. I've got the First Decade boxset thing, so I've also got the two add-ons to play once I get to them.
Red Alert 2 was quite enjoyable, but nowhere near as playable. You can't lose yourself in hours of warfare like RA1. The Yuri's Revenge expansion pack also completely ruined that game.
I have to say, that the Generals, with the Zero Hour pack, is one that I really enjoy. It's excellent if you can get a few friends together for multiplayer.
Red Alert's campaign is by far the best though, the rest are better for Skirmishes.
Tiberian Sun is shit, and the less said about Renegade, the better.
Agree with pretty much all of that but especially about Generals. You just can't beat going the Air Force general and building clouds of stealthed Commanches.
QUOTE (jay_7 @ Sep 9 2008, 15:34)

Agree with pretty much all of that but especially about Generals. You just can't beat going the Air Force general and building clouds of stealthed Commanches.

I'm a big fan of the Chinese generals. Especially the Nuclear lad, but the Infantry one can be useful. Much easier to defend.
Big groups of Aurora Bombers are immense for destroying other bases too
Dee4Life1893
Sep 10 2008, 13:30
Can you play head to head maps online with it??
I fired C&C Generals on last night as I was quite in the mood for a game.
Actually really enjoyed it. Missions are hard though!
QUOTE (Gaz @ Sep 10 2008, 14:36)

I fired C&C Generals on last night as I was quite in the mood for a game.
Actually really enjoyed it. Missions are hard though!
I like it because it's more realistic than the other C&C games. Earlier C&C games would see the humble mingunner/basic infantry unit withstanding tank shells, bazooka blasts, grenades and all manner of things. Where as in Generals, they are quickly and easily dispatched. I just think it's a better way of running the game.
Stuck on one of the early Allied missions on Red Alert

You start off with just Tanya, then you quickly get a wee medic lad, and you have to destroy all the bridges.
Fucking Tanya
You should get an Artillery as well no? Or does that turn up a wee bit later on in the mission?
QUOTE (RiG @ Sep 10 2008, 15:49)

You should get an Artillery as well no? Or does that turn up a wee bit later on in the mission?
Aye, i'm not sure if that only turns up after you've failed a few times, or whether i just didn't see it

Even with it, I struggled. I will eventually do it, its just annoying

I'm still shit at using the trackpad with the laptop, so I end up just shouting instead of giving her real commands. Doesn't work.
"Tanya! Shoot the dug!... Fucksake. Now you've been eaten. Stupid bint."
I went straight for the Soviet Missions and have just completed level 7 or 8 where you first get to build Tesla Coils. There are some grey troops in themiddle of the island who are fighting for the Allies but they were easily slaughtered and after destroying all four of the Allied ore trucks in the first 10 minutes the rest of the level is a breeze!
next one is where you have to destroy some convoy truck which takes less than 10 minutes. If you spy on the right part of the Allied base you can land your paratroops right next to it and destroy it thus completing the level without having to go anywhere near their base
I might be wrong here, but...
Are engineers not supposed to take over buildings?
When I send them in they just seem to do damage to the building.
Xbass Threepwood
Sep 11 2008, 15:18
QUOTE (Dunc @ Sep 11 2008, 15:56)

I might be wrong here, but...
Are engineers not supposed to take over buildings?
When I send them in they just seem to do damage to the building.
You have to knock the building down so its in the red. Then, just before it is blown up, call the troops off and send in an engineer. If you send them in too early, then they will just damage it.
QUOTE (The Gray Ghost @ Sep 11 2008, 16:18)

You have to knock the building down so its in the red. Then, just before it is blown up, call the troops off and send in an engineer. If you send them in too early, then they will just damage it.
What the 3rd person speaking weirdo said.
When you have your engineer selected and the cursor hovers over a building the arrows will be red until the buildings health reduces to red at which point the arrows will turn green.
Aaaaaaaaaaah!

Cheers lads!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.