Full Version: Nancy-lorraine V Motherwell
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Scots in Europe
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Bushel o' Bricks
First leg away. A trip to France should be very nice. biggrin.gif

We could have drawn Manchester City, which would have been quite an occasion, but I'm very happy with this draw.
xaviermaw
This is very VERY winnable!!

We're all going on a European Tour!!! laugh.gif boldblue.gif beerchug.gif
ICTChris
Tough draw for Well, nancy just missed out ont he Champions League.

good luck though smile.gif
G_Man1985
Enjoy yourself lads, do scotland proud
finnersaintee
QUOTE (G_Man1985 @ Aug 29 2008, 12:43) *
Enjoy yourself lads, do scotland proud

huh.gif what the dundee fan said!!
1320Lichtie
Cant really seeing Motherwell winning this , just out of curiosity how many fans do you think youll take over to France,?

Good luck Well though and hope you make it , enjoyed watching Aberdeen when they were in it so hopefully youll get through to the group stages for scottish football and so we can watch more football on the tv presuming the beeb is covering the games.
welldaft
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Aug 29 2008, 12:44) *
Cant really seeing Motherwell winning this , just out of curiosity how many fans do you think youll take over to France,?

Good luck Well though and hope you make it , enjoyed watching Aberdeen when they were in it so hopefully youll get through to the group stages for scottish football and so we can watch more football on the tv presuming the beeb is covering the games.

Well let's put it this way they were the lowest ranked of the 5 seeds in Pot 3, that and they currently sit 17th in the French League - a tough tie - always, but a damn site easier than Valencia or Man City. We are in with a shout of making the group stages.

I reckon we will take between 1000-2000 fans. Depends on what allocation we get.
kramer
They were the lowest seeded team Motherwell could have drawn but still tough. Im glad they didn't get Man City...didn't want any Mancs up here after the huns behaviour in Manchester.

Good luck anyway, that Queen of the South semi is starting to piss me off again.
TheDoctor
Motherwell should beat the French burd to go through.

I wonder if they play in pink.... tongue.gif
Neiljb
Is that a French transsexual Motherwell are playing with?
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (kramer @ Aug 29 2008, 12:52) *
They were the lowest seeded team Motherwell could have drawn but still tough. Im glad they didn't get Man City...didn't want any Mancs up here after the huns behaviour in Manchester.

Good luck anyway, that Queen of the South semi is starting to piss me off again.

You do realise that Celtic have drawn MANCHESTER United in the CL don't you?
Ric
Tough game, and with all respect to Motherwell I rate your chances of progression as somewhere between a cat and a snowball in hell.
IXI THE ONE IXI
Tough game for Motherwell, can't see them progressing, but would be good to see, and the second leg at home is a bonus.
kramer
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Aug 29 2008, 12:17) *
You do realise that Celtic have drawn MANCHESTER United in the CL don't you?

yeah but I don't think any mancunians support man utd tongue.gif
madwullie
Draw couldn't really have gone much better but still very very hard.

COME ON!!

starryfish
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 29 2008, 13:24) *
Tough game, and with all respect to Motherwell I rate your chances of progression as somewhere between a cat and a snowball in hell.

I thought similar this time last year when the Dons drew Dnipro, stranger things have happened.
Ric
QUOTE (starryfish @ Aug 29 2008, 13:42) *
I thought similar this time last year when the Dons drew Dnipro, stranger things have happened.

No that's true. And you have to look at the Aberdeen and Ranger sides that progressed in Europe, they were far from good, more just an overall team performance.
capybara
All the best enjoy yourself, i wish it was me sad.gif
The_Num
Tough draw, but what else would it be with UEFA?

Best of luck to Motherwell - keep the flag flying!
HibeeJibee
Nancy play at the 20,087 all-seat Stade Marcel Picot, in Nancy, not far from the German border.
deky
I was actually hoping for Man City from a travelling point of view(and to see one Scottish team win in Manchester wink.gif ) but I'm happy enough with draw.
Think we've got a fair chance of getting into group stages but it'll obviously not be easy.

Well we've got flights booked and accomidation in Nancy, just need to get from Paris to Nancy now huh.gif

Oh and cheers for all the good wishes folks, hope to do Scotland proud
vikingTON
QUOTE (xaviermaw @ Aug 29 2008, 12:35) *
This is very VERY winnable!!

We're all going on a European Tour!!! laugh.gif boldblue.gif beerchug.gif

With all due respect, it really isn't.
Its a tough draw, although French teams at the moment have a tendency to focus on defence so it may well be a tight scoreline but a convincing performance for the Nancy boys.
Accies1
Going out, going out, going out!

You'll lose about 4/5-0 in France and then 2/3-0 at Fir Park. A thumping of the highest order is in store.
HibeeJibee
Spare a though for St Patrick's Athletic, of Eire - they got Hertha Berlin, which is very tough IMO.
Huggins
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Aug 29 2008, 15:34) *

You'll lose about 4/5-0 in France and then 2/3-0 at Fir Park. A thumping of the highest order is in store.

Try and get there in the first place! f**k the Accies!
Accies1
QUOTE (Huggins @ Aug 29 2008, 15:52) *
Try and get there in the first place! f**k the Accies!

Next season wink.gif
HibeeJibee

Anyone confirm if the song of Well's opponents is "Hello, Hello, we are the Nancy Boys?"...
False Light
To be honest I don't think Nancy are that good. They overachieved last season and have lost a few of their better players (Puygrenier and I think Kim as well). It'll be a very tough game but if Motherwell perform well they can easily go through.
MP_MFC
I don't think there is that much to choose between the SPL and Ligue 1 from what I've seen, so certainly not the worst draw we could have had.

Of course they have had some very impressive results in recent years, but on any day, anythings possible.

I'm just happy to be booked up and ready to follow Motherwell into Europe for the first time.
Ya Bezzer!
If you can beat Rangers and Celtic you can beat Nancy. You just have to play at the top of your form.

I'd rather have had the home tie first though.
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (MP_MFC @ Aug 29 2008, 16:36) *
I don't think there is that much to choose between the SPL and Ligue 1 from what I've seen, so certainly not the worst draw we could have had.

Of course they have had some very impressive results in recent years, but on any day, anythings possible.

I'm just happy to be booked up and ready to follow Motherwell into Europe for the first time.

huh.gif Aye ok then.
MP_MFC
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Aug 29 2008, 17:10) *
huh.gif Aye ok then.

Outwith the top teams, Celtic/Rangers Lyon/Marseille, I'd suggest they are not vastly superior.
MB
QUOTE (deky @ Aug 29 2008, 15:05) *
I was actually hoping for Man City from a travelling point of view(and to see one Scottish team win in Manchester wink.gif ) but I'm happy enough with draw.
Think we've got a fair chance of getting into group stages but it'll obviously not be easy.

Well we've got flights booked and accomidation in Nancy, just need to get from Paris to Nancy now huh.gif

Oh and cheers for all the good wishes folks, hope to do Scotland proud

It's very easy to get from Paris to Nancy. There's a direct train (TGV) from Paris (Gare d'est) to Nancy which takes about 90 minutes. You'll have to take the RER from Paris Charles de Gaulle, known as Roissy, (assuming you're flying to that airport!) to the Gare de Nord. From the Gare de Nord it's a short walk to the Gare d'est. It'll be worth booking the TGV in advance.

Good luck - you'll have a great time!
Handsome_Devil
Definitely likely to go out...but we've got a wee chance.

Would rather have had the home leg first but if we can steal a goal over there and lose by no more than one the dream ticks on.
Al B
Nah im very glad we've got the away leg first, because as the day goes by it's looking increasingly likely that im not gonna be able to go to France. So if by any chance we were to progress, i'd like it to be clinched at Fir Park so that im able to be there.

EXCITED!!!!!! thumbup2.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE (False Light @ Aug 29 2008, 16:26) *
To be honest I don't think Nancy are that good. They overachieved last season and have lost a few of their better players (Puygrenier and I think Kim as well). It'll be a very tough game but if Motherwell perform well they can easily go through.

I agree with this.

People are dismissing Motherwell's chances without having the first clue about the opponents. I watched a lot of French football last season, and Motherwell can definitely win this. Nancy are a very ordinary side who have also yet to win a game in Ligue 1 this season.

That said, Motherwell have had a poor start also, but I think this tie will be very close. The 'Well certainly have a chance, that's for sure. Arguably the best draw they could have hoped for, really.
Ned Nederlander
Aye, Good Luck Motherwell ...

Nancy-lorraine eh? I've heard Lorraine is carrying a knock tongue.gif

If yer after cheap flights Zoom fly from Glasgow to Paris and they're doing some sort of non-return deal at the moment unsure.gif
Pepper
All booked up. Can't wait.

As far as our chances go, who the hell really knows (or cares for that matter) but one things for sure they will be heavy favourites and quite rightly so.

I'm just happy I'm getting the chance to follow my team into Europe. I'm sure we'll do Scotland proud.

Come on ye Well! smile.gif
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE (MP_MFC @ Aug 29 2008, 17:38) *
Outwith the top teams, Celtic/Rangers Lyon/Marseille, I'd suggest they are not vastly superior.

I'd suggest they are vastly superior. Monaco were Champions League finalists, PSG have won the UEFA Cup and have players like Landreau, Makélélé, Kežman, Giuly, Clément, Rothen. Teams like Saint-Étienne who have players like Bafétimbi Gomis aka 'The new Drogba', plus other teams like Bordeaux, or Auxerre.

I mean what has Scotland got to compete with that outside the OF? Darren Barr, and Zander Diamond? blink.gif
Richie
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Aug 30 2008, 13:08) *
I'd suggest they are vastly superior. Monaco were Champions League finalists, PSG have won the UEFA Cup and have players like Landreau, Makélélé, Kežman, Giuly, Clément, Rothen. Teams like Saint-Étienne who have players like Bafétimbi Gomis aka 'The new Drogba', plus other teams like Bordeaux, or Auxerre.

I mean what has Scotland got to compete with that outside the OF? Darren Barr, and Zander Diamond? blink.gif

Any French team will be light-years ahead of us with regards to technique/skill.
But as Scotland shown in France it can be done.
Nancy are favourites but who knows it might just click in Europe as it did for Rangers.
I wonder if we will be playing 4-3-3 in Europe... wacko.gif
False Light
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Aug 30 2008, 13:08) *

There is a significant gap when you compare like for like teams from France and Scotland. Lyon (and arguably Bordauex Marseille) are significantly better than the OF, teams like Saint Etienne are significantly better than Motherwell or Aberdeen etc but I think the better SPL teams outside the OF would be able to compete at the bottom end of Ligue 1 and as Motherwell are one of the better SPL teams facing a team who'll probably finish in the lower end of Ligue 1's midtable then they'll be in with a chance. 
deky
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Aug 29 2008, 15:34) *

QUOTE (Accies1 @ Aug 29 2008, 15:56) *
Next season wink.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE (MB @ Aug 29 2008, 18:12) *
It's very easy to get from Paris to Nancy. There's a direct train (TGV) from Paris (Gare d'est) to Nancy which takes about 90 minutes. You'll have to take the RER from Paris Charles de Gaulle, known as Roissy, (assuming you're flying to that airport!) to the Gare de Nord. From the Gare de Nord it's a short walk to the Gare d'est. It'll be worth booking the TGV in advance.

Good luck - you'll have a great time!

Cheers MB.
Sorted now, mate booked it so not sure of details but we're all booked and raring to go.
Raving On
I follow the French league pretty closely and I reckon Motherwell have a decent shot at getting through. They could struggle in France a little (Nancy have an absolutely excellent home record, losing only once last season) but at Fir Park they have a chance.

Nancy don't have a whole lot going forward and their best player (Yousseff Hadji) was taken off injured last weekend - no news how long he will be out for yet. Defensively, they are pretty strong but if the Well were to nick the first goal I think they could certainly hold out and maybe even get a second on the counter.
twisteH
Well should do alright, Nancy are nothing special really, and the leagues are similar. As mentioned before Rangers/Celtic vs Lyon and err... Marseille? huh.gif (Who are utter pish) and Motherwell are playing a side who have started off the season poorly. If you can beat the OF, Nancy will be a doddle, although anything can happen (Kaunas anyone? sad.gif )

Good luck! biggrin.gif
HibeeJibee
I'm confused by Rangers v Lyon bit - Rangers thrashed them in France. Then were thrashed at home?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (HibeeJibee @ Sep 13 2008, 15:32) *
I'm confused by Rangers v Lyon bit - Rangers thrashed them in France. Then were thrashed at home?

The game in Lyon was a travesty biggrin.gif BUT it's how you win away from home, good luck to Motherwell, Europe is where it's at
badgers apprentice
biggrin.gif
Another Edinburgh Doonhamer
Good luck to Motherwell this week guys(and gals).

I was in Nancy a couple of years ago and its a nice enough town, although if there are a couple of thousand going the bars might get a wee bit busy.

As a Queens fan who was in Copenhagen and had the best night ever(bearing in mind we lost) I am sure you will have a fantastic time.

By the way, watch out for the funny 'trams' they are a bit like trolley buses with a track-quite weird really-you cant miss them though.

I'm sure all Queens fans will be rooting for you.

COME ON THE 'WELL
Jambo Stu
Good luck to the Well. They will need to defend a lot better than they have been though or the tie with be deed by the time it hits Fir Park.
ChampionsElect
If you score a goal and only get beat by 1 it wouldn't be too bad. You's would just have to make your home advantage count.

Good luck.